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RULE SUMMARY: Amend OAR 410-130-0246 to change 5 micrograms per deciliter to 3.5 micrograms per deciliter

CHANGES TO RULE: 

410-130-0246 
Lead Screening  
(1) All children enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan, including Fee-for-Service and MCEs, must have blood lead screening tests. Children with Medical Assistance 
Program coverage must have blood lead screening tests at age 12 months and 24 months. Any child between ages 24 and 72 months with no record of a previous 
blood lead screening test must receive one. Completion of a risk assessment questionnaire does not meet the lead screening requirement for children under 
Medicaid.¶ 
(2) Method of Blood Collection: A single venous or capillary blood draw is acceptable for the blood lead screening test. A result of less than 3.5 micrograms per 
deciliter from either method is considered a negative result. A capillary blood lead level greater than or equal to 3.5 micrograms per deciliter must be confirmed 
with either a venous draw or a second capillary draw within 12 weeks.¶ 
(3) Lead poisoning in children under 18 years of age and pregnant or lactating women is defined as a blood lead level greater than or equal to 3.5 micrograms per 
deciliter from a venous draw or two capillary blood lead tests greater than or equal to 3.5 micrograms per deciliter drawn within 12 weeks of each other. See OAR 
333-017-0000(18).¶ 
(4) Billing of laboratory services is covered in: OAR 410-130-0680.¶ 
(a) For the collection of blood, use CPT 36415 for a venipuncture sample or CPT 36416 for capillary puncture samples;¶ 
(b) To bill for venipuncture or capillary blood lead screening, use Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) code 83655.¶ 
(5) All children, pregnant and lactating women with lead poisoning are eligible to receive follow up case management services. See OAR 333-019-0000 and Oregon 
Health Authority Public Health Division's Oregon Lead Poisoning Investigative Guidelines at: 
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HealthyEnvironments/HealthyNeighborhoods/LeadPoisoning/CountyHealthDepartments/Documents/Diseaseguidelines.pdf.¶ 
(6) To bill for comprehensive lead investigation, use HCPCS code T1029. Payment for code T1029 includes the home investigation and any follow-up case 
management services provided after the home investigation is completed. The Division limits reimbursement of T1029 to one time per dwelling. For clients 
enrolled in Fee-for-Service, the service is payable by the Division for dates of service through September 30, 2020. Effective October 1, 2020 for members 
enrolled in managed care plans, the service is payable by the managed care plan. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 413.042 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 414.025, 414.065, 414.150
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