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Motor Carrier - Keep Oregon Moving

KEEP
OREGON

[MOVING|

Motor Carriers’ Investment

Oregon is making major investments to benefit everyone
who uses the state’s transportation system, thanks to a
funding package passed by the 2017 Legislature.

x Roads & Bridges

& Infrastructure

Most funding will go to road maintenance
and preservation for lasting fixes that
keep Oregon’s roads and bridges in good
condition today and for future generations.

‘_" Congestion Relief &
&EE Freight Mobility

Relieving congestion bottlenecks will help
motor carriers save time and keep moving.
New lanes on Interstate 5 at the Rose
Quarter will save motorists an estimated
2.5 million hours wasted in gridlock each
year, and widening sections of Oregon
Highway 217 and Interstate 205 in Portland
will improve reliability.

Trucks pay their fair share
Investment proportions by heavy and light vehicles

m‘ Accountability &

Transparency

Stepped increases in motor fuel taxes
are tied to ODOT meeting accountability
requirements. OoDOT and local
governments will report on the condition
of roads and bridges, and a website will
show the status, cost and spending results
of transportation projects.

The weight-mile tax will rise in steps over seven years.
The first slep will add 4.1 cents per mile for an 80,000-pound truck.

That's only an additional $12.63 to travel Interstate 5
from the Washington border to the California border.

More information on Keep Oregon Moving:

https://lwww.oregon.qov/ODOT/Pages/HB2017.aspx
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New for 2018
Updated Tax and Fee Tables

The Keep Oregon Moving funding package will The tables are available to download at Oregon
result in tax and fee increases in 2018. The following Trucking Online (www.oregontruckingonline.com)
tables have been updated with the new fees effective  (select the “Forms” tab).

January 1, 2018.

TABLE WHAT IS CHANGING

Tax rates will change for vehicles subject to
weight-mile tax (vehicles weighing 26,001 -
105,500 pounds).

Flat Fee Rate Tables Flat fee rates will change for carriers electing

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9927-2018.pdf e mop‘Fhly ngpoiiiiyg der emiing - eaiizin
commodities.

Weight-Mile Tax Tables A & B
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9928-2018.pdf

Rates will change for heavy loads over 98,000
pounds that cannot be divided (such as a large
piece of machinery).

Road Use Assessment Fee Table
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9926-2018.pdf

Registration fees will increase for vehicles reg-
istered between 8,000 to 26,000 pounds (trucks,
buses and tow vehicles used to haul other com-
modities).

Heavy Motor Vehicle Registration Fee Table
* Intrastate: www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9922-2018.pdf
* Interstate: www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9969-2018.pdf

Tow/Recovery & Manufactured Structure Toter
Registration Fee Table

* Intrastate: www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9933-2018.pdf
* Interstate: www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/9970-2018.pdf

Registration fees will increase for vehicles used
exclusively to haul manufactured structures, or
used exclusively as tow and recovery vehicles.

Other Changes for 2018
Weight Exemption Changes Bus Weight Calculation Change

The weight calculation method for commercial
buses will change, beginning January 1, 2018.

Effective January 1, 2018, Oregon will adopt
the following exemptions from maximum weights

allowed under Oregon law (ORS 818.010). The tax declared weight and the registration
. o weight will be based on a bus’s combined weight (the
* The weight limit allowance weight of the bus and the maximum load it carries).

for a fully functional idle
reduction system will
increase from 400 to 550
pounds.

The current weight calculation

» Vehicles using natural gas as
a fuel source will be allowed Effective January 1, 2018, Oregon weighmasters
to exceed maximum weight or enforcement officers will be allowed to enforce the
limits by 2,000 pounds. illegal alteration or display of

registration plates in violation

of state law (ORS 803.550).
The enforcement change is

part of House Bill 2291 passed

by the 2017 Legislature.

NOTE: These are not an exemption from tax and
registration. Carriers operating these vehicles
still need to pay and register at the heaviest weight
(inclusive of the exemptions above).
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Motor Carrier Services - 2018 Renewal

2018 Renewal Is Underway! §
Is your account up-to-date? =

ODOT’s Motor Carrier Transportation Division is
renewing weight-mile tax credentials and registration
for trucks that will operate in Oregon in 2018.

Now is a good time to review your account and make
sure your information is up-to-date including business
mailing address phone number, fax number and email
addresses.

Change in ownership?

If there has been a change in the ownership of your
company, i.e. mergers, adding or deleting partners or
LLCmembers/managers, filing articles of incorporation,
or forming a limited liability company, it is necessary to

Oregon Credentials Renewal Q & A

complete, sign and submit
anApplication for Motor
Carrier Account.

The application must
include all ownership
information and be signed by the owner,
all partners, a corporate officer, a manager/member of
a limited liability company (LLC), general partners in
a limited liability partnership, a partner in a limited
liability partnership, or an agent with accompanying
power of attorney.

What do carriers based in other states and Canada
need to do to continue to operate in Oregon in 2018?

Carriers based outside of Oregon must meet the end-of-
year deadline for renewing any existing paper weight-
mile tax credential for trucks operating in Oregonin 2018.

Beginning January 1, enforcement officers may issue a
8435 citation when they find a truck that doesn t have a
current permanent or temporary Oregon Weight Receipt
and Tax Identifier.

What if I don’t plan to operate in Oregon in 2018?

Its important that you cancel all Weight Receipts before
January 1. Even if Weight Receipts are not renewed,
they must be canceled. If not, Weight-Mile Tax Reports
must be filed through the cancellation date. Carriers
may be suspended for not filing reports until all Weight
Receipts are canceled.

What is the deadline for Oregon carriers to renew
their Commercial and Apportioned license plates?

Oregon based carriers need to submit payment before
January 1, 2018.

Is there an enforcement grace period for Oregon-
based carriers who are late renewing Commercial
and Apportioned plates?

No. As of January 1, 2018, any Oregon carrier who
hasn 't submitted forms with payment and continues to
operate in Oregon is subject to a citation and possible
civil complaint action.

Is there a grace period for carriers who completed
forms and sent payment, but haven’t received 2018
decals for their plates or haven’t placed 22018 Weight
Receipt in each truck cab?

Yes. A display grace period applies to those who submit
renewal forms with payment before January 1. They
have until March 15, 2018, to put the new 2018 decals
on their Commercial and Apportioned plates or the new
2018 Weight Receipt in each truck cab.

Is there a grace period for Oregon carriers who
participate in the International Fuel Tax Agreement
(IFTA)?

Yes. A decal grace period applies to those who submit
renewal forms with payment before January 1. The
2018 IFTA license and IFTA decals must be displayed
beginning March 1, 2018.

What does an IFTA carrier need to travel outside
Oregon in the first two months of 2018?

Carriers who haven t received their 2018 IFTA license
and IFTA decals can travel through other states and
provinces in the first two months of 2018 if they have
one of the following (1) A valid 2017 IFTA license AND
2017 IFTA decals, (2) A valid 2018 IFTA license and
2018 IFTA decals, or Oregon 30-day Temporary Decal
Permit, or (3) A valid Fuel Trip Permit issued by the
Jjurisdiction in which they re operating.

What if I need help with renewal?

Visit one of our registration offices in Salem or Portland.
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Motor Carrier Services - Holiday Closures & UCR Registration

Christmas 2017
New Year’s 2018
Holiday Closures

I

Maotor Carrier
Transportation
Division

“ounter Service

Salem & Portland Registration Offices

-CHRISTMAS-
Fri., Dec. 22, 2017: Close at 5:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 25, 2017: Closed Christmas Day
Tues., Dec. 26, 2017: Offices reopen at 8:00 a.m.

-NEW YEAR’S-
Fri., Dec. 29, 2017: Close at 5:00 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 1, 2018: Closed New Year’s Day
Tues., Jan. 2, 2018: Offices reopen at 8:00 a.m.

Phone Service Center

503-378-6699

-CHRISTMAS-
Sun., Dec. 24, 2017: Staff stop taking calls at 5:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 25, 2017: Closed Christmas Day
Tues., Dec. 26, 2017: Phone lines reopen at 8:00 a.m.

-NEW YEAR’S-
Sun., Dec. 31, 2017: Staff stop taking calls at 5:00 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 1, 2018: Closed New Year’s Day
Tues., Jan. 2, 2018: Phone lines reopen at 8:00 a.m.

Over-Dimension Permit Services

503-373-0000

-CHRISTMAS-
Fri., Dec. 22, 2017: Close at 5:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 25, 2017: Closed Christmas Day
Tues., Dec. 26, 2017: Phone lines reopen at 7:00 a.m.

-NEW YEAR’S-
Fri., Dec. 29, 2017: Staff stop taking calls at 5:00 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 1, 2018: Closed New Year’s Day
Tues., Jan. 2, 2018: Phone lines reopen at 7:00 a.m.

2018 Unified Carrier Registration Delayed

The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Board of
Directors is delaying until further notice the start of
the 2018 registration period while the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) completes the
rulemaking process for 2018 fees.

Due to this unanticipated delay, UCR is recommending
to all states that the enforcement period for 2018
compliance not begin until 90-days after the final
rulemaking is published. Oregon will follow the
guidance on enforcement as suggested.

The fee levels being proposed are based on a
recommendation submitted by UCR to the FMCSA in
March 2017 to reduce fees for carriers at all levels by

9% in 2018.

The UCR program is
a federally-mandated,
annual state administered
registration program
for commercial motor
carriers.

A total of 41 states
participate as base states and collect fees in the UCR
program, but Oregon is not one of them and does not
accept fee payments.

Visit the UCR website for more information
(WWW.UCT.IN.gov).
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Motor Carrier Safety - Winter Preparedness

When the Weather Gets

Winter in Oregon is a challenge for everyone. Come
prepared and follow these tips:

e Know before you go. Visit www.TripCheck.
com for road conditions and chain requirements.

In Oregon, call 511 or 800-977-6368 for road Fi
conditions. Outside Oregon, call 503-588-2941. 2

* Carry and use chains. In Oregon, chains are
required whenever winter conditions exist and
SNOW ZONE signs are posted (see below).

* Don’t wait until the last minute to chain up. Pull
over to a safe level area, preferably a designated
chain-up area, put out emergency warning triangles,
and wear reflective clothing.

9T Oregeon G

Always Be Ready!

There are no specific dates in Oregon law for when
chain requirements start and end because no one knows
when winter conditions will arise in the state.

Chains are required whenever SNOW ZONE signs
are posted. Truck drivers are advised to carry chains
during the Fall and Winter months.

Frightful

* When traveling through a SNOW ZONE, drivers
should keep a larger than normal distance between
their vehicle and the vehicle ahead.

* Drive slowly and carefully. Posted speeds are
maximums in good weather. Bad weather demands
slower speeds.

hailn Law T

Increase in Fines!

Enforcement officers now have discretion to issue
up to a $435 citation for failure to carry or use chains.

During the winter storms from October 2016 through
March 2017 motor carrier enforcement officers issued
1,312 citations and warnings to drivers for not obeying
the requirement to carry/use chains or other traction
devices.

SNOW ZONE

CARRY CHAINS
OR
TRACTION TIRES

You must have chains or traction tires in or on your
vehicle and they must be the right size for your vehicle and
of sufficient number to comply with the chain laws.

SNOW ZONE

CHAINS REQUIRED
ON VEHICLES TOWING
OR OVER 10,000 GVW

You must use chains if your vehicle is towing or rated
more than 10,000 pounds GVW. Chains must also be used
on a trailer or vehicle being towed if it has a brake that
operates while in tow.

SNOW ZONE

CHAINS REQUIRED
ON VEHICLES TOVWANG
OR SINGLE DRIVE AXLE
CVER 10,000 GV

You must use chains if your vehicle is rated 10,000
pounds gross vehicle weight (GVW) or less and is towing.
You must use chains on any single drive axle vehicle rated
over 10,000 pounds GVW. Chains must also be used on the
trailer or vehicle being towed as described under Minimum
Chain Requirements.

SNOW ZONE

CHAINSG REQUIRED
TRACTION TIRES
ALLOWED ON VEHICLES
UNDER 10,000 GWWY

You must use chains if your vehicle is towing or rated
more than 10,000 pounds GVW. Chains must also be
used on a trailer or vehicle being towed if it has a brake
that operates while in tow. If your vehicle is rated 10,000
pounds GVW or less and is not towing, you must use chains
or traction tires.

6
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Motor Carrier Safety - Winter Preparedness

Driving Decisions in Bad Weather

We are often asked: “Why are you
issuing over-dimension permits when
there’s packed snow on the road?”

The answer - we issue permits every
day we’re open. In doing so, we make no
attempt to predict the weather during the
10-day lifespan of a single trip permit.

Instead, Oregon Administrative
Rules and language included in permit
attachments make it clear under what
circumstances travel is not allowed (see
OARs below).

For mobile homes, modular
buildings, and non-divisible loads,
movement is prohibited when road
surfaces are hazardous due to ice, snow,
or frost. Movement is also prohibited
when visibility is reduced to less than
500 feet or when wind conditions are
such that it’s difficult for vehicles to safely move.
Reasonable people might disagree, however, when a
road surface is hazardous or visibility is limited.

That’s why we remind trucking companies that we
cannot make management decisions for them.

Generally speaking, if ODOT Highway Division
staff have not closed a highway or posted a sign advising
of an adverse condition, then it’s up to motor carriers and
their drivers to make the call. If you decide to go, you
risk being subject to enforcement action if that decision
proves to be incorrect.

Oregon Administrative Rules To Know Before You Go

Movement of Over-Dimensional Mobile
Homes and Modular Building Units

OAR 734-075-0060 — Weather Restrictions

(1) Movement is prohibited when road surfaces
are hazardous due to ice, snow or frost or when
visibility is less than 500 feet due to snow, mist, rain,
dust, smoke, fog or other atmospheric conditions.

(2) Movement is prohibited when wind conditions
exist which cause excessive swaying or weaving, or
tip-over of the towed unit, or are such that the towed
unit cannot maintain its lane of travel.

(3) To assist the permittee in complying with
restrictions caused by weather conditions, the
Department of Transportation may place signs in
areas where winter weather conditions may cause
travel to be hazardous. When restrictions are
displayed, movement of units is prohibited.

Variance Permits Issued for Non-
Divisible Loads

OAR 734-082-0023 — Weather Restrictions

(1) Movement of a vehicle or combination of
vehicles exceeding eight feet six inches in width is
prohibited: (a) When road surfaces are hazardous due
to ice, snow or frost; (b) When visibility is less than
500 feet due to snow, mist, rain, dust, smoke, fog or
other atmospheric conditions; or (¢) When wind or
other conditions exist which could cause the vehicle
or vehicles to swerve, to whip, to sway, or fail to
follow substantially in the path of the towing vehicle.

(2) To assist the permittee in complying with
restrictions caused by weather conditions, the
Department of Transportation may place signs in
areas where winter weather or wind conditions
may cause travel to be hazardous. In addition to the
prohibitions found in section (1) of the rule, when
restrictions are displayed, movement of overwidth
vehicles or combinations of vehicles is prohibited.
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Motor Carrier Safety - ELD’s

Electronic Logging Device Mandate:

What You Need to Know

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) issued its final rule in December, 2015,
requiring the use of electronic logging devices (ELD)
to record hours of service for commercial drivers.

The federal ruling will be implemented in phases:

Phase 1: Awareness & Transition
Feb. 16, 2016 to Dec. 18, 2017

Up until Dec. 18, 2017, a driver can use paper
logs, Automatic On Board Recording Devices
(AOBRD:s), Electronic Logging Devices (ELD),
or other manual logging devices such as laptops
and cell phone apps.

Phase 2: Phased-In Compliance Begins
Dec. 18, 2017

The only authorized devices will be ELD’s, or
AOBRD:s installed prior to December 18, 2017.

Phase 3: Full Compliance begins
Dec. 16, 2019

Beginning Dec. 16, 2019, only ELDs will be
authorized.

The ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation Division
(MCTD) adopts the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations (FMCSRs) to regulate both interstate and
intrastate commerce in the State of Oregon.

ODOT believes adapting the FMCSRs in this manner
provides for uniformity between federal and state
rules and regulations. The ELD rule first appeared in
the FMCSRs, Part 395.8(a)(1 )(i), on December 16,
2015. Oregon first adopted the ELD rule in Oregon
Administrative Rule 740-100-0010 in January 2016.
Oregon adopted the ELD rule a second time when it
readopted the FMCSRs in April 2017.

ELD Enforcement Implementation

An FMCSA Memorandum dated October 25, 2017,
provides guidance to states on enforcing the ELD final
rule. The guidance is summarized below.

Interstate Drivers

FMCSA is directing all states begin enforcement
of the ELD rule on December 18, 2017. At that time

8

when inspectors discover an interstate driver who does
not have an ELD when required, they will record a
violation of Part 395.22(a). This is a violation of not
using an ELD that is on the FMCSA “certified list”.

There are no Compliance, Safety, Accountability
(CSA) points associated with this violation. This
violation will simply document the lack of a required
ELD without accessing CSA points to the motor carrier.
Drivers will not be placed out-of-service until April 1,
2018. ODOT will not issue citations for this violation
and we will encourage our partners to do the same.

Beginning April 1, 2018, drivers without a required
ELD will be placed out-of-service after the inspector
records a violation of Part 395.8(a)(2). This violation
has CSA points associated with it. Beginning April 1,
2018, ODOT may issue citations for this violation.

In summary, any violation before April 1, 2018, will
not result in CSA points and drivers will not be placed
out-of-service. ODOT will not issue citations for this
violation and we will encourage our partners to do the
same. This enforcement practice will allow an interstate
motor carrier to enjoy a soft enforcement until April 1,
2018.

Intrastate Drivers

Oregon has already adopted the ELD mandate for
intrastate drivers. We first adopted it in 2016 and again
in 2017. Following the enforcement practice used
for interstate drivers, intrastate drivers would not be
harmed by CSA points, placed out-of-service, nor have
citations issued until April 1, 2018.

MCTD has reached out to neighboring states and
inquired about their implementation schedule for
intrastate drivers. We have heard from Washington,
Idaho, Utah, and Wyoming. All .four states indicate
an implementation schedule that is consistent with
the guidance provided by FMCSA and is therefore
consistent with Oregon’s schedule. California is in the
process of adopting the ELD rule. They hope to -have
their rules in place about the first quarter of 2018.

ELD Mandate, continued on next page
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Motor Carrier Safety - ELD’s

Electronic Logging Device Mandate, Cont’d:

Moving Forward

We continue to hear
concerns about the ability
to obtain ELDs. As part
of our standard practice,
we will be adopting
the federal regulations
again in the beginning of
2018. We will discuss the
administrative rule with
our Advisory Committee
in January to determine if
any modifications to the
existing rule and implementation time line are needed.

Does the ELD rule apply to me?

Operations requiring log books today will be subject
to the ELD mandate. With limited exceptions, every
driver using paper logs or AOBRD’s will need to
convert or upgrade to the ELD standard by the posted
deadlines.

Paper logs will continue to be required as a backup
when ELD’s or AOBRD’s fail. However, use of paper
logs during an ELD failure is only permissible for
eight consecutive days unless a waiver is obtained
from the FMCSA.

The ELD rule applies to:

» Commercial motor vehicle drivers currently required
to keep record of duty status.

» Vehicles that have a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating,
actual weight, or combination weight of 10,001
pounds or more.

* Vehicles requiring placards for hazmat.

* Vehicles carrying more than 8 or 15 passengers
(depending on vehicle class)

requirements can be found at the following websites:

The ELD mandate is vehicle-based and not fleet-
based. It applies to every commercial motor vehicle
unless an exception applies. Failure
to ensure compliance may result in
inspection violations and/or being placed
out of service.

ELD Mandate Exemptions

* The following drivers are exempt,
provided the driver does not fail the
exemption more than 8 times in any 30
day period:

Drivers who operate within a 100 air mile
radius and use timecards.

Non-CDL drivers who operate within a 150 air
mile radius and use timecards.

* Vehicles manufactured before model year 2000 as
indicated on the VIN.

* Drivers involved in drive-away, tow-away
operations where the vehicle being driven is part of
the shipment being delivered.

» Driversinvolved in drive-away, tow-away operations
when the vehicle being transported is a motor home
or recreation vehicle trailer with at least one set of
wheels on the road.

* Drivers of property-carrying commercial motor
vehicles rented for eight days or less are exempt
from the ELD mandate until October 11, 2022,
provided a rental agreement is carried in the vehicle.

More Information on ELDs

For more information on ELDs, go to the FMCSA
web site at:

www.fmcsa.dot.gov/hours-service/elds/electronic-
logging-devices

Does your ELD meet recordkeeping requirements?

Use care when choosing an ELD system to be sure it meets recordkeeping requirements. Additional

* FMCSA Frequently Asked Questions: www.fmcsa.dot.gov/hours-service/elds/fags.

* Chart showing IRP and IFTA ELD requirements compared with hours of service
reporting: http://www.irponline.org/resource/resmgr/about_irp/eld 5 23 17.pdf

* Oregon Weight-Mile Tax and Safety Recordkeeping Requirements:
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/Pages/Recordkeeping.aspx.
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Motor Carrier - Distracted Driving Law & Interstate Speed Limit Changes

Hands On The Wheel - Mind On The Road
Oregon’s New Distracted Driving Law Takes Effect

Effective October 1, 2017, Oregon’s basic law makes
it illegal to drive while holding or using an electronic
device (e.g. cell phone, tablet, GPS,
laptop). Beginning Jan. 1, 2018,
courts will have the ability waive
the fine for first-time offenders
who attend an approved Distracted
Driving Avoidance course.

There are some exceptions, but
for the most part, it’s best just to turn
off your device when you are driving

Exception for Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers

The law does not apply to those employed as a
commercial motor vehicle driver, provided they are
using a mobile electronic device within the scope of
their employment, if the use is permitted under federal
regulations (49 U.S.C. 31136).

Other exceptions include:

* When using a two-way radio if you are a CB user,
school bus driver, utility truck driver in scope of
employment.

* When parked safely, i.e., stopped in a designated
parking spot. It is NOT legal to use the device when
stopped at a stop light, stop sign, in traffic, etc.

* While providing or summoning medical help and no
one else is available to make the call.

* When using hands-free or built-in devices, if you are
18 years of age or older.

 Use of a single touch or swipe to activate or deactivate
the device or a function.

* Ifyouare a HAM radio operator age 18 years or older.

DriveHeal

For more information and to participate in Oregon’s
Drive Healthy Campaign, visit the website at www.
drivehealthy.org.

Interstate Speed Limit Changes Approved

The Oregon Transportation
Commission, approved
adjustments to speed limits for
trucks and passenger vehicles
on certain sections of I-5,
[-205 and I-84. Commissioners
approved recommendations
from the Oregon Speed Zone
Review Panel for these two
adjustments:

1. Increase speed limits for
trucks from 55 mph to 60
mph on specified sections
of I-5, 1-205 and I-84.

2. Reduce the speed limit for
passenger vehicles on I-5
in the Roseburg area from
65 mph to 60 mph (and
keep truck speed limits
there at 55 mph).

10

The speed limit adjustments will be in
effect when signs are posted, which should
be completed by mid-December.

The areas where truck speed limits will
be increased to 60 mph are on I-5, south of
Portland (except through urban areas, such
as Salem, Eugene, Roseburg and Medford,
where it will not change); [-205, from the
junction of I-5 to West Linn; and I-84, from
Troutdale to The Dalles.

On I-5 in the Roseburg area, the truck
speed limit will stay at 55 mph and the
passenger vehicles speed limit will be
reduced to 60 mph, as it is on the interstate
in other urban areas around the state.

Two studies and public input helped
inform the Speed Zone Review Panel’s
recommendations. The studies can be
viewed online at www.oregon.2gov/ODOT/

Engineering/Pages/Truck-Speed.aspx.
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Motor Carrier Safety & Over-Dimension

Changes to Oregon Commercial Drivers License Law

Changes to Oregon CDL law will take effect January
1, 2018, which will eventually bring the state into
compliance with changes in federal regulations.

Most significant will be the electronic submission
of the medical certification which is planned for
implementation mid to late 2020.

Currently, CDL applicants and holders obtain a
certificate from a medical examiner who performs
their medical exam and certifies their fitness to drive
a commercial motor vehicle. The customer provides
that certificate to DMV, which records the information
including effective dates in the system.

Once new computer systems are in place at DMV,
medical certificates will be submitted electronically by
the examiner directly to a driver’s DMV record. This
will alleviate the need for customers to provide the
certificate to DMV at application, renewal, and every
two years in-between.

Another change in state law will permit Oregon
residents who are from the Compact of Free Association

(COFA) nations to apply for CDLs and Commercial
Learners Permits, as allowed under new federal guidance.

Additionally, Oregon’s CDL law will give DMV
authority to require drivers to be re-tested under certain
conditions. This is not due to federal regulation change.

Other changes to Oregon CDL law includes:

» Clarifies that a passenger endorsement is needed
on a Class A or Class B commercial driving

privilege when operating a commercial motor
vehicle that is “designed to transport people in
commerce” and that a commercial driver license
may not be issued without a photograph.

» Clarifies a requirement that the skills test for a
passenger endorsement must be in a vehicle the
endorsement would allow the applicant to drive.

View the complete text of the CDL
changes passed by the 2017 Oregon
Legislature:

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Measures/
Overview/SB37

Weight-Restricted Oregon Bridges on State Routes

W
RESTRICTED
BRIDGE

As of November 17, 2017, bridge engineers set
weight restrictions on 46 bridges for state routes in
Oregon.

The complete list of road and bridge restrictions
can be found on our website:

https://www.oregontruckingonline.com/cf/MCAD/
pubMetaEntry/restrictionsList/index.cfm?

If you have questions, please contact the MCTD’s
Over-Dimension Permit Unit at 503-373-0000.

We are available Monday-Friday between 7:00
a.m. & 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time.

The Over-Dimension Unit is closed on all state
holidays, and on Wednesday from 12:00 p.m. (noon)
to 1:00 p.m. Pacific Time for staff meetings.

1"
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Motor Carrier Services - International Registration Program

Motor Carrier International Registration Program
Peer Review Results

A review of the Motor Carrier Transportation
Division’s International Registration Program
last month found that the division exceeded audit
requirements and marked 10 years of perfect
compliance.

In a five-year review period by the International
Registration Plan Inc. (IRP), the review team examined
registration and audit documents for commercial motor
vehicles. The review included internal procedures,
billings, fee transmittals, audit reports, frequency and
much more.

12

INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION PLAN, INC.

The IRP is a registration reciprocity agreement
among U.S. states, the District of Columbia, and
provinces of Canada providing for payment of
apportionable registration fees on the basis of total
distance operated in all jurisdictions.

The review found that the Oregon MCTD
Audit Section exceeded the audit requirement by
completing nearly 700 audits during the review period.
Additionally, the review team concluded that for 10
years running the Audit Section is in compliance with
all audit requirements for yet another perfect peer
review.

Oregon MCTD Audit
From left: Sven Johnson, Audit Section Manager; Jenny
Galvin, Portland/Eastern Oregon Audit Manager; Tammy
Prince, Audit Technical Coordinator; and Ryan Sinks,
Salem/Springfield Audit Manager.

Oregon MCTD IRP Registration
From left: Kollette Mack, Registration Specialist; Jenn
Coffin, IRP Vehicle Registration Manager; Audra Shaw,
Registration Specialist; Alex Campoz, Registration
Specialist; and Darcy Halter, Registration Specialist.

The MCTD IRP Registration staff manage about
4,500 Oregon-based apportioned motor carrier
accounts, ensuring proper registration and fees are
collected and distributed to other participating IRP
jurisdictions.

The administrative side was found to be in
compliance with all areas of the plan, with the
exception of Oregon established place of business and
residency for certain motor carrier accounts. Nineteen
accounts were identified as having an error.

Motor carriers and agents need to be prepared to
provide information for the purpose of validating
Oregon basing requirements. Acceptable established
place of businesses are physical structures located
within Oregon, open during regular business hours,
and staffed by an employee of the company . Carriers
that do not have an established place of business
may qualify for basing by demonstrating residency
status in Oregon. For more information on basing
requirements refer to the IRP Plan at http:/www.

irponline.org/?page=theplan.

An additional IRP review will be conducted in one
year to examine our corrective steps for compliance.
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Motor Carrier Enforcement Information

Enforcement
Third Quarter
2017

From July to September

2017, the Oregon Motor
Carrier Safety - Complaint
Resolution work group
finalized a total of 193
Final Orders.

Safety Violations

The Final Orders issued
contain violations of safe-
ty, hazardous materials,
and/or violation(s) of an
out-of-service order or a
combination of the three.
Violations are found dur-
ing a Safety Compliance
Review conducted by a
Safety Investigator.

Of the 58 Motor Carriers
thatreceiveda Compliance
Review; 31 were fined a
Civil Monetary Penalty.

A M G Transport LLC
AV R Transport, LLC
All City Paving Stone
American Sanitation
Inc

Axis Crane LLC

B Bar S Enterprises
Basque Station Inc
Bob's Excavating Inc
Boxes2Business

C Ray Trucking Inc
Central Pipeline Inc
Cook, Jack Logging
Crest Construction
LLC

Crest Transportation
Inc

Cross & Crown Inc
Diesel Logistics LLC
Eells, Ted Trucking
Flying J Trucking LLC
G A Transport
Harris, C D Trucking
Hartley, Nate Oil &
Associates Inc
Imperial Express LLC
J G Transport LLC

J T T Transport LLC
J&G Trucking Inc
Jakard Plus

Jim Hicks Excavating
Inc

JZ Trucking LLC
Kriege Logging LLC
L A Logging Inc
Lannis Iron Works LLC
Linn West Inc

Lovett Inc

Marine Lumber Co
Medinas Transport
LLC

Mitrac Construction
Inc

Moffit Bros
Transportation

N S Five Brothers
Trucking Inc
Northstar Electrical
Contractors

Parker Buildings, Inc.
Pilling, Joseph
Enterprises

Point Trucking Inc
Pulliam Petroleum Inc
R S Energy LLC

R&G Excavating Inc
RDL North West

S-2 Contractors Inc
Schurter Trucking LLC
Sineco Construction,
LLC

Skidgel Contracting
LLC

T & C Ranch Trucking
West Pacific Drilling
Inc

Wrighthouse Trucking
Z Trucking Inc
Ziplane Transportation
LLC

Sanguino Cancino,
Antonio

E P Freightlines

Dahl Disposal Service
Inc

Other Safety
Violations

A total of 104 Final
Orders were issued for
failure to return a signed
copy (which certifies) that
the violations listed on the
Driver/Vehicle Examina-
tion Report have been cor-
rected.

Of the 104 Final Orders
issued, 19 were fined a
Civil Monetary Penalty.

How to Manage
Driver/Vehicle
Examination
Reports:

Motor Carriers can now
manage their Oregon
safety inspection reports
through Oregon Trucking
Online. Log in or request a
PIN at Oregontruckingon-
line.com. Once logged in:

1. Select “Inquiry.”
Select “Driver/Vehicle
Inspections”

3. Select “Outstanding
Oregon Inspections.”

Print the outstanding
inspection(s); verify the
violations listed on the
inspection have been cor-
rected. Sign the printed
outstanding  inspection
and fax it to (503) 373-
7481.

In three business days,
re-check the outstanding
list to confirm the signed
certified copy or copies
were received by the De-
partment and removed
from the “Outstanding Or-
egon Inspection listing.”

Other Violations

The Economic Regula-
tion and Complaint Reso-
lution Unit finalized a total
of three actions related to
other violations, such as
operating in excess of size
or weight limits, operat-
ing without valid registra-
tion credentials, illegally
bypassing a weight sta-
tion, offering or providing
unauthorized household
goods moving services, or
operating in violation of
farm registration laws and
rules.

Joe s Logistics Inc
Wilbur Manard Sims
CBC Trucking LLC

Other Enforcement

Summary of work by
Motor Carrier Enforce-
ment Officers in the 3rd
Quarter 2017:

Trucks Precleared to
Pass Green Light Weigh
Stations
397,072

Weight-Related Citations
2,240

Weight-Related Warnings
1,254

Size-Related Citations
180

Size-Related Warnings
42

Trucks Required to
“Legalize” (Correct) Size
and/or Weight
300

Other Citations
538

Other Warnings
1,855

Citations for Operating

Without Oregon Weight

Receipt & Tax Identifier
1,960

Warnings for Operating

Without Oregon Weight

Receipt & Tax Identifier
2,229

The enforcement actions
conducted by city, county,
and Oregon State Police
officers are not included
in the totals listed here.
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Motor Carrier Services - Holiday Restrictions

Oversize load restrictions — Christmas and New Year’s

DECEMBER 2017 Triple trailers, mobile/modular homes, towed JANUARY 2018
- — - el UNILS, long logs, poles, and piling, and nondi- T
sun | Mon | Tio | ved | Thu [ Fi | sa visible overwidth loads are subject to special R
1 | 2 | restrictions on six major holidays - Memorial 415
3(4|5|6]|7]| 8|9 |DayIndependence Day, Labor Day, 7(8|9|10(11|12]13

Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s.
Below are the restrictions this year during

1011111213 |14|15|16 14115116 |17 |18 (19 20

17 (18119120 | 21 | 22 | 23 | Christmas 2017 and New Year’s 2018. 21(122(23(24 25|26 |27
26(27(28129 (30 2829 (30|31
Christmas - Observed New Year’s - Observed
December 25, 2017 January 1, 2018

Triple trailer combinations Cannot operate on those routes shown as Holiday or Holi-
day & Weekend restricted on Route Map 5 during the Christmas period from 4 p.m. [, D I B B
Friday, December 22 until Sunrise Tuesday, December 26, and during the New Year’s ' )
period from 4 p.m. Friday, December 29 until Sunrise Tuesday, January 2.

Mobile / modular homes cannot be moved if over 8'6” in width during the Christmas period

from Noon Friday, December 22 until 1/2 hour before Sunrise Tuesday, December 26, and 3
during the New Year’s period from Noon Friday, December 29 until 1/2 hour before Sunrise 00 @ OO
Tuesday, January 2. !ﬂ. Ao

Exceptions: Operations may recommence on Interstates at 12:01 a.m. on the first business day following
the observed holiday when width is not in excess of 10° AND the outermost extremities are illuminated by
lamps or markers as required by ORS Chapter 816.

Towed units cannot be moved if over 8°6” in width or towing a combination of vehicles | r———y
during the Christmas period from 2 p.m. Friday, December 22 until 1/2 hour before Sunrise {1,
Tuesday, December 26, and during the New Year’s period from 2 p.m. Friday, December 29 o o0
until 1/2 hour before Sunrise Tuesday, January 2.

v - -

Exception: The rule does not apply when the tow vehicle is performing the initial emergency removal of
a disabled unit from the highway or when the disabled vehicle or combination of vehicles is operating
under a rule or variance permit allowing movement prior to the emergency. See Permit Attachment H for
specific hauling hours and days for overwidth movements.

Long logs, poles, and piling cannot be moved if over 105" in overall combination length during

the Christmas period from 2 p.m. Friday, December 22 until Sunrise Tuesday, December : fJ|H
26, and during the New Year’s period from 2 p.m. Friday, December 29 until Sunrise Tuesday, @ =

January 2.

Non-divisible loads cannot be moved if over 8'6” in width during the Christmas period —
from Noon Friday, December 22 until 1/2 hour before Sunrise Tuesday, December 26, | I_ ! x‘?ﬁ _
and during the New Year’s period from Noon Friday, December 29 until 1/2 hour before 050000 0o*%o
Sunrise Tuesday, January 2.

Exceptions: Operations may recommence on Interstates at 12:01 a.m. on the first business day following the observed holiday when width is
not in excess of 12 AND the outermost extremities are illuminated by lamps or markers as required by ORS Chapter 816. Operations may
recommence on Green Routes on Route Map 2 at 12:01 a.m. on the first business day following the observed holiday when width is not in
excess of 10° AND the outermost extremities are illuminated by lamps or markers as required by ORS Chapter 816.

Oversize Load Restrictions — www.oregon.qov/ODOT/MCT/Pages/Over-Dimension.aspx
Permit Attachment H — www.oregon.qov/ODOT/Forms/Motcarr/2362.pdf

Route Maps — www.oreqgon.gov/ODOT/MCT/Pages/Over-Dimension.aspx
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Amy Ramsdell
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