Agenda Item No.: F

Work Plan: Forest Resources

Topic: Committee Appointments

Presentation Title: Committee for Family Forestlands Appointment

Date of Presentation: January 4, 2023

Contact Information: Mike Kroon, Forest Resources Deputy Chief

503-400-4815, mike.e.kroon@odf.oregon.gov

SUMMARY

This agenda item relates to the appointment of a member of the Committee for Forestlands (CFF) to fill a currently vacant position. One nomination has been submitted to fill the Northwest Oregon position (Scott Hayes).

CONTEXT

The CFF, a standing committee to the Board, provides advice to the Board and the State Forester on methods to help improve the vitality of family forestlands, including improving owners' ability to manage and market their timber and other forest products. The CFF continues to evaluate the impact of policy and regulatory changes on family forestland owners.

BACKGROUND AND ANALYSIS

CFF members serve three-year appointments that generally run from July through June (Attachment 1). There are seven voting members, including four family forestland owners, one forest industry representative, one conservation community representative, and one citizen-at-large. The CFF currently has six ex-officio members representing Oregon State University College of Forestry, the State Forester, Oregon Forest Resources Institute, public land managers, logging/forestry consulting interests and small forestland owner groups.

Currently, the CFF Northwest Oregon Area position is vacant.

The following link has more information on the committee and current committee members: https://www.oregon.gov/odf/board/pages/cff.aspx.

RECOMMENDATION

The Department recommends the appointment of Scott Hayes as the Northwest Oregon Area member of the CFF. His biography is noted in Attachment 2.

ATTACHMENTS

- (1) Proposed CFF Voting Members Appointment Schedule
- (2) New Member Nomination Biography

Proposed Committee for Family Forestlands Voting Members Appointment Schedule

January 4, 2023

Proposed schedule for CFF members' appointments / reappointments. New Voting Members, Chair and Vice Chair to be appointed by the Board of Forestry.

Voting Member	Appointed	2023	2024	2025	2026
Citizen at Large Wendy Gerlach (Chair)	2020	June 30			
Conservation Community Kaola Swanson (Vice Chair)	2019			June 30	
Forest Industry Mark Vroman	2017	June 30			
Southern Oregon Area Gary Jensen	2021		June 30		
Landowner at Large Kate McMichael	2021		June 30		
Eastern Oregon Area Maurizio Valerio	2021		June 30		
Northwest Oregon Area Scott Hayes	2023*			June 30	

X = have or will have served two terms, not eligible for reappointment, and a new member must be nominated.

^{*}Scott Hayes appointed to CFF in January, 2023, to serve remainder of three-year term starting July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2025.

Scott Hayes



- Oregon State University, Bachelor of Science
- Oregon Department of Forestry, 1974-2005, working as a Service Forester, Forest Practices staff forester, and Assistant Area Director.
- 2012-2014 President, Oregon Small Woodlands Association
- 2015-2017 Chairman, Oregon Tree Farm System; currently on OTFS board
- 2015-2017 Chair, National Public Affairs Committee, American Forest Foundation
- 2017-2019 Chair, Woodland Operating Committee, American Forest Foundation
- 2017-2019 Board of Trustees, American Forest Foundation
- 2017-2022 Western Representative on Woodland Operating Committee
- Member Oregon Woodland Cooperative

Arbor House Tree Farm

- Scott and his wife Marge purchased 40 acres in Washington County, Oregon, in 1996 and built their home on the woodland in 1999.
- In 1996 the woodland was enrolled in the American Tree Farm System.
- In 2016 the woodland was enrolled in the Conservation Stewardship Program with the USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service. The program was extended in 2020.
- Over the past 20 years 299MBF of mostly Douglas-fir was thinned or small patch-cut on about two thirds of the quarter section.