

Application for Tow or Recovery Vehicle Business Certificate

RE	M	A	R	K	S

TOW BUSINESS CERTIFICATE: A Tow Business Certificate is required for each tow or recovery vehicle operated on Oregon highways. The certificate is valid for one year from the date of application. For Oregon towers, the vehicle must be titled in the same name as listed on Line 4 of this form. Oregon towers must also register with DMV or Commerce and Compliance Division (CCD). Out-of-state towers towing in Oregon must have valid prorate registration with CCD (e.g., apportioned registration, international registration plan or IRP).

INSTRUCTIONS: This application is for a Tow Business Certificate and Tow Plates only. Complete Lines 1 through 7 and sign on Line 8. Send the completed form and fees to: DMV, Attn: Registration Inventory Unit, 1905 Lana Ave. NE, Salem, OR 97314.

WHERE TO REGISTER A TOW OR RECOVERY VEHICLE:

- You must register with DMV if your tow/recovery vehicle has a combined weight of 26,000 pounds or less and is not proportionally registered (prorate) for operation in other states. "Combined weight" means the loaded weight of your vehicle plus the loaded weight of any vehicle towed or recovered. Contact DMV at (503) 945-5000 if you have any questions.
- You must register with CCD if the combined weight of your tow/recovery vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. You also may need to register with CCD on a proportional basis if you operate your tow vehicle in Oregon and other states. Contact CCD at (503) 378-6699 for more information on registering with CCD.

NEW PLATE #		VE	HICLE DESCR	IPTION		
evv i a (i e ii	STICKER#	VEHICLE IDENT	TIFICATION NUMBER (CATION NUMBER (VIN)		\$17
PRESENT PLATE #	EXPIRATION DATE	YEAR	MAKE	REGISTRATION WEIGH	T COMBINED WEIGHT	BUSINES CERTIFICA FEE
Check One:	The vehicle	will be regist	ered with CCD		·	
				'. Attach an Applica the required fee.	ation for	\$100
		has valid pro g in Oregon.	rate registratio	n and is an out-of-s	state	TOW BOARD FEE
REGISTERED OWNER / BUSI	NESS NAME (AS SHOWN ON TIT	LE)		ODL / ID / CUSTOMER #	DATE OF BIRTH	PLATE FEE
REGISTERED OWNER / BUSI	NESS ADDRESS (NUMBER, STR	EET, CITY, STATE, Z	ZIP CODE)			TOTAL FEE
		INSUF	RANCE INFOR	MATION	▼	
IAME OF LIABILITY / CARGO	INSURANCE COMPANY (NOT A			LIABILITY POLICY NUMBER		
NAME OF CARGO INSURANCE COMPANY (NOT AGENT)			CARGO POLICY NUMBER			
\$125,000, or both I certify: 1) I requirements up required by Opinformation on 822.210; and	on is a Class C felcoth. comply with insurantil the registration regon Administrative this application is accepted in the complete of the com	ince requirer expires or I Rules; 3) I ccurate; 5) MV registrati	ments for this sell the veh am the regist The vehicle	vehicle and will cle; 2) The veh ered owner or an a shall be used ex	continue to compicle meets all sate authorized represe clusively as desc	oly with thes fety standard entative; 4) A cribed in OR
\$125,000, or both I certify: 1) I requirements up required by Opinformation on 822.210; and	comply with insurantil the registration regon Administrative this application is accept for D	ince requirer expires or I Rules; 3) I ccurate; 5) MV registrati	ments for this sell the veh am the regist The vehicle	vehicle and will cle; 2) The veh ered owner or an a shall be used ex	continue to compicle meets all sate authorized represe clusively as desc	oly with thes fety standard entative; 4) A cribed in OR s or less and i

How to Register Your Tow or Recovery Vehicle With DMV:

Complete this application and submit it to DMV along with all of the following:

- **1.** The \$17 Tow Business Certificate fee and \$100 Tow Board fee. This can be combined into one payment.
- **2.** The plate fee, unless renewing tow registration and the vehicle is already titled in your name.
- **3.** A completed registration application (DMV Form 735-268).
- **4.** A certificate issued by an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Oregon showing:
 - a) That you are covered by a policy that provides \$750,000 liability insurance per accident and \$50,000 cargo insurance, and
 - b) The policy number.
- **5.** And the registration fee, based on the registration weight of the vehicle. You can find the registration fee on the Fee Schedule for Tow/Recovery Vehicles (DMV Form 735-148).

If you need fee or prorate tow information, go to www.oregondmv.com/tow, call (503) 945-5000, or email info@towboard.oregon.gov.

GENERAL REGULATIONS

PLATES / REGISTRATION - Each tow or recovery vehicle must have tow identification plates and a tow certificate, which are issued by DMV for any tow and/or recovery vehicle operated in Oregon. The certificate must be kept in the vehicle and the plates must be displayed on the vehicle. If the vehicle is registered with DMV, the tow identification plates are also your registration plates, and the certificate is your registration card. If the vehicle is registered with CCD, you will also receive a separate registration card and plates from CCD.

PERMITS REQUIRED - An over-dimension permit is required to operate when towing a vehicle if the combination of the tow unit and the vehicle being towed exceeds 50 feet in length or the combined weight exceeds 80,000 pounds. Over-dimensional permits are issued annually and can be obtained by calling CCD at (503) 373-0000.

INSURANCE - ORS 822.205 and OAR 740-040-0020 require that all tow or recovery units maintain a minimum of \$750,000 liability insurance per crash and \$50,000 cargo coverage. (If the applicant tows or recovers only vehicles owned by the applicant, the \$50,000 cargo coverage is not required.) Contact CCD if you have questions about insurance requirements under ORS Chapter 825 if registering with CCD.

SAFETY STANDARDS - ORS 822.205 and OAR 735-154-0040 require tow or recovery vehicles to meet specific standards.

PRIVILEGES GRANTED - ORS 822.210 authorizes the holder, or an employee of the holder, of a current valid towing business certificate to:

- 1. Tow and recover vehicles; and
- **2.** Tow unregistered vehicles in this state without obtaining registration or trip permits for the towed vehicles.