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INTRODUCTION 
This manual is intended for use by Oregon’s Alcohol and Other Drug Screening 

Specialists (ADSS) to assist in maintaining compliance with Oregon Revised 

Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR). This manual offers 

guidance for providing court-ordered screening, referral, and monitoring for 

individuals adjudicated for Driving under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) in 

Oregon. 

 

The goal of the manual is to address frequently asked questions regarding the roles 

and responsibilities of an ADSS; however, it is impossible to anticipate every 

possible scenario. ADSS are encouraged to contact the DUII Coordinator with any 

questions related to this manual. 

 

 

DUII Coordinator:  Marisha L. Elkins 

    OHA Health Systems Division 

    500 Summer Street NE, E-86 

    Salem, OR 97301 

    Phone: (503) 949-5822 

    Fax: (503) 378-8467 

    Email: Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 

 

  

 

 

mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
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OVERVIEW  
Oregon’s DUII laws are described in detail in Chapter 813 of the Oregon Revised 

Statutes. ADSS are expected to have an understanding of those statutes and any 

subsequent revisions enacted by the Oregon State Legislature. 

 

The law requires anyone who receives a DUII in Oregon – whether they are under 

a diversion agreement or have been convicted – to complete both a screening 

interview and a Division approved treatment program1. While the process is similar 

for both adjudication types (diversion or conviction), there are significant 

differences that should be noted.  

 

Individuals under a diversion agreement are generally required to complete the 

screening, treatment, and all other court-ordered obligations within 12 months. The 

court may grant an extension when there are extenuating circumstances; however, 

this is not a guarantee. Individuals who do not complete their diversion agreement 

within the court-ordered time frame risk having their diversion terminated resulting 

in a DUII conviction. Additionally, individuals under a diversion agreement agree 

to maintain abstinence from the use of intoxicants2 during the entire diversion 

period. 

 

Individuals convicted of a DUII generally do not have a specified time period 

within which to complete the screening and treatment requirements3; however, the 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is unable re-instate the individual’s driving 

privileges without proof of treatment completion4  for 15 years from the date of 

conviction.  

 

 

  

                                      
1 Unless waived by the court. 
2 Except as allowed in ORS 813.200(5). 
3 Unless otherwise ordered by the court. 
4 Or court order as allowed in ORS 813.022. 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
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THE ROLE OF THE ADSS 
As described in ORS 813.021 and ORS 813.260, the ADSS fulfills four important 

roles: screening; referral; monitoring; and reporting. Each of these roles are 

discussed in greater detail in this manual, but a brief description of each is 

provided below: 

 

Screening – The ADSS facilitates the completion of a standardized screening tool 

used to identify indicators of a potential substance use disorder. 

 

Referral – The ADSS conducts facilitated referral to a Division approved DUII 

services provider. 

 

Monitoring – The ADSS receives status reports as well as completion/discharge 

notices for DUII services providers. The ADSS also receives reports from Ignition 

Interlock Device (IID) installers. 

 

Reporting – The ADSS reports each individual’s successful completion or failure 

to complete the screening and treatment to the appropriate court. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
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BECOMING AN ADSS 
Individuals providing ADSS services in Oregon must be both certified by OHA 

and designated by at least one Oregon court. ADSS are expected to understand and 

maintain substantial compliance with the application and certification standards 

outlined in OAR 415-054-0463 through 415-054-0481. 

Minimum Qualifications 

Individuals must meet the following minimum experience requirements to be 

certified as an ADSS5:  

 A Bachelor Degree in a behavioral health field; or  

 Four years of full-time supervised experience in the behavioral health 

services field with a minimum of two years of experience providing 

substance use disorder evaluation or treatment; or  

 A combination of an Associate Degree in a behavioral health field and two 

years of full-time supervised experience providing substance use disorder 

evaluation or treatment.  

 

Individuals recovering from substance use disorders must be able to document 

continuous abstinence under independent living conditions or recovery housing for 

the immediate past two years. 

 

Initial/Renewal Application 

Individuals seeking initial or renewal certification as an ADSS are required to 

submit an application using Division approved forms and procedures. Applications 

are available for download at http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-

DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx. Applications may also be requested by sending an email 

to DUII.Info@dhsoha.state.or.us. 

 

Please note that OHA will not accept incomplete applications. Incomplete 

applications will be returned along with a notice outlining the missing information. 

                                      
5 ADSS requesting renewal certification are not required to re-submit verification of minimum 

qualifications. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=1928
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
mailto:DUII.Info@dhsoha.state.or.us
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Applicants are encouraged to resubmit their application when they are able to 

include all required information.  

 

Background Checks 

OHA will initiate a background check as required in OAR 415-054-0464 upon 

receipt of a completed application. Background checks are used to identify 

applicants with potentially disqualifying convictions and conditions. A weighing 

test is used to make a final fitness determination.  

 

Background checks are conducted through the Department of Human Services 

Background Check Unit (BCU), and may take 6-8 weeks or longer. New or 

renewal certificates will only be issued after a background check has been 

completed. 

 

Court Designation 

ADSS may only conduct screenings for individuals adjudicated by the court(s) the 

ADSS is designated by6. Each court determines how many ADSS are necessary 

and which ADSS to designate.  

 

Individuals interested in becoming an ADSS are encouraged to contact the Trial 

Court Administrator or Presiding Judge for the court(s) they wish to serve to 

determine if additional ADSS services are needed. Applications for certification as 

an ADSS require designation from at least one Oregon court. 

 

ADSS requesting renewal of their certification must submit current designation 

letters with their renewal application. A sample designation letter is available 

online at: http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx. 

 

  

                                      
6 Unless ordered by the court. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239611
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
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Certification Reviews 

Certification is contingent on demonstration of substantial compliance with 

applicable laws and administrative rules. Certification reviews are conducted as 

allowed in OAR 415-054-0469 through 415-054-0471. ADSS are expected to have 

read and understand the types of reviews that may be conducted. At a minimum 

site reviews will be conducted within 6 months of initial certification, and every 

three years thereafter prior to issuance of a renewal certificate. 

 

Certification reviews are conducted by the assigned Licensing & Certification 

Compliance Specialist and may also include the DUII Coordinator. Questions 

regarding certification review policies, procedures, and practices should be 

directed to: 

 Simon Williams 
 Licensing & Certification Compliance Specialist 

 Phone: 503-945-6555  

 Email: Simon.O.Williams@dhsoha.state.or.us 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.action?selectedChapter=84
mailto:Simon.O.Williams@dhsoha.state.or.us
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CONFLICT OF INTEREST 
Unless providing services through an agency designated by OHA as a Sole Service 

Provider or a Demonstration Project (described below), an ADSS must be free 

from conflict of interest. OAR 415-054-0462(7) defines conflict of interest as “use 

of a personal relationship to obtain financial gain or avoidance of financial 

detriment, making business decisions that create a pattern of biased or preferential 

treatment, or initiating a professional role with someone with whom there was a 

pre-existing personal relationship. The conflict of interest may be actual or 

potential.” 

 

Examples of conflict of interest may include, but are not limited to: 

 Being employed by a Division approved DUII services provider; 

 Receiving free office space, email service, or support services from a 

Division approved DUII services provider; 

 Receiving goods or cash from a Division approved DUII services provider 

for referrals to their program; 

 Providing ADSS services for an individual with whom there was a pre-

existing personal relationship; 

 

ADSS must immediately notify the Division of any actual or potential conflict 

of interest. 

 

Sole Service Provider 

When and ADSS is designated by a court in a county with only one Division 

approved DUII services provider, the ADSS may be employed by that DUII 

services provider if designated as a Sole Service Provider.  

 

The roles of the ADSS and DUII services provider remain separate within a Sole 

Service Provider. ADSS do not provide DUII Education or Rehabilitation services, 

and ADSS records are kept separate from the individual’s clinical record. 

 

Division approved DUII services providers may apply for designation as a Sole 

Service Provider as outlined in OAR 415-054-0545. Sole Service Provider 

applications are available online at http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-

DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx. 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239608
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239649
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
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Demonstration Project 

Demonstration projects must demonstrate the effectiveness of combining the 

ADSS and treatment functions within a single agency or organization. In a 

demonstration project the ADSS may also provide DUII Education or DUII 

Rehabilitation services, and records may be combined. 

 

Division approved DUII services providers may apply for designation as a 

Demonstration Project as outlined in OAR 415-054-0550. Sole Service Provider 

applications are available online at http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-

DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx. 

 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239655
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
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SCREENING 
ADSS are expected to understand and maintain substantial compliance with the 

screening requirements outlined in OAR 415-054-0485. It is important to note that 

ADSS do not conduct diagnostic assessments, and as such are not responsible for 

the diagnosis of a substance use disorder or level of care determination. Rather, the 

purpose of the screening is to identify potential substance use disorder risk factors, 

and make a preliminary recommendation for services. 

 

The screening interview should incorporate information provided by the individual 

through completion of the Texas Christian University (TCU) Drug Screen 57 which 

screens for mild to severe substance use disorders based on the Diagnostic and 

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM 5). As the TCU is a self-

administered screening tool, additional information from court documents, arrest 

reports, or driving records may also be included when available to the ADSS.  

 

Individuals should be recommended for DUII Rehabilitation if they score 2 or 

higher on the TCU Drug Screen 5 or exhibit other risk factors which may include: 

 A BAC of 0.15 or higher; 

 Prior alcohol or other drug related arrest(s); 

 Prior diagnosis or treatment of a substance use disorder. 

 

Individuals who score 0 or 1 on the TCU Drug Screen 5 and do not exhibit other 

risk factors for a substance use disorder may be recommended for a DUII 

Education program. 

 

It should be made clear to the individual that the ADSS makes a recommendation 

based on the information provided during the screening interview, but the DUII 

service provider will make the final level of care determination after completing a 

clinical diagnostic assessment per the requirements in OAR 309-019-0135. 

 

The ADSS should discuss confidentiality with every individual being screened, 

and clearly describe what information will be released and to whom. The ADSS is 

responsible for understanding their obligations for maintaining confidentiality 

                                      
7 All required forms are available at http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx.  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239635
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
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under both HIPPA and 42 CFR Part 2, and is responsible to ensure that protected 

health information and substance use disorder treatment records are not released 

without the proper consent for release of information.  

 

The ADSS should also discuss any specific service needs the individual may have 

and barriers that may prevent the individual from successfully completing a DUII 

services program. Examples of barriers an individual may face are: 

 Lack of transportation, 

 Limited financial resources, 

 Variable work schedules, 

 Lack of safe and affordable childcare, 

 Lack of stable housing, 

 Limited English proficiency, 

 Co-occurring mental health disorders, 

 Co-occurring physical health conditions. 

These issues should be documented on the Screening & Referral Report form8. 

 

  

                                      
8 All required forms are available at http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx. 

https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/index.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
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REFERRAL 
ADSS are expected to understand and maintain substantial compliance with the 

referral requirements outlined in OAR 415-054-0490. As noted in the previous 

section, ADSS are not responsible for substance use disorder diagnosis or for 

determining the level of care an individual receives. Nevertheless, the information 

collected during the screening interview provides vital information for the DUII 

service provider, and should inform the referral process. 

 

In-State Referrals 

Residents of Oregon must be referred to a Division approved DUII service 

provider9. Division approved DUII service providers are listed in the Oregon 

Substance Use Disorder Services Directory which is available online at 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH/publications/provider-directory.pdf. The 

directory is updated monthly based on information provided by HSD’s Licensing 

and Certification Unit.  

 

After completing the screening interview, the ADSS must provide the individual 

with a list of Division approved DUII service providers within the geographic area 

preferred by the individual, and any other geographic area capable of responding to 

the specific needs of an individual. A list of the providers offered must be included 

in the individual’s record, and must be signed and dated by the individual. 

 

Individuals must be made aware of their right to be referred to a Division 

approved DUII services provider of their choice, and be free from undue 

influence or coercion when choosing a provider.  

 

The ADSS may not deny a referral to any Division approved DUII service 

provider except in cases where the referral would constitute an imminent 

health or safety risk to the individual. Any denial must be clearly documented 

in the individual record and include the reason for denial including the 

specific health or safety risk posed. The ADSS must make a report to the 

                                      
9 Unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239637
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH/publications/provider-directory.pdf
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Division within three calendar days of denying a referral to a Division 

approved DUII services provider. 

 

A copy of the Screening and Referral form and completed TCU Drug Screen 5 

shall be provided to the individual and the Division approved DUII services 

provider selected by the individual within five calendar days of the screening. 

 

Out-of-State Referrals  

Individuals who are residents of states other than Oregon may be referred to a 

program licensed or certified to provide by their state of residence to provide DUII 

services. Individuals who are under a diversion agreement or are on probation 

(bench or supervised) may require permission from the court to complete treatment 

out-of-state. ADSS are expected to understand the processes and procedures for the 

court(s) they are designated by. 

 

Unless the court has ordered that the individual must complete a program which 

meets the requirements set out in OAR 309-019-0195, individuals may complete a 

program as required in their state of residence. 

 

A copy of the Screening and Referral form, completed TCU Drug Screen 5, and 

applicable OARs shall be provided to the individual and the out-of-state service 

provider within five calendar days of the screening. 

 

HSD will issue DUII Treatment Completion Certificates (DTCC) for individuals 

convicted of DUII who are referred to an out-of-state service provider on or after 

April 1, 2018. ADSS are encouraged to make copies of the necessary forms 

available, and may also direct form requests to the DUII Information Specialist at 

DUII.Info@dhsoha.state.or.us. 

  

 

  

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
mailto:DUII.Info@dhsoha.state.or.us
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TRANSFERS 
 

An individual may request a transfer to a different Division approved DUII 

services provider or out-of-state treatment provider by submitting a written request 

to the ADSS10. However, it is important that the individual understands the 

potential risks associated with transferring services including, but not limited to: 

 Increased out-of-pocket expenses, and 

 Being unable to complete the terms of their diversion agreement within the 

court-ordered timeframe. 

 

The ADSS may not deny a transfer request to any Division approved DUII 

service provider except in cases where the referral would constitute an 

imminent health or safety risk to the individual. Any denial must be clearly 

documented in the individual record and include the reason for denial 

including the specific health or safety risk posed. The ADSS must make a 

report to the Division within three calendar days of denying a referral to a 

Division approved DUII services provider. 

 

 

 

 

  

                                      
10 Unless otherwise ordered by the court. 
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MONITORING 
 

ADSS are expected to understand and maintain substantial compliance with the 

monitoring requirements outlined in OAR 415-054-0510. It is the ADSS 

responsibility to understand and ensure compliance with HIPPA and 42 CFR Part 

2. 

 

ADSS monitor the progress of each individual they screen through receipt of status 

reports from the DUII services providers. DUII services providers are required in 

OAR 309-019-0195 to submit reports to the ADSS as allowed by HIPPA and 42 

CFR Part 2:  

 No later than 30 calendar days from the date of referral; 

 Every 30 calendar days while enrolled in DUII Rehabilitation; 

 No later than 14 calendar days from the date of discharge;  

 No later than seven calendar days from the written request of the ADSS. 

 

ADSS who do not receive reports as required by Rule are encouraged to contact 

the DUII Coordinator for assistance.  

 

Ignition Interlock Device Reports 

ORS 813.602 and ORS 813.630 ignition interlock device installers to report the 

installation or removal of the device, any tampering with the device, and any 

negative reports received from the device to the ADSS. The process for notifying 

the court of the individual’s compliance with IID requirements shall be determined 

by agreement between the court and the ADSS.  

 

Please note that it is the responsibility of the IID installer to provide these reports. 

The statute does not require the ADSS to ensure the installers comply with their 

reporting requirements. However, ADSS should have a clear understanding of 

Oregon’s IID statutes including, but not limited to which individuals are required 

to have an IID installed. 

 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239641
https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/index.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=243846
https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/index.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=0f9b2a146b539944f00b5ec90117d296&mc=true&node=pt42.1.2&rgn=div5
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
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When the ADSS receives a negative report from an IID installer for an 

individual who is enrolled in a DUII services program, the ADSS must notify 

the DUII services provider of the negative report within 72 hours of receipt of 

the report. 

 

It is important to note that individuals who enter into a diversion agreement 

with the court are required to maintain abstinence from the use of intoxicants 

except as allowed in ORS 813.200 throughout the diversion period. Negative 

reports may constitute violation of the individual’s diversion agreement, and 

should be reported to the court as determined by agreement between the court and 

the ADSS. 

 

  

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors813.html
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REPORTING 
ADSS are expected to understand and maintain substantial compliance with the 

reporting requirements outlined in OAR 415-054-0530. 

 

The ADSS shall report to the appropriate court within 14 days11 after being 

notified of an individual’s successful completion or failure to complete the 

treatment program. The form of this report shall be determined by agreement 

between the court and the ADSS.  

 

ADSS are also required to submit monthly screening reports to the Health Systems 

Division. Reporting forms are available for download at 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx, and are due no 

later than the 10th of each month. ADSS are required to submit their reports using 

secure email to ADSS.Reports@dhsoha.state.or.us. 

 

ADSS who do not conduct any screenings during a calendar month must notify the 

Division by sending an email to ADSS.Reports@dhsoha.state.or.us no later than 

the 10th of the following month. 

  

                                      
11 Unless otherwise agreed to in writing with the court. 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=239644
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH-DUII/Pages/ADSS.aspx
mailto:ADSS.Reports@dhsoha.state.or.us
mailto:ADSS.Reports@dhsoha.state.or.us


ADSS Manual Version 1.0 20 

INTERPRETER OR TRANSLATION SERVICES 
ADSS are eligible for reimbursement for services provided by a: 

 Qualified interpreter for an individual with a disability; 

 Qualified interpreter for an individual with limited English proficiency; or 

 Qualified translator12. 

 

ADSS may submit an invoice including proof of reimbursable expenditures to the 

DUII Coordinator. Invoices may be submitted: 

 Via email: 

Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 

 Via US Postal Mail: 

Marisha Elkins, DUII Coordinator 

 OHA Health Systems Division 

 500 Summer Street NE, E-86 

 Salem, OR 97301 

 

 

 

 

  

  

                                      
12 As defined in 45 CFR Part 92. 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5#se45.1.92_14
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5#se45.1.92_14
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5#se45.1.92_14
mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=02a282b59524b4882361a14330393cd6&mc=true&node=pt45.1.92&rgn=div5
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TRAINING AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 
Training and technical assistance is available to all ADSS. Please direct requests 

to: 

 Marisha Elkins 

 DUII Coordinator 

 Phone: 503-949-5822 

 Email: Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 

 

MANUAL FEEDBACK 
Feedback on the ADSS Manual is encouraged and appreciated. Please submit any 

comments, requests for clarification, or suggested corrections to: 

 Marisha Elkins 

 DUII Coordinator 

 Phone: 503-949-5822 

 Email: Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us 

 

 

mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
mailto:Marisha.L.Elkins@dhsoha.state.or.us
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