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ODHS Child Welfare Education Guidance for the 2021-2022 School Year 
August 2021 

 
 
The Oregon Department of Human Services (ODHS) Child Welfare education guidance, is based 

upon, the most recent version of Oregon Department of Education’s (ODE) Ready schools, Safe 

Learner's Resiliency Framework for the 2021-22 School Year. Due to the evolving nature of 

COVID-19, guidance may change and be updated by ODE: 

“Changes in the amount of community transmission of COVID-19, the severity of illness 

associated with new variants of the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19, or the availability 

of vaccination for children younger than 12 years old may warrant changes to the state’s 

recovery efforts during the school year. The Resiliency Framework will be updated to reflect any 

changes.” 

ODE’s framework is advisory, except for mandates put forth by state law. Decision are moving 

towards local implementation with planning occurring between local school districts and public 

health authorities. School district websites are the best place to stay informed of local 

procedures and protocols. 

Communication and School Planning 

The evolving nature of COVID-19 means communication is more important, than ever. Schools 

need to know when students are in ODHS care or custody, when they are reunified with 

parents, and when custody is terminated. This is so they know when to apply the Every Student 

Succeeds Act (ESSA), Foster Care Provisions and whom should be acting as the “parent” for 

school purposes. It is also important that schools know how to contact the caseworker, in case 

of emergencies. 

Enrollment and School Notification 

The caseworker (or designated ODHS staff person) needs to send the  School Notification Form 
(0338) to the School District Foster Care Point of Contact. If this is being sent via email, it should 
be done using the secure email system. If the student is changing schools, and a Best Interest 
Finding is needed, it can be documented on the School Notification Form. This form must also 
be sent when the court relieves ODHS of custody. 
 
It is also very important to update the school information in the OR-Kids Education Person 
Management tab of OR-Kids. This information is necessary for federal reporting and emergency 
management. If a student is enrolled in remote instructional model option through their school 
or district the school should still be listed in OR-Kids. Online and remote instructional models 
through the home school or district should not be identified as home schooling. 
 

 

https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Ready%20Schools%20Safe%20Learners%20Resiliency%20Framework%20for%20the%202021-22%20School%20Year.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Ready%20Schools%20Safe%20Learners%20Resiliency%20Framework%20for%20the%202021-22%20School%20Year.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/ce0338.doc
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/ce0338.doc
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Transportation 

Students who live within their school boundaries will continue to receive transportation 

through their school district. 

Students who receive School of Origin transportation, will need to submit a new transportation 

request to the School District Foster Care Point of Contact at the beginning of the school year. 

These requests need to be resubmitted every year. The Transportation Request Form (de2885) 

is in the process of being updated to accommodate the new, seven digit case numbers. In the 

meantime, use the current form, notate the case number like this: [10] [0] [0] [0] [0] [1]. The 

school district will only provide transportation when this form is submitted from ODHS 

(resource parents cannot directly request this service). School of Origin Transportation is a 

service that can only be used while the student is in foster care or during trial reunification with 

a parent. ODHS must notify the Foster Care Point of Contact when ODHS is relieved of custody, 

so the service can be turned off. 

School District Foster Care Points of Contact 
 
Every school district has a Foster Care Point of Contact to assist with students experiencing 
foster care. They serve as our main communication partners for navigating school-related 
issues. Please send the following to the School District Foster Care Point of Contact: 
 

• School Notification Forms 

• School of Origin Transportation Requests 

• Assist in the transfer of school records, if necessary 

• Any other school related questions or issues needing assistance 
 

The  Foster Care Point of Contact list is located on the third bullet of the ODE website. It is 
updated every August with staffing changes. 
 
School Model Selection 

Resource parents are currently in the process of registering students for school. The plan for 

this school year, is focused on full-time in-person education. School districts will still offer a 

remote instructional model (formerly called Comprehensive Distance Learning) option for 

students and families who prefer online education. For the purposes of this guidance, it is 

important to distinguish between online and remote instructional model through the current 

school or school district versus education through online charter schools. 

School of Origin (ORS 339.133): These laws are not impacted by school model selection. 

Caseworkers will continue to obtain a Best Interest Finding to change the school of origin, for 

students in foster care, when required. If there will be a change to the school of origin for the 

coming school year, it is important to obtain the Best Interest Finding from the juvenile court, 

before the school year begins.  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/de2885.docx
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/fosteringconnections/Pages/default.aspx
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ODHS Rules and Caseworker Authorization 

Current rule, Requirements Regarding the Education of a Child or Young Adult (413-200-0354) 

requires that certified families must: 

Enroll the child or young adult in their school or educational placement when directed by the 

Department. The Department must authorize enrollment of a child or young adult for any 

school placement not authorized by the child or young adult’s Individualized Education Plan 

(IEP) team. 

When determining and authorizing the type of school program (in-person versus remote 

instructional model), the caseworker should include considerations in a collaborative decision-

making process. Decisions should be documented in OR-Kids and should include: 

• Input from Tribes, when applicable. 

• Input from the child’s team, when possible (child’s attorney/CASA/resource 

parent/parent/surrogate parent/student). 

• Consult with the Child Welfare nurse or nurse manager, for medically fragile, complex, 

and nursing-dependent students. 

• Consult with the child’s medical provider or Child Welfare nurse or nurse manager, 

when a student might have medical issues, that would make the child high-risk for 

COVID-19. 

Online/Remote Instructional Model: This option is meant to be for the full school year. Each 

school district has a different name for these programs (ex: Edge, Flex). The following 

considerations should be considered when deciding to have the student enrolled in online 

education: 

• How did the student do with comprehensive distance learning last year? 

• Does the student have special education needs which are better suited for in-person 

learning? 

• What is the stability and permanency plan of the student’s foster care placement? Since 

this option is meant to be the full school-year, if there is an anticipated move soon, this 

option may not be the best for the student. 

• Consideration for health and safety risk factors of others living in the resource family’s 

home or residential program (children and adults), and include the foster home certifier, 

when necessary. 

Other School Placements 

For the following school placements, the approval process outlined in the Educational Services 

for a Child or Young Adult in Substitute Care rules still apply: 

• Charter School (including virtual charter school) 

• Alternative School 

http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/division_200.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/division_105.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/division_105.pdf
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• Private School 

• Home School 

• Online Schools not accredited in Oregon 

• GED Program 

• International Study Program 

Child Caring Agency (CCA) Placements 

• Students in CCA placements are served by a variety of education programs across the 

state. Some CCA’s have one educational setting as part of their programming, while 

others may have multiple educational options. Caseworkers need to collaborate with 

the program in those instances to ensure the most appropriate educational setting is 

selected. 

•  Residential programs that are served by the local school district should reach out to 

their school district/Foster Care Point of Contact, to determine the best way to serve 

students and whether extra student supports are available. CCA programs served by the 

local school district, will need to adhere to the same requirements for schools, set forth 

by the school district, if learning occurs on premises. 

• Proctor foster homes should work with the ODHS caseworker to determine the 

appropriate school model selection for the student. 

• A Best Interest Finding, from the Juvenile Court, will still be necessary when required by 

ORS 339.133 

Visitor Logistics 

Child Protective Service (CPS) Investigations 

Schools might be limiting non-essential visitors at schools to help limit potential exposure of 

COVID-19, and this will likely vary school district to school district. CPS workers and law 

enforcement will be considered “essential visitors,” which means child abuse investigations can 

still occur on school premises. Visitors will be expected to comply with all screening and social 

distancing measures, required by the school district. 

Prior to conducting a child abuse investigation at a school, CPS workers should consider calling 

the school or Foster Care Point of Contact, to determine whether the student is attending in-

person.  

CPS workers should also consider whether any of the collateral school interviews, can be done 

by phone or video conference, to decrease in-person contact. CPS workers doing phone or 

video meetings or interviews with school staff, should send a photo of their ODHS Child Welfare 

badge via state email, for identification purposes. 

ODE has clarified that an ODHS child welfare ID badge, should be used in lieu of a driver’s 

license. Child Welfare employees should be prepared to give the school their supervisor’s name 

and phone number, if the school wishes to verify their ID. 
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Caseworkers and Social Service Assistants  

ODHS staff who plan to visit a school or pick-up/drop off a student, should familiarize 

themselves with the school district’s visitor protocols and safety measures. These can be found 

on the school or school district website. 

School-based Services 

Child Nutrition/Free and Reduced Meals 

All students in foster care, automatically qualify for free and reduced meals, if their school 

participates in the program. ODHS and ODE have a data sharing agreement, which 

automatically qualifies the student without the resource parent needing to fill out an 

application.  

School Based Health Services 

Student Health Centers will be open and available to students, even if a student is enrolled in a 

remote instructional model. Student based health services may increase their services to 

include things like rapid COVID-19 testing and vaccine clinics.  

Health 

Masking Requirements 
 
OHA has adopted rules, OAR 333-019-1015, which outline masking requirements in school:  
 
This rule applies to public, private, parochial, charter, youth corrections education programs 
(YCEP) and juvenile detention education programs (JDEP) or alternative educational programs 
offering kindergarten through grade 12 or any part thereof. The rule requires all individuals 5 
years of age and older to wear a face covering while indoors in a K-12 school, during school 
hours. Certain accommodations for medical needs or disability may be necessary. 
 
Students with medical needs or disabilities, who need accommodations relating to masks, can 
find the guidance here.  
 
The expectation is that ODHS staff, resource parents and students in foster care will follow 
statewide masking mandates in all school settings.  
 
ODHS Guidance around COVID-19 Vaccines 
For children in care from 12 to 14 years of age   
  
As with all vaccines, we will follow the recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention (CDC) for children 12 to 14 years of age who are eligible for the vaccination. The 
CDC recommends that everyone 12 years and older should get a COVID-19 vaccination to help 
protect against COVID-19.  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=280434
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Face%20Covering%20Supplemental%20Guidance.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/recommendations/adolescents.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/recommendations/adolescents.html
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It is important to ensure children in care have supportive adults who will assist and 
support them around all of their medical needs. This is a good time for supportive adults to help 
children get up to date on routine immunizations as they prepare to return to school. Although 
resource parents are able to consent for children in care to receive this vaccination, parents 
should always be informed of the decision-making around medical needs and care of their 
children. Children in care should be vaccinated in accordance with CDC guidance and Child 
Welfare policy. 
 
For children in care 15 years and older   
  
We recognize young people 15 and older can give consent for their own treatment, 
including vaccinations. Getting a COVID-19 vaccine is a personal choice and we encourage you 
to share what we know with them, as they are considering getting vaccinated.   

1. Getting vaccinated provides some protection against COVID-19 without risk of 
serious adverse effects of the vaccine.  
2. The risk of having serious long-term side effects from COVID-19 is much higher 
than the risk of having serious side effects from the COVID-19 vaccine.  
3. The COVID-19 vaccine is free.  
4. Even if you've had COVID-19, vaccination is recommended. Getting vaccinated is 
the best way to protect yourself against reinfection and to protect loved ones in 
your household who are not yet eligible for the vaccine.  
5. Children in Child Welfare custody who are eligible for the COVID-19 vaccine 
should receive the vaccine according to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC) guidance and Child Welfare Policy.  
6. The CDC recommends that everyone 12 years and older should get a COVID-19 
vaccination to help protect against COVID-19.  

 
More information about vaccinations can be found in the ODHS Procedure Manual (chapter 5). 

Isolation and Quarantine Protocols 

School districts will have isolation and quarantine protocols developed for sick students or 

when there is a COVID-19 exposure. Resource parents and CCAs will want to familiarize 

themselves with the local school protocols should this impact students in their home. 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and Special Education Recovery Services 

ODE has created a guidance document regarding Individualized Recovery Services: 

As schools plan for the 2021-22 school year, it is important that they fully consider how to 

appropriately support all students in light of their circumstances, including those experiencing 

disability. For students experiencing disability who are eligible for special education, IEP teams 

must consider the need for individualized COVID-19 recovery services. Districts are required to: 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/recommendations/adolescents.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/recommendations/adolescents.html
file:///C:/Users/OR0080158/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/N2SHZ823/Immunizations%20and%20Vaccinations%20Chapter%205%20Section%2021.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Documents/Planning%20for%20Individualized%20COVID-19%20Recovery%20Services.pdf


7 
 

 • Notify parents of the opportunity for the IEP team to consider Individualized COVID-19 

Recovery Services and seek their input related to those services. 

 • Consider the need for Individualized COVID-19 Recovery Services at each initial IEP or annual 

review meeting through the 2022-23 school year. 

 • Proactively make decisions about Individualized COVID-19 Recovery Services earlier than the 

initial IEP or annual review meeting, where appropriate.  

• Document district decisions related to these services using the Individualized COVID-19 

Recovery Services Review sample form developed by the Department or a form developed by the 

school district that contains the same content. 

 • Notify ODE when the district and the parent wish to participate in a Facilitated IEP meeting 

about Individualized COVID-19 Recovery Services. 

McKinney-Vento 

Students in foster care do not qualify for McKinney-Vento services, since they are eligible for 

services as a student in foster care. Some child welfare involved families not in foster care, may 

qualify for services under McKinney-Vento, if they meet the homeless definition. This should be 

considered on cases where ODHS has custody, but placement is with parents or during 

Protective Action Plans, when a student temporarily lives outside their home.  

McKinney-Vento Act10 defines "homeless children and youths" as individuals who lack a fixed, 

regular, and adequate nighttime residence. The term includes—  

• Children and youths who are: - sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, 

economic hardship, or a similar reason (sometimes referred to as “doubled-up”); - living in 

motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations; - living in emergency or transitional shelters; or - abandoned in hospitals;  

• Children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place 

not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings;  

• Children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, 

substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings; and  

• Migratory children who qualify as homeless because they are living in circumstances described 

above. 

Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) – Early Intervention 

States receiving CAPTA funds must develop and implement “provisions and procedures for 

referral of a child under the age of 3 who is involved in a founded or substantiated case of 

abuse or neglect to early intervention services funded under part C of the Individuals with 

https://www.oregon.gov/ode/schools-and-districts/grants/ESEA/McKinney-Vento/Documents/USDE-nonregulatory-guidance.pdf
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Disabilities Education Act”.  Oregon complies with this part of the act through provisions in OAR 

as outline below and the Child Welfare procedure manual.   

OAR 413-015-0440 Determine Disposition of the CPS Assessment 

(3) When a disposition is founded or substantiated for abuse, the CPS worker must refer 

all victims three years old and under to Early Intervention.   

The CPS to Early Intervention Referral Form CF 323 must be used to make the referral. 

Obtaining a release of information is recommended as engages the parent or guardian in the 

process and keeps them informed, however, a release of information is not required. 

413-105-0080 Early Education and Post-Secondary Education 

(1) The caseworker must ensure that an eligible child in the care or custody of the Department 

has the same access to public preschool education and early intervention education programs 

as eligible children not in the care or custody of the Department. When a disposition is founded 

or substantiated for abuse, the CPS worker must refer all victims 3 years old and under to Early 

Intervention. When completing the referral, the CPS worker must use the “CPS to Early 

Intervention Referral” form (CE0323) if a release of information is not signed. 

Visitation (or Family Time) 

SB 279 was passed during the 2021 legislative session, which strengthens the commitment to 

schedule visitation outside of school hours, when possible. Chapter 5, section 26 of the 

procedure manual currently states: A caseworker must consider several factors in development 

of the Visit and Contact Plan: (5) A child’s school schedule (which should not be disrupted for 

visitation, if possible). 

ODHS will be updating this procedure to comply with SB 279. ODHS is also developing a tracking 

system to track the amount of days and reasons why, students in foster care, miss school for 

visitation. More information will be coming soon. 

Resources 

• ODE Mental Health and Social Support for Student and Families: 

https://www.oregon.gov/ode/educator-

resources/standards/Pages/Mental_Health_Students_Families.aspx 

• FACT Oregon: FACT Oregon is a good resource for parents (including resource parents) 

of children experiencing disabilities. They offer virtual trainings, a helpline and toolkits 

for everything relating to special education. https://factoregon.org/ 

• Child Care and Alternative Care Services: OAR 413-090-0010 Authorized Payments (pgs 

13-14) outlines the process for child care and alternative care dollars available to 

resource parents. 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/ce0323.pdf?CFGRIDKEY=CW%200323,0323,CPS%20Early%20Intervention%20Referral,CE0323.doc,CE0323.pdf,,,,,,http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/i-e8.pdf,See%20PolicyI-E.8,http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/i-ab4.pdf,1-AB.4
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB0279/Enrolled
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/educator-resources/standards/Pages/Mental_Health_Students_Families.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/educator-resources/standards/Pages/Mental_Health_Students_Families.aspx
https://factoregon.org/
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/division_90.pdf
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• Pandemic Aid for Foster Youth: 
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/FOSTERCARE/ILP/Pages/Pandemic-Aid-Foster-
Youth.aspx 

• ODHS Education Rules: Educational Services For A Child or Young Adult 

• Education Information: Education Program Coordinator: Catherine Stelzer; (503) 569-
0747;Catherine.R.Stelzer@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 
Quick Reference 
 

Resource Family  Caseworker Student  

• Register student for 

school  

• Arrange school 

transportation for in-

district transportation 

• Consult with 

caseworker about 

school child is 

registered in 

• Consult with 

caseworker if child is 

doing in person or 

remote school 

• Support child in care 

in getting up-to-date 

immunizations, 

including the COVID-

19 vaccine 

• Familiarize yourself 

with local school 

protocols  

  

• Send the School 

Notification Form 

(0338) to the School 

District Foster Care 

Point of Contact for 

School of Origin 

transportation 

requests 

• Obtain Best Interest 

Finding when 

required for school 

changes 

• Update child’s schools 

information in the 

OR-Kids  

• Provide extra 

supports to students 

in Child Caring 

Agencies  

• CPS: Prior to 

conducting a child 

abuse investigation at 

a school, CPS should 

consider calling the 

school or Foster Care 

Point of Contact to 

determine whether 

the student is 

attending in-person 

• If planning to visit 

school or pick-

• Follow statewide 

masking mandates in 

all school settings 

unless if 

accommodations are 

needed 

• Go to a Student 

Health Center if you 

want additional 

supports  

• 12-14 year olds: Get 

up-to-date 

immunizations, 

including the COVID-

19 vaccine 

• 15 year olds: 

Determine if you 

want and get up-to-

date immunizations , 

including the COVID-

19 vaccine  

• 14 years old and up: 

Check for eligibility 

and apply for 

pandemic aid 

https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/FOSTERCARE/ILP/Pages/Pandemic-Aid-Foster-Youth.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/FOSTERCARE/ILP/Pages/Pandemic-Aid-Foster-Youth.aspx
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/childwelfare/manual_1/division_105.pdf
mailto:Catherine.R.Stelzer@dhsoha.state.or.us
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/ce0338.doc
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/ce0338.doc
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/ce0338.doc
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/Pages/COVID-19.aspx#Youthitem2
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up/drop off student, 

familiarize yourself 

with the school 

district’s visitor 

protocols and safety 

measures  

• Familiarize yourself 

with local school 

protocols 

• Ensure eligible child in 

care has same access 

to public preschool 

education and early 

intervention 

education programs if 

applicable  

• Do your best to not 

disrupt school time 

when scheduling 

family time 

(visitation)  

 


