Oregon Department of Education Office of Student Services
255 Capitol St NE Dispute Resolution
Salem OR 97310 (503) 947-5797

Due Process Hearing Request Information Sheet and Model Form

This model form may be used to request a special education or Early Intervention/Early
Childhood Special Education (EI/ECSE) due process hearing. This form may be used to:

 Request a due process hearing in accordance with IDEA 2004 to resolve a
disagreement about the identification, evaluation or educational placement of a
child, or the provision ofa free appropriate public education to the child (or, for a
child from birth through age two, the provision of appropriate early intervention
services); or

« Request an expedited due process hearing when the parent of a child with a disability
disagrees with any decision regarding the manifestation determination or placement
resulting from a district or ECSE disciplinary action. (School districts and ECSE
programs may also request an expedited hearing if the district or program believes
that maintaining the child's current placement is substantially likely to result in injury
to the child or to others.)

Whether or not a party uses this form, a due process hearing request must include the following
information:

- The name of the child, the address of the residence of the child (or available
contact information in the case of a homeless child), and the name of the
school the child is attending;

« Adescription of the nature of the problem of the child relating to the initiation or change
of the child's identification, evaluation, educational placement or the provision of a free
appropriate public education to the child (or, for a child from birth through age two, the
provision of appropriate early intervention services); and

« A proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known and available to the
party atthe time.

A party may not have a due process hearing until the party, or the attorney representing the
party, files a hearing request that meets these requirements. The party requesting the hearing,
or the attorney representing that party, must file the hearing request with the other party and
with the Oregon Department of Education (ODE). For the purposes of the timelines, "filing"
means date of receipt by ODE, and the counting of days begins on the next calendar day. Any
deadlines that fall on a weekend or legal holiday will be treated as falling on the next business
day.

The hearing request must set forth alleged violations that occurred not more than 2 years
before the date the parent or public agency knew or should have known about the alleged
action that forms the basis of the hearing request. This timeline does not apply to a parent if
the parent was prevented from requesting the hearing due to: (a) specific misrepresentations
by the school district that it had resolved the problem forming the basis of the hearing request;
or (b) the school district's withholding of information from the parent that was required by the
IDEA to be provided to the parent.
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A party's due process hearing request is deemed to be sufficient unless the party receiving
the notice notifies the assigned administrative law judge (ALJ) in writing that the hearing
request does not meet the requirements listed on the first page. This notice must be provided
to the ALJ within 15 days of receiving the hearing request. The ALJ must make a determination
on the face of the hearing request whether the request includes the required content. The ALJ
must make this determination within 5 days of receiving an objection to the sufficiency of the
hearing request, and must immediately notify the parties in writing of the determination.

A party may amend its due process hearing request only if: (a) The other party consents in
writing to this amendment and is given the opportunity to resolve the complaint through a
resolution session; or

(b) the administrative law judge grants permission and the request is not later than 5 days
before the due process hearing occurs.

The party requesting the hearing may not raise issues at the hearing that were not in the due
process hearing request unless the other party agrees otherwise.

Under IDEA 2004, the parties to a due process hearing must meet for a resolution session
within 15 days of the receipt of the hearing request unless the parties agree to waive the
resolution session or to participate in mediation instead of a resolution session. The school
district or EI/ECSE program is responsible for scheduling and conducting the resolution
session. Information about resolution sessions is available on the ODE website at:
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/rules-and-policies/Documents/resolutionsessioninfoform. pdf

Special education mediation services are available from ODE at no cost to parents or the
district or program when the parties agree to mediate, whether or not a hearing has been
requested. Information about mediation is available on the OD E website at:
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/rules-and-policies/Documents/medhandbook.pdf

If the parties are unable to resolve the dispute within 30 days of receipt of the hearing request,
the hearing timeline begins. In general, due process hearings must be held and an opinion
issued within 45 days following the end of the 30-day preliminary period. An ALJ may agree to
extend this timeline at the request of a party. For expedited hearings, the hearing must be held
within 20 school days following the filing of the hearing request, and the final order must be
issued within 10 school days after the hearing.

ODE refers requests for due process hearings to the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).
OAH will schedule a pre-hearing conference to occur shortly after the end of the 30-day
preliminary period following the hearing request.

Citations:

20USC81415(b)(7)(PartB)

20 USC § 1439(a) (PartC)

20 USC § 1415(k)(4) (Part B - expedited)

20 USC § 1415(f)(3) (timelines, exceptions, limitations)

20 USC § 1415(c)(2) (sufficiency of hearing request,

amendments) 34 CFR 300.507, 300.508, and 300.51 1(e)

OAR 581-015-2335 through 2385
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Hearing Timelines under IDEA 2004:

Preliminary Time Period

Filing

Party (“requesting party”) files hearing request on other party and the Oregon
Department of Education (ODE). The request must include?:

0 The name of the child, child’s address (or contact information in the case of a
homeless child) and name of school child attends;

o0 A description of the nature of the problem of the child relating to a proposal or
refusal to initiate or change the child’s identification, evaluation, or
educational placement, or the provision of a free appropriate public education
to the child, including facts relating to such problem; and

0 A proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known and available to the
party at the time.

Within 1-2
days

ODE acknowledges receipt in writing to requesting and receiving parties, provides
Notice of Procedural Safeguards, and refers to the Office of Administrative Hearings
(OAH).

Within a
week

OAH appoints an administrative law judge (ALJ) & sends confirmation to both parties,
including preliminary timelines and sets date/time for pre-hearing conference, and,
beginning September 1, 2007, hearing and final order dates. (see Hearing Time
Period, next page).

By day 10

(a) If school district did not already send prior written notice to parent regarding the
subject matter of the hearing request, the district must send parent a response
that includes?:

0 An explanation of why the district proposed or refused the action raised in the
hearing request;

0 A description of other options the IEP team considered and why rejected;

0 A description of each evaluation procedure, etc., used as basis for proposed
or refused action;

0 A description of factors relevant to the district’'s proposal or refusal.

(b) Except as provided in (a), the receiving party shall send the requesting party a
response that specifically addresses the issues raised in the complaint.® This
response is not a pleading, should not be sent to the ALJ, and is not a part of the
hearing record unless entered as an exhibit by a party.

By day 15
(By day 7 if
expedited
hearing)

Parties participate in resolution session unless parties agree in writing to waive
resolution session or to participate in mediation in lieu of a resolution session*.

By day 15

Deadline for receiving party to notify ALJ and requesting party if receiving party
believes the due process hearing request is not sufficient.> See “Filing”.
NOTE: ALJ has 5 days from receipt of this notice to determine the sufficiency of
the hearing request and to inform the parties in writing.®

120 USC § 1415(b)(7)(A)(ii); 34 CFR 300.507; OAR 581-015-2345.

220 USC § 1415(c)(2)(B)(i)(1); 34 CFR 300.508(e); OAR 581-015-2345(2).

320 USC § 1415(c)(2); 34 CFR 300.508(f); OAR 581-015-2345(2)(b).

420 USC § 1415(f)(1)(B); 34 CFR 300.510; OAR 581-015-2355.

520 USC § 1415(c)(2)(B)(i)(1); 34 CFR 300.507(d); OAR 581-015-2350.

620 USC § 1415(c)(2)(D), 34 CFR 300.507(d); OAR 581-015-2350(2). If insufficient, the party may amend its
hearing request only with the other party’s consent (and new opportunity for resolution session or ALJ grants
permission (but must be at least five days before hearing). If so, the preliminary time period starts over again. 20
USC § 1415(c)(2)(E), 34 CFR 300.507(d)(4), OAR 581-015-2350(4).
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Day 30 If the district has not resolved the complaint to the satisfaction of the parents, the due
(by day 15 if process hearing time period begins.”
expedited
hearing)
Hearing Time Period
Within 5-7 (a) The ALJ holds pre-hearing conference to:
days o0 Determine status of any resolution session, mediation, or settlement process;
(next day if o If no resolution completed:
expedited o Identify issues to be resolved at hearing;
hearing) o Determine whether expedited hearing timelines apply.

0 Resolve any discovery or other prehearing matters and, if
appropriate, stipulations of fact;

o Confirm the date(s) and expected length of hearing;

o Determine a briefing schedule, if appropriate, and confirm final order
date.

o0 Determine whether the verbatim record of hearing will be written
and/or electronic and, if written, make appropriate arrangements with
the LEA to provide a court reporter;

o Determine whether the hearing will be closed or open to the public;

o Determine whether the final order will be written and/or an electronic
recording; and

0 Review the parties’ rights and procedures for the hearing, and
evidentiary requirements.

(b) The ALJ issues Notice of Hearing and Hearing Rights.
Day 6 — 45 Completion of pre-hearing matters, briefing schedule according to pre-hearing order,

conduct of hearing, and issuance of final order.8

EXCEPTION: Expedited hearings must be conducted within 20 school days
(from date of hearing request), and a final order issued within 10 school days
after the hearing.®

NOTE: Atleast5 business days before a hearing, each party must disclose to all
other parties all evaluations completed by that date, and recommendations based on
the offering party’s evaluations, that the party intends to use at the hearing. An ALJ
may bar any party that does not comply with this disclosure requirement from
introducing the relevant evaluation or recommendation at the hearing without the
consent of the other party.1°

720 USC § 1415(f)(1)(B)(ii); 34 CFR 300.510(b); OAR 581-015-2355(2). The 45 day timeline begins the day after
one of the following events: both parties agree in writing to waive the resolution session (and do not agree to try
mediation); after either mediation or resolution meeting starts (within the 30 day period), the parties agree in writing
that no agreement is possible; both parties agree in writing to continue the mediation at the end of the 30 day
resolution period, but later one or both parties withdraw from mediation.

834 CFR 300.515(a); OAR 581-015-2375. An ALJ may grant specific extensions of time beyond this time period at

the request of either party. 34 CFR 300.515(c), OAR 581-015-2375(2).

920 USC § 1415(k)(4)(B); 34 CFR 300.532(c)(2); OAR 581-015-2445.
10 20 USC § 1415(f)(2); 34 CFR 300.512; OAR 581-015-2360.
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Directions for Completing Request for Due Process Hearing Form

a. Due process hearing requests must be sent to the State Superintendent of Public
Instruction and to the other party. Parents should enter the name of the school district
superintendent and the address of the school district office. Parents of children in
EI/ECSE programs should enter the name of the EI/ECSE agency providing services.

b. Complete the following sections:
1. Parent information:

o Complete the contact information for person requesting the hearing: name,
address, phone number(s), fax number, and e-mail address.

o Identify your relationship to the child. For a minor child, the relationship would
be parent, guardian, or surrogate parent. For a student who is 18 or older, the
hearing must be requested by the student, unless the student has a
court-appointed guardian, court-appointed surrogate parent, or surrogate
appointed at the request of the student.

2. Child information: Identify the child’s legal name, date of birth, address (or, if
homeless, contact information), and name of school or program child attends.

3. Legal representation (if any): Identify the attorney’s name, firm, address,
telephone number(s), fax number, and e-mail address.

4. Problem (statement of issues): Describe the problem with the child’'s special
education or EI/ECSE program, and the specific actions that the school district or
EI/ECSE program has taken or refused to take. Include facts about the problem.
Attach more pages as needed.

5. Proposed solution: Describe what you think needs to be done to solve the
problem, if you know or have any specific ideas at this time. Attach more pages as
needed.

6. Mediation: Please indicate (by “yes” or “na”) if you would like to try mediation to
resolve this dispute, if you would like more written information about mediation,
and if you would like to talk to another parent about mediation.

7. Scheduling resolution session: Because the district or program must hold the
resolution session within 15 days following receipt of the hearing request, please
identify all dates and times you would be available for a resolution session in the
next 15-17 days (17 allows 2 extra days for the hearing request to be received by
the other party).

8. Scheduling pre-hearing conference: Please indicate all dates and times you will
be available during the ten-day window following the end of the 30-day preliminary
period.

Sign and date the form, and print your name.
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Oregon Department of Education Office of Student Services
255 Capitol Street NE Dispute Resolution Section
Salem OR 97310 (503) 947-5797

Request for Due Process Hearing

This model form may be used to request a Special Education or Early Intervention/Early Childhood Special
Education (EI/ECSE) Due Process Hearing.

1. Complainant (Parent/Adult Student/Public Agency) Information
Name(s)
Address
City/State/Zip

Telephone number(s) FAX number

Email address

Relationship to child

* |s an Agency provided interpreter required for this investigation? O yes O no. Language

2. Child Information

Name of Child Date of Birth Grade
Child’s address (or contact information)
City/State/Zip
School or Program Child Attends:

Disability (optional)

3. Legal Representation (if any)
Attorney Name/Firm
Address

City/State/Zip

Telephone number(s) FAX number

E-maiil

4. Concerns Describe the IDEA violation and the specific facts that relate to that violation. The complaint
must describe a concern(s) that happened within the last 2 years prior to the date that the complaint is received.
Include dates, names and locations. (Attach additional pages if needed.)

Please check the box(es) and describe your concerns:

[ Identification [ Evaluation ] Educational Placement [ the Provision of a Free Appropriate
Public Education to your child

Oregon Department of Education
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Oregon Department of Education Office of Student Services
255 Capitol Street NE Dispute Resolution Section
Salem OR 97310 (503) 947-5797

Request for Due Process Hearing

5. Proposed Solution: (Attach additional pages if needed)

6. Mediation (check applicable boxes)
(optional)

Mediation is available to parents at no cost and can be entered into with the agreement of the School
District. Mediation may proceed concurrently with the complaint investigation process.

O 1 request mediation and authorize the school district and ODE to share educational information with the
mediator about my child’s identity, educational needs, and information pertinent to the mediation. |
understand the mediator will keep this information confidential.

O | would like more information about mediation.

7. Scheduling resolution session: A resolution session must be scheduled within 15 days of receipt of
your request. Indicate dates and times within those 15 days when you would be available to meet for a
resolution session.

8. Scheduling pre-hearing conference: 30 to 40 days after your hearing request is received; the
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) will hold a Prehearing Conference. Please provide any information that
would assist the ALJ in scheduling the Prehearing Conference.

The Due Process Hearing Request must be signed and mailed, faxed or
emailed to both:

Assistant Superintendent — Student Services  Local School District,

Public Service Building ESD or EI/ECSE Program
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, Oregon 97310-0203 Name:

Fax: 503-378-5156

Ode.disputeresolution@ode.state.or.us Superintendent:

Address:

City:

State/Zip:

Signature (required) Date

Oregon Department of Education
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