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Buying a used car or truck 
is a big decision. Be a wise 
consumer; be certain of 
what you’re getting into.

This brochure gives you 
tips and ideas to help you 
in making your decision to 
buy a used vehicle.

ODOT is an Equal Employment Opportunity and 
Affirmative Action Employer.

ODOT does not discriminate on the basis of disability in 
admission or access to our programs, services, activities, 

hiring, and employment practices. 

Questions:  (877) 336-6368 (EEO-ODOT).

This information can be made available in an alternative 
format by contacting a local DMV field office.



Buying from a vehicle dealer who has been 
licensed by the state allows you some protection. 
Vehicle dealers are required to be bonded and 
insured to operate. They also are required to 
follow specific laws and rules of the state. 

•	 If you decide to buy from a private party, ask 
the following questions:
–– How long have you owned the vehicle?
–– Do you have the title, and is it in your name? 

•	Check their ID. Does it match the name on 
the title?

•	Ask to test drive the vehicle. 

•	 If a purchase is made, make sure the title is 
signed by the seller indicating release. 

When buying from a licensed dealer: 

•	Test drive the vehicle.

•	Make sure the vehicle equipment—brakes, 
lights, horn, seat belts, wipers, etc. —is in 
good working order. If items are in need of 
repair, ask the dealer to repair them and get the 
agreement in writing.

•	Ask the dealer for permission to have your own 
auto expert check out the vehicle.

•	Consider obtaining vehicle history information 
from an online service provider.

•	Remember, in Oregon, car buyers do not 
have three days following purchase to change 
their minds.* 

*The “lemon law” deals with mechanical defects 
in new vehicles. Contact the Department of Justice 
regarding lemon law issues. 

•	 If you have a trade-in vehicle, tell the dealer 
about any known problems so the next buyer 
of the vehicle won’t have any unexpected 
problems.

•	 If the trade-in has a lien attached, tell the title 
holder so that the dealer can pay off the lien 
holder and obtain the title.

•	The dealer has 15 days to pay off the lien. If 
this doesn’t happen, you may want to consider 
filing a complaint with DMV Business 
Regulation Section.

•	 If you consign a vehicle to a dealer, it must be 
registered to you.

•	Give a copy of the title or registration to 
the dealer and make sure a consignment 
agreement is filled out and signed by both you 
and the dealer.

•	Be sure to get a copy of the written 
consignment agreement from the dealer.

•	When a dealer sells your vehicle, they have 10 
days to pay you. You have 30 days to furnish 
the title to the dealer, but try to provide it 
upon payment.

•	 If you have title transfer questions, please 
contact DMV at (503) 945-5000.

Your used car or truck purchase is a big decision. 
Don’t hurry into it.

•	Make sure the odometer is working. Obtain an 
odometer disclosure statement from the dealer.

•	Don’t sign anything until you are ready to buy.

•	Keep copies of all documents you signed, 
including any warranty statements. 

Where to File a Complaint
DMV Business Regulation is located at 1965 
Lana Ave. NE, Salem, Oregon 97314. You can 
call (503) 945-5281 to request a complaint 
form, or you can obtain one from your local 
DMV office. You can also download a form 
from our web page: www.oregondmv.com. 
Also, check out the web page—your questions 
may be answered there.

Consumer issues involving warranties, 
contracts, safety issues or advertising should 
be directed to the Oregon Department of 
Justice (DOJ). The DOJ can be reached at 
(503) 378-4320 from Salem, (503) 299-5576 
from Portland or (877) 877-9392 elsewhere in 
Oregon (toll free). You may also visit the DOJ 
web site at www.doj.state.or.us. 


