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NEED FOR THE RULE(S): 

DMV administers serious traffic offense suspensions for commercial driving privilege holders and commercial motor 

vehicle operators in accordance with federal regulations present at 49 CFR §383.51. A first serious traffic offense does 

not cause a commercial driving privilege suspension. A second qualifying offense causes a 60-day commercial driving 

privilege suspension, and a third or subsequent offense causes a 120-day commercial driving privilege suspension. DMV 

must amend OAR 735-063-0360 to designate additional offenses that customers may commit in non-commercial motor 

vehicles when the offense directly results in the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of a customer’s license.

JUSTIFICATION OF TEMPORARY FILING: 

DMV must amend OAR 735-063-0360 to designate additional offenses that customers may commit in non-commercial 

motor vehicles when the offense directly results in the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of a customer’s license. 

These offenses in non-commercial motor vehicles include failure to drive within a lane, unsafe passing on the left, unsafe 

passing on the right, following too closely, and violations of motor vehicle traffic control laws in conjunction with a fatal 

accident. These amendments conform DMV’s rule to provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

(FMCSA) regulations. If DMV does not comply, FMCSA may sanction Oregon through withdrawal of Federal-aid 

highway funds, and in extreme cases by decertification of the Oregon CDL program. Decertification would prevent 

DMV from issuing, renewing, transferring, or upgrading CDLs. In addition, ORS 809.525(3) requires DMV to designate 

serious traffic offenses in order to ensure that they “be uniform” with applicable federal regulations “[t]o the extent 

practicable.” 

 

 

DMV had planned to present permanent rules for approval at the June OTC meeting.  Due to cancellation of the OTC 

June meeting, temporary rules are necessary to ensure clarity and reduce risk for legal challenges. June was the last 

month available for approving the permanent rules before the rules must go into effect.  Due to programming lead 

times, the system configuration for this new rule goes into production on July 6, 2020.  Reprogramming or establishing a 

manual work around would be costly and impact DMV’s new system rollout.  DMV also believes there would be a 

serious prejudice to the public interest because DMV would not be in conformity with the FMCSA Regulations and 
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could face federally imposed sanctions.

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON, AND WHERE THEY ARE AVAILABLE: 

None

AMEND: 735-063-0360

RULE SUMMARY: DMV must amend OAR 735-063-0360 to designate additional offenses that customers may commit 

in non-commercial motor vehicles when the offense directly results in the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of a 

customer’s license. These offenses in non-commercial motor vehicles include failure to drive within a lane, unsafe 

passing on the left, unsafe passing on the right, following too closely, and violations of motor vehicle traffic control laws 

in conjunction with a fatal accident. These amendments conform DMV’s rule to provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-063-0360 

Serious Traffic Offenses ¶ 

 

ORS 809.525 sets forThis rule lists the the suspension of commercial driving privileges based on the accumulation 

of convictions ofraffic offenses DMV has determined to be serious traffic offenses. Offenses from other and 

provides the Oregon statutes are posted to an Oregon driver record using annd corresponding AAMVAnet Code 

Dictionary (ACD) code. Therefore, offenses are shown below with the applicable Oregon statute and the 

corresponding ACD code(s). DMV designates the following as serious traffic offenses: ¶ 

(1) An offense, wcodes for those offenses.¶ 

(1) An offense under this section is a serious traffic offense if the conviction directly results in the revocation, 

cancellation, or suspension of the CLP or CDL-holder's license or non-CMV driving privileges by this state or by 

another jurisdiction. While operating a motor vehiclenon-CMV and a holder ofing commercial driving privileges, 

of: ¶ 

(a) Reckless driving - ORS 811.140, ACD code M84; ¶ 

(b) Any law establishing a speed limit, if the person is operating the motor vehicle 30 miles per hour or more above 

the posted limit and a court orders a suspension under ORS 811.109; or ¶ 

(c) Any law establisa serious traffic offense means an offense of:¶ 

(a) Speeding excessively, involving any speed of 15 miles per hour or more above a regulated, posted, or basic rule 

speed limit; ACD codes S15, S16, S21, S26, S31, S36, S41, S71, S81, S91, and S92.¶ 

(b) Reckless driving - ORS 811.140; ACD code M84.¶ 

(c) Failure to drive withing a speed limit, if the person is operatlane - ORS 811.370; ACD code M42.¶ 

(d) Unsafe passing on the motor vehicle at a speed of 100 miles per hour or greater, ORS 811.109. left - ORS 

811.410; ACD code M42.¶ 

(e) Unsafe passing on the right - ORS 811.415; ACD code M42.¶ 

(2f) An offense, while operating a CMV, of: Following too closely - ORS 811.485; ACD code M34.¶ 

(ag) Any law establishing a speed limit, if the person is operating the CMV 15 miles per hour more above the 

posted limit - ORS 811.111, ACD codes S15, S16, S21, S26, S31, S36, S41, S71, S81, S91, S92. ¶ 

(b) The basic speed rule estabviolation of a motor vehicle traffic control law if the violation has the same offense 

date as a fatal accident, and the accident and violation occurred in the same incident - ACD code U31. Violations 

under this subsection are those lishted in ORS 811.100 if the person is operating the CMV 15 miles per hour or 

more above the speed established in ORS 811.105 as prima facie evidence ofAR 735-064-0220 and include city 

traffic offenses and offenses under federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction. This subsection does not apply 

to violatingons of the basic speed rule. ¶ 

(c) Operating a CMV without driving privileges - ORS 807.010(1), ACD code B56. ¶ 
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(d) Failure to carry or present to a polparking laws or laws regulating vehicle weight or equipment.¶ 

(2) An offense under this section is a serious traffice officer proof of commercial driving privileges - ORS 807.570, 

ACD code B57. ¶ 

(e) Reckless driving - ORS 811.140, ACD code M84. ense if a conviction resulted from an offense that occurred 

while operating a CMV:¶ 

(fa) Driving on the left on a curve or grade Speeding excessively, involving any speed of 15 miles per hour or more 

at an intersection or rail crossbove a regulated, posted, or basic rule speed limit; ACD codes S15, S16, S21, S26, 

S31, S36, S41, S71, S81, S91, and S92.¶ 

(b) Reckless driving - ORS 811.305140, ACD code M42. 84.¶ 

(gc) Failure to drive within a lane - ORS 811.370, ACD code M42. ¶ 

(hd) Unsafe passing on the left - ORS 811.410, ACD code M42. ¶ 

(ie) Unsafe passing on the right - ORS 811.415, ACD code M42. ¶ 

(jf) Following too closely - ORS 811.485, ACD code M34. ¶ 

(kg) Driving a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device - ORS 811.507, ACD codes M85, M86. ¶ 

(L) Any law relating toAny violation of a motor vehicle traffic control law if the offense is connected to a fatal 

accident - ACD code U31. Motor vehicle traffic control offenses as used inviolation has the same offense date as a 

fatal accident, and the accident and violation occurred in the same incident - ACD code U31. Violations under this 

subsection are those listed in ORS 809.600(1) and OAR 735-064-0220, and include city traffic offenses and 

offenses under federal law or the laws of another state as set forth in ORS 809.600(4)jurisdiction. This subsection 

does not apply to violations of parking laws or laws regulating vehicle weight or equipment. ¶ 

(h) Driving a motor vehicle while using a mobile electronic device - ORS 811.507, ACD codes M85, M86.¶ 

(mi) Operating a CMV without proper classification or endorsement - ORS 807.010, ACD code B91.¶ 

(j) Operating a CMV without driving privileges - ORS 807.010(1); ACD code B56.¶ 

(k) Failure to carry or present to a police officer proof of commercial driving privileges - ORS 807.570; ACD code 

B57. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 809.525, 49 CFR sec. 383.51 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 809.525
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