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The information
contained in this Guide
is not intended to be a
comprebensive document
for teaching good driving
habits. As a belpful guide
it contains information
tbat, 1f used, can belp
reduce risk. Good
judgment should be used
to adapt this information
to different driving

situations and conditions.



to the world of teen driving

As parents, we know you want to keep your children safe. Teens are much more
at-risk than the rest of the population due to their inexperience in handling
driving situations. The State of Oregon passed Graduated Driver Licensing laws
in 1989 to keep teens safe and we know it's working - the number of 16 year old
drivers involved in fatal or injury crashes has decreased over 50%.

One of the best ways to ensure your teen is safe is to make sure they are given
adequate instruction. Every hour of instruction keeps your child that much
more safe on the road, especially as they pass through the later stages of
graduated driver licensing when you're not around.

Research indicates that parents report more driving practice time than their
teen. We know that parents mean well, but unless you are keeping track of
practice time, your teen may not be completing all the hours they should. It
might be tempting to not keep a log or report more driving practice than what
you actually did, but don't give in, even if your teen convinces you that they
are ready to take their test. It's extremely important to keep track of the hours
because the more practice you give your teen, the safer they are.

Did you know. . .?

It will take more than 15 minutes of practice time every day for 6 months
to complete 50 hours of practice driving.

It will take more than 30 minutes of practice time every day for 6 months
to complete 100 hours of practice driving.

Use the driving log in the center of this book to help you track your teen's
practice driving time together and progress toward becoming a safe driver!

Teens are sometimes so focused on getting their license; they don't have the
restrictions fully in mind. Restrictions include not having friends in the car,
no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. and no using any mobile electronic
device while driving, period, even hands free. To help you and your teen
know the details, and keep the restrictions handy, we've included a cut-out
in the back of this manual that you can put on the refrigerator so you both
have them.



]t's important for your teen to know what will happen if they break

the Graduated Driver Licensing rules. With that in mind, we created
another cut-out in the back of this manual that outlines some of the major
things that can happen and what those things will do to your teens driving
privileges. As you already know, one of the best ways to teach teens
responsibility is to outline the rules and the consequences. The cut-out
may help reinforce what's expected and the consequences for your teen.

We encourage you to consider formal driver education. Studies completed
in 2005, 2007, and 2011 compared teens who took a formal driver education
course to those who chose 100 hours of driving practice with their parents.
In every instance teens who took an approved driver education course had
significantly lower crash rates, citations and even convictions. In the last
two years alone, the data shows that teens 16-18 who did not take ODOT-
approved driver ed make up 90% of all teen crashes in Oregon. Please keep
in mind, the best teacher is a good role model. Responsible
driving is one of the best things you can do to keep your
teen safe. We hope you and your teen will find this guide
valuable in your learning experience.

Drive Test Waiver

Teens 15 to 17 years of age who complete an ODOT-Approved driver
education course and receive an ODOT issued certificate of completion,
can present the card for waiver of the drive test when they apply for a

driver license at DMV. Check with an ODOT-Approved driver education

provider for more information. whydrivewithed.com/providers.php

Organ, Eye, and Tissue Donation

It is important for you to know that at 15 years of age, your teen can
request DMV to place a notation on their permit or license if they wish
to be an anatomical donor. We encourage you to discuss this with your
teen and be educated about the program. For more information about the
program and becoming a donor, visit www.donatelifenw.org.

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Transportation Safety Division and DMV
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Yarents’ role

What is the Parent's role

in Teen Driving?

¢ Know Oregon's Graduated Driver Licensing Laws.
¢ Know Everything You Can About Teen Driving.

e Supervise Your Teen's Driving.

Establish Family Driving Rules and Limits.

Fulfilling the parent role in teen driving is very
important. Being a good role model will allow you to:
¢ Know that you are increasing the ability of your teen to drive safely.

® Know first-hand how your teenager is progressing toward becoming a
better driver.

® Know where your teen is and that she or he is not taking unnecessary risks.

e Talk to your teen about substance abuse.

Oregon’s Graduated Driver Licensing Law

Oregon's Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program is designed to
increase the safety of teen drivers by giving young drivers more time to
gain valuable driving experience before becoming fully licensed.

Provisional Instruction Permit Restrictions
® Your teen may not operate a motor vehicle while using any mobile
electronic device, even hands-free.

® Your teen may not drive unless supervised by a licensed driver at least 21
years old who is seated beside the permit holder.

® The supervising driver must have had their license for at least three years
for the driving practice to count toward the 50 or 100 hour requirement
to get a license.
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Teen Provisional License Requirements and Restrictions

® Must be at least 16 years of age.
® Must hold an instruction permit for at least 6 months before applying.

® Must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving and an ODOT-
Approved traffic safety education course OR at least 100 hours of
supervised driving.

® Must pass a safe driving practices knowledge test and a drive test. DMV
may waive the drive test with an ODOT issued driver education course
completion card.

® May not operate a motor vehicle while using any mobile electronic
device. This includes texting or talking on a cell phone, even hands-free, an
mp3 player, or other portable electronic device.

® For the first 6 months:
No passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a member of the
driver's immediate family, AND

No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. (see list of exceptions below).

® For the second 6 months:
No more than 3 passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a
member of the driver's immediate family, AND
No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. (sce list of exceptions below).

® The passenger and night driving restrictions end after 1 year or at age
18, whichever comes first.

Exceptions to driving between midnight and 5 a.m. for the first year:

— Driving between home and work.

— Driving between home and a school event for which there is no
other transportation available.

— Driving for employment purposes.

— When accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age.

Request to Cancel Driving Privileges

A parent or legal guardian’s signature is required for a teen under the age
of 18 to get a driving privilege. The parent or legal guardian who signed
the application may request in writing the driving privileges be cancelled
at any time, until age 18. DMV will cancel the teen's driving privilege;
until they turn 18, marry, become emancipated or reapply and submit an
application with a parent or legal guardian’s signature.
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School Attendance

Oregon law requires teens under the age of 18 to show proof of school
attendance when applying for their first driving privilege. By signing
the application for your teen to get a driver license or permit you are
certifying your teen meets this requirement. If your teen has finished
high school, they may show their diploma, modified diploma, or a
certificate for passing an approved high school equivalency test, such as
the General Education Development (GED) test.

What Parents Need to Know
Driving Risks
Driving can be a potentially dangerous endeavor for everyone; however,

it is more dangerous for teen drivers. Teen drivers crash more than any
other age group. There are many reasons for this, including:

Young Age/lLack of Maturity: Teens can make more errors in
judgment than other age groups. Be aware your teen is likely to drive
differently and take more risks when you are not in the vehicle.

Brain Development: Teens should be the world's best drivers. Their
muscles are well toned, their reaction time quick, their eye-hand
coordination at a peak. Yet car crashes kill more teens than any other
cause — a problem, some researchers believe, that is rooted in the
adolescent brain. A National Institutes of Health study suggests the region
of the brain which inhibits risky behavior is not fully formed until age 25.
Risky Driving Behaviors: Teens may engage in risky driving
behaviors. These include speeding, running red and yellow lights,
running stop signs, tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic, not
keeping a safe distance for merging or changing lanes, misjudging
gaps in traffic, and misjudging the capability of their vehicle.
Distractions: Any inexperienced driver is challenged when faced
with driving distractions. Mobile electronic devices, pets, and
passengers are best left at home while your teen is learning to drive.
Driving Inexperience: It takes a LOT of practice to be able to safely
maneuver in everyday situations and unexpected circumstances.
Teens show the greatest improvement within the first year and 1,000
miles of driving and continue to improve through their first 5,000
miles of driving.
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parents’ role

High-Risk Driving Conditions

® Driving under the influences of alcohol or drugs: Drinking any — yes,
any — amount of alcohol produces impairment. Not only is the use
of alcohol and illicit drugs illegal, the combination of alcohol or drugs
and driving can be deadly.

¢ High speeds: For teen drivers, most severe crashes occur at high
speeds. Crash risk, severity, and force all increase as
speed increases.

e Passengers: For teen drivers, as the number of passengers increase,
teen crashes increase. Driving is a “new skill” for teens, and they need
to pay close attention. Teen passengers can be a major distraction.
Teen passengers may intentionally or unintentionally encourage
friends to speed, show off, or not pay enough attention to driving.

¢ Nighttime driving: For teen drivers, the most severe crashes occur at
night and on weekends. Night driving is challenging for all drivers, but
novice teen drivers do not have the experience to anticipate and react
to nighttime conditions when visibility is reduced. Make sure your
teen gets extensive nighttime practice driving with you in varied types
of weather. Be aware that teenagers driving at night usually include
a lack of adult supervision, carrying passengers, and driving at high
speeds, all of which increase risk exponentially.

* Safety belt non-use: Safety belt non-use is a problem for both drivers
and passengers. Safety belts are important'because they keep thi
driver and passengers insid hicle where they are the safest.

-
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vise your

Driver education is the beginning of the process
of learning to drive, but teens need many, many

hours of practice to become safer drivers.

Tips for Supervising Teen Driving

PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE! Practice as much as possible, even
after your teen gets their license.

® Who: Practice with only you and your teen in the vehicle. Other people,

pets, etc. can distract both of you and increase stress. Remember: remain
calm and focused; making mistakes is part of learning, and practice
driving is serious, but it should also be interesting and engaging.

What: Practice the driving skills yourself that your teen is learning.
Begin with basic skills such as turning, parking, and backing up. Then,
practice more complex skills such as changing lanes and merging.

When: In the beginning, practice during daylight hours with good
weather. As your teen's skills increase, gradually expose them to different
roads, weather conditions, and times of day:.

Where: In the beginning, practice in safe, low-risk driving areas. Start
out in empty parking lots or on remote roads. As your teen's skills
increase, progress to quiet neighborhood streets and later to busier
roads and highways.

Why: Learning to drive is a complex, ongoing process requiring
responsibility and dedication from both parents and teens. New drivers
need a lot of practice to handle daily driving hazards and unexpected
situations. Teens will show the greatest improvement in the first 1,000
to 5,000 miles of driving.

The leading cause of death among 15-20 year olds in Oregon is due to motor vehicle crashes
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Use a Practice Driving Log

Use the driving log in the center fold of this book to track your teen’s
practice driving and progress toward becoming a safe driver!

Driver Education

Formal driver education may be the most important class teenagers take.
Driver education promotes critical life-long skills, proper safety belt usage,
driving alcohol and drug free, respect, courtesy and cooperation, healthy
behaviors, and choices. The Oregon Approved Driver Education program
is saving lives, reducing injuries, dramatically reducing the impact of teen
driving and is making our newest drivers better and safer.

Parents, educators, state officials, students, and community members

need to create powerful partnerships to support teaching and learning in
every community. We need to guarantee young drivers acquire preventive
behavior habits to manage risk. Remember, driving is a life-long skill

and it's important to establish good habits early on. Check with your

local school and ask if they offer a driver education course. If not, there
are other driver education providers available. If you choose a different
provider, be sure to ask if they will provide your teen with an ODOT
issued certificate of completion. When your teen applies for a license, an
ODOT certificate of completion satisfies 50 hours of the practice driving
time requirement AND waives the drive test at DMV. Your teen will still
need to complete 50 hours of practice driving with you or another licensed
driver over 21 years of age with at least three years of driving experience.
However, if you opt not to take advantage of driver education, your teen
will need to complete a total of 100 hours of practice driving and take the
drive test at DMV or with a private or public testing business.



Have Your Teen Do These Steps Each Time When

Practicing:

® Be in the "practicing mood". Practice when both you and your teen are
ready, in good moods, have sufficient time, and are well rested.

® Adjust mirrors, safety belts, seats, and steering wheel position before
starting the vehicle.

® Always wear safety belts and use headlights day and night!
® Come to a complete stop at stop signs and for right turns at red lights.

® | ook left, then front (straight ahead), then right before proceeding from
a stop.

e Keep their eyes moving and use the mirrors to check around and
behind the vehicle every 6-8 seconds.

e Keep at least a 2-4 second space between your vehicle and others
in traffic flow. Try to stay
centered in your lane of travel.

® Avoid the “No-Zone" with
trucks or buses. This is about
15 feet on all sides of the
truck. If you cannot see truck
drivers in their mirrors, they
cannot see you either.

® Be aware—Speed increases
braking distance. Doubling
your speed will quadruple your braking distance. The faster you're
going the longer it takes to stop.

® Be aware—Vehicle weight increases braking distance. Doubling your
vehicle weight will double your braking distance. If you are driving a
large vehicle or towing a trailer it takes longer to stop.



Oregon law sets requirements for teen driving, but families

need to determine other rules and limits for their teen
drivers. Make sure that family rules are very clear from
the beginning. Talk to your teen about driving every

chance you get.

Use a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement

Use a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement to determine appropriate rules and
guidelines for your teen driver, and to make sure everyone is clear about
them! You can find sample agreements on the internet.

Driving Rules/Guidelines for Your Family

® No Drinking and Driving. All teens are too young to legally buy or
possess alcohol, but they are still at risk. Nationally in 2014, one out of
five teen passenger vehicle drivers (15 to 19 years old) involved in fatal
crashes had been drinking. Remind your teen that driving under the
influence of any impairing substance, including illicit or prescription
drugs, could have deadly consequences.

® Buckle Up. Every Trip, Every Time, Everyone—Front Seat and Back.
Wearing a safety belt is one of the simplest ways for teens to stay safe
in a vehicle. Yet, too many teens are not buckling up and neither are
their passengers. In 2014, there were 763 passengers killed in passenger
vehicles driven by teen (15-19 years old) drivers, and 59 percent of
those passengers who died were NOT buckled up at the time of the
fatal crash. When the teen driver was also unrestrained, the percentage
of those passengers who were not restrained jumped to almost 86
percent. Remind your teen that it's important for everyone to buckle up
on every trip, every time, no matter what. Safety belts save lives.
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Eyes on the Road, Hands on the Wheel. All the Time. Distractions
while driving are more than just risky—they can be deadly. In 2014,
among teen passenger vehicle drivers (15-19 years old) involved in fatal
crashes, 10 percent were reported as distracted at the time of the crash.
Remind your teen about the dangers of texting, dialing, or using mobile
apps while driving. But distracted driving isn't limited to cell phone use.
Other passengers, audio and climate controls in the vehicle, and eating
or drinking while driving, are all examples of dangerous distractions for
teen drivers.

Stop Speeding Before It Stops You. Speeding is a critical issue for
all drivers, especially teens. In 2014, almost one-third (30%) of teen
passenger vehicle drivers involved in a fatal crash were speeding at the
time of the crash. Remind your teen to drive within the speed limit.

No More Than One Passenger at a Time. Extra passengers in a
teen's car can lead to disastrous results. According to data analyzed
by NHTSA, teen drivers were two-and-a-half times more likely to
engage in one or more potentially risky behaviors when driving with
one teenage peer compared to when driving alone. And the likelihood
of teen drivers engaging in risky behaviors triples when traveling with
multiple passengers.

Limit Unsupervised Night Driving: According to Oregon's GDL law,
with a provisional license, your teen cannot drive between midnight and
5:00 a.m. for the first year unless they are accompanied by a licensed
driver 25 or older or driving between home and work or school.
Statistics show that teens have a higher crash rate during these hours.
Consider setting an additional (earlier) driving curfew — especially on
the weekends for the first 6 months your teen drives unsupervised.

Require a Full Report: Require information about each trip before
leaving, including where your teen is going, with whom, and when they
will return so that you know where they are.

THE OREGON PARENT GUIDE TO TEEN DRIVING | 9



set family rules and
: I

Provide a Safe, Reliable Vehicle for Your Teen
® Mid- to full-size sedans and station wagons with smaller engines and
airbags are safest for teen drivers.

® Under certain conditions, small trucks and SUVs may be more prone to
roll-overs than other types of vehicles.

e High-performance cars may encourage teens to drive beyond their
experience level.

Impose Consequences for Violating Rules/Guidelines
® Make consequences relate to losing driving privileges: For a day,
weekend, week, month, etc., depending on the violation.

® Consequences not related to losing driving privileges will not be as
effective in sending the messages: “You must be a responsible driver”
and “I am serious about your following the rules and limits for driving.”

e Consider requiring your teen to complete additional supervised practice.

Make consequences known: Set consequences for common violations before
they occur so that your teen knows what to expect.

® CGetting a speeding ticket.

Coming home less than 30 minutes after curfew.

Coming home more than 30 minutes after curfew.

Lying about their whereabouts.

Violating passenger restrictions.
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before'you even

begi

In 2013, Oregon drivers age 20 and under were involved in

fatal and injury crashes at twice the rate of the population as
a whole. So, before you ever get into the car, make sure that

both you and your teen understand the basics.

feen Driver Training Orientation

Before you begin training, make sure you know common teen driving
errors and ways you can help your teen be a better driver.

Top 11 Driving Errors Are:

® Not attending to the path of travel.

® Driving five or more miles per hour too fast for conditions.

® Driving too fast through a curve.

® |nadequate search at an intersection and failing to yield to cross traffic.
® Lack of attention at an intersection and being struck by another driver.
® [mproper evasive action — quick turn not executed properly.

® Failure to maintain visual lead.

® Failure to see action developing at side of the roadway:.

® Following too closely.

o VWillfully taking right-of-way.

® Distracted.

Aggressive Driving

Drivers who routinely speed, run red lights and stop signs, tailgate, and
otherwise disregard the safety of other motorists are turning streets and
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highways into high-risk arenas. Aggressive driving can easily escalate into
road rage. We're all too familiar with stories of motorists who've killed or
injured other drivers for seemingly trivial reasons.

When is it Aggressive Driving?

The following attitudes and behaviors indicate that problem driving
behaviors are related to aggression rather than inexperience:

¢ Constant rushing, lane jumping, and the need to “get ahead.”

® Ignoring road signs and regulations.

® Constantly ridiculing and criticizing other drivers.

® Denying entry into your lane or preventing passing.

® Speeding past another car, revving engine.

® Tailgating a driver to go faster or get out of your way.

¢ Honking, flashing headlights, yelling or making visible insulting
gestures.

When Confronted by Aggressive Drivers:

® First and foremost, make every attempt to get out of their way.

® Put your pride in the back seat. Do not challenge them by speeding up
or attempting to "hold-your-own" in your travel lane.

® Wear your safety belt. It will hold you in your seat and behind the wheel
in case you need to make an abrupt driving maneuver and it will protect
you in a crash.

® Avoid eye contact.

® |gnore gestures and refuse to return them.

® Report aggressive drivers to the appropriate authorities by providing
a vehicle description, license plate number, location, and if possible,
direction of travel.

® [fitis an emergency and you can do it safely, call 911. Keep in mind
that it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile
communication device unless you are requesting medical or emergency
help and there is no other person in the vehicle that is able to do it.
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Parent Tips for Training Your Teen Driver

Set a Good Example

You should always model correct, legal driving behavior for your teen
driver. Also, make sure you and your teen are familiar with all controls
and safety devices in each of the family vehicles.

“xpect that Your Teen Will Make Mistakes

Making mistakes is part of learning so be positive and calm.

Try to separate physical errors (like turning the wheel too soon) from
mental errors (like not detecting a problem) and coach your teen
accordingly. Always praise correct driving behaviors.

G ive Directions Clearly, Calmly, and Well in Advance

Explain why and how to do things in a soft, steady voice.
DO NOT assume your teenager knows what you want them to do.
Give time for them to clarify your directions, if needed.

Stay Focused and Ready

Remember, you are the responsible driver of the car so constantly
scan the driving scene and be ready to react to any driving situation.

® Make sure that you verbally guide your teen through situations well
in advance of trouble.

® |f necessary, be ready to react to any driving situation and assist
with verbal or physical steering guidance.

Vehicle Safety Features

It is important that you and your teen understand the safety features in
each of your vehicles. Together, read your vehicle manuals for information
on, and proper usage of, vehicle safety features.

Safety Belts

In 2016, 286 passengers in vehicles were killed in traffic crashes in Oregon. Even
with Oregon's amazing compliance (top 5 in the nation for ten years now) 27.5%
were still unrestrained.
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Oregon law requires that all motor vehicle occupants “properly” use safety
restraints. For adults and children over age eight or taller than 4'9" this
means using a safety belt or safety harness system.

Child Safety Seat Law

Child passengers must be restrained in child safety seats until they weigh
forty pounds or reach the upper weight limit for the car seat in use. Infants
must ride rear-facing until they reach two years of age unless the child
turned age one prior to May 26, 2017.

Booster Seat Law

Children over forty pounds or who have reached the upper weight limit for
their forward-facing car seat must use boosters to 4'9” tall or age eight and
the adult belt fits correctly.

Rear Seating for Children

There is no Oregon law specifically prohibiting children from riding in
the front seat of passenger vehicles. However, a rear-facing infant seat
cannot be placed in a front seating position that is equipped with an airbag
because this would violate Oregon's requirement for “proper use” of a child
safety seat. There is a national “best practice recommendation” calling for
rear seating through age twelve.

Each of the following can significantly reduce injuries in the event of a
crash. Practice each of these with your teen:

® Read the manufacturer's instructions for the proper use of safety belts
and car seats.

® Wear safety belts.

® Have children age thirteen and under sit in the back seat.

® Place children correctly in appropriate child restraints.
Air Bags
Air bags and safety belts are designed to be used together. Air bags and

safety belts keep you in the safest positions during a crash. Depending on
your vehicle, you may have front and/or side air bags.

Air bags can deploy at speeds of up to 200 mph and temperatures of
almost 500 degrees. The deployment and deflation happens faster than the
eye can see. Front and side impacts will activate appropriate air bags.
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Proper Procedures for Use

e Read your vehicle manual to learn where air bags are located and when
and how they deploy.

e Sit 10-12 inches from the steering wheel. Any less than 10 inches
and you dramatically increase the impact force of an airbag that is
deploying. More than 12 inches and the bag begins to deflate as you're
moving forward into it, decreasing its efficiency.

Does Your Vehicle have Antilock Brake Systems (ABS)?

Most vehicles manufactured in the last 10 years have antilock brake
systems. ABS is designed to help a driver maintain control during
emergency braking situations by keeping the tires from locking up and
avoiding uncontrolled skidding. However, it does not make a vehicle stop
more quickly. In fact, the rolling traction may produce longer stopping
distances on some dry or limited traction surfaces such as loose gravel or
fresh snow.

Some vehicles are equipped with ABS on all 4 wheels. Others, such as
light pickup trucks only have ABS on the rear wheels. Check your vehicle
manuals to determine if you have ABS and on which wheels.

How Do You Use ABS?

Vehicles with ABS require the foot to remain firmly on the brake pedal
when braking hard. This allows the system to automatically pump the
brakes faster than you can. The system usually activates at speeds above 10
mph.

e With ABS on all 4 wheels, do not pump the brakes. Maintain firm
pressure on the brake, and if needed, steer away from the hazard using a
minimum amount of steering.

e With ABS on the rear wheels only, the front wheels can lock up.
Pump the brakes to avoid lock-up.
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Vehicle Functioning

In addition to safety features, you and your teen need to be familiar with
all vehicle controls and other indications that the vehicle is functional.

Vehicle Controls

In each of your vehicles, have your teen practice and then demonstrate the
ability to operate each of the following without looking at the controls:

Gear selector

Turn signals

Headlights, low and high beams
Climate controls

Defrost, front and back

Door locks

Window controls

Parking brake, set and release levers

Brake and gas pedals

Vehicle Readiness

In each of your vehicles, have your teen practice and then demonstrate the
ability to determine the readiness of each of the following:

Windows and headlights clear

Tires properly inflated

Mechanical condition checked regularly
Loose objects secured in trunk

Parking brake works

Signal lights and brake lights work
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Blind Spots

Coach your teen to regularly monitor and be aware of blind spots. They should:

1. Check to the rear with the inside rearview mirror.

2. Check to the sides with the side view mirrors.

3. Make a blind spot check in the area slightly beyond the driver's
peripheral field of vision. Sit upright in the seat and only turn their head
(not torso) “chin to shoulder” to do checks.

4. Look out of the rear side windows, not the back window, when
checking the mirror blind spot areas. (See the red areas beside and to
the rear of the car in the example.)

New drivers have a tendency to move the steering wheel in the direction
they move their head. Watch for this movement and correct if necessary:.
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An Exercise to Become Familiar with Blind Spots

The following exercise illustrates the area around the car the driver cannot see:

e While your teen is sitting in the driver's seat with the engine off,
get out of the car and stand close to the front bumper facing
the driver.

® Begin taking steps backward and have your teen tap the horn
when he or she can see your feet.

® Place a cone or cup in that spot. This is the pavement area in

front of the vehicle that cannot be seen when looking out of
the windshield.

® Ask the driver to use the inside mirror and/or to look over the
right shoulder, and repeat this process to the rear of the vehicle.

® Walk backwards from the passenger doors on the left and right
sides of the vehicle and place cups or cones to mark the side areas
visible to the driver.

® Have your teen measure these distances and record them.
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The basic driving skills in this section are the cornerstone
to safe and responsible driving. Make sure your teen learns,

practices, and can demonstrate these basic driving skills.

A new driver should first learn the basic controls in a car with automatic
transmission and then transfer to a standard shift vehicle.

Modern vehicles require very little steering to turn. Use hand positions
that reduce the possibility of turning the wheel too sharply.

To reduce forearm and hand injuries, hands should be placed on the
lower half of the steering wheel, with knuckles on the outside and thumbs
stretched along the rim of the steering wheel. Never wrap your fingers or
thumb on the inside of the wheel.

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate the following
steering techniques:
Hand Position for Steering

Look at the steering wheel as a clock face. Keep your hands in either the
9 and 3 o'clock position or the 8 and 4 o'clock position. Keep your hands
and thumbs on the outside of the wheel. Never place your fingers or
thumbs on the inside of the wheel.

THE OREGON PARENT GUIDE TO TEEN DRIVING | 19



Hand-Over-Hand Steering

Use hand-over-hand steering when steering movements are critical, such
as when (a) parking, (b) performing sharp right turns, and (c) for skid
correction. Use quick movements on entry to the maneuver, and then use
slow, smooth movements when straightening the wheel.

One-Hand Steering

Use one-hand steering for backing maneuvers so that you can turn your
body to look out of the rear window, in addition to looking all around
while you back.

Speed Control

Speed control techniques are used to make smooth starts, stops, and turns.
These techniques increase comfort in the vehicle as well as fuel efficiency.
They also keep the vehicle balanced, which increases your control of

the vehicle and decreases risk to yourself and others. Cruise control is not
recommended for the beginning driver.

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate
the following acceleration and braking techniques:



Light Acceleration

Light acceleration is light pressure on the gas pedal. It is used to (a) make
smooth starts and (b) begin turns that require a stop.

Progressive Acceleration

Progressive acceleration is a steady increase in pressure on the gas pedal. It
is used to get your speed up to the speed limit. Continue to apply the gas
until you have reached your desired speed, then use steady even pressure
to maintain your speed.

Cover Brake

Cover brake is when the ball of your right foot is “hovering” over the brake.
It is used in anticipation and/or preparation for a braking application.

Controlled Brake

Controlled brake is firm, steady, even pressure on the brake pedal. It
is used in non-emergency situations. Apply the brake to the point of
resistance, then use steady even pressure.

Trail Brake

Trail brake is a slight decrease of pressure on the brake pedal. It is used
(a) during the last two seconds of a stop in order to avoid any jerky
sensations, (b) to back up, (c) to inch forward, (d) to “creep” or move at a
walking pace, and (e) to begin a moving turn.

Threshold Brake

Threshold brake is applying maximum force to the brake pedal without
locking the wheels. It is used in emergency situations.



Lane Positions

Lane positions refer to where your vehicle
is in the lane (it does not refer to changing
lanes). Lane positions are the "body
language” of your vehicle and are used to
(a) communicate your intentions to other
drivers, and (b) best position your vehicle
for a driving maneuver.

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and
can demonstrate the following three lane
positions:

Lane Position 1 (LP1)

Lane Position 1 is in the center of the lane.
This position allows for the best separation
and distance from obstacles (such as cars,
curbs, etc.) to the right and to the left.

Use Lane Position 1 for normal driving
conditions if you have no plan to change
driving maneuvers.

Lane Position 2 (LP2)

Lane Position 2 is the left side of the lane.
This position allows for the best separation
from obstacles on the right and helps to
improve your line of sight.

Use Lane Position 2 for left turns and
parking on the left.

Lane Position 3 (LP3)

Lane Position 3 is the right side of the lane.
This position allows for the best separation
from obstacles on the left and helps to
improve your line of sight. Use Lane
Position 3 for parking on the right.
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Following Time

Following time is important for

many reasons. You need adequate distance between vehicles so you can (a)
see beyond the vehicle in front of you, and (b) have enough time to make
adjustments to changing driving conditions ahead of you.

Make sure your teenager learns, practices, and can demonstrate the ability
to judge speed and distance by using the proper following time.

Determine Following Time

To determine following time, watch as the car in front of you passes a
stationary object, such as a road sign. Then, start counting “one-one-
thousand, two-one-thousand, three-one-thousand, etc.,” until you reach the
same object. “One-one-thousand” is approximately one second.

For New Drivers, Maintain 4 Seconds of Following Time

Follow at 4 or more seconds at all times and especially when traveling
under the following conditions:

® |n congested traffic.
® |n adverse weather conditions.
e When behind a motorcycle, truck, or bus.

Make Speed and Space Adjustments

® Anytime the driver in front of you reduces speed, adjust your following
time so you can see at least 15-20 seconds ahead.

® When traffic or environmental conditions warrant, increase following time.

® Change position within the lane to increase line of sight.
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basic driving skills

Searching Skills

A common cause of poor driving and crashes is not seeing the problem. Make
sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate searching skills including:
searching intersections — (1/3 of all crashes happen at intersections); reading
signs, signals, and markings; reading the dash (speedometer).

See a Clear Path

BEFORE you step on the gas, always (a) determine what your path of
travel will be, and (b) that your path of travel is clear before moving the
vehicle in that direction.

Turn Your Head

BEFORE turning the steering wheel, turn your head in the direction you intend
to travel. When you look to see what is in your path of travel before you
move the car in that direction, there will be no surprises or quick, unplanned
maneuvers such as slamming on your brakes or sudden lane changes.

Check Your Blind Spot

Do a chin-to-shoulder-turn of your head in the direction you plan to
move before you (a) pull into traffic, (b) make lane changes, or any other
lateral movement.

Do a 360 Degree Search

Physically turn your head and body to look all the way around your car
before you (a) back the vehicle or (b) parallel park.

Search Area for Potential Problems

Look for any changes or obstacles. Search 20-30 seconds ahead of the
vehicle to gather information about your path of travel. Search 12-15
seconds ahead of the vehicle to plan your path of travel and keep 2-4
seconds of following time.

Check the Rearview Mirror

Check the rearview mirror (a) after seeing a change to conditions ahead of
you, (b) before and after braking action, (c) while stopped in traffic, (d) before
and after making turns, and (e) before and after making a lane change.
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Other Drivers

Travel: the ared you want

Always communicate your path of

intentions to other drivers. the car to g0-

Make sure your teen knows - d spot: the area that is not

the communication options and Bll.n.d P h driver without
visible to the 4 1ooking.

when to use them. furning their head an

Turn Signals: Use turn signals to
communicate in which direction
you plan to travel.

Lane Positions: Use lane positions
to communicate your plans to change driving maneuvers.

Headlights: Use headlights to be more visible to other drivers DAY and
NIGHT.

Horn: Use the horn to alert others to you or to emergency situations. Do
not use it in anger.
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Use of Headlights

A good practice is to ALWAYS use your low-beam headlights
during the DAY so that you are more visible to other drivers.
The decision to use low or high beam headlights at other times
depends on the circumstances. Make sure your teen understands
when to use low beam and high beam headlights. Oregon law
requires headlights to be on from sunset to sunrise or any time
conditions make it difficult to see 1,000 feet ahead.

Low Beam Headlights

Use low beam headlights when traveling:

® During the day, especially at dawn or dusk
® On heavily traveled roads with traffic going in both directions
® At night in well-lit areas

In fog, rainy, snowy or misty conditions
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Sl High Beam Headlights
¥ = Use high beam headlights when traveling at night in dimly lit areas. |
i) Switch From High to Low Beams
C R .
p Switch from high to low beams when a vehicle approaches you
::: in the opposite direction at night. Oregon law requires you to -3
::'-‘l dim or lower your high beams when an oncoming vehicle is
T within 500 feet. You must also turn off any auxiliary lights such
™
v as fog lights.
Switch from high to low beams when you are following another
vehicle. Oregon law requires you to dim or lower your high
- beams when you are following another vehicle within 350 feet.

If the other driver fails to switch to low beams, you need to

(a) slow down, (b) use Lane Position 3, and (c) move your eyes
to the right edge of the road until the vehicle passes. DO NOT
look into oncoming headlights or flash high beam lights at
others. Headlight glare can temporarily blind you.

it

the right side of

the lane.
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The step-by-step maneuvers in this section
are similar to those taught in formal driver

education courses in Oregon.

It is important to start at the beginning with proper procedures for
entering the vehicle, making adjustments, starting the car, and securing
the car. Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate
these driver behaviors before you start practice driving.

Be Well Rested and Alert

NEVER drive a vehicle when you are tired or sleepy, emotionally upset,
or under the influence of alcohol or drugs (including prescription, over-
the-counter medicines, and marijuana).

Have Key In Hand

When you know you are going to your car, have your key out in your
hand. For your personal safety, NEVER search for your keys through
your clothes or purse at your car. The goal is to have your keys in a
location where you can retrieve them quickly and spend as little time as
possible trying to open your car.

Approach with Awareness

As you approach your car, check around and inside the vehicle. Look
inside to ensure no one has entered your car and is waiting for you. You
should park in well-lit areas away from places where someone could be
hiding (bushes, vans, etc.). Your personal safety could be at risk!
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Lock All Doors

Immediately after entering the vehicle, lock all doors before you insert
the key into the ignition. Someone can easily jump into an unlocked car.

Adjust Seat Position

1.

Move the seat forward/backward to where your feet rest on the
firewall just underneath the brake pedal without bending your knees or
extending your legs. Then adjust the seat back so your torso is 10-12
inches from the steering wheel. If your steering wheel adjusts, angle

it down as far as you can and still see the shape of the dash/display
between the upper half of the steering wheel. This is to position it for
emergency air bag deployment.

. Put the ball of your right foot on the brake pedal. From your foot

position, make sure you (a) have full range of motion in your ankle, (b)
can fully depress the brake without your heel coming off the floor and
(c) can pivot on your heel to put the ball of your foot on the gas pedal.

. Make adjustments for best vehicle control and personal comfort.

Adjust Safety Belts

Sit up straight with your hips and back against the seat back.

Adjust the lap portion of the safety belt low across your hips and pelvis
— NEVER across your stomach.

Adjust the shoulder portion across your chest and collarbone —
NEVER across the front of your neck or face, behind your back, or
under your arm.

Make sure the lap and shoulder belts are snug.

* Hint: It is better to have all HVAC and radio devices tuned up and
tuned in before you belt yourself into place.
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Practice Driving Log

Use this log to keep track of your teen's behind-the-wheel practice and their progress
toward becoming a safe driver! Keep this log in your vehicle and write down every
time you and your teen practice driving. Individuals under 18 need at least 50
hours of supervised driving practice if they have taken an ODOT approved driver
education course and receive an ODOT issued certificate of completion. Without the
course, 100 hours of supervised driving practice is required.





































Adjust Head Restraint

To correctly adjust a head restraint, the top of the head restraint should
reach at least as high as the top of your ear and be set back no more than
3 inches from your head. Close head restraints can be twice as effective in
preventing injuries as those which are set back too far.

Adjust the Mirrors

This technique reduces the size of typical blind spots and is also great for

reducing headlight glare from behind. Make the following adjustments while

you are sitting up straight with your hips and back against the seat back!

® All 3 mirrors, tilt the mirror up or down so the horizon is visible across
the center of each mirror.

® Driver side mirror, lean your head slightly to the left and adjust the
mirror in or out until you can see down the left side of your vehicle.

® Passenger side mirror, lean your head slightly to the right and adjust
the mirror in or out until you can see down the right side of the vehicle.

® Rearview mirror, adjust the mirror so you get the widest view out the
back window.

NOTE: Mirrors do not completely eliminate . Always do
a chin-to-shoulder turn of your head to check before ever
making a lateral movement.

it
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1. Make sure the transmission is in “PARK" and the park brake is applied.
2. Place your right foot on the brake and hold it down.

3. Turn the key halfway to the "“ON" position and allow the onboard
computer to boot up. (You may have a newer vehicle with a fob. Secure
the fob before pushing the “start” button.)

4. Check gauges and warning lights.

5. Then turn the key the rest of the way to the “START" position and
release immediately.

6. Turn your headlights on. Remember you can be seen up to 9/10 of a
mile away with headlights on, even in the daytime.

7. Turn on other necessary accessories if you have not already done so —
climate control, wipers, etc.

8. Before entering traffic, release park brake and signal. Check mirrors,
look over the shoulder to check blind spot, and go when clear.

. Place your right foot on the brake and hold it down.
. Set the parking brake.
. Shift the transmission to “PARK”

. Turn off all accessories — lights, wipers, climate control, etc.

N A W N =

. Turn off the vehicle and remove your key from the ignition. If you
have a fob, be sure to put it in your pocket or purse before leaving the
vehicle.
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Backing increases the risk for crash because it is much more difficult to

see obstacles behind us. In addition, backing up requires more space to
maneuver because your back tires do not turn. Plan ahead and position the
car so you can pull forward whenever parking.

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate proper backing
procedures.

Common Errors

® Improper body position

® Speed too fast

® Failure to determine that path of travel is clear

® Failure to look back during the whole maneuver until the vehicle is
completely stopped

® Incorrect steering
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1. Put your right foot firmly on the brake pedal.
2. Shift to "REVERSE" and release the parking brake.

3.Doa to make sure the area

is ALL CLEAR|
4. Yield to ALL pedestrians, bicyclists, and vehicles.

5. Hold the steering wheel at the 12 o'clock position
with your left hand.

6. Twist your body, place your right arm on the
seatback and look over your right shoulder
continuously while backing with occasional side to
front glances.

7 (do not accelerate using the gas
pedal) at a walking pace or even slower when you
are near obstacles, cars, bicyclists, and pedestrians.

NOTE: You should never back up long distances on
common roadways (forward movement is the law!).

1. Put one hand at the 12 o'clock position and turn
your head in the direction you intend the rear of
the vehicle to travel.
¢ When turning the rear of the car to the

right, look back over your right shoulder.
e When turning the rear of the car to the
left, look back over your left shoulder.

2. Continue to look over your shoulder and

(do not accelerate using the gas pedal)
while moving at a walking pace.

3. Begin the turn when the center of the rear tire is
aligned with the curb or edge of the road.
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. Look over your shoulder and
(do not accelerate using the gas
pedal) move at a walking pace.
. Begin the turn when the center of the rear tire is aligned
with the curb.

. With your right foot on the brake pedal, shift to "REVERSE"

.Doa to make sure the area is
ALL CLEAR.
. Look over your shoulder and (do not accelerate

using the gas pedal) at a walking pace.

. Stop short of your intended (for example,
before a sidewalk or the roadway). Stop before entering the
roadway and make sure you yield to all traffic, bicyclists,
and pedestrians.

. Do another and when clear, continue
to look over your shoulder and

. Begin the turn when the center of the rear tire is aligned
with the curb or edge of the road.

. Complete the turn in the smallest amount of space.

. Step on the brake and shift to "DRIVE”



Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can
demonstrate parking in different situations.

NOTE: Parking is ALWAYS prohibited:

® |n front of driveways.
e Within 10 feet of fire hydrants.
® |n or near intersections.

® (lose to crosswalks or stop signs.

Common Errors for Entering Angle
Parking Are:

® Failure to signal.

® The vehicle is too
close to parking space
on the side.

® Failure to see traffic 2 o
in the rear.
® Speed is too fast.

the area that is not
er without.
d and 100KING.

® Failure to target to the .
center of space. visible to the driv’

turning their hea
Proper Procedures for

Entering Angle Parking

1. Signal.

2. Slow or stop the vehicle at least 6-8 feet from
the parking space.

3. Check your on the side of the
parking space for traffic and pedestrians.

4. Begin turning when you can see the center of
the parking space without your line of sight
(or view) cutting across the parking line.

5. Creep (move very slowly) and turn the wheel
sharply toward the center of the space.
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Common Errors for Exiting Angle
Parking Are

Fails to check rear.

Speed too fast.
Fails to look back while backing.

Starts turning before bumper is cleared.

Proper Procedures for Exiting
Angle Parking
1. Check to the rear for a clear path.

2. With your foot on the brake, shift to
"REVERSE"

3.Doa and yield to all
traffic and pedestrians.

4. Look over your shoulder and
(do not accelerate using the gas pedal) at a
walking pace.

5. Check the front of your car for clearance.

6. Begin turning when your front bumper is
even with the rear bumper of the parked
car to your left or the dash of your car
appears to clear the car to the side.

7. Continue to look to the rear while backing
into the nearest lane.

8. Stop smoothly and shift to "DRIVE”
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Common High Risk Errors Are:

Fails to approach and align to
space correctly.

Fails to search for, communicate with, or
yield to other traffic.

Speed too fast.

Fails to straighten wheels and align in
middle of space.

Proper Procedures for Pulling into
Perpendicular Parking

1.

Signal and get 6-8 feet from the parked cars
or as far to the left of the lane as possible.

2. Check traffic behind you.

. Creep and turn the wheel sharp to the

right of the space.

. Check your right rear fender for clearance.

. Straighten the wheel when you are

centered in the space.

. If necessary, shift to "REVERSE"

complete a 360 degree search to make
sure the area is all clear, and creep back
slightly turning the wheel to the left.

. Use a forward reference point to avoid

hitting a curb.

Consider Backing into the Space

It's safer to drive out of a space in a
forward motion.

Requires less time and space.
Better view when leaving the space.
Avoids backing out into traffic.

Others are more likely to let you out.
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Common High Risk Errors

Fails to approach and align to space correctly.
Fails to search for, communicate with or
yield to other traffic.

Speed too fast when turning to 45 degree
angle or backing.

Forgets to shift to "REVERSE".

Fails to straighten wheels and align in
middle of space.

Proper Procedures for Backing into
Perpendicular Parking

1.
2.

Signal to the right.

Slow the vehicle and approach the space
3 feet away from the parking space.

Stop when the driver's body appears to be
aligned in the center of the parking space.

Check for traffic and pedestrians.

Turn the wheel all the way to the left and
slowly move to a 45-degree angle to the
space. An easy way to do this is look over
driver side mirror. Whatever appears over
the top of the mirror before you turn is
45-degrees.

Stop. Shift to reverse. Turn the wheel all
the way to the right.

Do a 360 degree visual check.

Creep backward until your car is
perpendicular to the space you picked.
Stop moving. Straighten the wheels and
back the vehicle into the space.

10. Stop even with the curb or parking line.
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Advantages of Backing into the Space

® [t's safer to drive out of a space in a forward
direction.

® Requires less time and space.

® Better line of sight while leaving the space.

® Avoids backing out into traffic.

e QOthers are more likely to let you out into traffic flow.

Entering a Parallel Parking Space

1. Check the rearview mirror and signal.

2. Stop 2-3 feet beside the front vehicle and line up
rear bumpers.

3. Shift to "REVERSE." Turn the wheel all the way to
the right.

4.Do a 360 degree search. Look over your shoulder
and inch

5. Looking out the driver's side mirror, stop moving
when you see the inside corner of the vehicle
(curbside) to the rear.

6. Straighten the wheels and back in a straight line until
your right front wheel aligns with the back corner of
the car in front.

7. Check the front of your car to make sure it clears.

8. Turn wheels all the way to the left and continue to
inch back until the car is parallel to the curb.

9. When parallel to the curb, straighten wheels and
center your vehicle in the space.

1. Reverse and inch back until you can see the front
car's rear tires. Stop and turn the wheels all the way
to the left.

2. Check your for bicyclists, pedestrians,
and traffic.
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3. Signal and yield to other traffic. pressure on the brake pedal.
4. Search your intended the area that is not
and enter the nearest travel visible to the driver Withoukt'n
lane when clear. turning their nead and 100KI g.
5. Cancel signal and check rearview the area you want
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Common Parallel
Parking Errors Are:

® Approaches too close or too fast.

® Fails to shift to REVERSE.

¢ Fails to look back while moving back.
® Begins turning too early.

® Fails to check the front of the car for clearance.

Common Errors for Parking on Hills Are:

® Fails to search for, communicate with, or yield to other traffic,
bicyclists, and pedestrians when entering or exiting the roadway.

® Excessive speed on approach.

¢ Fails to set parking brake when securing the vehicle.

1. Choose a legal space and signal.
2. Check your rearview mirror and

3. Apply the brake and approach parallel to and 6 inches
from the curb.

4. Make a smooth stop and shift into “"NEUTRAL."
5. Turn the wheels in the proper direction.

® [f facing-up bill with curb, turn wheels left, toward
the roadway. (FIG 1.)

® [f facing down-hill with curb, turn wheel right,
away from the roadway. (FIG 2.)
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® [f there is no curb, turn wheels right, away from the roadway. (FIG 3.)

6. If there is a curb, while in neutral, slowly release the brake until the
vehicles tire stops at the curb.

7. Secure vehicle by shifting to "PARK" and setting your parking brake.

Make sure your teen practices and can demonstrate precision right and left
turns. As you practice, remind your teen:

® Stop at intersections at the legal stop line. If there is no line, then stop at
the crosswalk/sidewalk. If there is no crosswalk/sidewalk, then stop before
the imaginary line extending from the curb line or edge of roadway.

® ALWAYS look to the left, to the front, to the right, and then to the left

again before entering any intersection.
e Make ALL turns from the nearest legal

lane into the nearest legal lanel E : i)

the area that is not

visible to the driver without
Common Errors for Right Turns wurning their head and 100KINE:
With a Required Stop Are: firm, steady.
® Fails to check for bicyclists or pedestrians  eyen pressure Ol the brake pedal
before starting forward motion. light
Stops over legal stop area. pressure on the gas pedal.

Fails to turn head before turning wheel.
Turns wheel before starting forward motion.
Turns into wrong lane.

Travels in or cuts across the bike lane marked with a solid white line.
e Travels in on-street parking spaces.

Proper Procedures for Right
Turns With a Required Stop

1. Signal, check mirrors and . Check the right blind spot to move
right and the left blind spot to move left.

2. Use and allow sufficient space on the right to avoid
hitting the curb when turning, approximately 3 feet from the right edge
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3. Stop at the legal stop area and search pressure on the gas pedat
the intersection for vehicles, pedestrians, a slight
bicyclists, and potential hazards. Be careful decrease of pressure on
not to stop in a bike lane or parking space. the brake pedal.

4. BEFORE turning the wheel, turn your head in the
direction you intend to travel.

5. Use and begin to turn
when the dashboard is aligned with the curb.
6. Straighten and use
to reach your targeted speed.

7. Check rearview mirror.

Common Errors for Right Turns Without
a Required Stop

® Late or no signal.

¢ Confusion on right-of-way, fails to yield.

® Fails to search intersection in all directions.

® Fails to search before turning wheel.

® Turns into wrong lane.

e Accelerates prematurely.

¢ Fails to yield to bicyclists going straight.
Proper Procedures for Right Turn
Without a Required Stop

1. Signal, check mirrors and . Check
the right blind spot to move right.

2. Use in a position
approximately 3 feet from curb, parked car,
parking space or bike lane.
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.Search intersection in all directions for vehicles, pedestrians,

bicyclists, and potential hazards.

. BEFORE turning the wheel, turn your head to the right. Yield to

pedestrians and bicyclists.

. Begin the turn when the dashboard is aligned with the curb line.

until halfway through the turn.

. Straighten and use to reach your targeted

speed.

. Check rearview mirror.

Common Errors for Left Turns With a Required Stop

Fails to make a complete stop.

Stops over the legal stop point.

Stops too close to vehicle ahead.

Fails to yield to pedestrians and bicyclists.

Cuts across the center yellow line when beginning or negotiating a
left turn.

Proper Procedures for Left Turns With a Required Stop

1.

2

Use and approach in

. Stop at the legal stop area, which is the stop line, pedestrian cross walk,

or imaginary line extending from stop sign.

. Search the intersection for vehicles, pedestrians, bicyclist, and potential

hazards.

. BEFORE turning the steering wheel, turn your head in the direction of the turn.

. Begin turn when your line of sight (or view) to the center of your

intended lane does not cut across the curb line.

. Use and turn the steering wheel simultaneously.

. Straighten and use to reach your

targeted speed.

. Check rearview mirror.
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Left Turns Without a

Y,

king;: firm, steady:

: Controued Bra odal.
Required Stop even pressure on the brake P -
. ide of the lanc.
Common Errors for Left Lane Position 2: t.he 1eit S;(zepressure .
Turns Without a Required Light Acceleration: 11g

o the gas pedal.
p celeration: d steady

sive AC
Progressiv qure on the g2 pedal.

® Confusion on right of way:.

. i S
® Late or no signal. mamAse R rea that is N0t visible
. - the a .

® Fails to check blind areas. Blind Sp(-)\tf.eltnh\iithout turning their
® Forgets to search intersection for tr(:eglg ;1;(11 looKing.

traffic, bicyclists, and pedestrians. lioht decrease of
o T h . Trail Brake: a Siig edal

0o much steering. pressure on the brake pedal.

® [ate steering recovery.
® Turns into incorrect lane.
® Brakes too hard.

e Accelerates too soon or too much.

Proper Procedures for Left Turns
Without a Required Stop

1. Signal, check mirrors and blind spot.

2. Use controlled braking and use Lane
Position 2.

3. Search the intersection for vehicles,
pedestrians, bicyclists, and potential hazards.

4. BEFORE turning the wheel, turn your
head in the direction you intend to travel.

5. Begin turning when the front bumper is
even with the curb line.

6. Turn into the nearest legal lane of travel.

7 Trail brake until halfway through
the turn.

8. Straighten and use progressive
acceleration to reach your
targeted speed.

9. Check rearview mirror.
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Bicycles on the Roadway

® Obey speed limits. Excessive speed is a factor in a high number
of crashes involving cyclists.

® Be aware of how wide your car is and pass cyclists carefully. If
you pass a cyclist who is traveling in your lane of traffic and you
are going over 35 mph, Oregon law requires that you pass at a
distance that is sufficient to prevent contact if the cyclist were to

fall.
® Do not move your car into a bike lane to make a right turn.
Check for bicyclists before making a turn across a bike lane.
® (Cyclists can travel at high speeds, often as fast as other traffic.

Don't assume there is more time to turn in front of a cyclist than
in front of a car.

THE BIKE BOX

® Stop for the traffic signal behind
the bike box.

® Don't stop on top of the bike box.

® No right turns on red at
these intersections.

® |f turning right on a green light,
signal and check for and yield to
cyclists to the right.

® (The color of the bike box may
Graphic provided by Vary.)

City of Portland Bureau of Transportation
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RIGHT TURNS ACROSS A BIKE LANE

® et as close as is practical to the right curb or edge of the road without
interfering with pedestrians or bicyclists. A bicycle lane is considered the
edge of the roadway. Do not move into a bicycle lane in preparation for a
right turn. Always check for bicycles going straight in a bike lane and yield
to them before making a right turn.

CORRECT INCORRECT
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plex driving skills

AFTER your teen masters starting and stopping the vebicle,
backing, parking, and turns, THEN practice more complex
driving skills. Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can

demonstrate advanced driving skills to your satisfaction.

Changing Lanes

Common Errors When Changing Lanes

Fails to check front, rear, and sides for a stable gap.

Insufficient space or time to move into
the new lane.

Fails to signal.
Steers too quickly, too much or
not smooth and gradual into the

s not

new lane. Blind Spot: the ared th?;z)ut
Unnecessary slowing. visible to the der(elra\g’é looking.
Fails to cancel signal. turning s

Exceeds speed limit.

Crosses multiple lanes at one time.
Drifts while checking blind spot.

48 | THE OREGON PARENT GUIDE TO TEEN DRIVING



Proper Procedures for Changing Lanes

1. Check (a) mirrors, (b) to the front,
(c) to the back, (d) to the side, and (e) blind spot for a stable gap in traffic.

2. Signal and use the proper lane position.

3. Check your blind spot again.

4. Maintain your speed or increase speed if necessary — NEVER
slow unnecessarily.

5. Move to the new lane purposefully and gradually at a slight angle.

6. Adjust speed to surrounding traffic.

7. Cancel turn signal.

8. Check rearview mirror.

9. Create separation or "open space” to the front, rear, and sides of
your vehicle.

Passing

Common Errors When D@ SN/

Passing

® Not looking ahead for a clear 0 Spot: the area that is not
path. B“'nible 0 the driver without

. . VIS ing.
® Fails to signal. curning their head and 100KINg

® Accelerates too soon. ou want
ravel: the area !
® Tailgates vehicle to be passed. path of T

the car to gO.

® Speed too slow while passing.

® Steers too quickly or too much
into the passing lane.

® Returns to lane too soon.
® Fails to cancel signal.
® Exceeds speed limit.
® Passes unnecessarily.

e Passes in a no passing zone.
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Proper Procedures for Passing

1.

FIRST, ask yourself if passing
at the time is necessary, legal,
and safe.

. Search your intended path of travel far ahead to determine

any obstacles.

. Check mirrors and blind spot.
. Signal in the direction of the pass.

. Increase speed to at least 10 mph faster than the car you are

passing, but stay within the legal speed limit.

. Move smoothly into the passing lane.
. Change signal to the opposite direction.
. Check the blind spot.

. Return to the lane when you can see the

headlights of the vehicle you passed in
your rearview mirror.

10.Cancel signal and resume safe and

legal speed.

11. Check rearview mirror.




\
\ Entering the Freeway

Common Errors When Entering the Freeway

® Speed too slow.
® Fails to signal.

| ® Fails to yield to g
 other vehicles

already on freeway. Blind Spot: the ared that is not

® Fails to check visible to the driver wit{xo(;ﬁmg
oo turning their head and 10 :
iig1("ifrear.h'l path of Travel: the area you
hrl tli'w lte ff want the car 10 g0
checking traffic. oo
Poor gap controlled Braking: fmtrr11 i
judgment steady, even pressure on
u .
prake pedal.
Turns steerin . ot
wheel too shagr | velocitation: the effe(é1 e
g you are going faster K
O L think you are when you € Y o
g the freeway. Make sure YO o
Proper Procedures frequent speedometer chec
; to help adjust your speed.

for Acceleration Lane
1. Check ALL mirrors.

2. Keep 4+ seconds of space to the front of you.

3. Accelerate smoothly and briskly to match the
flow of traffic.

Proper Procedures for Merging
4. Communicate your intentions with signal and
lane position.

5. Check front, rear, and blind spot for a stable
gap in traffic in your intended path of travel.

6.  Merge smoothly into the gap in traffic.
7.  Adjust speed to surrounding traffic.

8. Cancel turn signal.

9. Check rearview mirror.

|\ 10. Create separation or “open space” to the
front, rear, and sides of your vehicle.
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Exiting the Freeway I

Common Errors When Exiting
the Freeway

® Fails to see exit ramp in advance.
® Reduces speed before exit ramp.

® Fails to signal.

® Fails to check rearview mirror.

® Fails to reduce speed on exit ramp.
® Fails to cancel signal.

® Cuts over from left lane at the last minute

Proper Procedures for Exiting
the Freeway
1. Plan for the exit — read the signs.

2. Move to the appropriate lane well
in advance.

3. Signal and check rearview mirror.

4. Maintain speed until you enter the
exit lane.

5. Enter the exit ramp and use controlled
braking. Reduce speed to posted speed
or less.

6. Beware of velocitation and adjust your
speed and lane position in preparation for
stopping and/or turning.

7. Check rearview mirror.

NOTE: Adjust procedures for the following:
® Traffic stopped on the exit ramp.

Short deceleration lane.

® Very slow ramp speed.

Other drivers following you at high spee
or close distance.
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Railroad Grade Crossings

Common Errors for Railroad Crossing

® Does not take railroad crossing seriously.
Fails to LOOK and LISTEN for oncoming trains.

® Fails to ensure ALL tracks are clear.

® Stops too close to the tracks.

Races to beat crossing arms when lights flash.

Proper Procedures for Railroad Crossing

1. Slow down, whether the lights are blinking or not, and check the
rearview mirror for traffic behind you.

LOOK and LISTEN for oncoming trains.
Determine the number of tracks and check EACH track in both directions.

Bow P

If a train is approaching or the crossing lights are blinking, STOP at
least 15 feet from the tracks or at the stop line. You should be able
to see the tracks in front of you when stopped.

5. When the tracks are clear as far as you can see in both directions,
cross the tracks.



School Zones

® Stop and remain stopped when a traffic patrol member (school crossing
guard) signals you to stop.

® Be alert at all times for children, bicyclists, and pedestrians in a school zone.

® Follow the signs or flashing lights that warn you that you are
approaching a school or school crossing.

® QObey the slower speed limits.

® Signs may be posted in school zones notifying drivers that traffic fines
are higher in a school zone.

These Signs Mean School Zone or Crossing Ahead:

SCHOOL

AHEAD

SPEED
LIMIT

20

WHEN
CHILDREN
ARE PRESENT

AN

I 4




Crosswalks

Pedestrians are vulnerable users of the roadway and drivers must use
responsible driving behavior at all crosswalks. There is a crosswalk at
every intersection, even if it is not marked by painted lines (unmarked).
Drivers must not stop with any portion of their vehicle overhanging the
crosswalk and must not block the crosswalk when stopped at a red light or
stop sign.

Never pass another car that is slowing or stopped at a crosswalk. The

driver may be waiting for a pedestrian to cross the road. This is a frequent
cause of death to pedestrians.

Stop and remain stopped for a pedestrian crossing a crosswalk when the
pedestrian is:

® (Crossing where a traffic patrol member (school crossing guard) signals
you to stop,

® In your lane of travel,

® |n a lane next to your lane of travel, or

® In the lane you are turning into.

AND

® [f you are turning at an intersection that has a traffic signal, the
pedestrian must be six feet or more past the lane you are turning into
before you begin your turn.

® If you are turning at an intersection that doesn't have a traffic signal, the
pedestrian must be past the lane you are turning into, plus the next lane,
before you begin your turn.

A "lane” includes a bicycle lane and the part of the roadway where a
vehicle stops, stands or parks that is next to that lane.



Night Driving






Skid Recovery

Skidding can happen at any time, on any surface, during braking,
accelerating or steering. If you begin to skid, steer toward the target
area. This allows you to focus on the front of the vehicle and the path
that you want your vehicle to travel.

Proper Procedures for Skid Recovery

1. As you drive, you should always focus on the

target area.
2. The instant you detect the ; 4

vehicle skid, turn the steering

wheel back toward the target

area without hesitation. path of Travel: the area you want
NOTE: It is important to get the the car t0 80- .
vehicle back on its path of travel Target Area: the ac‘tu.’altsptﬁgzwe1 on
before it gets more than 15° off. you intend the vehicle 0
That is your point of no return. the roadway:

Once the skid reaches that angle,
the vehicle is going to keep going in
the direction of the skid.

Don't give up — stay off the pedals, keep your eyes on the target area,
and keep working to get the car back under control.

e ’ P ]
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Driving in Bad Weather

® Drive at reduced speeds.

® [ .eave more space between your vehicle and those ahead.
® Drive with your headlights on.

® Don't use cruise control.

Check weather conditions on your travel route. Use Oregon's Trip
Check www.tripcheck.com or dial 5-1-1 to check current weather and
road conditions.

Be sure to carry chains or have traction tires on your vehicle.

e

e N R -
THE OREGON PARENT GUIDE TO TEEN DRIVING | 59
- - - £

. ~ Sl

9



— How to Handle Them

Vehicle Malfunctions

Hood Flies Up:

1 Look through the space at the bottom of your windshield to
maintain an open line of sight.

2 Steer to the side of the road.
3 Secure the hood.

Engine Fails:

This could happen when the engine quits running completely,
becomes flooded, overheats or is simply out of gas. In the event of an
engine failure:

1 Stay off the brake — you may need the momentum to pull off the
road — steer firmly.
2 Keep eyes on open target area.

3 Use an open palm to shift to neutral and attempt to restart — if that
fails take an open escape path.

4 Turn off ignition.

Accelerator Sticks:

This could be caused by a broken spring, or the pedal being stuck in
the down position. In either case:

1 Shift to neutral — use an open palm.

2 Search for an escape path.

3 Steer smoothly.

4 Brake gently.

5 Pull off the roadway.

6 Turn off the ignition.



Vehicle Malfunctions cont.

Brakes Fail:

A brake failure can be a complete loss of brakes or only the power
brakes fail. If the brakes quit working:

1 Keep eyes on target area.

2 Control steering.

3 Rapidly pump the brakes.

4 Shift to a lower gear.

5 Use the parking brake to slow or stop.

6 Find a soft crash area if necessary.

Tire Blowout:

Blowouts can cause serious damage to vehicles and injury or death to
occupants.

1. Aim to the target area — where you want the car to go.

2 Apply a QUICK burst of acceleration to restore direction.

3 Reduce speed gradually:
® Maintain balance.

® Stay off brake.
4 Control steering.
5 Find a safe place to pull off the road.

Engine Fire:
If the car catches on fire,

1 Steer the vehicle out of traffic and away from buildings and people.
2 Have all occupants leave the vehicle immediately and move away.
3 Do not open the hood.



If You have a Crash:

* Stop immediately without needlessly blocking or
endangering other traffic. Do not leave your vehicle where it
can block traffic unless it's so damaged it can't be moved.

Turn off the ignition to avoid the possibility of a fire.

Aid the injured and give first aid if necessary. Never move an
injured person unless there is danger of fire or another collision.

Prevent further damage by warning oncoming traffic with
flares or reflectors.

If an emergency, call 911.

Exchange information. Be sure to get:

® Names and addresses.

® Driver license numbers.

® License plate numbers.

® [nsurance company name, address, and policy number.

Note the names of passengers and their position in
the car.

Record withesses’ names and addresses.

File an accident report. Oregon requires an accident report
be filed with DMV anytime there is:

® Damage to the vehicle you were driving
over $2,500.
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® Damage to any vehicle over $2,500 and any vehicle is towed
from the scene as a result of damages from this accident.

® Injury or death resulted from this accident.

® Damages to any one person’s property, other than a vehicle
involved in this accident, is over $2,500.

If You're Stopped by Law Enforcement:

* Be prepared to show:
® Instruction permit or driver license.
® Vehicle registration.

® Proof of insurance.

* Wait for the officer to ask you for these documents before
you reach for them.

e Communicate with the officer where you are retrieving the
items: “My registration is in the glove box, may I get it now>"




What happens if you mess up?
You may lose driving privileges under the Provisional Driver Improvement Program.

If you get two driver improvement violations or are in two preventable crashes
or a combination of either totaling two, your driving privileges will be restricted
for 90 days. During the restriction, you are ONLY allowed to drive to and from work.
Driver improvement violations include, but are not limited to, speeding, running
a red light, not wearing a safety belt, or violating any of the Graduated Driver
Licensing restrictions such as driving with friends, driving late at night when
you're not supposed to, or using any mobile electronic device while driving.

If you get three driver improvement violations or are in three preventable
crashes or a combination of either totaling three, your driving privileges will
be suspended for six months. The suspension will continue even if you turn 18

during the suspension period.

One conviction for a serious offense, such as reckless driving, driving under the
influence of intoxicants or attempting to elude a police officer, will result in a
one-year suspension.

Under Oregon's implied consent law, if you are under 21, any amount of alcohol
in the blood while operating a vehicle is considered Driving Under the Influence
of Intoxicants (DUII). If you are arrested for DUII and:

® You take a breath test and fail it — Your license will be suspended for 90 days. If
you've had any prior alcohol-related offenses, your license will be suspended for
one year.

¢ You refuse to take a breath test — Your license will be suspended for one year.
If you've had any prior alcohol-related offenses your license will be suspended
for three years.

The above suspensions will be imposed in addition to a one-year
suspension if you are convicted for a DUII.

If you are convicted of delivery, manufacture or possession of a controlled
substance, including marijuana, or if you are convicted or determined by a
juvenile court of being in possession or use or abuse of alcohol, the court can
order a denial of your driving privileges for one year or more. This includes
having consumed the alcohol, holding the alcohol or attempting to purchase
alcohol. You will be fined and/or required to perform community service and may
be sent by the court to receive an alcohol assessment and/or complete treatment
at your own expense. The offense does not have to involve a motor vehicle.
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Cut on dotted line and post on refrigerator

To qualify for a license you must:
Have an instruction permit for at least six months, AND

Complete an approved traffic safety education course AND at least 50 hours of
supervised driving practice; OR

Complete 100 hours of supervised driving practice.

The supervising driver must be someone who is at least 21 years old and bas had a valid driver
license for at least three years.

After you get your license, there are restrictions on driving:

It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile device. This
includes texting or talking on a cell phone, even with a hands-free accessory, using
an mp3 player, or operating any other portable device. Once you turn 18, different
restrictions may apply.
For the first 6 months:

No passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a member of your

immediate family, AND no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for a
reason in the list of exceptions below.

For the second 6 months:
No more than 3 passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a member of
your immediate family AND no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless
for a reason in the list of exceptions below.

Exceptions to driving between midnight and 5 a.m. for the first year:
® Driving between home and work

® Driving between home and a school event for which there is no other
transportation available

® Driving for employment purposes

® When accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age
The first 6 months of restrictions will end on (date).
The second 6 months of restrictions will end on (date).

The passenger and night driving restriction end after one year or at age 18,
whichever comes first

If you don't follow these rules you could get a ticket, pay fines, your insurance rates
can go up or your license could be suspended. Driving comes with responsibility.
Remember, driving is a privilege — not a right.



The Oregon Parent
Guide to Teen Driving
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licensing, driver education, teen
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