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PLEASE READ:

Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic
Partnership
(form 45-6 (01/10))
Is a new form.

All Oregon Registered Domestic Partnerships filed/registered with the
county clerk after January 1, 2010 must be on the new form Declaration
of Oregon Domestic Partnership (form 45-6 (01/10)).

The new forms 45-6 (01/10) can be completed and signed by partners and

notarized prior to January 1, 2010 as long as the form is filed/registered
with the county clerk after January 1, 2010.

All Oregon Registered Domestic Partnerships filed/registered with the
county clerk prior to January 1, 2010 must be on the old form 45-6 (01/08).

Old forms 45-6 (01/08) cannot be accepted by the county clerk for
filing/registration after January 1, 2010.
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General Information

The Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership isalegal form. The
County Clerk should make these forms available to the public. The form should be
completed in black or dark blue ink and should not be altered. The legal form is 8
1/2 inches by 14 inches and has a gray stripe along the left-hand side. All
sections of the form need to be completed unless otherwise specified in the
instructions. The forms must be signed by both individuals entering into the
domestic partnership. Signatures must be acknowledged by a Notary Public. The
form needs to be signed and registered by the County Clerk to be valid.

The County Clerk registers the form in a Domestic Partnership Registry. A copy
of the form, along with a“Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership,” can be
provided to the partners in person or by mail.

Definitions

Domestic Partnership meansthe civil contract entered into in person between two
individuals of the same sex who are at least 18 years of age, who are otherwise
capable, and at least one of which isaresident of Oregon.

Partner isan individual joined in adomestic partnership.

Criteria for Entering into a Domestic Partnership

Partnership is prohibited and void:

e when either party to the domestic partnership had a partner, wife or husband
living at the time of the domestic partnership unless the partner, wife or
husband was the other party to the domestic partnership;

¢ when the parties in the domestic partnership arefirst cousins or any nearer of
kin to each other, whether of the whole or half blood or adoption, computing by
the rules of the civil law;

e when either party isincapable of making the civil contract or consenting to the
contract for want of legal age or sufficient understanding; and/or,

¢ When the consent of either party is obtained by force or fraud, the domestic
partnership is void from the time it is so declared by a judgment of a court
having jurisdiction of the domestic partnership.

NOTE: When parties are first cousins by adoption only, the domestic partnership
isnot prohibited or void.
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Filing Forms with the Center for Health Statistics

Every official registering Declarations of Domestic Partnership must send the
forms completed during the preceding month to the Center for Health Statistics on
or before the 10" day of each calendar month.

Declarations of Domestic Partnerships filed with the Center for Health Statistics
are vital records. Accessto the record isrestricted for 50 years after the event to
family members and their legal representatives, and/or to persons or organizations
with a personal or property right.

Amending Declaration of Domestic Partnership Forms

Declaration of Domestic Partnership forms that are filed with the Center for Health
Stati stics are amended using the same process as for amending marriage records.

A copy of the amended form is forwarded to the Center for Health Statistics with a
letter requesting that a similar amendment be completed by the state.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE DECLARATION OF
OREGON REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FORM

ON THE TOP PORTION OF THE FORM:

Enter the Local File Number in the space provided.

DO NOT write or mark in the space provided for the State File Number. This
spaceisfor State use only.

PARTNER A INFORMATION

ITEM 1: PARTNER A - LEGAL NAME (First, Middle, Last)
e Typeor print Partner A’s current legal first, middle and last names.

o Prefix names (e.g., Sir, etc.) should be placed before the first name (Mr.,
Ms., Mrs., and Miss are not prefixes.)

e Suffix names (e.g., Jr., etc.) should be placed after the last name.

ITEM 2: PARTNER A - SURNAME AT BIRTH (if different than current
legal surname) (NOTE: Surname is the Last Name.)

e Completeonly if current legal surname differs from birth legal surname.
e List only surname at birth. Other surnames should be listed in Item 3.
e |f surname at birth is not different than current legal name, leave blank.

ITEM 3: PARTNER A-OTHER LEGAL SURNAMES USED
(NOTE: Surname is the Last Name.)

o Complete only if there was a previous legal surname other than the birth
surname (e.g., names from previous marriages or legal name changes).

e Listall previouslega surnames.

e |f there are no other legal surnames, leave blank.

ITEM 4. PARTNER A - BIRTHPLACE
e Complete with U.S. state name or foreign country name.
e DO NOT list provinces or regions of domestic or foreign countries.
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e Birthplaceis used in combination with name and date of birth to distinguish
a partner from another person with the same name.

ITEM5: PARTNER A - DATE OF BIRTH (Month, Day, Year)
e List the month, day, and year of birth, in that order.
e Usethe full name of the month (e.g., January, February, March, etc.). Do
not use abbreviations or numerical formats for the month.
e Date of birth, along with agein Item 6, is used for verification of age to meet
the minimum age requirement for a domestic partnership and to distinguish a
partner from another person with the same name.

ITEM 6: PARTNER A - AGE (18 or older)
e Enter numeric.
e Agemust be greater than or equal to 18.
e Age should be accurate and correspond to birth date in Item 5.

ITEM7: PARTNER A - SEX
e Enter Male or Female only, without abbreviations or symbols.
e Thisisnecessary to establish eligibility for a domestic partnership.
e Partners A and B MUST be of the same sex.

ITEM 8: PARTNER A - CURRENT PARTNERSHIP/MARITAL STATUS
e Enter “Never Married,” “Widowed,” or “Divorced.”
e Neither partner may presently be in amarriage or legally recognized
domestic partnership.

ITEM 9a: PARTNER A - RESIDENT COUNTY

e Enter current county of residence.
e Thisitem may be left BLANK if residing outside the U.S.

ITEM 9b: PARTNER A - RESIDENT STATE
e Enter the current U.S. state of residence.
e [f not aU.S. resident, enter the name of the country.
Thisis needed to establish eligibility for domestic partnership.

ITEM 9c: PARTNER A - MAILING ADDRESS

Enter full mailing address (Number and Street, City, State, Country, and Zip
Code).
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ITEM 10: PARTNER A LEGAL NAME TAKEN AFTER DOMESTIC
PARTNERSHIP

With the passage of House Bill 2839 during the 2009 legidlative session,
Oregon Registered Domestic Partners can document the legal name each will
use after the Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership formis
filed. The legal name to be taken after domestic partnership for Partner A is
recorded on item 10 on the Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic
Partnership (form 45-6 (01/10)). The law limits the options for the surname to:

* retaining the surname prior to the partnership;

» changing the surname to the other party’ s surname; or,

» changing the surname to a hyphenated combination of the partner A’s and

partner B’ s surnames, in either order.

The middle name may only be changed if a new surname (last name) is
selected. In that situation, the middle name may only be changed to the person’s
current surname (last name) at the time of partnership.

Refer to information sheet “Last name taken following a

Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership after January 1,
2010 for more information.

PARTNER B INFORMATION

ITEM 11: PARTNER B - LEGAL NAME (First, Middle, Last)
e Typeor print Partner B's current legal first, middle and last names.

o Prefix names (e.g., Sir, etc.) should be placed before the first name. (Mr.,
Ms., Mrs., and Miss are not prefixes).

e Suffix names (e.g., Jr., etc.) should be placed after the last name.

ITEM 12: PARTNER B - SURNAME AT BIRTH (if different than current
legal surname) (NOTE: Surname is the last name.)

e Complete only if current legal surname differs from birth legal surname.
e Listonly surname at birth. Other surnames should be listed in Item 3.
e |f surname at birth is not different than current legal name, leave blank.

ITEM 13: PARTNER B-OTHER LEGAL SURNAMES USED
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(NOTE: Surname is the last name.)

e Complete only if there was a previous legal surname other than the birth
surname (e.g., names from previous marriages or legal name changes).

e Listall previouslega surnames.

e |f there are no other legal surnames, leave blank.

ITEM 14: PARTNER B - BIRTHPLACE
e Complete with U.S. state name or foreign country name.
e DO NOT list provinces or regions of domestic or foreign countries.
e Birthplaceis used in combination with name and date of birth to distinguish
a partner from another person with the same name.

ITEM 15: PARTNER B - DATE OF BIRTH
e List the month, day, and year of birth, in that order.
e Usethefull name of the month (e.g., January, February, March, etc.). Do
not use abbreviations or numbers for the month.
e Date of birth, along with age (in Item 6), is used for verification of ageto
meet the minimum age requirement for a domestic partnership and to
distinguish a partner from another person with the same name.

ITEM 16: PARTNER B - AGE (18 or older)
e Enter numeric age.
e Age must be greater than or equal to 18.
e Age should be accurate and correspond to birth datein Item 5.

ITEM 17: PARTNER B - SEX
e Enter Male or Female only, without abbreviations or symboals.
e Thisisnecessary to establish eligibility for a domestic partnership.
e Partners A and B MUST be of the same sex.

ITEM 18: PARTNER B - CURRENT PARTNERSHIP/MARITAL STATUS
e Enter “Never Married” “Widowed,” or “Divorced.”
o Naeither partner can presently be in amarriage or legally recognized
domestic partnership.

ITEM 19: PARTNER B RESIDENT COUNTY
e Enter current county of residence.
e Thisitem may beleft BLANK if residing outside the U.S.
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ITEM 19b: PARTNER B RESIDENT STATE
e Enter the current U.S. state of residence.
e |f not aU.S. resident, enter the name of the country.
e Thisisneeded to establish eligibility for domestic partnership.

ITEM 19c: PARTNER B MAILING ADDRESS
e Enter full mailing address (Number and Street, City, State, Country, and Zip
Code).

ITEM 20: PARTNER B LEGAL NAME TAKEN AFTER DOMESTIC
PARTNERSHIP
With the passage of House Bill 2839 during the 2009 legidlative session,
Oregon Registered Domestic Partners can document the legal name each will
use after the Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership formis
filed. The legal name to be taken after domestic partnership for Partner B is
recorded on item 20 on the Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic
Partnership (form 45-6 (01/10)). The law limits the options for the surname to:
* retaining the surname prior to the partnership;
» changing the surname to the other party’ s surname; or,
» changing the surname to a hyphenated combination of the partner A’s and
partner B’ s surnames, in either order.

The middle name may only be changed if a new surname (last name) is
selected. In that situation, the middle name may only be changed to the person’s
current surname (last name) at the time of partnership.

Refer to information sheet “Last name taken following a

Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership after January 1,
2010 for more information.

SIGNATURES and NOTARY CERTIFICATION

Oregon law requires that each individual who wants to enter into a domestic
partnership complete an acknowledgment stating that he or sheis at least 18 years
of age, capable of entering into a domestic partnership, that one partner entering
into this domestic partnership resides in Oregon, and that he or she consents to the
jurisdiction of the circuit courts of Oregon for the purpose of obtaining a
dissolution or annulment of this domestic partnership.
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The form must be signed and dated by each individual entering into this domestic
partnership. A Notary Public must acknowledge each individual’ s signature.

LOCAL OFFICIAL INFORMATION
This section must be completed by the county official registering the form in order
for the form to be valid.

County of Filing:
¢ Enter the Oregon county where the Declaration of Domestic Partnership is
filed.

Signature of County Official:

e The county official registering the Declaration of Domestic Partnership needs
to sign the declaration.

Name of County Official:

¢ Print the name of the county official registering the Declaration of Domestic
Partnership.

Date Registered at the County:
e Enter the month, day, and year that the Declaration of Domestic Partnership
Isregistered by the county official.
e Usethe month’sfull name, if possible. Abbreviations of months names are
acceptable, however.
e Do not use anumerical format for designating months.

STATISTICAL INFORMATION

STATISTICAL ITEMS 20 - 25 ARE FOR STATISTICAL PURPOSES ONLY.
THEY DO NOT APPEAR ON THE CERTIFIED RECORD. (NOTE: These
ITEMS were not renumbered in new form. Therefore, there are two ITEM 20s).
The statistical items are OPTIONAL. Enter “REFUSED” in each item that is not
compl eted.

This statistical information is used to study the demographic characteristics of

persons entering domestic partnerships. Thefirst row contains information for
Partner A; the second row isfor Partner B.
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ITEM 20: NUMBER OF THIS PARTNERSHIP
¢ Include previous marriages, aswell as previous legally recognized domestic
partnershipsin total count.
e 20aand 20b: Enter “First,” Second,” etc.

ITEM 21: IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED OR PART OF ADOMESTIC
PARTNERSHIP, HOW DID IT END?
e Only mark something if the partner was in a previous legally recognized
domestic partnership or marriage. Otherwise, leave blank.
e 2laand 21b: Indicate “Death,” “Divorce,” “Dissolution,” or “Annulment.”

ITEM 22: HISPANIC ORIGIN
e Specify “Yes” or “No.”
o If “Yes,” specify Hispanic group. For the purposes of thisitem, “Hispanic”
refers to people whose origins are from Spain, Mexico, or Central or South
America.

Options:

Y es, Mexican, Mexican American, Chicano;
Y es, Puerto Rican;

Y es, Cuban;

Y es, other Spanish/Hispanic/Latino;

No; or,

Unknown

ITEM 23: RACE(S)
e Raceissaf-identified.
e Applicants may indicate multiple races.

Options:

American Indian or Alaska Native;
Asian Indian;

Black or African American;
Chinesg;

Filipino;

Guamanian or Chamorro;
Japanese;

Korean;

Native Hawaiian;
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Samoan;

White;

Viethnamese; and.or,
Other (Specify)

ITEM 24: EDUCATION Highest grade completed.

e Enter the category that best describes the highest degree or level of school
completed by the applicant. Report only those years of school that were
completed.

Options:

8th grade or less;

Oth-12th grade; no diploma;

High school graduate or GED compl eted;

Some college credit, but no degree;

Associate degree (e.g. AA, AS);

Bachelor’ s degree (e.g. BA, AB, BS);

Master’'s degree (e.g. MA, MS, MEng, MEd, MSW, MBA);
Doctorate (e.g. PhD, EdD); or,

Professional degree (e.g. MD, DDS, DVM, LLB, JD)

ITEM 25: OCCUPATION

e Enter the occupation that each individual has at the time of entering into this
domestic partnership.
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