

# SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION PERMIT ATTACHMENT 75A (REVISED 01-2023)

**Department of Transportation** 

Commerce and Compliance Division 455 Airport Road SE, Building A Salem, OR 97301 Telephone (503) 373-0000 FAX (503) 378-2873

**Please read this permit carefully!** This permit authorizes the movement of a mobile home, modular building, or chassis unit(s) at the dimensions authorized on the permit and over the approved route. Corrections must be made before the movement begins. Once the permit is accepted, all permit requirements and conditions must be met.

**To legally operate in Oregon, tax and registration requirements must also be met unless otherwise exempt by statute or rule.** This Transportation Variance Permit does not authorize your vehicle to operate in Oregon in excess of the vehicle's Registration weight or tax declared weight(s). Vehicle(s) must be registered and tax declared at the highest weight(s) appropriate to your operation. Contact ODOT CCD Registration at (503) 378-6699 for information.

Permittee and Driver Responsibility - You are responsible and liable for any and all injury to persons or damage to property and all damage to or destruction of any highway or any highway structure resulting from the oversize or overweight movement. You are responsible for determining adequate clearance, both vertical and horizontal, for movement under this permit. It is the responsibility of the motor carrier to notify the Over-Dimension Permit Unit in the event of striking a structure in the course of a movement within 24 hours of the accident. You are also responsible for contacting public utilities (i.e. telephone, electric, cable, etc.) to determine oversize load clearance. You may be required to furnish proof of liability and property damage insurance and to file either a certified check or a surety bond as deemed necessary. The individual or company to whom the permit is issued must be familiar with all laws and rules applicable for the transportation of oversize loads or vehicles. Drivers of vehicles towing mobile homes exceeding a base width of 14 feet or an overall width of 15 feet must meet specific requirements as shown in OAR 734-075-0022.

The driver is responsible for complying with all applicable Oregon laws in addition to all permit requirements and provisions. It is the driver's responsibility to determine if local road conditions are hazardous, unless the Department of Transportation has posted signs on the highway displaying restrictions due to weather/road conditions in the area. In such cases the permitted vehicle must leave the highway at the next available exit, truck stop, rest area, or next available safe parking place and shall not proceed until the hazardous condition abates. Drivers making the wrong choice and continuing to operate when hazardous conditions exist, or who violate any other permit requirement or provision, are subject to citation. In addition, the responsible Motor Carrier is subject to civil monetary complaint on a first offense; and in the instance of repeated violations, is subject to additional sanctions including cancellation of permit and/or denial of future permit requests.

**Drivers must enter an Oregon scale** when directed to do so by an open sign. **If the vehicle is equipped with a transponder** and you are transporting an oversize unit, you must enter the open scale regardless of receiving a green light.

This is a brief summary of regulations governing the transportation of mobile homes and modular building units. For a complete copy of Oregon Administrative Rule, Chapter 734, Division 75, contact us at the address shown on this attachment or at our Website:

Oregon Department of Transportation: Laws and Rules: Commerce and Compliance Division: State of Oregon. For purposes of this rule, "unit" means a mobile home, manufactured home or modular building unit. These are units designed for human habitation or for business, commercial, or office purposes and shall be transported with only those items to be a permanent part of the unit or accessory parts.

This permit is not valid for vehicles licensed, or which can be used as recreational vehicles as defined by ORS 174.101(3), unless specifically authorized on the permit.

This permit is valid for the time period specified on the permit. Single trip permits (STPs) are valid for a single move, not to exceed ten days. Continuous trip permits (CTPs) are valid for multiple trips within the time frame specified on the permit not to exceed one year. The department may cancel a permit if the permit holder violates any permit terms or conditions, obtains it improperly, or if public interest requires cancellation.

Legal height in Oregon is 14 feet 0 inches and legal width is 8 feet 6 inches. Single trip permits will propose a suggested route that must be followed in the sequence shown on the permit. Actual operation under the authority of a single trip permit will establish that the Permittee has verified the adequacy of the suggested route. Therefore, it is required that the Permittee contact the Over-Dimension Permit Unit to request changes deemed necessary to the suggested route prior to actual operation. The Permittee assumes all liability for any damages resulting from operations under the permit. Continuous trip permits generally are accompanied by route maps displaying routes authorized by the permit. On occasion, some continuous trip permits are route specific and require travel in the sequence suggested on the permit. In those instances it will similarly be required that the Permittee contact the Over-Dimension Permit Unit prior to

operation if the suggested route is deemed inadequate. Operation under the permit means the Permittee confirms the suggested route is appropriate and the **Permittee assumes all liability for any damages resulting from operations under the permit.** 

This permit does not authorize county roads and city streets unless specifically stated on the permit. To operate over these roads or streets, a permit must be obtained from the appropriate county or city. The Salem permit office can obtain approval for single trip permits in most counties. Such approval is noted under Special Provisions on the permit.

**Highways or structures may be posted to reduce size or weight limits.** Drivers shall not exceed posted length or weight limits unless specifically authorized by this permit.

This permit does not authorize the use of detour routes unless your permit specifically allows the use of the route at the size and weight of your load and vehicle(s). Detour routes are temporary routes that are established primarily for legal size and legal weight vehicles. You must contact a permit agent and obtain a new permit before continuing your move.

**Spacing Interval -** The convoy movement of two or more vehicles required to display Warning Signs is strictly prohibited, unless specifically authorized on the permit. All slow-moving lanes and turnouts must be used to allow following traffic to pass. Except when overtaking or passing, a distance of one-half mile shall be maintained between combinations traveling in the same direction.

The vehicle towing the mobile home must be equipped with dual wheels on the drive axle and shall have enough engine horsepower to maintain minimum speeds of 45 MPH on Interstate highways and 35 MPH on other highways. In addition, the vehicle towing the unit must have a minimum GVWR of:

- 8,000 pounds when the base width is up to 10 feet or the overall width is up to 11 feet;
- 15,000 pounds when the base width exceeds 10 feet up to 14 feet or the overall width exceeds 11 feet up to 15 feet;
- 32,000 pounds when the base width exceeds 14 feet or the overall width exceeds 15 feet.

A minimum of two spare tires must be carried for the unit being towed; they are to be inflated and ready for use.

The unit length (inclusive of tongue) cannot exceed 80 feet in length.

The overall combination length cannot exceed 110 feet.

The base width cannot exceed 16 feet, and the overall width cannot exceed 18 feet.

A unit may have an eave providing it does not exceed either side by:

- More than 30 inches for units with a base width of less than 16 feet;
- More than 16 inches for units with a base width of 16 feet.

Note: If the eave extends more than 24 inches beyond either side of the unit, in addition to all other lights required by law, a clearance light as described in ORS 816.200 shall be mounted on the outermost front and rear corners of the eave.

## Mobile homes exceeding a base width of 14 feet must:

- Have a minimum of four axles, except units that do not exceed 40 feet in length may be equipped with three axles;
- Have brakes that comply with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 393.42 (b)(2), provided the combination of vehicles meets the requirement of 393.52 brake performance.

**Modular building units must be transported** with a truck-tractor or toter and semitrailer or trailer combination. The unit must be securely fastened to the semitrailer or trailer. Requests for moves using trailers more than 53 feet in length will be authorized on an individual basis and must be specified on the permit:

- Stretch-trailers may be used for units non-divisible in length; when operating unladen the stretch trailer must be reduced to dimensions authorized by statute or rule.
- Fixed trailers or semitrailers may be used for units non-divisible in length, and must not exceed 75 feet in length.

## WEIGHTS AUTHORIZED BY THIS PERMIT ARE SUBJECT TO ALL OF THE FOLLOWING LIMITS:

- Tires may carry up to 600 pounds per inch of tire width or the manufactured sidewall rating, whichever is less.
- Permits issued authorizing Permit Weight Table 1 or 2 allow up to a maximum of 20,000 pounds on a single axle and 34,000 pounds on a tandem axle.
- Permits issued authorizing Permit Weight Table 3 or 4 for movement of a single modular unit allow up to a maximum of 21,500 pounds per single axle and up to 43,000 pounds per tandem axle. When operating with Permit Weight Table 3 or 4, only those items that are manufactured as part of, and are attached to the unit, are authorized. Accessory parts (ship loose material) loaded inside the unit are not authorized. Auxiliary axle(s) must be deployed when operating at Permit Weight Table 3 or 4.
- All groups of axle weights shall not exceed the sums of the permittable axle weights, or the weights allowed by the Permit Weight Table, whichever is the lesser of the two.
- Combined gross weight shall not exceed that specified on the permit.

#### Weights authorized for mobile homes are contingent on when the unit was manufactured, and must comply as follows:

- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 393.75 (g) (1) & (2).
- Manufactured homes with no verifiable date of manufacture must not exceed the tire manufacturer's load rating.

## Refer to separate Attachment H for Hauling Hours and Days for Over width Movement.

Weather Restrictions: Movement of a vehicle or combination of vehicles exceeding 8 feet 6 inches in width is prohibited:

- When road surfaces are hazardous due to ice, snow or frost; or
- When visibility is less than 500 feet due to snow, mist, rain, dust, smoke, fog or other atmospheric conditions; or
- When wind conditions exist which cause excessive swaying or weaving, or tip-over of the towed unit, or are such that the towed unit cannot maintain its lane of travel: or
- When the Department of Transportation places signs indicating travel is hazardous.

Note: Chain up locations are not intended to serve as staging areas for over dimension vehicles. Parking in chain-up areas is strictly prohibited. In order to avoid being caught unaware of existing or approaching weather conditions ALWAYS check for available highway and weather information before beginning a trip.

Prior to travel, go to <a href="https://www.tripcheck.com/">https://www.tripcheck.com/</a> or call the toll free Oregon road report at 511 or (800) 977-6368 for current travel and weather information throughout Oregon. If calling from out of state, call (503) 588-2941.

**Warning Signs:** Vehicle(s) transporting a unit that exceeds 8 feet 6 inches in width are required to display standard signs bearing the words "**OVERSIZE LOAD**". The signs must be displayed at the front and rear of the vehicle or combination of vehicles. The signs must be 7 feet wide by 18 inches high and have 10 inches high black letters on a highway yellow background. They must be kept in good repair, free from dirt, grease and road film and be clearly readable to other drivers. The highway yellow background of the sign shall be made of reflectorized material when operating between one half-hour after sunset and one half hour before sunrise. The signs shall not cover or interfere with the visibility of the vehicle's registration plate(s).

**Red or Fluorescent Orange Flags** - All four lower corners of the unit shall be marked with red or fluorescent orange flags, 18 inches square. The standard or holder may not extend beyond the sides of the unit by more than 3 inches.

**Open side covering** is required for units with open sides that are transported more than 25 miles. The material must be a rigid material such as plywood or hardboard. Plastic covering can be used if a grillwork of lumber or other material is used to prevent billowing of plastic material. The grillwork is not required if the open side is covered with plastic made of non-tearable, cross-laminated polyethylene material, provided the material adequately prevents billowing.

**Rearview Mirrors** - A power unit must be equipped with a minimum of two rearview mirrors positioned to allow the operator to view the rear of the last vehicle of the combination and to see down each side of the vehicle(s) being transported. Mirrors may exceed authorized width only as much as required to provide the operator the required view to the rear and must be retracted to legal width at all other times.

### Warning Lights Required for power units, in addition to any lights otherwise required by law

- The power unit transporting an oversize unit shall be equipped with amber warning lights when the width exceeds 10 feet on a 2-lane or 12 feet on a multilane highway.
- These lights shall be mounted above the roof of the cab, be clearly visible from a distance of 500 feet, have a minimum of 30 flashes per minute and be either:
  - $\circ\quad$  Two flashing amber lights as widely spaced laterally as is practical;
  - o Revolving type amber light(s); or
  - o Amber type strobe light(s) with 360 degree visibility.
- A power unit transporting an oversize unit is exempt from the warning light requirements when operating with a minimum of two pilot vehicles on all highways.

## Warning lights required for the mobile home being towed, in addition to any other lights required by law

- The mobile home being towed must be equipped with two flashing type amber lights mounted on the rear of the towed unit.
- The lights must be mounted on a horizontal plane at least eight feet above the road surface, and spaced as far apart as practical.
- Lights must be clearly visible from 500 feet.

**Specifically identified locations may require additional precautions**. Permits may specify locations that require certified flagging to be conducted. The flagging shall be conducted in accordance with the standards in the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices as adopted in OAR 734-020-0005. In accordance with OAR 734-070-0060, *Pilot Vehicle operators* certified in traffic control may direct traffic when the variance permit authorizes a rolling stop option in lieu of certified flagging. The rolling stop method shall be conducted with three pilot vehicles that are certified and trained to perform the rolling stop method.

**Pilot vehicles may be required** - in accordance to OAR 734-075-0035 - to ensure safety during the movement of oversize units. Pilot vehicles may be a passenger car, pick-up truck or truck tractor. A pilot vehicle may not tow another vehicle. The pilot vehicle(s) shall be positioned at a distance of 300 feet to 500 feet from the oversize vehicle/load. In areas where traffic congestion is encountered, where traffic is controlled by signals, or where other conditions may require, the spacing shall be reduced as may be required to properly safeguard the traveling public. Pilot vehicles are under direct supervision of the operator of the vehicle to which the permit is issued. **Two-way radio communications** between the oversize vehicle and the pilot vehicle(s) must be maintained at all times.

## **Pilot vehicles escorting oversize units** are required to have the following equipment:

- Warning signs mounted above the roofline. The sign shall be at least 5 feet wide by 10 inches high; have black letters 8 inches high with 1 inch brush stroke in accordance with Federal Highway Administration series B, on highway yellow background.
- Each pilot vehicle operator shall use warning flags to warn oncoming or overtaking traffic when the oversize unit is stopped and obstructing traffic. The warning flags shall be two 18 inches square red or fluorescent orange flags mounted on 3 feet length staffs.
- In addition, eight safety flares or reflectors shall be carried in each pilot vehicle.
- \*\*When height exceeds 14 feet 06 inches a front pilot vehicle is required, unless the permittee has filed a declaration with CCD assuming complete and total liability for any and all injury and damage that may result from the overheight movement. When required, the front pilot vehicle must be equipped with a height pole that is constructed of material that is non-conductive and non-destructive to overhead structures and which measures as high as the load being transported. The pilot vehicle must slow and have the height pole deployed when crossing under a structure to allow time for the load to stop if the height pole strikes the structure. In an instance that the height pole strikes a structure the pilot car must radio to the oversize vehicle instructions to pull over and cease movement. The driver of the oversize vehicle shall call OD Permits at 503-373-0000 immediately to obtain further routing advice. When not required, the height pole must be down and secured to the pilot vehicle

**Pilot vehicles must have warning lights** in addition to those lights that may otherwise be required by law. Warning lights shall be displayed only during the course of the oversize movement, and at all other times the requirements found in ORS 816.350(7) shall apply. These lights shall be mounted above the roof of the cab, be clearly visible from a distance of 500 feet, have a minimum of 30 flashes per minute and be either: Two flashing amber lights as widely spaced laterally as is practical; revolving type amber light(s); or amber type strobe light(s) with 360 degree visibility.

MINIMUM NUMBER OF PILOT VEHICLES REQUIRED FOR WIDTH							
		ROUTE MAP 2		ROUTE MAP 2 RED ROUTES - SEE GROUP MAP 1			
OVERALL WIDTH	INTERSTATE AND MULTILANE HWYS	2-LANE GREEN ROUTES	ROUTE MAP 2 PURPLE ROUTES	GROUP MAP 1 BLACK ROUTES	GROUP MAP 1 BLUE ROUTES	GROUP MAP 1 RED ROUTES	
Over 08'06" to 9'	NONE	NONE	NONE	NONE	ONE	TWO	
09'01" to 10'	NONE	NONE	ONE	ONE	ONE	TWO	
10'01" to 11'	NONE	NONE	ONE	ONE	ONE	TWO	
11'01" to 12'	NONE	NONE	ONE	TWO	TWO	TWO	
12'01" to 14'	NONE	ONE	TWO	TWO	TWO	TWO	
14'01" to 15'	ONE (1a)	TWO	TWO	TWO	TWO	TWO	
15'01" to 16'	TWO (1b)	TWO	TWO	TWO	TWO	TWO	
16'01" to 18'	TWO (2)	TWO (2)	THREE (2)	THREE (2)	THREE (2)	THREE (2)	

## **Exceptions** to the chart above:

- (1) If the base width does not exceed 14 feet; and
  - a) the distance measured from the center of the coupling device to the outermost extremity of the unit does not exceed 7 feet 6 inches to the left or does not exceed 8 feet to the right of the unit (as viewed from the rear):
    - No pilot vehicle is required.
  - b) the distance measured from the center of the coupling device to the outermost extremity of the unit does not exceed 8 feet to the left or does not exceed 8 feet 6 inches to the right of the unit (as viewed from the rear):
    - One pilot vehicle is required.
- (2) When the number of pilot vehicles specified on the permit is different than the number required above, the permit shall take precedence.
  - When one pilot vehicle is required, it shall travel in front of the oversize unit except when operating on multilane highways it shall be at the rear of the unit.
  - When two pilot vehicles are required, one shall be in front and one shall be at the rear of the unit.

MINIMUM PILOT VEHICLES REQUIRED FOR HEIGHT				
Overall Height exceeding 14 00"	All Interstate/Multilane & 2 Lane Highways			
14'01" to 14'06"	None			
Over 14'06"	One in Front**			
When a pilot vehicle is required for height, it shall travel in the front.				