tips for a safely
W buckled up trip:

Be arole model for your child. Buckle up
every single time — even on short trips.

Follow directions. Always read your child
safety seat instructions and vehicle owner’s
manual when installing a child safety seat.

Make sure it fits. Use child safety seats or
booster seats until the adult lap and shoulder
belt fit your child correctly.

Keep 'emin their place. Always put children
under 13 years of age in the back seat.

One at a fime. Never place more than one
child in the same safety belt.

Know when to let go. Never hold a child on
your lap in a vehicle. In a crash, your child can
be ripped from your arms and crushed.

Lay down the law. Never let a child push a
shoulder belt under their arm or behind their back.

Keep 'em inside. Never allow a child under
18 to ride in the open bed of a pickup truck.
It's illegal in Oregon — and it’s often deadly.

Need more help?
Call the experts.

A variety of nonprofit organizations and public agencies
offer free child safety seat checks to the public across
Oregon, supported by grants from ODOT Transportation
Safety Division. Nationally certified technicians at these
organizations and agencies can help you choose the right
kind of child safety seat and use it properly. The checkups
are available at scheduled times or by appointment, and
will vary by location.

Some organizations or agencies may also provide
discounted child car seats and boosters to qualifying

y
families in need of financial assistance. For more \

information on Oregon law, car seat and booster
installation, or to locate a checkup event, please visit
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/Pages/safetybelts.aspx.
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"SAFETY
S EATS?
BOOSTERS?

: Making sense

of keeping kids
safe in the car.



Kids are too small for adult
safety belts.

Safety belts are designed to fit adults — not
children. In a crash, a child can slip out of an
adult safety belt and can even be injured by
a poorly fitting safety belt. Kids who aren't
buckled up at all face even greater danger.
Securing your child in the right type of safety
seat or booster seat dramatically reduces
their risk of injury in a crash.

One size doesn’t fit all.

The best seat for your child is one that fits your child’s size, is
correctly installed and is used properly — every time you drive.
That’s why Oregon has laws designed to protect your child in
a crash.

Which seat is right for my child?

REAR-FACING INFANT SEAT

(LR Children must ride in rear-facing
safety seats until they are at least 2 years old.

I Never put a rear-facing infant seat in the front seat of
a vehicle with dashboard mounted air bags.

I Secure your baby into
the seat snugly, at proper
recline, positioning the
harness retainer across
the chest at armpit level.

\

The A-B-C of child safety seats:

Always fasten the seat as tightly as possible into your vehicle.
Buckle your child snugly into the seat’s harness.

Correctly position the harness retainer clip at your child’s
armpit level.

Kids take a back seat for safety.

Children should ride in the rear seat of a vehicle until they are
at least 13 years of age.

Vehicles built after 2002 are equipped with the
LATCH system, located in the right and left

rear seat positions. If your

car isn't LATCH-equipped,

use the seat belt,

and, if available,

atop tether.

Attach top tether
to top anchor.

Fasten lower
attachments
to lower anchors.

FORWARD-FACING CHILD SAFETY SEAT
Children older than 2 years must

continue to use a safety seat until they weigh at
least 40 pounds.

I Make sure the forward-
facing child safety seat is
placed in an upright position
and in the back seat every
time your child rides.

I Position the hamess
retainer clip at your child’s
armpit level.

Children usually do not fit into an adult safety belt until

they are at least 4'9". Children who are moved to an adult safety
belt too soon face an increased risk of injury because they can
easily slide out of a belt during a crash. Even adjustable safety
belt systems available on newer vehicles are not designed to fita
child and will not provide adequate protection in a crash.

If an adult safety belt does not fit them properly, a child should
continue using a hooster seat, even if they are older than age 8.

An adult safety belt will only fit correctly when:

® A child can sit all the way back against the seat of the vehicle
with their knees bent comfortably over the edge of the
vehicle’s seat.

® The lap belt fits low, across their thighs — never across their
stomach.

e The shoulder belt fits flat across the collarbone and crosses
the child’s chest; it should never lay across a child’s neck.

® The child can sit like this for the whole trip.

BOOSTER SEAT

Children who weigh more than 40 pounds must use
a booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4'9” tall, and the adult lap
and shoulder belt fits them correctly.

I A booster seat raises a child so that adult lap
and shoulder belts fit them correctly. Never use
a booster seat with just a lap belt.

I When the rear seats of a vehicle have lap
belts only, Oregon law exempts children from
the requirement to use a booster seat but
requires that they be secured by the lap belt.




