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The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule's substantive goals while reducing negative economic 

impact of the rule on business. 

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by a group with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication 

of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date the Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. 

If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days 

before the hearing.
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503-945-5256 

ty.m.yoder@odot.state.or.us
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Salem,OR 97314

Filed By: 

Lauri Kunze 

Rules Coordinator

NEED FOR THE RULE(S):

DMV administers serious traffic offense suspensions for commercial driving privilege-holders and commercial motor 

vehicle operators in accordance with federal regulations present at 49 CFR §383.51. A first serious traffic offense does 

not cause a commercial driving privilege suspension. A second qualifying offense causes a 60-day commercial driving 

privilege suspension, and a third or subsequent offense causes a 120-day commercial driving privilege suspension. DMV 

must amend OAR 735-063-0360 to designate additional offenses that customers may commit in non-commercial motor 

vehicles when the offense directly results in the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of a customer’s license. These 

offenses in non-commercial motor vehicles include failure to drive within a lane, unsafe passing on the left, unsafe 

passing on the right, following too closely, and violations of motor vehicle traffic control laws in conjunction with a fatal 

accident. These amendments conform DMV’s rule to provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. If 

DMV does not comply, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration may sanction Oregon, through withdrawal of 

Federal-aid highway funds, and in extreme cases by decertification of the Oregon CDL program. Decertification would 

prevent DMV from issuing, renewing, transferring, or upgrading CDLs. In addition, ORS 809.525(3) requires DMV to 

designate serious traffic offenses in order to ensure that they “be uniform” with applicable federal regulations “[t]o the 

extent practicable.” A temporary amendment of this rule became effective July 6, 2020 with the rollout of the new 

computer system. This rulemaking is a follow-up to the temporary rule. Only one a minor change was made from the 

temporary rule; DMV is clarifying the meaning of “jurisdiction.”

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON, AND WHERE THEY ARE AVAILABLE:

None

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT:

DMV anticipates a small increase in expenditure, because a larger number of customers will become subject to serious 
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traffic offense suspensions issued under ORS 809.525; these customers will receive suspension letters, for which DMV 

will incur costs. At reinstatement, such customers pay a $75.00 fee. Due to the limitations of the legacy mainframe 

system, it would be extremely difficult for DMV to estimate increases in the number of suspensions during any period 

prior to the amendment of this rule. Consequently, DMV is not able to quantify the change in expenditure easily.

COST OF COMPLIANCE: 

(1) Identify any state agencies, units of local government, and members of the public likely to be economically affected by the 

rule(s). (2) Effect on Small Businesses: (a) Estimate the number and type of small businesses subject to the rule(s); (b) Describe the 

expected reporting, recordkeeping and administrative activities and cost required to comply with the rule(s); (c) Estimate the cost 

of professional services, equipment supplies, labor and increased administration required to comply with the rule(s).

(1) DMV will configure the new OLIVR driver system to implement these changes to serious traffic offenses, and DMV 

will not apply these changes to the legacy mainframe system. Under the provisions of this amended rule, more 

customers will become subject to commercial driving privilege suspensions and unable to operate for the duration of 

the suspension. 

(2) Minimal. Some motor carriers are small businesses; they are likely to find a slightly larger number of their drivers 

receive commercial driving privilege suspensions for either 60-days or 120-days. These motor carriers may choose to 

assign the drivers work other than operating commercial motor vehicles, or they may choose to dismiss them. Small 

motor carriers attempting to replace drivers subject to these suspensions may incur additional costs. 

(2)(a) DMV is unable to quantify the number of small motor carriers subject to this amended rule. 

(2)(b) and (c) None

DESCRIBE HOW SMALL BUSINESSES WERE INVOLVED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THESE RULE(S):

Fourteen groups representing small businesses were notified of the proposed amendments and invited to comment. No 

comments were received.

WAS AN ADMINISTRATIVE RULE ADVISORY COMMITTEE CONSULTED?  NO   IF NOT, WHY NOT?

DMV must take these actions as required by federal law. Both 49 CFR §383.51 and Oregon law require that DMV align 

the designation of serious traffic offenses with those listed in the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. If DMV fails 

to conform to the requirements of federal regulation, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration may sanction 

Oregon, as described above.

AMEND: 735-063-0360

RULE SUMMARY: DMV must amend OAR 735-063-0360 to designate additional offenses that customers may commit 

in non-commercial motor vehicles when the offense directly results in the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of a 

customer’s license. These offenses in non-commercial motor vehicles include failure to drive within a lane, unsafe 

passing on the left, unsafe passing on the right, following too closely, and violations of motor vehicle traffic control laws 

in conjunction with a fatal accident. These amendments conform DMV’s rule to provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-063-0360 

Serious Traffic Offenses ¶ 

 

ORS 809.525 sets forth the suspension of commercial driving privileges based on the accumulation of convictions 

ofThis rule lists the traffic offenses DMV has determined to be serious traffic offenses. Offenses from other and 
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provides the Oregon statutes are posted to an Oregon driver record using annd corresponding AAMVAnet Code 

Dictionary (ACD) code. Therefore, offenses are shown below with the applicable Oregon statute and the 

corresponding ACD code(s). DMV designates the following as serious traffic offenses: ¶ 

(1) An offense, wcodes for those offenses.¶ 

(1) An offense under this section is a serious traffic offense if the conviction directly results in the revocation, 

cancellation, or suspension of the CLP or CDL-holder's license or non-CMV driving privileges by this state, 

another state or territory of the United States, or by another country. While operating a motor vehiclenon-CMV 

and a holder ofing commercial driving privileges, of: ¶ 

(a) Reckless driving - ORS 811.140, ACD code M84; ¶ 

(b) Any law establishing a speed limit, if the person is operating the motor vehicle 30 miles per hour or more above 

the posted limit and a court ora serious traffic offense means an offense of:¶ 

(a) Speeding excessively, involving any speed of 15 miles per hour or more above a regulated, posted, or basic rule 

speed limit; ACD coders a suspension under ORS 811.109; or ¶ 

(c) Any law establisS15, S16, S21, S26, S31, S36, S41, S71, S81, S91, and S92.¶ 

(b) Reckless driving - ORS 811.140; ACD code M84.¶ 

(c) Failure to drive withing a speed limit, if the person is operatlane - ORS 811.370; ACD code M42.¶ 

(d) Unsafe passing on the motor vehicle at a speed of 100 miles per hour or greater, ORS 811.109. left - ORS 

811.410; ACD code M42.¶ 

(e) Unsafe passing on the right - ORS 811.415; ACD code M42.¶ 

(2f) An offense, while operating a CMV, of: Following too closely - ORS 811.485; ACD code M34.¶ 

(ag) Any law establishing a speed limit,violation of a motor vehicle traffic control law if the person is operating the 

CMV 15 miles per hour more above the posted limit - ORS 811.111, ACD codes S15, S16, S21, S26, S31, S36, S41, 

S71, S81, S91, S92. ¶ 

(b) The basic speed rule estabviolation has the same offense date as a fatal accident, and the accident and violation 

occurred in the same incident - ACD code U31. Violations under this subsection are those lishted in ORS 811.100 

if the person is operating the CMV 15 miles per hour or more aboveAR 735-064-0220 and include city traffic 

offenses, offenses under federal law, the laws of another state or territory of the speed established in ORS 

811.105 as prima facie evidence ofUnited States, or by another country. This subsection does not apply to violati

ngons of the basic speed rule. ¶ 

(c) Operating a CMV without driving privileges - ORS 807.010(1), ACD code B56. ¶ 

(d) Failure to carry or present to a polparking laws or laws regulating vehicle weight or equipment.¶ 

(2) An offense under this section is a serious traffice officer proof of commercial driving privileges - ORS 807.570, 

ACD code B57. ense if a conviction resulted from an offense that occurred while operating a CMV::¶ 

(ea) Reckless driving - ORS 811.140, ACD code M84. ¶ 

(f) Driving on the left on a curve or grade Speeding excessively, involving any speed of 15 miles per hour or more at 

an intersection or rail crossbove a regulated, posted, or basic rule speed limit; ACD codes S15, S16, S21, S26, S31, 

S36, S41, S71, S81, S91, and S92.¶ 

(b) Reckless driving - ORS 811.305140, ACD code M42. 84.¶ 

(gc) Failure to drive within a lane - ORS 811.370, ACD code M42. ¶ 

(hd) Unsafe passing on the left - ORS 811.410, ACD code M42. ¶ 

(ie) Unsafe passing on the right - ORS 811.415, ACD code M42. ¶ 

(jf) Following too closely - ORS 811.485, ACD code M34. ¶ 

(kg) Driving a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device - ORS 811.507, ACD codes M85, M86. ¶ 

(L) Any law relating toAny violation of a motor vehicle traffic control law if the offense is connected to a fatal 

accident - ACD code U31. Motor vehicle traffic control offenses as used inviolation has the same offense date as a 

fatal accident, and the accident and violation occurred in the same incident - ACD code U31. Violations under this 

subsection are those listed in ORS 809.600(1) and OAR 735-064-0220, and include city traffic offenses and, 

offenses under federal law or, the laws of another state as set forth in ORS 809.600(4)or territory of the United 

States, or by another country. This subsection does not apply to violations of parking laws or laws regulating 
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vehicle weight or equipment. ¶ 

(h) Driving a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device - ORS 811.507, ACD codes M85, M86.¶ 

(mi) Operating a CMV without proper classification or endorsement - ORS 807.010, ACD code B91.¶ 

(j) Operating a CMV without driving privileges - ORS 807.010(1); ACD code B56.¶ 

(k) Failure to carry or present to a police officer proof of commercial driving privileges - ORS 807.570; ACD code 

B57. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 809.525, 49 CFR sec.� 383.51 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 809.525
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