
 

 

Transfer Out-of-State Vehicle into Oregon -   
With Lienholder 

  
If you are still making payments on your loan or you have a lease, the security interest holder probably has the title. 
DMV cannot title or register your vehicle in Oregon without the out-of-state title.  
Contact your security interest holder to find out how and where they want you to send the application 
documents (they may have additional requirements and fees).  
 

ATTENTION: 
• You cannot go to a DMV office to title your vehicle.  You must mail your title transaction 

and fees to DMV.  The address is at the end of these instructions. 
• Please keep images or copies of the documents you mail to us. 
• It may take 10 weeks for you to receive a title and 5 weeks to receive plates or stickers. 

 

Depending on how quickly the security interest holder processes your paperwork and submits it to DMV, it can take 
over 5 weeks to get your plates and stickers.  

If your out-of-state plates are expired or you do not have plates, you may apply for a trip permit online if you are 
unable to get the requirements below. You should not be cited for expired plates or trip permits at this time. 
 

 

Provide the following to your security interest holder: 
 Print the application procedures for your security interest holder; 
 A completed Application for Title and Registration; 
 Get a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection at drive up locations or 

by appointment, at DMV for $7 (or if you need emissions testing, at DEQ); 
 If the vehicle has an odometer with 7,500 miles or less, you may need a 

Use Tax Certificate from the Oregon Department of Revenue; and  
 The appropriate title fee (check or money order payable to “Oregon DMV”). 

 Passenger vehicle?  Use our online fee calculator! 

Your security interest holder will submit the original title to DMV with your 
application. 

Mailing and registration information is on page 2. 

 

 

 

Title 

https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/?link=trip
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/Pages/COVID_Alert.aspx#Grace
https://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6603.pdf
https://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/226fill.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/Vehicle-privilege-and-use-taxes.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx
https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/?link=title
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Along with all of the requirements listed in the section above, you must also  
provide the following to your security interest holder: 

 Proof of compliance, or exemption from, the Low Emissions Vehicle (LEV) 
requirement, if applicable; 

 A Certificate of Compliance for passing an emissions test at DEQ, if 
required (newer vehicles are exempt); and 

 The appropriate registration fee. 
 Passenger vehicle: Online fee calculator 
 Other vehicle type: Fee charts. 

Your security interest holder will submit your documents and payment to DMV.  
 

If you apply for registration, you are certifying:  
 You currently have, and will maintain, motor vehicle insurance required by Oregon law for as long as you 

register the vehicle; and 
 Your home is in Oregon or you are eligible, or required, to register under Oregon law. 

 
 

 If you titled your vehicle in another state, you must get a new Oregon title and 
registration (plates). 

 If you only registered your vehicle in another state, you do not need to title it 
again. If you still have the Oregon plates, you can use the plates and renew 
them if  needed. If you do not have the plates, you can apply for replacements. 

 

 

If you have all requirements and fees, mail your transaction to: 
DMV Services 
1905 Lana Ave NE 
Salem, OR 97314 

 

 Registration 
      (Plates) 

Returning 
Residents 

https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/lev.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Vehicle-Inspection/Pages/New-to-the-DEQ.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Vehicle-Inspection/Pages/nmy.aspx
https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/?link=title
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/Pages/Vehicle/plates.aspx#Vehicle
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/offices/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/insurance.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/residency.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/Vehicle/Registration.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/Vehicle/Registration.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/Vehicle/Registration.aspx
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