
 

 

Transfer Ownership – Oregon Title is Lost 
  

If you bought a vehicle and the Oregon title is lost, you may be able to get a replacement title and transfer the title into your name 
at the same time. You cannot do a replacement title and transfer the title into your name at the same time if the vehicle is subject 
to odometer requirements and all owners are changing. If this is the case, the owner(s) on DMV records must replace the Oregon 
title and then disclose the odometer on the title for you.  

ATTENTION: 
• You cannot go to a DMV office to title your vehicle.  You must mail your title transaction and 

fees to DMV.  The address is at the end of these instructions. 
• Please keep images or copies of the documents you mail to us. 
• It may take 10 weeks for you to receive a title and 5 weeks to receive plates or stickers. 
• You should not be cited for expired plates or trip permits at this time. 

 

You may apply for a trip permit online if you are unable to get the requirements below.  
Provide the following to DMV (if not subject to odometer requirements): 

 A completed Application for Title and Registration; 
 A completed Application for Replacement Title, signed by all owners on 

DMV records; 
 Original releases or bills of sale from all previous owners;  
 Original lien releases from any previous security interest holders; and 
 The appropriate title fee. 

 Passenger vehicle?  Use our online fee calculator! 
 If you purchased the vehicle on or after March 1, 2020, fill out the lower 

section of DMV Form 6775 to request an exemption from late title fees,  
since DMV offices have been closed.   

 
Along with all of the requirements listed in the section above, you must also  
provide the following to DMV: 
 If the vehicle does not already have plates, proof of compliance, or 

exemption from the Low Emissions Vehicle (LEV) requirement;  
 A Certificate of Compliance for passing an emissions test at DEQ, if  

required (newer vehicles are exempt); and 
 The appropriate registration fee. 

 Passenger vehicle: Online fee calculator 
 Other vehicle type: Fee charts. 

 
If you apply for registration, you are certifying:  

 You currently have, and will maintain, motor vehicle insurance required by Oregon law for as long as you 
register the vehicle; and your home is in Oregon or you are eligible, or required, to register under Oregon law. 

 
If you have all requirements and fees, mail your transaction to: 
DMV Services, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem, OR 97314 

Title 

Registration 
(Plates) 

https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/odometer.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/trorreplonly.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/docs/trorreplonly.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/Pages/COVID_Alert.aspx#Grace
https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/?link=trip
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/odometer.aspx
https://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/226fill.pdf
https://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/515fill.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx
https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/?link=title
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/Forms/DMV/6775fill.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/lev.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Vehicle-Inspection/Pages/New-to-the-DEQ.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Vehicle-Inspection/Pages/nmy.aspx
https://dmv2u.oregon.gov/eServices/?link=title
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/Pages/Vehicle/plates.aspx#Vehicle
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/insurance.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/residency.aspx
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