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The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule's substantive goals while reducing negative economic 

impact of the rule on business. 

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by a group with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication 

of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date the Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. 

If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days 

before the hearing.

CONTACT: Ty Yoder 

503-945-5256 

ty.m.yoder@odot.state.or.us

DMV Vehicle Programs 

1905 Lana Avenue NE 

Salem ,OR 97314

Filed By: 

Lauri Kunze 

Rules Coordinator

NEED FOR THE RULE(S):

DMV’s Service Transformation Program (STP) created opportunities to review DMV programs and optimize them 

based on new technological capabilities. 

 

 

In an effort to deter unauthorized or fraudulent address changes, proposed rule amendments eliminate the ability for a 

person to change their address by use of a drop box or in writing.  An exception to the limitations on how DMV will 

accept notification of change of address is proposed for persons whose address is protected by law. 

 

 

Through STP, DMV has identified provisions in rule that do not reflect current processes.  DMV proposes to repeal OAR 

735-070-0040 because DMV does not amend a customer’s address on record upon receiving any court conviction or 

order to suspend a driving privilege that contains a different address.  Proposed amendments bring administrative rules 

up to date with the impact a commercial driver license cancellation has on non-commercial driving privileges. 

 

 

To comply with mandatory data elements from the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) 

card design standards, DMV needs to record eye color on the driver license, driver permit or identification card issued 

to any applicant. Minor terminology amendments are also proposed to avoid the use of gender specific pronouns and to 

align with terminology used in Oregon Revised Statutes.

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON, AND WHERE THEY ARE AVAILABLE:

None
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT:

See statements below.

COST OF COMPLIANCE: 

(1) Identify any state agencies, units of local government, and members of the public likely to be economically affected by the 

rule(s). (2) Effect on Small Businesses: (a) Estimate the number and type of small businesses subject to the rule(s); (b) Describe the 

expected reporting, recordkeeping and administrative activities and cost required to comply with the rule(s); (c) Estimate the cost 

of professional services, equipment supplies, labor and increased administration required to comply with the rule(s).

(1) Except as otherwise noted below, the cost of compliance on state agencies, units of local government and the public 

is none. The majority of the rule amendments within this rulemaking are process improvements consisting of changes to 

the way DMV conducts its business and/or minor corrections intended to clarify provisions of certain administrative 

rules. 

 

 

Amendment to OAR 735-010-0070 will result in DMV no longer accepting written forms, or completed notice of 

address changes through drop boxes or the mail for persons whose addresses are not protected by privacy laws.  This 

may cause a delay for some individuals who are accustomed to notifying DMV through the methods being removed. 

However, persons can still change their address in a DMV office, online through DMV’s website, or by telephone after 

identification is verified. 

(2)(a), (b) and (c) None

DESCRIBE HOW SMALL BUSINESSES WERE INVOLVED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THESE RULE(S):

Fourteen groups representing small businesses were notified and invited to comment.  No comments were received.

WAS AN ADMINISTRATIVE RULE ADVISORY COMMITTEE CONSULTED?  NO   IF NOT, WHY NOT?

This administrative rulemaking establishes provisions necessary to implement DMV’s system modernization project 

and creates efficiencies for DMV processes.

RULES PROPOSED: 

735-010-0070, 735-018-0100, 735-062-0013, 735-062-0135, 735-070-0035, 735-070-0040

AMEND: 735-010-0070

RULE SUMMARY: Proposed amendment of OAR 735-010-0070 removes the option for a customer to submit a change 

of address using the Change of Address Notice for DMV Records.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-010-0070 

Submission of Change of Address and Update of DMV Records ¶ 

 

(1) DMV maintains a customer database that contains information on all DMV customers. A single notice of 

address change will beis sufficient for a customer to comply with ORS 807.560 (address changes related to driver 

licensing), ORS 803.220 (address changes related to titling and registering vehicles) and ORS 807.420 (address 

changes related to identification cards), as long as DMV is provided with sufficient information to identify the 

customer.¶ 

(2) DMV will accepts a notice of a change of address:¶ 

(a) In writing by mail, facsimile or at a drop box in a DMV field office, in the form of a Cperson at a DMV field 
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office;¶ 

(b) Electronically as set forth in OAR 735-018-0100; or¶ 

(c) By telephone.¶ 

(3) DMV accepts a notice of change of Aaddress Notice for DMV Records (DMV Form 735-6438) or any other 

written form;for any person whose address is protected by law:¶ 

(a) In writing by mail; or¶ 

(b) Any method described in section (2) of this rule.¶ 

(b4) Electronically as set forth in OAR 735-018-0100; or¶ 

(c) In person at a DMV field office.¶ 

(3) DMV may accept an address change by telephoneAn organization as defined in OAR 735-018-0010 may not 

notify DMV electronically of a change of address. The organization must submit a notice of change of address in 

writing. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 803.220, 807.420, & 807.560 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 803.220, 807.420, & 807.560
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AMEND: 735-018-0100

RULE SUMMARY: Proposed amendment of OAR 735-018-0100 removes the option for a customer to submit a change 

of address using the Change of Address Notice for DMV Records.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-018-0100 

Notification of Change of Address by Electronic Means ¶ 

 

(1) Except as prohibited under section (2) of this rule, a person required to notify DMV of a change of address 

pursuant ORS 803.220, 807.420 or 807.560 and OAR 735-010-0070, may, in lieu of submitting a hardcopy 

Change of Address Notice For DMV Records (DMV Form 735-6438), notify DMV electronically of a change of 

address by submitting a notice of a change of address at DMV's website.¶ 

(2) An electronic notice of a change of address by an organization as defined in OAR 735-018-00310 is expressly 

prohibited.¶ 

(3) This rule does not apply to notice of a change of name or any other provision otherwise required by ORS 

803.220, 807.420 or 807.560.¶ 

[ED. NOTE: Forms referenced are available from the agency.] 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.012, & 803.460 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 802.012, 802.560, 803.200, 803.220, 803.360, 803.370, 803.450, 803.460, 

807.420, & 807.560
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AMEND: 735-062-0013

RULE SUMMARY:  Amendment of OAR 735-062-0013, to comply with American Association of Motor Vehicle 

Administrators (AAMVA) mandatory data element standards for card design, DMV will now record a person’s eye color 

on the driver license, driver permit or identification card.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-062-0013 

Physical Description on Driver License, Driver Permit or Identification Card ¶ 

 

(1) An applicant for a driver license, driver permit or identification card must complete a section of the application 

that provides for height, weight, sex, hair color and eye colorprovide the applicant's height, weight, sex, hair color 

and eye color to DMV when applying for a driver license, driver permit or identification card.¶ 

(2) DMV captures in its records an applicant's height, weight, hair color, eye color and sex. Hair color and eye color 

areis contained within DMV records but does not appear on the driver license, driver permit or identification 

card.¶ 

(3) As required by ORS 807.110(1)(b), for purposes of identification, a brief description of the person to whom the 

driver license, driver permit or identification card is issued will appear on the front of the card. Those descriptors 

are:¶ 

(a) Height shown in feet and inches;¶ 

(b) Weight shown in pounds; and¶ 

(c) Sex shown as "M" for male, "F" for female or "X" for not-specified.¶ 

(4) Upon renewal or replacement, an applicant who wishes to change an identifier shown on the driver license, 

driver permit or identification card or contained in DMV records, must make the change oncomplete the 

application and indicatewith the desire tod change the specified informations. An applicant must meet any other 

applicable requirement and pay any required fee for the renewal or replacement of a driver license, driver permit 

or identification card. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, & 807.110 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 802.200, 807.050, 807.110, 807.150, 807.160, 807.280, & 807.400
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AMEND: 735-062-0135

RULE SUMMARY:  Amendment of OAR 735-062-0135 consists of terminology amendments to align with statutory 

language.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-062-0135 

Voluntary Surrender of Driving Privileges ¶ 

 

A person may surrender all or part of the driving privileges granted to that person by the State of Oregon, through 

the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Department of Transportation (DMV)DMV's Quit Driving 

Identification Card program.¶ 

(1) To surrender all or part of a person's driving privileges, that person must sign a DMV form and must surrender 

to DMV any driver license or driver permit issued for the driving privilege. DMV will allow the person to surrender 

all driving privileges, or part of the driving privileges granted to that person under any class of driver license, 

endorsement or driver permit.¶ 

(2) When driving privileges are surrendered, the driving privileges are immediately withdrawn and the person is 

no longer authorized to operate vehicles pursuant to those driving privileges. A person who surrenders all driving 

privileges may not exercise any driving privileges, except those granted by statute under ORS 807.020. A person 

who surrenders part of the person's driving privileges may exercise only those driving privileges retained. 

Operation of a vehicle on Oregon highways or premises open to the public without appropriate driving privileges 

is a violation of law under ORS 807.010.¶ 

(3) In accordance with OAR 735-062-0010, DMV may issue an identification card to a person who has 

surrendered all driving privileges.¶ 

(4) If the person surrenders all driving privileges and declares on DMV form 735-7206 that the or sheperson is no 

longer able to safely operatcompetent to drive a motor vehicle, DMV will rescind any suspension imposed under 

OAR 735-074-0140 or 735-076-0020.¶ 

(5) A person may surrender only part of the driving privileges granted by DMV by canceling any endorsements or 

driver permits granted to the person. The person must specify those driving privileges the person seeks to 

surrender. A person who surrenders an endorsement must pay the renewal or replacement license fee for 

issuance of a license that reflects the driving privileges the person retains.¶ 

(6) Surrender of driving privileges means the driving privileges are canceled as defined in ORS 801.175(2). When a 

voluntary surrender of driving privileges is accepted, DMV will cancel driving privileges without providing further 

notice or an opportunity for hearing to the person. The person's driving record will show that the driving privileges 

have been surrendered.¶ 

(7) A person who seeks to regain surrendered driving privileges must reapply for the privileges and establish 

eligibility and qualification as provided by law, including payment of all required fees. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, & 809.419 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 802.010(1)(c), & 809.419
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AMEND: 735-070-0035

RULE SUMMARY: DMV is amending the language to align with new terminology used by the department as a result of 

its new computer system. 

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-070-0035 

Effect of Commercial Driver License Suspensiing Privilege Withdrawal on Non Class C Driver License -

Commercial Driving Privileges ¶ 

 

(1) ADMV may withdraw a person's commercial motor vehicle driving privileges may be suspended without 

affecting the person's privileges to operate vehicles which may be operated with a Class C driver licenswithout 

withdrawing the person's non-commercial driving privileges¶ 

(2) DMV may not issue a hardship permit to operate a commercial motor vehicle.¶ 

(23) When DMV withdraws a person's commercial driver license is suspended independently of the Class C 

license, the person may not be issued a hardship permit to operate commercial motor vehicles.¶ 

(3) When aing privileges without withdrawing a person's non-commercial driving privileges, the person shall 

surrender the person's commercial driver license is suspended independently of the Class C license, the person 

shall surrendeand apply for a Class C driver license.¶ 

(4) For the purpose of this rule, "withdraw" or "withdrawal" means cancellation, suspension, revocation, or hdis or 

her commercial driver licensqualification of commercial driving privileges by this state for a Class C driver license

by another jurisdiction. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.619, 802.010, 802.200, 807 & Ch. 636, OL 1989 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 809.240 & �51, Ch. 636, OL 1989, 49 CFR 384.210
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REPEAL: 735-070-0040

RULE SUMMARY: Repeal

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-070-0040 

Definition of Address as Shown by Driver Licensing Records of the Department  

(1) "Address as shown by driver licensing records of the department," as used in ORS 809.430 relating to mailing 

of notice, is defined as the address contained in the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Department 

of Transportation (DMV)'s computerized customer file:¶ 

(2) When a person's Oregon license, permit or identification card is expired, suspended, revoked or has not been 

issued, this address shall be the address shown on the computerized customer file, except when the suspension or 

revocation is pursuant to ORS 809.410(1) through (8) and 813.400. In this case, the address of record shall be the 

address contained on the source document that initiated the suspension or revocation unless the customer file 

shows a change of address processed after the address was recorded on the source document. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 809.430
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