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INTRODUCTION 
 

This manual is intended for use by Oregon’s DUII Services Providers (DSP) to 

assist in maintaining compliance with Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon 

Administrative Rules (OAR). This manual offers guidance for providing DUII 

education and treatment services for individuals adjudicated for Driving under the 

Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) in Oregon1. 

 

The goal of the manual is to address frequently asked questions regarding the roles 

and responsibilities of a DSP; however, it is impossible to anticipate every possible 

scenario. Additional information and training resources are available online at: 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/Providers.aspx.  

 

Providers are encouraged to contact the DUII Coordinator with any questions 

related to this manual. 

 

DUII Coordinator:  Marisha L. Elkins 

    OHA Health Systems Division 

    500 Summer Street NE, E-86 

    Salem, OR 97301 

    Phone: (503) 949-5822 

    Fax: (503) 378-8467 

    Email: Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 

 

  

 

 

                                      
1 Individuals who are adjudicated for a DUII or equivalent charge in a state other than Oregon must 

complete what is required by that state. Providers are encouraged to contact the appropriate court to 

ensure the services provided meet the requirements of that state. 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/Providers.aspx
mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
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OVERVIEW  
 

Oregon’s DUII laws are described in detail in Chapter 813 of the Oregon Revised 

Statutes. DSPs are expected to understand those statutes and any subsequent 

revisions enacted by the Oregon State Legislature. 

 

The law requires anyone who receives a DUII in Oregon – whether they are under 

a diversion agreement or have been convicted – to complete both a screening 

interview and a Division approved treatment program2. While the process is similar 

for both adjudication types (diversion or conviction), there are significant 

differences that should be noted.  

 

Individuals under a diversion agreement are generally required to complete the 

screening, treatment, and all other court-ordered obligations within 12 months. The 

court may grant an extension when there are extenuating circumstances; however, 

this is not a guarantee. Individuals who do not complete their diversion agreement 

within the court-ordered time frame risk having their diversion terminated resulting 

in a DUII conviction. Additionally, individuals under a diversion agreement agree 

to maintain abstinence from the use of intoxicants3 during the entire diversion 

period. 

 

Individuals convicted of a DUII generally do not have a specified time within 

which to complete the screening and treatment requirements4; however, the 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is unable re-instate the individual’s driving 

privileges without proof of treatment completion5 for 15 years from the date of 

conviction.  

 

 

  

                                      
2 Unless waived by the court. 
3 Except as allowed in ORS 813.200(5). 
4 Unless otherwise ordered by the court. 
5 Or court order as allowed in ORS 813.022. 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
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THE ROLE OF THE ALCOHOL & OTHER DRUG 

SCREENING SPECIALIST (ADSS) 
 
As described in ORS 813.021 and ORS 813.260, the ADSS fulfills four important 

roles: screening; referral; monitoring; and reporting. Each of these roles are 

discussed in greater detail in the 2018 ADSS Manual, but a brief description of 

each is provided below: 

 

Screening – The ADSS facilitates the completion of a standardized screening tool 

used to identify indicators of a potential substance use disorder. 

 

Referral – The ADSS conducts facilitated referral to a Division approved DUII 

Services Provider. 

 

Monitoring – The ADSS receives status reports as well as completion/discharge 

notices for DUII Services Providers. The ADSS also receives reports from Ignition 

Interlock Device (IID) installers. 

 

Reporting – The ADSS reports everyone’s successful completion or failure to 

complete the screening and treatment to the appropriate court. 

 

Conflict of Interest 

Unless providing services through an agency designated by OHA as a Sole Service 

Provider or a Demonstration Project (described below), an ADSS must be free 

from conflict of interest. OAR 415-054-0462(7) defines conflict of interest as “use 

of a personal relationship to obtain financial gain or avoidance of financial 

detriment, making business decisions that create a pattern of biased or preferential 

treatment, or initiating a professional role with someone with whom there was a 

pre-existing personal relationship. The conflict of interest may be actual or 

potential.” 

 

Examples of conflict of interest may include, but are not limited to: 

• Being employed by a Division approved DSP 

• Receiving free office space, email service, or support services from a 

Division approved DSP 

• Receiving goods or cash from a Division approved DSP for referrals to their 

program 

• Providing ADSS services for an individual with whom there was a pre-

existing personal relationship 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Documents/ADSS%20Manual.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239608
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Sole Service Provider 

When and ADSS is designated by a court in a county with only one Division 

approved DSP, the ADSS may be employed by that DSP if designated as a Sole 

Service Provider.  

 

The roles of the ADSS and DUII Services Provider remain separate within a Sole 

Service Provider. ADSS do not provide DUII Education or Rehabilitation services, 

and ADSS records are kept separate from the individual’s clinical record. 

 

DSPs may apply for designation as a Sole Service Provider as outlined in OAR 

415-054-0545.  

 

Demonstration Project 

Demonstration projects must demonstrate the effectiveness of combining the 

ADSS and treatment functions within a single agency or organization. In a 

demonstration project the ADSS may also provide DUII Education or DUII 

Rehabilitation services, and records may be combined. 

 

DSPs may apply for designation as a Demonstration Project as outlined in OAR 

415-054-0550.   

https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/DHSforms/Forms/Served/le8059.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239649
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239649
https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/DHSforms/Forms/Served/le8058.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239655
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239655
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THE ROLE OF THE DUII SERVICES PROVIDER (DSP) 
 

The DSP is responsible for providing assessment, education, rehabilitation, and 

reporting as outlined in OAR 309-019-0195. These roles are discussed in greater 

detail in this manual, but a brief description of each is provided below. 

 

Assessment – DSPs conduct substance use disorder diagnostic evaluations and 

determine the appropriate level of care for individuals including: service type(s), 

frequency, and duration. 

 

Education – DSPs provide a minimum of 12 hours of education covering specific 

topics aimed at decreasing the risk of individuals driving impaired in the future. 

 

Substance Use Disorder Services – DSPs provide individualized treatment services 

for individuals who meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder. 

 

Reporting – DSPs provide reports to the ADSS, the DMV, and the Division 

consistent with the requirements of HIPPA and 42 CFR Part 2. 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/index.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
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ASSESSMENT 
 

Individuals who are charged with DUII are often encouraged to engage in 

substance use disorder services prior to the final resolution of their court case. 

Individuals should receive services in the timeliest manner feasible, and may begin 

services prior to being formally adjudicated by the court or referred by an ADSS.  

Individuals must be considered for entry without regard to race, ethnicity, gender, 

gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national 

origin, age (except when program eligibility is restricted to children, adults, or 

older adults), familial status, marital status, source of income, and disability.  

Additionally, providers may not solely deny entry to individuals who are 

prescribed medication to treat opioid dependence. 

 

At the time of entry, an assessment shall be completed in accordance with practices 

outlined in OAR 309-019-0135. 

 

Diagnosis and Level of Care Determination 

Each assessment shall be consistent with the dimensions described in The ASAM 

Criteria, and include sufficient information and documentation to justify the level 

of care determination consistent with The ASAM Criteria.  

 

Each assessment shall also include sufficient information and documentation to 

justify the presence or absence of a SUD diagnosis as defined in the Diagnostic 

and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5). 

 

While the ADSS referral includes an initial recommendation for the individual to 

complete either DUII Education or DUII Rehabilitation, it is important to note that 

this recommendation is made based on a brief screening. Final determination is 

based on the results of the individual’s diagnostic assessment, and in accordance 

with OAR 309-019-0195(4) -(7).  

 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=242803
https://www.asam.org/resources/the-asam-criteria
https://www.asam.org/resources/the-asam-criteria
https://www.psychiatry.org/psychiatrists/practice/dsm
https://www.psychiatry.org/psychiatrists/practice/dsm
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
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DUII EDUCATION 
 

Per OAR 309-019-0195(4) -(6), individuals are eligible to complete a DUII 

Education only program if they: 

• do not currently meet DSM diagnostic criteria for a SUD; and 

• meet ASAM Criteria for Level 0.5; and 

• have never been diagnosed with a SUD; and 

• have never been enrolled in a DUII or SUD treatment program. 

 

DUII Education only programs shall include a minimum of four sessions over a 

four-week period and include the provision of a minimum of 12 hours of didactic 

education. The minimum 12 hours does not include diagnostic assessment, service 

planning, or transfer planning. No more than four of the 12 minimum hours shall 

be conducted utilizing educational films or pre-recorded audio-visual 

presentations. 

 

DUII Education topics shall include, but are not limited to: 

• Completion of a Division approved DUII Education Pre-Post Test; 

• DUII Laws and Consequences in Oregon; 

• Use of alcohol and other drugs, and their effects on driving; 

• Physical and psychological effects of alcohol and other drugs of abuse; 

• SUD signs and symptoms; 

• SUD recovery support services; and 

• Alternatives to intoxicated driving. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/DHSforms/Forms/Served/le8807.pdf
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DUII REHABILITATION 
 

Per OAR 309-019-0195(7), individuals must complete a DUII Rehabilitation 

program if they: 

• Meet DSM diagnostic criteria for a SUD; or 

• Meet ASAM Criteria for Level 1 or higher; or 

• Have been previously diagnosed with a SUD; or  

• Have previously been enrolled in a DUII or SUD treatment program. 

 

In addition to completing DUII Education, DUII Rehabilitation shall include 

completion of the SUD treatment services outlined in the individual’s service plan 

as outlined in OAR 309-019-0140. 

 

 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=242804


2018 DSP Manual Version 2.0 11 

ABSTINENCE REQUIREMENTS  
 

Individuals enrolled in DUII Education are expected to demonstrate abstinence 

from use of intoxicants as evidenced by negative urinalysis reports, except as 

allowed in ORS 813.200. Individuals who provide a positive urinalysis test or who 

self-report use of a substance shall be required to complete DUII Rehabilitation. 

 

Individuals enrolled in DUII Rehabilitation are expected to maintain abstinence 

from use of intoxicants as evidenced by negative urinalysis tests, except as allowed 

in ORS 813.200, while outside of a controlled environment for no less than the 

final 90 days of the DUII Rehabilitation program. 

 

Due to marijuana’s federal classification as a Schedule 1 drug, medical marijuana 

does not meet the exceptions allowed in ORS 813.200 for a valid prescription or 

nonprescription medication.  

 

  

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/pubs/manuals/pract/section2.htm
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
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URINALYSIS REQUIREMENTS 
 

DSPs are strongly encouraged to develop policies and procedures consistent with 

the ASAM Consensus Statement on the Appropriate Use of Drug Testing in 

Clinical Addiction Medicine. Urinalysis tests shall be conducted as often as 

deemed clinically appropriate, but no less than: 

• At the time of assessment; and  

• Twice per calendar month with no more than 14 calendar days between 

tests; and  

• Within two weeks prior to completion; and  

• Within 72 hours of receipt of laboratory results indicating that a urinalysis 

sample was identified as out of range for Creatinine, pH, or Specific Gravity 

as defined by the urinalysis laboratory results. 

 

At a minimum, samples must be tested for the following substances: 

• Alcohol; 

• Marijuana;  

• Cocaine;  

• Amphetamines;  

• Opiates; and  

• Benzodiazepines. 

 

Additionally, an EtG/EtS test for alcohol shall be conducted, at a minimum, at the 

time of assessment and within two weeks prior to completion. 

 

 

 

  

https://www.asam.org/resources/guidelines-and-consensus-documents/drug-testing
https://www.asam.org/resources/guidelines-and-consensus-documents/drug-testing
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DSP COMPLETION DOCUMENTATION 
 

DUII Services Providers issue documentation of an individual’s successful 

completion of a DUII program or their discontinuation of services prior to 

successful completion as allowed by HIPPA and 42 CFR Part 2.  

 

DSPs may, but are not required to, restrict issuance of completion documentation 

until the individual has paid all applicable fees. DSPs may issue completion 

documentation if the individual is compliant with the terms of the fee agreement 

between the provider and the individual. DSPs should develop policies and 

procedures for issuance of completion documentation consistent with OAR 309-

019-0195. 

 

Diversion 

Documentation of successful completion should be provided to the individual and 

the referring ADSS after: 

• The DSP has received a referral from the ADSS; and 

• The individual has completed DUII Education or DUII Rehabilitation as 

determined by the diagnostic assessment; and  

• The individual has paid for services in full or is compliant with the terms of 

the fee agreement between the provider and the individual. 

 

Notification should be sent to the referring ADSS for everyone who discontinues 

services prior to successful completion. It is recommended that a copy of this 

notice be sent to the individual as well. 

 

Conviction 

A numbered DUII Treatment Completion Certificate (DTCC) should be issued for 

individuals who are convicted of a DUII in Oregon after: 

• The DSP has received a referral from the ADSS6; and 

• The individual has completed DUII Education or DUII Rehabilitation as 

determined by the diagnostic assessment; and  

• The individual has paid for services in full or is compliant with the terms of 

the fee agreement between the provider and the individual. 

 

                                      
6 Due to the record retention requirements in effect for ADSS through December 31, 2017, some 

individuals may be unable to access a copy of their referral. DUII service providers may therefore issue 

a DTCC for individuals convicted of DUII prior to January 1, 2011, without a referral from an 

ADSS. 

https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/index.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
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The DTCC is a carbonless form that produces an original and three copies. The 

original DTCC should be submitted to the Oregon DMV per the directions on the 

DTCC. One copy should be provided to the individual, another copy provided to 

the ADSS, and a copy should be included in individual’s service record.  

 

Notification should be sent to the referring ADSS for everyone who discontinues 

services prior to successful completion. It is recommended that a copy of this 

notice be sent to the individual as well. 

 

DTCCs should only be issued for individuals who are convicted of DUII.  

 

Division approved DSPs can order DTCCs by contacting the DUII Information 

Specialist at DUII.Info@dhsoha.state.or.us.   

mailto:DUII.Info@dhsoha.state.or.us


2018 DSP Manual Version 2.0 15 

HARDSHIP PERMIT RECOMMENDATIONS 
 

ORS 813.500 requires individuals who are convicted of two or more DUIIs within 

a five-year period to be evaluated be evaluated by an agency or organization  

designated by the Authority to determine whether an individual has a problem 

condition involving alcohol, inhalants, or controlled substances as defined in ORS 

813.040.  

 

Division approved DUII Services Providers are designated to conduct such 

evaluations, and may provide a recommendation for a hardship permit if:  

• The recommendation does not create a health or safety risk to the individual 

or the public; and 

• The recommendation is deemed clinically appropriate; and 

• The individual is: 

o Enrolled in or has completed a Division approved DUII Rehabilitation 

Program; and  

o Maintaining abstinence as defined in OAR 309-019-0195; and 

o Agrees to ongoing contact and abstinence monitoring after successful 

completion of the DUII Rehabilitation Program as often as deemed 

clinically appropriate, but no less than once per calendar month while 

the individual is issued a hardship permit.  

 

The recommendation for issuance of a hardship permit must state specifically the 

times, places, routes, and days of the week minimally necessary for the individual 

to: 

• Seek or retain employment; 

• Attend substance use disorder treatment; 

• Obtain necessary medical treatment for the individual or a member of the 

individual’s immediate family; or 

• Get to and from a gambling addiction treatment program. 

 

Individuals who are granted a hardship permit must be monitored by the DUII 

Services Provider for the duration of their hardship permit. The ongoing contact 

and abstinence monitoring shall be documented in the service plan and included in 

the individual’s service record. 

 

The recommendation for issuance of a hardship permit must be withdrawn if: 

• A health or safety risk to the individual or public exists; or 

 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
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• The individual: 

o Tests positive, except as allowed in ORS 813.200; or  

o Discontinues contact with the DUII Services Provider; or 

o Does not successfully complete a Division approved DUII Education 

or Rehabilitation Program. 

 

The Individual Record must include all information necessary to document the 

DUII Services Provider’s decision to issue, not issue, or withdraw a 

recommendation for hardship permit to DMV. 

 

Division approved DUII Services Providers shall establish a procedure for 

individuals to appeal if a recommendation for issuance of a hardship permit is 

denied or withdrawn. The appeal process shall include but not be limited to: 

• Information on how to file a complaint with the Division directly; and 

• Recourse to the staff supervisor, program director, and CMHP Director. 

Complaints that are unresolved at the provider level may be referred to the 

Division for review. 

 

Please note that beginning January 1, 2019, DMV will no longer grant 

hardship permits for individuals with two or more DUII convictions within a 

five-year period. Individuals who were granted a hardship permit prior to 

January 1, 2019, will be able to retain their hardship permit if they maintain 

compliance with their monitoring agreement. 
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REPORTING 
 
To the Division 

DUII Services Providers are required to report to the Division using the mandated 

state data system, MOTS. Questions regarding MOTS should be directed to 

MOTS.Support@dhsoha.state.or.us. 

  

 

To the ADSS 

In addition to reporting in MOTS, Division approved DUII Services Providers 

must report to the referring ADSS as allowed by HIPPA and 42 CFR Part 2:  

• No later than 30 calendar days from the date of referral; 

• Every 30 calendar days while enrolled in DUII Rehabilitation; 

• No later than 14 calendar days from the date of discharge;  

• No later than seven calendar days from the written request of the ADSS. 

 

A sample status report is available online at 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/DSP.aspx.   

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/hsd/amh-mots/Pages/index.aspx
mailto:MOTS.Support@dhsoha.state.or.us
https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/index.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/DHSforms/Forms/Served/le8053.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/DSP.aspx
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INTERPRETER OR TRANSLATION SERVICES 
 

DSPs may be eligible for reimbursement for special services required to enable a 

person with a disability, or a person whose proficiency in the use of English is 

limited because of the person’s national origin, to participate in treatment programs 

that are used for diversion agreements under ORS 813.200 or are required under 

ORS 813.020. This applies: 

• Only to special services required solely because of the person’s disability or 

limited proficiency in the use of English; and 

• Whether or not the person is indigent. 

 

Services must be provided by a: 

• Qualified interpreter for an individual with a disability; 

• Qualified interpreter for an individual with limited English proficiency; or 

• Qualified translator7. 

 

DSPs may submit an itemized invoice including: 

• Proof of the actual cost of interpreter or translation services; and 

• Documentation of denial of payment for interpreter or translation services 

from the individual’s health insurance company (e.g. CCO, commercial 

insurance provider), if the individual’s services are being covered in any 

part by insurance. 

 

Invoices can be submitted: 

• Via secure email to: 

Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 

• Via US Postal Mail to: 

Marisha Elkins, DUII Coordinator 

 OHA Health Systems Division 

 500 Summer Street NE, E-86 

 Salem, OR 97301 

 

 

 

 

 

                                      
7 As defined in 45 CFR Part 92. 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5#se45.1.92_14
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5#se45.1.92_14
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5#se45.1.92_14
mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5
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TRAINING AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 
 

Training and technical assistance is available to all DSPs. Please submit requests to 

the DUII Coordinator, Marisha L. Elkins, at Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

and cc: your assigned Licensing & Compliance Certification Specialist.  

mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
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MANUAL FEEDBACK 
 

Feedback on the DSP Manual is encouraged and appreciated. Please submit any 

comments, requests for clarification, or suggested corrections to: 

 

 Marisha L. Elkins 

 DUII Coordinator 

 Phone: 503-949-5822 

 Fax: 503-378-8467 

 Email: Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 Mail:  OHA Health Systems Division 

500 Summer Street NE, E-86 

Salem, OR 97301 

 

mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
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