
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

Oregon Administrative Rule #581-023-0100 
Eligibility Criteria for Student Weighting for Purposes of State School Fund Distribution 

(1) The following definitions apply to this rule: 
(a) "Average Daily Membership" or "ADM" means the membership defined in ORS 327.006(3) and 
OAR 581-023-0006; 
(b) "Days in Session" means number of days of instruction during which students are under the 
guidance and direction of teachers; 
(c) "Department" means the Oregon Department of Education; 
(d) "Language Minority Student" means: 
(A) Individuals whose native language is not English; or 
(B) Individuals who come from environments where a language other than English is dominant; or 
(C) Individuals who are Native Americans or Native Alaskans and who come from environments where 
a language other than English has had a significant impact on their level of English proficiency. 
(e) "Superintendent" means the State Superintendent of Public Instruction; 
(f) "Weighted Average Daily Membership" or "ADMw" means the ADM plus an additional amount or 
weight as described in ORS 327.013, subject to the limitations imposed by Section (4)(a), Chapter 
780, Oregon Laws 1991. 

(2) Pursuant to ORS 327.013(7)(a)(A) the resident school districts shall receive one additional ADM or 
"weight" for children with disabilities who comprise up to 11 percent of the district's ADM. The 
Department will calculate the percentage of children with disabilities on the basis of resident counts of 
students eligible for weighting from the Special Education Child Count and the resident ADM: 

(a) To be eligible, a student must be in the ADM of the school district and meet the following criteria: 
(A) The student must be eligible for special education having been evaluated as having one of the 
following conditions: Mental retardation, hearing impairment including difficulty in hearing and 
deafness, speech or language impairment, visual impairment, serious emotional disturbance, 
orthopedic or other health impairment, autism, traumatic brain injury or specific learning disabilities; 
and 
(B) The student must be between the ages 5 and 21 and generate federal funding for purposes of 
special education. 
(b) Districts may apply for an exception to the 11 percent ceiling. Applications are to be made on forms 
provided by the Department. Upon receipt of the application the Superintendent may conduct a 
complete review of a district's special education records. The Superintendent shall develop a process 
for conducting such reviews which will include the following elements: 
(A) Comparison of district claims with those submitted by other districts; 
(B) Participation of school district and education service district staff in the review. No district staff shall 
be asked to review claims submitted by the employing district. 
(c) After considering the recommendations of the review committee the Superintendent may allow all 
or a portion of the requested added weighted ADM over 11 percent; 
(d) The Superintendent shall make the determination of approval for funding above the 11 percent 
limitation. Such determination may be appealed for review by the State Board of Education according 
to a process established by the Superintendent; 
(e) If the review indicates that a district has claimed ineligible special education students, the 
Superintendent also shall withhold the related federal funds from the district, pursuant to OAR 581-
015-0049; 
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(f) A district must submit an application for an exception to the 11 percent ceiling no later than six 
months after the close of the year for which payment is being sought. Payments for allowable 
exceptions shall be made in the following school year as part of the May 15 payment. 

(3) Pursuant to ORS 336.640(4), the resident school districts shall receive an additional 1.0 times the 
ADM of all eligible pregnant and parenting students: 

(a) To be eligible, a student must be in the ADM of the resident school district and meet the following 
criteria: 
(A) The student must be identified through systematic procedures established by the district; 
(B) The student must be enrolled and receiving services described in ORS 336.640(1)(b) and (d); 
(C) The student must have an individualized written plan for such services which identifies the specific 
services, their providers, and funding resources. 
(b) Students counted in section (2) of this rule are not eligible under this section. 

(4) Pursuant to ORS 327.013(7)(a)(B), the resident school districts shall receive an additional .5 times 
the ADM of all eligible students enrolled in an English as a Second Language program. To be eligible, a 
student must be in the ADM of the school district in grades K through 12 and be a language minority 
student attending English as a Second Language (ESL) classes in a program which meets basic U.S. 
Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights guidelines. These guidelines provide for: 

(a) A systematic procedure for identifying students who may need ESL classes, and for assessing 
their language acquisition and academic needs; 
(b) A planned program for ESL and academic development, using instructional methodologies 
recognized as effective with language minority students; 
(c) Instruction by credentialed staff and trained in instructional strategies that are effective with second 
language learners and language minority students, or by tutors supervised by credentialed staff 
trained in instructional strategies that are effective with second language learners and language 
minority students; 
(d) Adequate equipment and instructional materials; 
(e) Evaluation of program effectiveness in preparing ESL students for academic success in the 
mainstream curriculum. 

(5) Students served in the following programs are not eligible for weighting: 
(a) Programs funded fully by state funds, programs funded fully by federal funds, and programs funded 
fully by a combination of state and federal funds; 
(b) Private and parochial schools unless placed by the resident district in a registered private 
alternative program or state approved special education program; 
(c) Instruction by a private tutor or parent under ORS 339.035. 

(6) No later than January 15 of each year, the designated official for a school district shall submit to the 
Department a report of students eligible under sections (3) and (4) of this rule. The report shall include 
the following data for the period October 1 through December 31: 

(a) Total days in session for the quarter ending December 31 for the school or program reporting; 
(b) Total days membership for the quarter ending December 31 for all students served in eligible 
programs. 
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(7) Not later than July 10 of each year, the designated official for a school district shall submit to the 
Department a final report of students eligible under sections (3) and (4) of this rule. The report shall 
include the following: 

(a) Total days in session during the regular school year for the school or program reporting; 
(b) Name of each student; 
(c) Total days membership beginning with the first day of instruction for each student and ending with 
the date of withdrawal from the eligible program or the end of the regular school year, whichever 
comes first; 
(d) Grade level of the student. 

(8) School districts must retain supporting documentation for a minimum of two years. 

(9) The Department shall perform periodic reviews of the eligibility of students reported for additional 
weighting. Any funds provided for ineligible students shall be recovered by the Department for 
redistribution to school districts. 

(10) This rule is effective beginning with the 1993-94 school year. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 327.013 & ORS 327.125 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 327.013 & ORS 327.125 
Hist.: EB 31-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-14-92; EB 6-1994, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-94 
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