Oregon Suspension/Revocation/Cancellation Guide

If eligible for a hardship permit, "Yes" will be noted in the "HARDSHIP?" column along with the wait time a person must serve before DMV can issue a permit. Wait times begin on the suspension effective date or incarceration release date.

Implied Consent (IC) (ORS 813.100)				
ТҮРЕ	LENGTH	HARDSHIP?		
Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal	1 year	Yes (90 days)		
Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal - Increased	3 years	Yes (3 years)		
BAC Failure	90 days	Yes (30 days)		
BAC Failure – Increased	1 year	Yes (1 year)		
Urine Test Refusal (Consecutive suspension)	1 years	Yes (180 days)		
Urine Test Refusal – Increased (Consecutive suspension)	3 years	Yes (3 years)		

- Suspension lengths increase if any of the following occurred in Oregon or any other jurisdiction within 5 years prior to current arrest: DUII conviction; participation in a diversion or similar alcohol or drug program; or a suspension of driving privileges under the Implied Consent Law. (ORS 813.430)
- A suspension for refusing to take a urine test shall be consecutive to any other suspension imposed under the Motorist Implied Consent law and the wait time for a hardship permit shall double. (ORS 813.132)
- A court may impose a presumptive fine of \$650 if the person refuses to submit to a breath or urine test. This is separate from any other court fine resulting from the DUII arrest. (ORS 813.095)

A person may be suspended for the same offense under the IC laws and the DUII laws. IC actions are DMV administrative suspensions separate from any suspension or revocation imposed by a court on the DUII conviction for the same offense.

• DMV will credit any wait time served on a DUII/IC suspension resulting from the same offense to the wait time for the corresponding DUII/IC suspension.

DUII (ORS 813.010)					
CONVI	CTION	ORDERED BY	TYPE	LENGTH	HARDSHIP?
DUII-	1st Conviction ORS 813.400, 809.428	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	1 year	*Yes
	2nd w/in 5 yrs ORS 813.400, 809.428	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	3 years	No
	3rd or Felony DUII ORS 813.400(2), 809.235	Court Form 735-6116	Revocation	**Permanent	No

^{*} There is a 30 day wait time if the person has been convicted of a separate traffic crime within the previous year.

CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS

Suspension or revocation "Length" noted with "not<", indicates that the date the person is eligible to reinstate the suspension or revocation is determined based on the release from incarceration date information. (**DMV MUST receive a RELEASE FROM INCARCERATION FORM 735-7372**. See Incarceration on Page 6.

CONVICTION	ORDERED BY	TYPE	LENGTH	HARDSHIP?
Aggravated Driving While Suspended or Revoked (DWS/DWR) ORS 163.196, 809.409(2)	Court or DMV	Revocation	Not<10	No
Assault Resulting from the Operation of a Motor Vehicle			years	
First Degree ORS 163.185, 809.235(1)(a)	Court Form 735-6116	Revocation	Permanent	No
Second Degree ORS 163.175, 809.411(9)(b)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Not<8 yrs	Yes (4 years)
Third Degree ORS 163.165, 809.411(9)(c)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Not<5 yrs	Yes (2 years)
Fourth Degree ORS 163.160, 809.411(9)(d)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Not<1 year	Yes (6 months)
Attempt to Elude Police ORS 811.540, 809.411(5)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
ORS 164.345, 164.354, 164.365, 809.411(2)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
Criminal Trespass II w/MV ORS 164.245, 809.411(7)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	6 months	Yes
DWS/DWR (Felony) ORS 809.409(4), 811.182		See OTH	IER on page	2
DUII ORS 813.010	See DUII section above			

^{**}Person may petition the court to restore driving privileges after minimum 10 years from the revocation effective date.

CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS (Continued from page 1)				
CONVICTION	ORDERED BY	TYPE	LENGTH	HARDSHIP?
Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver – Injury/Serious Injury/Fatal ORS 811.705, 809.409(3)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Revocation	Injury→ 1 yr Serious-not<3 yrs Fatal-not<5 yrs	No
Failure to Perform Duties of a Driver- Property Damage ORS 811.700, 809.411(4)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
False App for DL or ID ORS 807.430, 807.530, 809.310(3)(a)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension /Cancel	1 year	No
False Swearing to Receive DL ORS 807.520, 809.310(3)(b)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension /Cancel	1 year	No
Fleeing From Police Officer ORS 811.540, 809.411(5)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
Hit and Run	See	Failure to Perf	orm Duties of a	Driver
Aggravated Vehicular Homicide ORS 163.149, 809.235(1)(a)	Court Form 735-6116	Revocation	Permanent	No
Criminally Negligent Homicide Resulting from Op of MV ORS 163.145, 809.235(1)(a)	Court Form 735-6116	Revocation	Permanent	No
of MV ORS 163.145, 809.235(1)(a) Manslaughter 1st or 2nd Degree Resulting from OP of MV ORS 163.118, 163.125, 809.235(1)(a) Murder (any Degree) w/MV used as a dangerous weapon ORS 809.235(1)(a)	Court Form 735-6116	Revocation	Permanent	No
Murder (any Degree) w/MV used as a dangerous weapon ORS 809.235(1)(a)	Court Form 735-6116	Revocation	Permanent	No
ALL - Vehicular Homicide, Murder resulting from Op of a MV, Aggravated DWS or DWR, Assault I, Criminally Negligent Homicide or Manslaughter ORS 809.409(2)	DMV	Revocation	Not<10 yrs	No
Menacing Resulting from Operation of MV ORS 163.190, 809.411(2)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
Misrepresentation of Age to Purchase/Consume/ Possess Alcohol ORS 165.805(3),471.430(5),809.280(8)	Court Form 735-6115D	Suspension	Not >1 yr	Yes
Permit Misuse of DL or ID ORS 807.430, 807.590, 809.310(3)(d)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	1 year	No
Reckless Driving ORS 811.140, 809.411(3)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
Reckless Endangering Resulting from Op of MV ORS 163.195, 809.411(2)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
Reckless Endangerment of Highway Workers ORS 811.231, 809.411(6)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Schedule 1	Yes
Unlawfully Producing ID/DL/Permits, Etc. ORS 807.500, 809.310(3)(f)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension /Cancel	1 year	No
Using DL or ID of Another ORS 807.430, 807.600, 809.310(3)(e)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	1 year	No
Using Invalid DL or ID ORS 807.430, 807.580, 809.310(3)(c)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	1 year	No
Unlawful Use of MV (Felony) ORS 809.409(4) See OTHER below				
Vehicular Assault of Bicyclist/Pedestrian ORS 811.060, 809.411(9)(d)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Not<1 year	Yes (6 months)
Any Felony w/Material Element Involving Op of	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Revocation	1 year	No
Guilty Except for Insanity of Traffic Offense and Committed to PSRB ORS 809.419(6)	Court or DMV Form 735-6116	Suspension	Until Eligible ORS 807.090	No

JUVENILE

CAUSE	ORDERED BY	ТҮРЕ	LENGTH	HARDSHIP?
Offense Involving: • Possession, use or abuse of alcohol or cannabis by a minor (13-20 years of age at time of offense)	Court Form 735- 6115A	Suspension	See below	Yes
(ORS 809.260(3))				

Delivery, possession, manufacture of controlled substances or any marijuana/cannabinoid offense described in ORS 475C.341, 475C.345, or 475C.349

• (13-17 years of age at time of offense) (ORS 809.260(1))

The court may suspend if it is the person's:

- Second or subsequent conviction or adjudication;
- First conviction or adjudication and the person previously entered into a formal accountability agreement under ORS 419C.230; or
- First conviction or adjudication and the offense involved the operation or a motor vehicle.

The suspension remains in effect for: (809.280(6))

- 1 year or until the juvenile turns 17 years old, whichever is longer, if it is the juvenile's 1st order
- 1 year or until the juvenile turns 18 years old, whichever is longer, if it is the juvenile's 2nd or subsequent order **Note:** If the person is 18-20 years of age, suspension is for 1 year (the "until 17" or "until 18" options do not apply)

The court may reinstate privileges after 90 days (180 days if controlled substance offense) for 1^{st} conviction; or after 1 year on 2^{nd} or subsequent conviction (ORS 809.260)

Failure to Appear on MIP (alcohol or marijuana)	Court	Suspension	Not >10 yrs	No
ORS 809.220, 809.280 471.430, 475C.317, 419C.472	Form 735-6115			
Misrepresentation of Age to Purchase/Consume Alcohol ORS 165.805(3), 471.430(5), 809.280(8)	Court Form 735- 6115D	Suspension	Not >1 year	Yes
Withdrawal of Parent/Guardian License Approval ORS 809.320	DMV	Cancellation	Approved or 18 yrs old	No

DMV DRIVER IMPROVEMENT PROGRAMS **CAUSE** LENGTH HARDSHIP? **TYPE** Adult Three convictions or three preventable Restriction 30 days No accidents, or a combination that totals three, in **Driver Improvement** a 24-month period. **Program:** ORS 809.480, OAR 735-072-Five conviction or five preventable accidents, Suspension 30 days Yes 0027, 735-072-0041 or a combination that totals five, in a 24-month **Provisional** (under 18 years) Two convictions or two preventable accidents, Restriction 90 days No **Driver Improvement** or a combination that totals two. Program: Three convictions or three preventable Suspension Six Yes ORS 809,480, OAR 735-072accidents, or a combination that totals three. months 0023, 735-072-0041 A conviction for any traffic crime listed in ORS Suspension One year Yes 809.600(1) Habitual Incompetent, Reckless, or Criminally Negligent Driver/Serious Suspension Indefinite No Violation of MV Laws ORS 809.421(1) Habitual Offender Program: ORS 809.600, 809.610, 809.640, 809.650(2), Yes Revocation 5 years OAR 735-070-0145 Three convictions or a combination that totals three, within a 5-year period for DUII; Criminal DWS/DWR; Reckless driving; Failure to perform duties of a driver; Flee/Attempt to elude; Vehicular homicide; or Murder, manslaughter, negligent homicide, assault, reckless endangering, menacing or criminal mischief resulting from operation of a MV. Yes Revocation 5 years Twenty convictions (traffic violations and/or traffic crimes) within a five-year period.

NON-CRIMINAL CAUSES CAUSE TYPE LENGTH **HARDSHIP?** ORDERED BY Accident - Cause or Contribute to Death by Operating DMV Suspension 1 vear a MV - DMV Determined Immediate Endangerment ORS 809.417(3)(c) Accident - Cause or Contribute to Death by Operating DMV Suspension 1 year Yes **a MV** ORS 809.417(3)(a) Accident Report - Fail to File ORS 809.417(1) Suspension DMV Not > 5 yrsYes Careless Driving w/Serious Injury/Death to Court Suspension 1 year Yes Form 735-6115D **Vulnerable User** ORS 811.135, 809.280(13) **Dishonored Check/Payment to DMV** ORS 802.170 DMV Cancellation Indefinite No **Driver Improvement Course -Court Order to Complete** Court Suspension Not > 5Yes Form 735-6115B ORS 809.270 yrs Failure to Appear for Major or Other Traffic Offense Court Suspension Not >10 yrsYes ORS 809.220, ORS 809.280(4) Failure to Install Ignition Interlock DMV Yes Suspension Not > 5 yrsORS 813.602(7) Failure to Make Future Responsibility Filing DMV No Suspension Not > 3 yrsORS 809.415(3) **Failure to Obtain Medical Clearance** DMV Suspension Indefinite Nο ORS 809.419(2), 807.070, 807.090 Failure to Pay Child Support ORS 25.750, 25.780 DOJ or DA Suspension Indefinite No Failure to Appear or Satisfactorily Complete Required DMV Suspension Indefinite No **Exam** ORS 809.419(1) **False Certification of Financial Responsibility** DMV No Suspension Not > 3 yrsORS 809.415(2) **Hospital Notice of Mental Condition** DMV Suspension Indefinite No ORS 809.419(5), 807.700 Incompetence to Drive MV Because of Mental/Physical DMV Indefinite Suspension No **Condition** ORS 809.419(3) Motor Vehicle Registration - Court Order Vehicle Up to 120 No Court Form 735-6128 ORS 809.010 (Suspension only impacts vehicle registration -Suspension davs not driving privileges) Tampering of Ignition Interlock Device ORS 813.602(7) DMV Yes Suspension Not > 5 yrsUninsured Accident ORS 809.417(2) DMV Suspension 1 year Yes Unsettled Judgment ORS 809.415(1) Court Suspension Not > 7 yrsYes Form 735-6702 Violation of Driving Restrictions ORS 809.421(3) DMV Suspension Not > 1 yrNo **Incompetence to Operate Motorcycle** ORS 809.419(4) DMV Revocation Indefinite No Speeding: Speeding over 30 mph and has a Court Suspension Up to 30 Yes Form 735-6115C ORS 811.109(4)(5), previous speeding conviction days 809.280(11)(12) within 12 months. 30-90 Suspension Yes Court Speeding over 100 mph. Form 735-6115C days

COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL) / COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE (CMV)

DMV is NOT authorized to issue a Hardship Permit for commercial driving privileges
Other than Implied Consent, DMV provides the notice for all suspensions of CDL/CMV privileges

CAUSE		TYPE	LENGTH
Implied Consent:	Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal	Suspension	3 years
While operating a commercial motor	Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal -	Suspension	5 years
vehicle (>.04% BAC)	Transporting Hazardous Material	2 3.2 5 3.13	, , , , ,
ORS 813.410(2), 809.510	Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal -	Suspension	Lifetime
	Increased	•	
	BAC Failure	Suspension	1 year
	BAC Failure – Transporting Hazardous	Suspension	3 years
	Material		
	BAC Failure - Increased	Suspension	Lifetime
DUII:	1 st conviction	Suspension	1 year
While operating a commercial motor	1st conviction – Transporting Hazardous	Suspension	3 years
vehicle. ORS 809.510, 809.520	Material		1.0.1.
Duining CMV While Commanded / Davi	2 nd or subsequent conviction	Suspension	Lifetime
Driving CMV While Suspended/Rev ORS 809.510(1)(c)		Suspension	1 year
Driving CMV While Suspended/Rev	oked for CMV Violations – Transporting	Suspension	3 years
Hazardous Material ORS 809.510(2)			
Failure to File a Tax Return or Pay a		Suspension	Indefinite
	er ORS 809.510(1)(a), 811.700, 811.705	Suspension	1 year
Failure to Perform Duties of a Drive ORS 809.510(2), 811.700, 811.705	er – Transporting Hazardous Material	Suspension	3 years
Felony Involving Op of MV ORS 809.	.510(1)(b)	Suspension	1 year
Felony Involving Op of MV - Transp ORS 809.510(2)		Suspension	3 years
Hit & Run – Injury/Property ORS 80	09.510(1)	See Failure	to Perform Duties
			above
Imminent Hazard ORS 809.515(2)		Suspension	Not>1 year
Murder/Manslaughter/Criminally N while in a CMV - ORS 809.510(1)(d)	legligent Homicide or Assault Conviction	Suspension	1 year
Murder/Manslaughter/Criminally N while in a CMV - Hazardous Materia	legligent Homicide or Assault Conviction	Suspension	3 years
Out-of-Service Order Violation ORS		Suspension	180 days or 3 years
Out-of-Service Order Violation – Tr ORS 809.530(2), 809.530(4)		Suspension	1 year or 5 years
Railroad Related Violation ORS 809.	535, 811.455, 811.460, 811.475, 811.462	Suspension	60 days, 120 days or 1 year
Serious Traffic Violation Two or thre ORS 809.525, OAR 735-063-0130	e convictions within a 3-year period	Suspension	2→60 days 3→120 days
	olving Manufacture/Distribution of	Suspension	Lifetime
Violation of Posted Weight Limits O		Suspension	Not>90 days
	in any combination (ORS 809.520(2)):	Suspension	Lifetime
DUII Conviction in MV or CMV	, 3011101114011 (01.0 007.320(2))1		Litetime
Implied Consent Breath Test Ref	usal in MV or CMV		
• Implied Consent Suspension (>.0			
 Failure to Perform Duties of a Dr 	iver in MV or CMV		
 Felony Conviction in MV or CMV 			
	le suspended or revoked for CMV Violation Negligent Homicide/Aggravated Driving Assault Conviction while in CMV		

MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION

Incarceration

<u>SEE ORS 809.409 AND 809.411</u> FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION RELATED TO SENTENCING INVOLVING INCARCERATION.

Any suspension or revocation "Length" noted with "not<" indicates the time length is established by the persons release from incarceration.

- If the sentencing did **not** include incarceration, the suspension or revocation time length is as noted above from the beginning date of the revocation or suspension.
- If the sentencing **included** incarceration, the person is NOT ELIGIBLE TO REINSTATE the suspension or revocation for the time length (as noted above) following the date the person **is released from incarceration**.

Any suspension or revocation "Length" noted with "not<", indicates that the date the person is eligible to reinstate the suspension or revocation (end suspension or revocation), is based on release from incarceration date information.

To determine the reinstatement eligibility date, **DMV MUST receive a RELEASE FROM INCARCERATION FORM** 735-7372.

Non-Resident / No Current Driving Privileges

A court may suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any nonresident for any cause for which the driving privileges of a resident of this state may be suspended or revoked. ORS 809.230

If a person is not currently licensed or the person's privileges expire within the suspension period, DMV or the Court shall suspend or revoke the person's right to apply for driving privileges to operate motor vehicles in this state. ORS 809.360

Out-of-Jurisdiction

DMV may suspend Oregon driving privileges and/or commercial driving privileges if the driver is suspended or revoked out-of-state or based on an out-of-state conviction. ORS 809.400, 809.510(6)

Suspension Schedule (ORS 809.428)

	Schedule I	Schedule II		
1 st Offense 2 nd Offense w/in 5 years	90 days 1 year	1 year 3 years 3 rd or subsequent	3 years	3 years

Court Possession of License (ORS 809.240 and 809.275)

A court shall take immediate possession of any license or driver permit held by a defendant upon ordering a suspension or revocation under:

ORS 165.805	ORS 809.240	ORS 809.409	ORS 811.135
ORS 471.430	ORS 809.260	ORS 809.411	ORS 813.400
ORS 809.120	ORS 809.265	ORS 809.510-809.54	5
ORS 809.235	ORS 809.270	ORS 811.109	

Hardship Wait Times

Oregon Revised Statutes 807.240 and 813.520

For questions regarding where to submit conviction, suspension, or revocation documents to DMV, contact Driver Sanctions Unit 503-945-5037.

For questions regarding the content of this guide, contact DMVDriverControl@odot.oregon.gov

https://www.oregon.gov/odot/Forms/DMV/7484.pdf

Revised: 10/2022