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School Dental Screening Requirements
Oral health is an important part of a student’s overall health.  There are documented connections between overall health and a student’s academic performance and attendance.  This FAQ is to be used as a guidance document to assist school districts in the implementation of HB 2972, HB 3181, and HB 3353; all which effect dental screening rules.  It is suggested that individuals also review these laws, related OARs, and consult with district legal counsel. Further information, including forms and certificates, can be found on ODE’s Website: https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Pages/Dental-Screening---Resources-and-Information.aspx

· HB 2972 requires school districts to collect dental screening information for students 7 years of age or younger and who are beginning an educational program (includes prekindergarten) for the first time.  Schools may perform dental screenings but are not required to.  Schools must provide preventative dental care information to new students. Lastly, school districts shall report the percentage of students who fail to submit a screening certificate to the Oregon Department of Education by October 1 of each year.  No later than December 1 each year, the Oregon Department of Education shall submit a summary to the Interim Legislative Committees on Education and to the Dental Director appointed by the Oregon Health Authority.

· HB 3181: Provides that statement from parent or guardian releasing student seven years of age or younger from requirement to submit certification that student received dental screening within previous 12 months must include explanation of reason that dental screening is burden for student or parent or guardian of student.

· HB 3353: Provides that when school district or prekindergarten program causes dental screening to be conducted of all students in one or more classrooms or in one or more grades where students are 14 years of age or younger, school district or prekindergarten program must provide students or parents or guardians of students opportunity to request not to participate in dental screening.

Frequently Asked Questions
1. Are School Districts required to perform dental screenings?
· No

2. What does HB 2972 require districts to do?
· Collect certification from students who are 7 years of age or younger and who are beginning an education program (new student) for the first time.
· Provide dental resources and information.
· Report, to the Oregon Department of Education by October 1st (for previous year) the percentage of new students who fail to submit dental screening certificate. 
· HB 2972 reads: Each education provider shall:
(a) File in the student’s dental health record any certifications and results of a dental screening known by the education provider.
1. Only the categories of need are documented (i.e. untreated decay).  It is not necessary to document the presence of fillings or sealants.
(b) Provide the parent or guardian of each [new] student with information about: 
(A) The dental screenings; 
(B) Further examinations or necessary treatments; and
(C) Preventive care, including fluoride varnish, sealants and daily brushing and flossing.
3. Is there a negative consequence for the student if they do not hand in a dental screening?
· No.

4. Can parents opt-out their child from the dental screening requirement?
· Yes, a parent can opt their child out of the dental screening requirement in writing if:
(a) The student submitted certification to a prior education provider;
(b) The dental screening is contrary to the religious beliefs of the student or the parent or guardian of the student; or
(c) The dental screening is a burden:
The dental screening is a burden for the student or the parent or guardian of the student when: 
(A) The cost of obtaining the dental screening is too high; 
(B) The student does not have access to a screener or;
(C) The student was unable to obtain an appointment with a screener

5. If my district wants to perform dental screening, what are the requirements?
· If a district decides to perform or arrange with a community partner to provide dental screenings at school, HB 2972 requires that these screenings be performed by 
(A) A dentist licensed under ORS chapter 679;
(B) A dental hygienist licensed under ORS 680.010 to 680.205;
(C) A health care practitioner who is acting in accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of Education; or
(D) A person who:
(i) Is the following:
(a) An employee of an education provider; and
(b) Trained in accordance with guidelines established by the dental director appointed by the Oregon Health Authority; and
(c) Is acting in accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of Education and the Oregon Board of Dentistry requirements http://www.oregon.gov/dentistry/pages/screen_pol.aspx
  (E) Screeners must provide results of the screening to the parents using the approved template of the Parent Notification form, located on the Dental Screening - Resources and Information webpage.

6. How do School districts report data to ODE and what is the data used for?
· Districts collect screening data on new students who are 7 years of age or younger and who are beginning an education program for the first time.  Data to be collected should include:
(a) Number of new students who submitted a dental screening certificate.
(b) Number of new students who failed to submit certificate. 
· No later than Oct 1, districts shall report to the Oregon Department of Education the percentage of new students who failed to submit a dental screening certificate the previous year. First report is due Oct 1, 2017 for the 2016-17 school year.
· The reasons why students were opted out.  
· No later than December 1 of each year, the Oregon Department of Education shall summarize school district reports of this subsection and submit the summary to the interim legislative committees on education and to the dental director appointed by the Oregon Health Authority.

7. SB 2972 requires school districts to “Provide the parent or guardian of each student with information”.  Will the State provide standard information or resources for parents?
· HB 2972 requires the state dental director to develop standardized information for districts to distribute in regards to dental screenings, follow-up exams or treatments, and preventive care including fluoride varnish, sealants, and daily brushing and flossing.

If you have additional questions please contact:
Oregon Department of Education:			Oregon Health Authority:
	Sasha Grenier, MPH
	Karen Phillips
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