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Discussion/interpretation:

At present, homecare workers who provide services for consumer-employers eligible
for the VDQ program are not required to complete training to receive the collectively
bargained $3.00 per hour differential rate.

Article 14.1, Section 3 of the 2019-2021 Collective Bargaining Agreement between the
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Oregon Home Care Commission (OHCC) and SEIU, 503 establishes the requirement
for Ventilator-Dependent Quadriplegia (VDQ) certification for homecare workers that
must be earned in order to receive the $3.00 differential. OHCC launched a VDQ
Certification training pilot in December 2020 and training will be available to all HCWs
on January 20, 2021.

VDO certification policy

Current workers:
HCWSs must earn the VDQ certification by Feb. 1, 2022 to continue receiving the
differential rate.

New VDQ HCWs:

Beginning Feb. 1, 2021, new HCWs supporting a consumer-employer eligible for the
VDQ program must complete the VDQ training within 90 days of employment to
receive the differential.

Outreach:

OHCC has identified all HCWs required to earn VDQ certification by Feb. 1, 2022.
OHCC mailed letters to the consumer-employers and workers to inform them of the
new VDQ certification requirements. OHCC will VDQ HCWs each time a training
cohort begins.

HCWs can find details about the VDQ training sessions in the Elevate newsletter.
Information is also available on the OHCC'’s website.

2-Year Certification:
The VDQ certification is valid for two years and there are continuing education
requirements.

VDQ Certification Stipend:

Existing VDQ HCWs as of 02/01/2021 will receive a stipend after successfully
completing the VDQ certification training. New HCWs working for a consumer-
employer eligible for the VDQ program will not receive a stipend.

Independent Choices Program

ICP personal support workers may attend the VDQ certification training, but they
do not qualify for the differential because their rates are set by the ICP
consumer-employer per federal law.
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VDO training overview and requirements:

The curriculum was created by Oregon State University College of Public Health and
Human Services, Center for Health Innovation. The VDQ Certification curriculum is
designed to help HCWs develop a basic understanding of quadriplegia and ventilator
dependency, and its impact on health and functional abilities.

Here is what you need to know about the training:

e Workers must have access to a computer or other compatible device and
internet service.

o Workers will receive 49 hours of training. There are seven modules and each
module is seven hours long.

e During the COVID pandemic, seven hours of training will be offered per week
(two 3.5-hour sessions).

Training is offered via online webinars until physical distancing restrictions are lifted. In
the future, training will be a blended model that includes of self-paced online modules.

Implementation/transition instructions:
Refer to Local/branch action required.

Training/communication plan: Review of transmittal.

Local/branch action required:

o Effective Feb. 1, 2021, refer HCWs who begin working with a consumer-
employer eligible for the VDQ program to OHCC to enroll in VDQ certification
training, and inform them they must earn the certification within 90 days of
employment with the consumer-employer.

e Continue to pay out the VDQ differential rate as part of ICP participants’ cash
benefit if they meet the VDQ program criteria.

e Refer HCWs and consumer-employers who have questions to the OHCC at 1-
877-867-0077 or email the OHCC certifications mailbox at
Certifications.OHCC@dhsoha.state.or.us
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Central office action required: OHCC will provide outreach to HCWs and consumers

impacted by this policy.

Field/stakeholder review: [X]Yes [ |No
If yes, reviewed by: APD Operations

Filing instructions:

If you have any questions about this policy, contact:

Contact(s): Roberta Lilly, OHCC Training/Registry Manager

Phone: 503-378-8194 Fax:

Email: Roberta.E.Lilly@dhsoha.state.or.us
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