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Introduction 

Introduction  
 
This document outlines Oregon laws related to marijuana in Oregon. A brief 
overview of the federal landscape is included as well. 
 
Laws include a brief summary and, where practical, full legal citations. In addition, 
cursory information about enforcement is included, as appropriate. 
 

Format and Content 
 
In subsections I through VI, the laws, policies and court orders have been divided 
into six groups based on their content. Laws, policies and orders in these subsections 
include a summary and, where practical, full legal citations. In addition, cursory 
information about enforcement has been provided.  
 

I. Federal  
II. Preemption 
III. Licensing 
IV. Smoke Free Environments 
V. Marijuana Taxes and Distribution 
VI. Retail 

 
 
Definitions: 
ORS: Oregon Revised Statutes; contains statutes and the Oregon Rules of Civil 
Procedure. 

OAR: Oregon Administrative Rules; ORS 183.310(9) defines “rule” as “any agency 
directive, standard, regulation or statement of general applicability that implements, 
interprets or prescribes law or policy, or describes the procedure or practice 
requirements of any agency.”  The Oregon Administrative Rules are published by the 
Oregon Secretary of State.  
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Introduction 

This table outlines the dollar amounts of penalties for infractions against different 
levels/types of Oregon Law.   

 
Citation 
ORS 153.018, 161.615, 161.635 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors153.html  

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors161.html  

 

VIOLATION TYPE/CLASS PENALTY 
Class A Misdemeanor Max. fine: $6,250 

Max. prison term: 1 year 
Class B Misdemeanor Max. fine: $2,500 

Max. prison term: 6 months 
Class C Misdemeanor Max. fine: $1,250 

Max. prison term: 30 days 
Unclassified Misdemeanor As provided in the statute defining the 

crime 
Class A Violation Max. fine:  $2,000 
Class B Violation Max fine:  $1,000 
Class C Violation Max fine:  $500 
Class D Violation Max fine:  $250 
Civil Penalty Varies based on violation 
Unclassified or Specific-Fine Violations As described in ORS 153.015 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors153.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors161.html
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I .  Federal Law 

I. Federal Law  
 
Description of Schedule 1 narcotic 
 
Drugs, substances, and certain chemicals used to make drugs are classified into five 
(5) distinct categories or schedules depending upon the drug’s acceptable medical use 
and the drug’s abuse or dependency potential by the Drug Enforcement Agency of 
the U.S. Department of Justice.  
 
The abuse rate is a determinate factor in the scheduling of the drug; for example, 
Schedule I drugs have a high potential for abuse and the potential to create severe 
psychological and/or physical dependence. As the drug schedule changes-- Schedule 
II, Schedule III, etc., so does the abuse potential-- Schedule V drugs represents the 
least potential for abuse. A Listing of drugs and their schedule are located at 
Controlled Substance Act (CSA) Scheduling or by Alphabetical Order. These lists 
describe the basic or parent chemical and do not necessarily describe the salts, isomers 
and salts of isomers, esters, ethers and derivatives which may also be classified as 
controlled substances. These lists are intended as general references and are not 
comprehensive listings of all controlled substances.  
 
A substance need not be listed as a controlled substance to be treated as a Schedule I 
substance for criminal prosecution. A controlled substance analogue is a substance 
which is intended for human consumption and is structurally or pharmacologically 
substantially similar to or is represented as being similar to a Schedule I or Schedule II 
substance and is not an approved medication in the United States.1  
 
See 21 U.S.C. §802(32)(A) for the definition of a controlled substance analogue and 
21 U.S.C. §812(B) for the schedule.2 
 
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/812.htm  
 
Schedule I 
 
Schedule I drugs, substances, or chemicals are defined as drugs with no currently 
accepted medical use and a high potential for abuse by the Drug Enforcement Agency 
of the U.S. Department of Justice.  
 

                                                 
1 https://www.dea.gov/druginfo/ds.shtml 
2 https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/812.htm  

https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/812.htm
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/812.htm
https://www.dea.gov/druginfo/ds.shtml
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/812.htm
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I .  Federal Law 

Some examples of Schedule I drugs are: heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), 
marijuana (cannabis), 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (ecstasy), methaqualone, 
and peyote 
 
Enforcement 
U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 
 
Cole Memo 
 
On August 29, 2013, the U.S. Department of Justice announced an update to its 
federal marijuana enforcement policy in light of recent state ballot initiatives that 
legalize, under state law, the possession of small amounts of marijuana and provide 
for the regulation of marijuana production, processing, and sale.3 
In the new memorandum outlining the policy, the Department makes clear that 
marijuana remains an illegal drug under the Controlled Substances Act and that 
federal prosecutors will continue to aggressively enforce this statute. To this end, the 
Department identifies eight (8) enforcement areas that federal prosecutors should 
prioritize.  These are the same enforcement priorities that have traditionally driven the 
Department’s efforts in this area. 
 
Outside of these enforcement priorities, however, the federal government has 
traditionally relied on state and local authorities to address marijuana activity through 
enforcement of their own narcotics laws. This guidance continues that policy. 
 
For states such as Colorado, Oregon and Washington that have enacted laws to 
authorize the production, distribution and possession of marijuana, the Department 
expects these states to establish strict regulatory schemes that protect the eight federal 
interests identified in the Department’s guidance. These schemes must include strong, 
state-based enforcement efforts, backed by adequate funding. Based on assurances 
that those states will impose an appropriately strict regulatory system, the Department 
has informed the governors of such states that it is deferring its right to challenge 
their legalization laws at this time.  But if any of the stated harms do materialize—
either despite a strict regulatory scheme or because of the lack of one—federal 
prosecutors will act aggressively to bring individual prosecutions focused on federal 
enforcement priorities and the Department may challenge the regulatory scheme 
themselves in these states. 
 

                                                 
3 https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-announces-update-marijuana-enforcement-policy  

https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-announces-update-marijuana-enforcement-policy
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A copy of the memorandum, sent to all United States Attorneys by Deputy Attorney 
General James M. Cole, is available below and for download here: 
https://www.justice.gov/iso/opa/resources/3052013829132756857467.pdf. 
 

https://www.justice.gov/iso/opa/resources/3052013829132756857467.pdf
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I .  Federal Law 

Sessions Memo 
The Department of Justice issued a memo on federal marijuana enforcement policy 
announcing a return to the rule of law and the rescission of previous guidance 
documents (ie Cole Memo). Since the passage of the Controlled Substances Act 
(CSA) in 1970, Congress has generally prohibited the cultivation, distribution, and 
possession of marijuana. 
  
In the memorandum, Attorney General Jeff Sessions directs all U.S. Attorneys to 
enforce the laws enacted by Congress and to follow well-established principles when 
pursuing prosecutions related to marijuana activities. This return to the rule of law is 
also a return of trust and local control to federal prosecutors who know where and 
how to deploy Justice Department resources most effectively to reduce violent crime, 
stem the tide of the drug crisis, and dismantle criminal gangs. 
  
"It is the mission of the Department of Justice to enforce the laws of the United 
States, and the previous issuance of guidance undermines the rule of law and the 
ability of our local, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement partners to carry out this 
mission," said Attorney General Jeff Sessions. "Therefore, today's memo on federal 
marijuana enforcement simply directs all U.S. Attorneys to use previously established 
prosecutorial principles that provide them all the necessary tools to disrupt criminal 
organizations, tackle the growing drug crisis, and thwart violent crime across our 
country."4 
 
A copy of the memorandum is available below and for download here: 
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-issues-memo-marijuana-
enforcement  
 
Enforcement 
U.S. Department of Justice 

                                                 
4 https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-issues-memo-marijuana-enforcement 
 

https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-issues-memo-marijuana-enforcement
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-issues-memo-marijuana-enforcement
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-issues-memo-marijuana-enforcement
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I I .  Preemption Overview 

II. State Law 

Preemption Overview  
The preemption doctrine states that a higher authority of law will displace the law of a 
lower authority of law when the two authorities come into conflict.  
 
Article VI, paragraph 2, of the U.S. Constitution makes federal law "the supreme law 
of the land," notwithstanding the contrary law any state might have.5 This is 
commonly known as the “Supremacy Clause.” 
 
When state law and federal law conflict, federal law displaces, or preempts, state law, 
due to the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution. U.S. Const. art. VI., § 2. Preemption 
applies regardless of whether the conflicting laws come from legislatures, courts, 
administrative agencies, or constitutions. For example, the Voting Rights Act, an act 
of Congress, preempts state constitutions, and FDA regulations may preempt state 
court judgments in cases involving prescription drugs. 
 
Citation 
U.S. Const. art. VI., § 2. 
“This Constitution, and the laws of the United States which shall be made in 
pursuance thereof; and all treaties made, or which shall be made, under the authority 
of the United States, shall be the supreme law of the land; and the judges in every 
state shall be bound thereby, anything in the Constitution or laws of any State to the 
contrary notwithstanding.” 
 
 
With certain exceptions, for the sale of legal products such as tobacco, alcohol, and 
marijuana, Oregon state law does not preempt local jurisdictions from creating 
regulations on the 

• time, 
• place, or 
• manner 

of sales. As a result, local jurisdiction are not prevented from enacting local 
ordinances such as addressing pricing strategies or limiting the hours an establishment 
operates. 
 
 

                                                 

http://topics.law.cornell.edu/wex/Supremacy_Clause
http://www.law.cornell.edu/constitution/constitution.articlevi.html#content
http://topics.law.cornell.edu/wex/voting_rights_act
http://www.law.cornell.edu/constitution/constitution.articlevi.html#content
http://www.law.cornell.edu/constitution/constitution.articlevi.html#content
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Time, Place and Manner Regulations for Local Jurisdictions 
Local jurisdictions can impose regulations on the time, place and manner of marijuana 
sales, including limiting where marijuana producers, processors, wholesalers and 
retailers can conduct business in their area, with a few restrictions. However, ORS 
475B.454 preempts local jurisdictions from making laws that would conflict with ORS 
475B.010 to 475B.545. If you have questions about whether the local law is a 
permissible time, place, or manner restriction versus whether it is preempted by ORS 
475B.454, consult with your legal counsel.  
 
Enforcement: 
Local jurisdiction 
 

Citation:  

475B.486 Local time, place and manner regulations. (1) For purposes of this 
section, “reasonable regulations” includes: 

      (a) Reasonable conditions on the manner in which a marijuana producer that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.070 may produce marijuana or in which a 
researcher of cannabis that holds a certificate issued under ORS 475B.286 may 
produce marijuana or propagate immature marijuana plants; 

      (b) Reasonable conditions on the manner in which a marijuana processor that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.090 may process marijuana or in which a 
researcher of cannabis that holds a certificate issued under ORS 475B.286 may 
process marijuana; 

      (c) Reasonable conditions on the manner in which a marijuana wholesaler that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.100 may sell marijuana at wholesale; 

      (d) Reasonable conditions on the manner in which a marijuana retailer that holds a 
license issued under ORS 475B.105 may sell marijuana items; 

      (e) Reasonable limitations on the hours during which a premises for which a 
license has been issued under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 may operate; 

      (f) Reasonable requirements related to the public’s access to a premises for which 
a license or certificate has been issued under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545; and 
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      (g) Reasonable limitations on where a premises for which a license or certificate 
may be issued under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 may be located. 

      (2) Notwithstanding ORS 30.935, 215.253 (1) or 633.738, the governing body of a 
city or county may adopt ordinances that impose reasonable regulations on the 
operation of businesses located at premises for which a license or certificate has been 
issued under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 if the premises are located in the area 
subject to the jurisdiction of the city or county, except that the governing body of a 
city or county may not: 

      (a) Adopt an ordinance that prohibits a premises for which a license has been 
issued under ORS 475B.105 from being located within a distance that is greater than 
1,000 feet of another premises for which a license has been issued under ORS 
475B.105. 

      (b) Adopt an ordinance that imposes a setback requirement for an agricultural 
building used to produce marijuana located on a premises for which a license has been 
issued under ORS 475B.070 if the agricultural building: 

      (A) Was constructed on or before July 1, 2015, in compliance with all applicable 
land use and building code requirements at the time of construction; 

      (B) Is located at an address where a marijuana grow site first registered with the 
Oregon Health Authority under ORS 475B.810 on or before January 1, 2015; 

      (C) Was used to produce marijuana pursuant to the provisions of ORS 475B.785 
to 475B.949 on or before January 1, 2015; and 

      (D) Has four opaque walls and a roof. [Formerly 475B.340] 
 
 
475B.454 Preemption of municipal charter amendments and local ordinances 
475B.454 Preemption of municipal charter amendments and local ordinances. 
The provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 are designed to operate uniformly 
throughout the state and are paramount and superior to and fully replace and 
supersede any municipal charter amendment or local ordinance inconsistent with the 
provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545. Amendments and ordinances that are 
inconsistent with the provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 are repealed. 
[Formerly 475B.320] 
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Local Tax or Fee Preemptions for Recreational Marijuana 
Oregon state law preempts local jurisdictions from imposing a tax or fee on retail 
marijuana greater than three percent.  
 
Local jurisdictions are preempted from imposing a fee or tax on medical marijuana. 
 
 
Enforcement: 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation: 475B.491 Local tax or fee; referral to electors for approval. (1)(a) Except 
as expressly authorized by this section, the authority to impose a tax or fee on the 
production, processing or sale of marijuana items in this state is vested solely in the 
Legislative Assembly. 

      (b) Except as expressly authorized by this section, a county, city or other 
municipal corporation or district may not adopt or enact ordinances imposing a tax or 
fee on the production, processing or sale of marijuana items in this state. 

      (2) Subject to subsection (4) of this section, the governing body of a city or county 
may adopt an ordinance to be referred to the electors of the city or county as 
described in subsection (3) of this section that imposes a tax or a fee on the sale of 
marijuana items that are sold in the area subject to the jurisdiction of the city or the 
unincorporated area subject to the jurisdiction of a county by a marijuana retailer that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.105. 

      (3) If the governing body of a city or county adopts an ordinance under this 
section, the governing body shall refer the measure of the ordinance to the electors of 
the city or county for approval at the next statewide general election. 

      (4) An ordinance adopted under this section may not impose a tax or fee: 

      (a) In excess of three percent; or 

      (b) On a registry identification cardholder or on a designated primary caregiver 
who is purchasing a marijuana item for a registry identification cardholder. [Formerly 
475B.345] 
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Marijuana establishments in local jurisdictions 
Local jurisdictions can prohibit marijuana establishments from operating in in their 
jurisdiction by passing an ordinance which prohibits marijuana production, 
processing, wholesale, retail and medical marijuana dispensaries.  
 
Local Jurisdictions can allow marijuana processors, producers, wholesalers, retailers 
and medical marijuana dispensaries in their community by repealing an existing 
ordinance to prohibit marijuana establishments. 
 
Enforcement 
Local Jurisdiction 
 
Citation 
475B.461 Prohibition against operation of premises for which license issued; 
petition; election.  
(1) The governing body of a city or a county, when a petition is filed as provided in 
this section, shall order an election on the question as to whether the operation of 
premises for which a license has been issued under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 
should be prohibited in the city or county. 
      (2) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the requirements for preparing, 
circulating and filing a petition under this section: 
      (a) In the case of a city, must be as provided for an initiative petition under ORS 
250.265 to 250.346. 
      (b) In the case of a county, must be as provided for an initiative petition under 
ORS 250.165 to 250.235. 
      (3) A petition under this section: 
      (a) Must be filed not less than 60 days before the day of the election; and 
      (b) Must be signed by not less than 10 percent of the electors registered in the city 
or county. 
      (4) If ORS 250.155 makes ORS 250.165 to 250.235 inapplicable to a county or if 
ORS 250.255 makes ORS 250.265 to 250.346 inapplicable to a city, the requirements 
for preparing, circulating and filing a petition under this section must be as provided 
for an initiative petition under the county or city charter or an ordinance adopted 
under the county or city charter. 
      (5) A signature is not valid unless signed within 180 days before the petition is 
filed. 
      (6) An election under this section must be held at the time of the next statewide 
general election. 
      (7) An election under this section must be conducted under ORS chapters 246 to 
260. [Formerly 475B.325] 
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475B.496  Repeal of city, county ordinance that prohibits certain 
establishments 
 (1) The governing body of a city or county may repeal an ordinance that prohibits the 
establishment of any one or more of the following in the area subject to the 
jurisdiction of the city or in the unincorporated area subject to the jurisdiction of the 
county: 
      (a) Marijuana processing sites registered under ORS 475B.840; 
      (b) Medical marijuana dispensaries registered under ORS 475B.858; 
      (c) Marijuana producers that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.070; 
      (d) Marijuana processors that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.090; 
      (e) Marijuana wholesalers that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.100; 
      (f) Marijuana retailers that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.105; 
      (g) Marijuana producers that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.070 and that 
the Oregon Liquor Control Commission has designated as an exclusively medical 
licensee under ORS 475B.122; 
      (h) Marijuana processors that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.090 and that 
the commission has designated as an exclusively medical licensee under ORS 
475B.127; 
      (i) Marijuana wholesalers that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.100 and that 
the commission has designated as an exclusively medical licensee under ORS 
475B.129; 
      (j) Marijuana retailers that hold a license issued under ORS 475B.105 and that the 
commission has designated as an exclusively medical licensee under ORS 475B.131; or 
      (k) Any combination of the entities described in this subsection. 
      (2) If the governing body of a city or county repeals an ordinance under this 
section, the governing body must provide the text of the ordinance: 
      (a) To the Oregon Health Authority, in a form and manner prescribed by the 
authority, if the ordinance concerns a medical marijuana dispensary registered under 
ORS 475B.858 or a marijuana processing site registered under ORS 475B.840; or 
      (b) To the commission, in a form and manner prescribed by the commission, if 
the ordinance concerns a premises for which a license has been issued under ORS 
475B.010 to 475B.545. [2016 c.24 §30; 2017 c.183 §29] 
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III. Recreational License Types  
 
Marijuana Production License 
The production of marijuana is subject to regulation by the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 
ORS 475B.070 Production license; fees; rules. The production of marijuana is 
subject to regulation by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 

      (2) A marijuana producer must have a production license issued by the 
commission for the premises at which the marijuana is produced. To hold a 
production license issued under this section, a marijuana producer: 

      (a) Must apply for a license in the manner described in ORS 475B.040; 

      (b) Must provide proof that the applicant is 21 years of age or older; and 

      (c) Must meet the requirements of any rule adopted by the commission under 
subsection (3) of this section. 

      (3) The commission shall adopt rules that: 

      (a) Require a marijuana producer to annually renew a license issued under this 
section; 

      (b) Establish application, licensure and renewal of licensure fees for marijuana 
producers; 

      (c) Require marijuana produced by marijuana producers to be tested in accordance 
with ORS 475B.555; 

      (d) Assist the viability of marijuana producers that are independently owned and 
operated and that are limited in size and revenue with respect to other marijuana 
producers, by minimizing barriers to entry into the regulated system and by 
expanding, to the extent practicable, transportation options that will support their 
access to the retail market; 
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      (e) Allow a marijuana producer registered under ORS 475B.136 to produce 
marijuana for medical purposes in the same manner that rules adopted under ORS 
475B.010 to 475B.545 allow a marijuana producer to produce marijuana for 
nonmedical purposes, excepting those circumstances where differentiating between 
the production of marijuana for medical purposes and the production of marijuana 
for nonmedical purposes is necessary to protect the public health and safety; 

      (f) Require marijuana producers to submit, at the time of applying for or renewing 
a license under ORS 475B.040, a report describing the applicant’s or licensee’s 
electrical or water usage; and 

      (g) Require a marijuana producer to meet any public health and safety standards 
and industry best practices established by the commission by rule related to the 
production of marijuana or the propagation of immature marijuana plants and 
marijuana seeds. 

      (4) Fees adopted under subsection (3)(b) of this section: 

      (a) May not exceed, together with other fees collected under ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545, the cost of administering ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545; 

      (b) Shall be in the form of a schedule that imposes a greater fee for premises with 
more square footage or on which more marijuana plants are grown; and 

      (c) Shall be deposited in the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund established 
under ORS 475B.296. [2015 c.1 §19; 2015 c.614 §12; 2016 c.24 §1; 2016 c.83 §7; 2017 
c.183 §56] 
 
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html  Accessed 27 March 2018 
 
 
Marijuana Processor License 
The processing of marijuana is subject to regulation by the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html
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ORS 475B.090 Processor license; fees; rules. (1) The processing of marijuana items 
is subject to regulation by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 

      (2) A marijuana processor must have a processor license issued by the commission 
for the premises at which marijuana items are processed. To hold a processor license 
under this section, a marijuana processor: 

      (a) Must apply for a license in the manner described in ORS 475B.040; 

      (b) Must provide proof that the applicant is 21 years of age or older; 

      (c) If the marijuana processor processes marijuana extracts, may not be located in 
an area zoned exclusively for residential use; and 

      (d) Must meet the requirements of any rule adopted by the commission under 
subsection (3) of this section. 

      (3) The commission shall adopt rules that: 

      (a) Require a marijuana processor to annually renew a license issued under this 
section; 

      (b) Establish application, licensure and renewal of licensure fees for marijuana 
processors; 

      (c) Require marijuana processed by a marijuana processor to be tested in 
accordance with ORS 475B.555; 

      (d) Allow a marijuana processor registered under ORS 475B.139 to process 
marijuana and usable marijuana into medical grade cannabinoid products, cannabinoid 
concentrates and cannabinoid extracts in the same manner that rules adopted under 
ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 allow a marijuana processor to process marijuana and 
usable marijuana into general use cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates 
and cannabinoid extracts, excepting those circumstances where differentiating 
between the processing of medical grade cannabinoid products, cannabinoid 
concentrates and cannabinoid extracts and the processing of general use cannabinoid 
products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts is necessary to protect 
the public health and safety; and 

      (e) Require a marijuana processor to meet any public health and safety standards 
and industry best practices established by the commission by rule related to: 
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      (A) Cannabinoid edibles; 

      (B) Cannabinoid concentrates; 

      (C) Cannabinoid extracts; and 

      (D) Any other type of cannabinoid product identified by the commission by rule. 

      (4) Fees adopted under subsection (3)(b) of this section: 

      (a) May not exceed, together with other fees collected under ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545, the cost of administering ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545; and 

      (b) Shall be deposited in the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund established 
under ORS 475B.296. [2015 c.1 §20; 2015 c.614 §14; 2016 c.24 §2; 2016 c.83 §8] 
 
 
Marijuana Wholesale License 
The license to sell marijuana items at wholesale is subject to regulation by the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 
475B.100 Wholesale license; fees; rules. (1) The wholesale sale of marijuana items 
is subject to regulation by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 

      (2) A marijuana wholesaler must have a wholesale license issued by the 
commission for the premises at which marijuana items are received, stored or 
delivered. To hold a wholesale license under this section, a marijuana wholesaler: 

      (a) Must apply for a license in the manner described in ORS 475B.040; 

      (b) Must provide proof that the applicant is 21 years of age or older; 

      (c) May not be located in an area that is zoned exclusively for residential use; and 

      (d) Must meet the requirements of any rule adopted by the commission under 
subsection (3) of this section. 
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      (3) The commission shall adopt rules that: 

      (a) Require a marijuana wholesaler to annually renew a license issued under this 
section; 

      (b) Establish application, licensure and renewal of licensure fees for marijuana 
wholesalers; 

      (c) Require marijuana items received, stored or delivered by a marijuana 
wholesaler to be tested in accordance with ORS 475B.555; 

      (d) Allow a marijuana wholesaler registered under ORS 475B.144 to sell medical 
grade cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts at 
wholesale in the same manner that rules adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 
allow a marijuana wholesaler to sell general use cannabinoid products, cannabinoid 
concentrates and cannabinoid extracts at wholesale, excepting those circumstances 
where differentiating between the sale of medical grade cannabinoid products, 
cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts and the sale of general use 
cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts is necessary 
to protect the public health and safety; and 

      (e) Require a marijuana wholesaler to meet any public health and safety standards 
and industry best practices established by the commission by rule. 

      (4) Fees adopted under subsection (3)(b) of this section: 

      (a) May not exceed, together with other fees collected under ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545, the cost of administering ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545; and 

      (b) Shall be deposited in the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund established 
under ORS 475B.296. [2015 c.1 §21; 2015 c.614 §15; 2016 c.24 §3; 2016 c.83 §9] 
 
 
Marijuana Retail License 
The license to sell marijuana items at retail is subject to regulation by the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
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Citation 
475B.105 Retail license; sale of medical grade items; fees; rules. (1) The retail 
sale of marijuana items is subject to regulation by the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission. 

      (2) A marijuana retailer must have a retail license issued by the commission for the 
premises at which marijuana items are sold. To hold a retail license under this section, 
a marijuana retailer: 

      (a) Must apply for a license in the manner described in ORS 475B.040; 

      (b) Must provide proof that the applicant is 21 years of age or older; 

      (c) May not be located in an area that is zoned exclusively for residential use; 

      (d) Except as provided in ORS 475B.109, may not be located within 1,000 feet of: 

      (A) A public elementary or secondary school for which attendance is compulsory 
under ORS 339.020; or 

      (B) A private or parochial elementary or secondary school, teaching children as 
described in ORS 339.030 (1)(a); and 

      (e) Must meet the requirements of any rule adopted by the commission under 
subsection (3) of this section. 

      (3) The commission shall adopt rules that: 

      (a) Require a marijuana retailer to annually renew a license issued under this 
section; 

      (b) Establish application, licensure and renewal of licensure fees for marijuana 
retailers; 

      (c) Require marijuana items sold by a marijuana retailer to be tested in accordance 
with ORS 475B.555; 

      (d) Notwithstanding ORS 475B.206, allow a marijuana retailer to deliver marijuana 
items to another marijuana retailer that is owned by the same or substantially the same 
persons; 
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      (e) Subject to the limitations and privileges described in ORS 475B.146 (3), allow a 
marijuana retailer registered under ORS 475B.146 to sell medical grade cannabinoid 
products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts at retail in the same 
manner that rules adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 allow a marijuana 
retailer to sell general use cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and 
cannabinoid extracts at retail, excepting those circumstances where differentiating 
between the sale of medical grade cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates 
and cannabinoid extracts and the sale of general use cannabinoid products, 
cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts is necessary to protect the public 
health and safety; and 

      (f) Require a marijuana retailer to meet any public health and safety standards and 
industry best practices established by the commission by rule. 

      (4) Fees adopted under subsection (3)(b) of this section: 

      (a) May not exceed, together with other fees collected under ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545, the cost of administering ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545; and 

      (b) Shall be deposited in the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund established 
under ORS 475B.296. [Formerly 475B.110] 
 
 

Medical License types 
Medical Marijuana Producer License 
The license to exclusively produce medical marijuana is subject to regulation by the 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation: 
475B.122 Exclusively medical licensee designation for marijuana producer. (1) 
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission shall designate any marijuana producer that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.070 and that is registered under ORS 
475B.136 as an exclusively medical licensee if the marijuana producer attests, in a 
form and manner prescribed by the commission, to: 

      (a) Producing marijuana only for medical purposes; and 
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      (b) Transferring usable marijuana only to marijuana processors registered under 
ORS 475B.139, marijuana wholesalers registered under ORS 475B.144, marijuana 
retailers registered under ORS 475B.146, registry identification cardholders and 
designated primary caregivers. 

      (2) If the commission makes a designation under this section, the commission 
shall keep a record of the designation. [2017 c.183 §24] 
 
 
Medical Marijuana Processor License 
The license to exclusively process medical marijuana is subject to regulation by the 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation: 
475B.127 Exclusively medical licensee designation for marijuana processor. (1) 
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission shall designate any marijuana processor that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.090 and that is registered under ORS 
475B.139 as an exclusively medical licensee if the marijuana processor attests, in a 
form and manner prescribed by the commission, to: 

      (a) Processing marijuana only for medical purposes; 

      (b) Receiving usable marijuana only from a marijuana producer registered under 
ORS 475B.136; and 

      (c) Transferring cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid 
extracts only to marijuana wholesalers registered under ORS 475B.144, marijuana 
retailers registered under ORS 475B.146, registry identification cardholders and 
designated primary caregivers. 

      (2) If the commission makes a designation under this section, the commission 
shall keep a record of the designation. [2017 c.183 §25] 
 
Medical Marijuana Wholesale License 
The license to exclusively sell medical marijuana at wholesale is subject to regulation 
by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 
 



 

28 
 

I I I . R ecreational License Types 

Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation: 
475B.129 Exclusively medical licensee designation for marijuana wholesaler. 
(1) The Oregon Liquor Control Commission shall designate any marijuana wholesaler 
that holds a license issued under ORS 475B.100 and that is registered under ORS 
475B.144 as an exclusively medical licensee if the marijuana wholesaler attests, in a 
form and manner prescribed by the commission, to: 
      (a) Selling marijuana items only for a medical purposes; 
      (b) Receiving usable marijuana only from marijuana producers registered under 
ORS 475B.136 and marijuana processors registered under ORS 475B.139; 
      (c) Receiving cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid 
extracts only from a marijuana processor registered under ORS 475B.139; and 
      (d) Transferring usable marijuana, cannabinoid products, cannabinoid 
concentrates and cannabinoid extracts only to marijuana retailers registered under 
ORS 475B.146. 
      (2) If the commission makes a designation under this section, the commission 
shall keep a record of the designation. [2017 c.183 §26] 
 

475B.144 Wholesale selling for medical purposes; rules. (1) To sell marijuana 
items at wholesale for medical purposes, a marijuana wholesaler that holds a license 
issued under ORS 475B.100 must register with the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission under this section. 

      (2) The commission shall register a marijuana wholesaler for the purpose of selling 
marijuana items at wholesale for medical purposes if the marijuana wholesaler: 

      (a) Holds a license under ORS 475B.100; 

      (b) Meets any qualifications adopted by the commission by rule; 

      (c) Applies to the commission in a form and manner prescribed by the 
commission; and 

      (d) Pays any fee adopted by the commission by rule. 
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      (3) A marijuana wholesaler registered under this section may sell medical grade 
cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts at 
wholesale. 

      (4) The commission shall adopt rules necessary to administer this section. The 
rules must provide that any fee adopted by the commission under subsection (2)(d) of 
this section be in an amount reasonably calculated to not exceed, together with other 
fees collected under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545, the cost of administering ORS 
475B.010 to 475B.545. [2016 c.83 §4; 2017 c.183 §21] 
 
 
Medical Marijuana Retail License 
The license to exclusively sell medical marijuana at wholesale is subject to regulation 
by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation: 
   475B.131 Exclusively medical licensee designation for marijuana retailer. (1) 
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission shall designate any marijuana retailer that 
holds a license issued under ORS 475B.105 and that is registered under ORS 
475B.146 as an exclusively medical licensee if the marijuana retailer attests, in a form 
and manner prescribed by the commission, to: 
      (a) Selling marijuana items only for medical purposes; 
      (b) Receiving usable marijuana only from marijuana producers registered under 
ORS 475B.136, marijuana processors registered under ORS 475B.139 and marijuana 
wholesalers registered under ORS 475B.144; 
      (c) Receiving cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid 
extracts only from a marijuana processor registered under ORS 475B.139 and 
marijuana wholesalers registered under ORS 475B.144; and 
      (d) Transferring usable marijuana, cannabinoid products, cannabinoid 
concentrates and cannabinoid extracts only to registry identification cardholders and 
designated primary caregivers. 
      (2) If the commission makes a designation under this section, the commission 
shall keep a record of the designation. [2017 c.183 §27] 
 

 475B.146 Retail selling for medical purposes; rules. (1) To sell marijuana items at 
retail for medical purposes, a marijuana retailer that holds a license issued under ORS 
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475B.105 must register with the Oregon Liquor Control Commission under this 
section. 

      (2) The commission shall register a marijuana retailer for the purpose of selling 
marijuana items at retail for medical purposes if the marijuana retailer: 

      (a) Holds a license issued under ORS 475B.105; 

      (b) Meets any qualifications adopted by the commission by rule; 

      (c) Applies to the commission in a form and manner prescribed by the 
commission; and 

      (d) Pays any fee adopted by the commission by rule. 

      (3) A marijuana retailer registered under this section: 

      (a) May sell medical grade cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and 
cannabinoid extracts to registry identification cardholders and designated primary 
caregivers; 

      (b) May not sell medical grade cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates 
and cannabinoid extracts to individuals other than registry identification cardholders 
and designated primary caregivers; 

      (c) May sell usable marijuana and medical grade cannabinoid products, 
cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts to registry identification 
cardholders and designated primary caregivers at a discounted price; and 

      (d) May provide, for no consideration, usable marijuana and medical grade 
cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates and cannabinoid extracts to a registry 
identification cardholder and the designated primary caregiver of the registry 
identification cardholder. 

      (4)(a) The commission shall adopt rules necessary to administer this section. 

      (b) The rules must provide that any fee adopted by the commission under 
subsection (2)(d) of this section be in an amount reasonably calculated to not exceed, 
together with other fees collected under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545, the cost of 
administering ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545. [2016 c.83 §5; 2017 c.183 §22] 
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License Compliance 
All licensees are required to follow the statues and rules for their license type. 
 
Enforcement: 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation: 475B.256 Grounds for revocation, suspension or restriction of license. 
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may revoke, suspend or restrict a license 
issued under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 or require a licensee or licensee 
representative to undergo training if the commission finds or has reasonable ground 
to believe any of the following to be true: 

      (1) That the licensee or licensee representative: 

      (a) Has violated a provision of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 or a rule adopted 
under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545. 

      (b) Has made any false representation or statement to the commission in order to 
induce or prevent action by the commission. 

      (c) Is insolvent or incompetent or physically unable to carry on the management 
of the establishment of the licensee. 

      (d) Is in the habit of using alcoholic liquor, habit-forming drugs, marijuana or 
controlled substances to excess. 

      (e) Has misrepresented to a customer or the public any marijuana items sold by 
the licensee or licensee representative. 

      (f) Since the issuance of the license, has been convicted of a felony, of violating 
any of the marijuana laws of this state, general or local, or of any misdemeanor or 
violation of any municipal ordinance committed on the premises for which the license 
has been issued. 

      (2) That there is any other reason that, in the opinion of the commission, based 
on public convenience or necessity, warrants revoking, suspending or restricting the 
license. [Formerly 475B.210] 
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IV.  Smoke, vapor and aerosol-free environments:  
Public use of Marijuana 
A person is not allowed to use marijuana in a public place. 
 
Enforcement 
Law enforcement officers of the state  
 
Citation 
475B.015 Definitions for ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545. As used in ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545: 
(34) “Public place” means a place to which the general public has access and includes, 
but is not limited to, hallways, lobbies and other parts of apartment houses and hotels 
not constituting rooms or apartments designed for actual residence, and highways, 
streets, schools, places of amusement, parks, playgrounds and areas used in 
connection with public passenger transportation. 
 
475B.381 Prohibition against using marijuana item in public place.  
      (1) It is unlawful for any person to engage in the use of marijuana items in a public 
place. 
      (2) A violation of subsection (1) of this section is a Class B violation. [Formerly 
475B.280] 
 
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html Accessed 27 March 
2018 
 
 
Oregon’s Indoor Clean Air Act 
The Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA) prohibits smoking, vaporizing or 
aerosolizing in most public places and places of employment. The ICAA applies to all 
types of inhalants (ORS 431A.175), including cannabis. Additionally, smoking, 
vaporizing or aerosolizing is not permitted within ten feet of any entrance, exit, 
window that opens, or air-intake vent. Exceptions to these restrictions include 
smoking in certified smoke shops, certified cigar bars, and up to 25 percent of 
motel/hotel rooms; and smoking of non-commercial tobacco for American Indian 
ceremonial purposes.  
 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html
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OHA is responsible for enforcement. The ICAA is a complaint-driven law; OHA may 
respond to complaints, inspect public places, and issue citations and penalties for 
violating the law. Multiple offenses may result in issuance of a civil penalty.  
 
Enforcement  
Oregon Health Authority and Local Public Health Authorities (LPHAs) (delegated) 
                 
Citation 
OREGON INDOOR CLEAN AIR ACT 
433.835 Definitions for ORS 433.835 to 433.875. As used in ORS 433.835 to 
433.875: 
     (1) “Cigar bar” means a business that: 
     (a) Has on-site sales of cigars as defined in ORS 323.500; 
     (b) Has a humidor on the premises; 
     (c) Allows the smoking of cigars on the premises but prohibits the smoking, 
aerosolizing or vaporizing of other inhalants on the premises; 
     (d) Has been issued and operates under a full on-premises sales license issued 
under ORS 471.175; 
     (e) Prohibits persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises and posts 
notice of the prohibition; 
     (f) Does not offer video lottery games as authorized under ORS 461.217; 
     (g) Has a maximum seating capacity of 40 persons; 
     (h) Has a ventilation system that exhausts smoke from the business and is designed 
and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards for the 
occupancy classification in use; and 
     (i) Requires all employees to read and sign a document that explains the dangers of 
exposure to secondhand smoke. 
     (2) “Enclosed area” means the entirety of the space between a floor and a ceiling 
that is enclosed on three or more sides by permanent or temporary walls or windows, 
exclusive of doors or passageways, that extend from the floor to the ceiling. 
     (3) “Inhalant” means nicotine, a cannabinoid or any other substance that: 
     (a) Is in a form that allows the nicotine, cannabinoid or substance to be delivered 
into a person’s respiratory system; 
     (b) Is inhaled for the purpose of delivering the nicotine, cannabinoid or other 
substance into a person’s respiratory system; and 
     (c)(A) Is not approved by, or emitted by a device approved by, the United States 
Food and Drug Administration for a therapeutic purpose; or 
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     (B) If approved by, or emitted by a device approved by, the United States Food 
and Drug Administration for a therapeutic purpose, is not marketed and sold solely 
for that purpose. 
     (4)(a) “Place of employment” means an enclosed area under the control of a public 
or private employer, including work areas, employee lounges, vehicles that are 
operated in the course of an employer’s business and that are not operated exclusively 
by one employee, rest rooms, conference rooms, classrooms, cafeterias, hallways, 
meeting rooms, elevators and stairways. 
     (b) “Place of employment” does not include a private residence unless it is used as 
a child care facility as defined in ORS 329A.250 or a facility providing adult day care 
as defined in ORS 410.490. 
     (5) “Public place” means an enclosed area open to the public. 
     (6) “Smoke shop” means a business that is certified with the Oregon Health 
Authority as a smoke shop pursuant to the rules adopted under ORS 433.847. 
     (7) “Smoking instrument” means any cigar, cigarette, pipe or other instrument 
used to smoke tobacco, cannabis or any other inhalant. [1981 c.384 §2; 2001 c.990 §1; 
2007 c.602 §1; 2009 c.595 §684; 2011 c.601 §1; 2015 c.158 §14; 2017 c.21 §108; 2017 
c.732 §1] 
  
     433.840 Policy. The people of Oregon find that because exposure to secondhand 
smoke, certain exhaled small particulate matter or other exhaled toxins is known to 
cause cancer and other chronic diseases such as heart disease, asthma and bronchitis, 
it is necessary to reduce exposure to such smoke, matter or toxins by prohibiting the 
smoking, aerosolizing or vaporizing of inhalants in all public places and places of 
employment. [1981 c.384 §1; 2007 c.602 §2; 2015 c.158 §15] 
  
     433.845 Prohibition on aerosolizing, smoking or vaporizing in public place 
or place of employment. (1) A person may not smoke, aerosolize or vaporize an 
inhalant or carry a lighted smoking instrument in a public place or place of 
employment except as provided in ORS 433.850. 
     (2) A person may not smoke, aerosolize or vaporize an inhalant or carry a lighted 
smoking instrument within 10 feet of the following parts of public places or places of 
employment: 
     (a) Entrances; 
     (b) Exits; 
     (c) Windows that open; and 
     (d) Ventilation intakes that serve an enclosed area. 
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     (3) A person may not smoke, aerosolize or vaporize an inhalant or carry a lighted 
smoking instrument in a room during the time that jurors are required to use the 
room. [1981 c.384 §3; 1985 c.752 §1; 2007 c.602 §3; 2015 c.158 §16] 
  
     433.847 Smoke shop certification; rules. (1) The Oregon Health Authority shall 
adopt rules establishing a certification system for smoke shops. In adopting such 
rules, the authority shall prohibit the smoking, aerosolizing or vaporizing of inhalants 
that are not tobacco products in smoke shops. 
     (2) The authority shall issue a smoke shop certification to a business that: 
     (a)(A) Is primarily engaged in the sale, for off-premises consumption or use, of 
tobacco products and smoking instruments used to smoke tobacco products, with at 
least 75 percent of the gross revenues of the business resulting from such sales; 
     (B) Prohibits persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises; 
     (C) Does not offer video lottery games as authorized under ORS 461.217, social 
gaming or betting on the premises; 
     (D) Does not sell or offer food or beverages and does not sell, offer or allow on-
premises consumption of alcoholic beverages; 
     (E) Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property 
attached to the premises; 
     (F) Has a maximum seating capacity of four persons; and 
     (G) Allows the smoking of tobacco product samples only for the purpose of 
making retail purchase decisions; 
     (b) On December 31, 2008: 
     (A) Met the requirements of paragraph (a)(A) to (D) of this subsection; and 
     (B)(i) Was a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property 
attached; or 
     (ii) Had a ventilation system that exhausted smoke from the business and was 
designed and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards for the 
occupancy classification in use; or 
     (c)(A) Was certified as a smoke shop under ORS 433.835, as in effect immediately 
before June 30, 2011, by the authority on or before December 31, 2012; and 
     (B) Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 
     (3) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(b) of this section must renew the 
smoke shop certification every five years by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 
authority that the smoke shop: 
     (a)(A) Meets the requirements of subsection (2)(a)(A) to (D) of this section; and 
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     (B)(i) Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property 
attached; or 
     (ii) Has a ventilation system that exhausts smoke from the business and is designed 
and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards for the 
occupancy classification in use; and 
     (b) Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 
     (4) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(c) of this section must renew the 
smoke shop certification every five years by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 
authority that the smoke shop: 
     (a) Meets the requirements of ORS 433.835, as in effect immediately before June 
30, 2011; and 
     (b) Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 
     (5) The owner of a smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(b) or (c) of this 
section may transfer the certification with ownership of the smoke shop if the transfer 
is made in accordance with rules adopted by the authority. 
     (6) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(b) of this section may continue to 
be certified in a new location under subsection (2)(b) of this section if: 
     (a)(A) The new location occupies no more than 3,500 square feet; or 
     (B) If the old location occupied more than 3,500 square feet, the new location 
occupies no more than 110 percent of the space occupied by the old location; and 
     (b) The smoke shop as operated in the new location: 
     (A) Meets the requirements of subsection (2)(a)(A) to (D) of this section; 
     (B)(i) Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property 
attached; or 
     (ii) Has a ventilation system that exhausts smoke from the business and is designed 
and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards for the 
occupancy classification in use; and 
     (C) Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 
     (7) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(c) of this section may continue to 
be certified in a new location under subsection (2)(c) of this section if: 
     (a)(A) The new location occupies no more than 3,500 square feet; or 
     (B) If the old location occupied more than 3,500 square feet, the new location 
occupies no more than 110 percent of the space occupied by the old location; and 
     (b) The smoke shop as operated in the new location: 
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     (A) Meets the requirements of ORS 433.835, as in effect immediately before June 
30, 2011; and 
     (B) Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 
     (8) Rules adopted under this section must provide that, in order to obtain a smoke 
shop certification, a business must agree to allow the authority to make unannounced 
inspections of the business to determine compliance with ORS 433.835 to 433.875. 
[2011 c.601 §3; 2015 c.51 §1; 2015 c.158 §17; 2017 c.701 §12] 
  
     433.850 Prohibition on aerosolizing, smoking or vaporizing in place of 
employment; exceptions; posting signs. (1) An employer: 
     (a) Shall provide for employees a place of employment that is free of all smoke, 
aerosols and vapors containing inhalants; and 
     (b) May not allow employees to smoke, aerosolize or vaporize inhalants at the 
place of employment. 
     (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section: 
     (a) The owner or person in charge of a hotel or motel may designate up to 25 
percent of the sleeping rooms of the hotel or motel as rooms in which the smoking, 
aerosolizing or vaporizing of inhalants is permitted. 
     (b) Smoking of noncommercial tobacco products for ceremonial purposes is 
permitted in spaces designated for traditional ceremonies in accordance with the 
American Indian Religious Freedom Act, 42 U.S.C. 1996. 
     (c) The smoking of tobacco products is permitted in a smoke shop. 
     (d) The smoking of cigars is permitted in a cigar bar that generated on-site retail 
sales of cigars of at least $5,000 for the calendar year ending December 31, 2006. 
     (e) A performer may smoke or carry a lighted smoking instrument that does not 
contain tobacco or cannabis, and may aerosolize or vaporize a substance that does not 
contain nicotine or a cannabinoid, while performing in a scripted stage, motion 
picture or television production if: 
     (A) The production is produced by an organization whose primary purpose is 
producing scripted productions; and 
     (B) The act of smoking, aerosolizing or vaporizing is an integral part of the 
production. 
     (f) The medical use of marijuana is permitted in the place of employment of a 
licensee of a professional licensing board as described in ORS 475B.919. 
     (3) An employer, except in those places described in subsection (2) of this section, 
shall post signs that provide notice of the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 433.875. 
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[1981 c.384 §§4,5; 2001 c.104 §161; 2001 c.990 §2; 2007 c.602 §4; 2011 c.234 §1; 2015 
c.158 §18; 2017 c.21 §109] 
  
     433.855 Duties of Oregon Health Authority; civil penalties; rules; 
limitations; compliance checks. (1) The Oregon Health Authority, in accordance 
with the provisions of ORS chapter 183: 
     (a) Shall adopt rules necessary to implement the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 
433.875; 
     (b) Is responsible for ensuring compliance with ORS 433.835 to 433.875 and rules 
adopted under ORS 433.835 to 433.875; and 
     (c) May impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500 per day for each violation of 
ORS 433.845 or 433.850 or a rule adopted under ORS 433.835 to 433.875. Penalties 
imposed under this paragraph must be collected in the manner provided in ORS 
441.705 to 441.745. All moneys recovered under this paragraph shall be paid into the 
State Treasury and credited to: 
     (A) The Tobacco Use Reduction Account established under ORS 431A.153, if the 
violation concerns nicotine; or 
     (B) The Oregon Health Authority Fund established under ORS 413.101, if the 
violation concerns an inhalant other than nicotine. 
     (2) In carrying out its duties under this section, the authority is not authorized to 
require any changes in ventilation or barriers in a public place or place of 
employment. This subsection does not limit the power of the authority to enforce the 
requirements of any other provision of law. 
     (3) In public places that the authority regularly inspects, the authority shall check 
for compliance with the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 433.875. In other public places 
and places of employment, the authority shall respond to complaints, notifying the 
proprietor or person in charge of the requirements of ORS 433.835 to 433.875. If 
repeated complaints are received, the authority may take appropriate action to ensure 
compliance. 
     (4) When a county has assumed responsibility of the duties and responsibilities 
under ORS 446.425 and 448.100, or contracted with the authority under ORS 
190.110, the county is responsible for enforcing the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 
433.875 and has the same enforcement power as the authority. [1981 c.384 §6; 1991 
c.734 §21; 2001 c.104 §162; 2001 c.990 §6; 2003 c.309 §6; 2007 c.445 §36; 2007 c.602 
§5; 2009 c.595 §686; 2011 c.597 §84a; 2015 c.158 §19] 
  
     Note: Sections 29 and 31, chapter 158, Oregon Laws 2015, provide: 



 

39 
 

IV . Smoke, vapor and aerosol- free 
environments 

     Sec. 29. Report to Legislative Assembly on laws related to regulation of 
inhalant delivery systems and inhalants. (1) After July 1, 2018, the Oregon Health 
Authority shall make a report on the laws and rules of this state related to the 
regulation of inhalant delivery systems, as defined in ORS 431.840 [renumbered 
431A.175], and inhalants, as defined in ORS 433.835, that are used with inhalant 
delivery systems. The authority shall include in the report: 
     (a) A review of medical research conducted on inhalant delivery systems and of 
health impacts associated with the use of inhalant delivery systems; and 
     (b) A review of any federal law or regulation related to regulating inhalant delivery 
systems, including any applicable regulations related to the labeling and packaging of 
inhalant delivery systems adopted by the United States Food and Drug 
Administration. 
     (2) The authority shall review the consistency of the laws and rules of this state 
with respect to those federal laws and regulations and determine where the laws and 
rules of this state are inconsistent or duplicative. 
     (3) For the purpose of facilitating review by the Legislative Assembly of the laws 
and rules of this state related to the regulation of inhalant delivery systems and 
inhalants that are used with inhalant delivery systems, the authority shall report the 
authority’s findings: 
     (a) To the Legislative Assembly in the manner required by ORS 192.245 on or 
before February 1, 2019; and 
     (b) To the committees of the Legislative Assembly related to health during the 
2019 regular session of the Legislative Assembly. [2015 c.158 §29] 
     Sec. 31. Section 29 of this 2015 Act is repealed on January 2, 2020. [2015 c.158 
§31] 
  
     433.860 Enforcement. The Oregon Health Authority or local public health 
authority, as defined in ORS 431.003, may institute an action in the circuit court of 
the county where the violation occurred to enjoin repeated violations of ORS 
433.850. [1981 c.384 §7; 2009 c.595 §687; 2015 c.736 §84] 
  
     433.863 [2001 c.990 §4; repealed by 2007 c.602 §12] 
  
     433.865 [1981 c.384 §8; 2001 c.104 §163; 2007 c.445 §37; repealed by 2007 c.602 
§12] 
  
     433.870 Regulation in addition to other aerosolizing, smoking or vaporizing 
regulations. ORS 433.835 to 433.875 and rules adopted under ORS 433.835 to 
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433.875 are in addition to and not in lieu of any other law regulating the smoking, 
aerosolizing or vaporizing of inhalants. [1981 c.384 §11; 2001 c.104 §164; 2001 c.990 
§5; 2007 c.602 §6; 2015 c.158 §20] 
  
     433.875 Short title. ORS 433.835 to 433.875 and 433.990 (5) shall be cited as the 
Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act. [1981 c.384 §12; 2001 c.104 §165; 2007 c.445 §38] 
   
     433.990 Penalties.  
     (5) Violation of ORS 433.850 is a Class A violation. Fines imposed against a single 
employer under this subsection may not exceed $4,000 in any 30-day period. 
[Subsection (8) (1969 Replacement Part) enacted as 1957 c.422 §2; subsection (8) 
derived from 434.990; 1971 c.648 §23; subsection (9) enacted as 1971 c.413 §6; 
subsection (10) enacted as 1971 c.597 §7; 1973 c.779 §46; 1979 c.492 §6; 1979 c.828 
§13; subsection (5) enacted as 1981 c.384 §10; 1987 c.320 §232; 1987 c.600 §16; 1999 
c.1051 §182; 2001 c.104 §166; 2001 c.636 §5; 2001 c.990 §7; 2007 c.445 §30; 2007 
c.602 §7; 2009 c.595 §688; 2011 c.597 §85; 2011 c.601 §4] 
 
 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors433.html  
 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors433.html
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V. Marijuana Taxes and Distribution 
 
State Taxes 
Marijuana items are taxed at 17% of the retail sales price. Consumers pay the tax upon 
purchase. Products taxed include marijuana leaves, marijuana flowers, immature 
marijuana plants, cannabinoid edible, cannabinoid concentrate and cannabinoid 
extract. 
 
Enforcement 
Department of Revenue 
 
Citation 
475B.705 Imposition of tax on retail sale of marijuana items. (1) A tax is hereby 
imposed upon the retail sale of marijuana items in this state. The tax imposed by this 
section is a direct tax on the consumer, for which payment upon retail sale is required. 
The tax shall be collected at the point of sale of a marijuana item by a marijuana 
retailer at the time at which the retail sale occurs. 
      (2) The tax imposed under this section shall be imposed at the rate of: 
      (a) 17 percent of the retail sales price of marijuana leaves; 
      (b) 17 percent of the retail sales price of marijuana flowers; 
      (c) 17 percent of the retail sales price of immature marijuana plants; 
      (d) 17 percent of the retail sales price of a cannabinoid edible; 
      (e) 17 percent of the retail sales price of a cannabinoid concentrate; 
      (f) 17 percent of the retail sales price of a cannabinoid extract; 
      (g) 17 percent of the retail sales price of a cannabinoid product that is intended to 
be used by applying the cannabinoid product to the skin or hair; and 
      (h) 17 percent of the retail sales price of cannabinoid products other than those 
described in paragraph (g) of this subsection. 
      (3) If the tax imposed under this section does not equal an amount calculable to a 
whole cent, the tax shall be equal to the next higher whole cent. 
      (4) Except as otherwise provided by the Department of Revenue by rule, the 
amount of the tax shall be separately stated on an invoice, receipt or other similar 
document that the marijuana retailer provides to the consumer at the time at which 
the retail sale occurs. 
      (5) A person may not knowingly sell, purchase, install, transfer or possess 
electronic devices or software programs for the purposes of: 
      (a) Hiding or removing records of retail sales of marijuana items; or 
      (b) Falsifying records of retail sales of marijuana items. 
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      (6)(a) A marijuana retailer may not discount a marijuana item or offer a marijuana 
item for free if the retail sale of the marijuana item is made in conjunction with the 
retail sale of any other item. 
      (b) Paragraph (a) of this subsection does not affect any provision of ORS 
475B.010 to 475B.545 or any rule adopted by the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission pursuant to ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 that is related to the retail sale 
of marijuana items. [2015 c.699 §2; 2016 c.91 §6] 
  
      475B.707 Exemption from tax on retail sale of marijuana items; rules. (1) As 
used in this section, “designated primary caregiver,” “registry identification card” and 
“registry identification cardholder” have the meanings given those terms in ORS 
475B.791. 
      (2) Notwithstanding ORS 475B.705: 
      (a) A tax is not imposed upon the retail sale of marijuana items in this state to a 
registry identification cardholder or to a designated primary caregiver who is 
purchasing a marijuana item for a registry identification cardholder; and 
      (b) A marijuana retailer may not collect the tax imposed under ORS 475B.705 
from a consumer if, at the time at which the retail sale of the marijuana item occurs, 
the consumer provides proof to the marijuana retailer that the consumer: 
      (A) Holds a valid registry identification card under ORS 475B.797; or 
      (B) Holds a valid identification card under ORS 475B.797 (5)(b) and is purchasing 
the marijuana item for a registry identification cardholder. 
      (3) The Department of Revenue: 
      (a) Shall adopt rules establishing procedures by which a marijuana retailer shall 
document that a consumer holds a valid registry identification card issued under ORS 
475B.797 or a valid identification card issued under ORS 475B.797 (5)(b); and 
      (b) May adopt rules establishing procedures by which the department may verify 
that a marijuana retailer collects the tax imposed under ORS 475B.705 from 
consumers of marijuana items who are not registry identification cardholders or 
designated primary caregivers. [2016 c.91 §2] 
  
      475B.710 Collection of tax; refund; credit; penalties. (1) Except as otherwise 
provided in ORS 475B.700 to 475B.760, the tax imposed upon the consumer under 
ORS 475B.705 shall be collected at the point of sale and remitted by each marijuana 
retailer that engages in the retail sale of marijuana items. The tax is considered a tax 
upon the marijuana retailer that is required to collect the tax, and the marijuana 
retailer is considered a taxpayer. 
      (2) The marijuana retailer shall file a return to the Department of Revenue on or 
before the last day of January, April, July and October of each year for the previous 
calendar quarter. 
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      (3) The marijuana retailer shall pay the tax to the department in the form and 
manner prescribed by the department, but not later than with each quarterly return, 
without regard to an extension granted under subsection (5) of this section. 
      (4) Marijuana retailers shall file the returns required under this section regardless 
of whether any tax is owed. 
      (5) For good cause, the department may extend the time for filing a return under 
this section. The extension may be granted at any time if a written request is filed with 
the department during or prior to the period for which the extension may be granted. 
The department may not grant an extension of more than 30 days. 
      (6) Interest shall be added at the rate established under ORS 305.220 from the 
time the return was originally required to be filed to the time of payment. 
      (7) If a marijuana retailer fails to file a return or pay the tax as required by this 
section, the department shall impose a penalty in the manner provided in ORS 
314.400. 
      (8) Except as provided in subsections (9) and (10) of this section, the period 
prescribed for the department to allow or make a refund of any overpayment of tax 
paid under ORS 475B.700 to 475B.760 is as provided in ORS 314.415. 
      (9)(a) The department shall first apply any overpayment of tax by a marijuana 
retailer to any marijuana tax that is owed by the marijuana retailer. 
      (b) If after any offset against any delinquent amount the overpayment of tax 
remains greater than $1,000, the remaining refund shall be applied as a credit against 
the next subsequent calendar quarter as an estimated payment. 
      (10) The department may not make a refund of, or credit, any overpayment of tax 
under ORS 475B.700 to 475B.760 that was credited to the account of a marijuana 
retailer under subsection (9)(b) of this section if the return for that tax period is not 
filed within three years after the due date of that return. [2015 c.699 §3; 2016 c.91 §7; 
2017 c.278 §24; 2017 c.495 §4] 
 
Local Tax or Fee for Recreational Marijuana 
Oregon state law preempts local jurisdictions from imposing a tax or fee on retail 
marijuana greater than three percent.  
 
Local jurisdictions are preempted from imposing a fee or tax on medical marijuana. 
 
Citation 
475B.491 
See Preemption Section for additional details. 
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Distribution 

 
 
The Department of Revenue collects recreational marijuana money and puts it in the 
Oregon Marijuana Account, less the payment of administrative and enforcement 
expenses. The distribution of these funds is illustrated above. 
 
Enforcement 
Department of Revenue 
 
Citation  
475B.759 Oregon Marijuana Account. (1) There is established the Oregon 
Marijuana Account, separate and distinct from the General Fund. 
      (2) The account shall consist of moneys transferred to the account under ORS 
475B.760. 
      (3)(a) The Department of Revenue shall certify quarterly the amount of moneys 
available in the Oregon Marijuana Account. 
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      (b) Subject to subsection (4) of this section, the department shall transfer quarterly 
20 percent of the moneys in the Oregon Marijuana Account as follows: 
      (A) Ten percent of the moneys in the account must be transferred to the cities of 
this state in the following shares: 
      (i) Seventy-five percent of the 10 percent must be transferred in shares that reflect 
the population of each city of this state that is not exempt from this paragraph 
pursuant to subsection (4)(a) of this section compared to the population of all cities of 
this state that are not exempt from this paragraph pursuant to subsection (4)(a) of this 
section, as determined by Portland State University under ORS 190.510 to 190.610, 
on the date immediately preceding the date of the transfer; and 
      (ii) Twenty-five percent of the 10 percent must be transferred in shares that reflect 
the number of licenses held pursuant to ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 and 
475B.105 on the last business day of the calendar quarter preceding the date of the 
transfer for premises located in each city compared to the number of licenses held 
pursuant to ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 and 475B.105 on the last business 
day of that calendar quarter for all premises in this state located in cities; and 
      (B) Ten percent of the moneys in the account must be transferred to counties in 
the following shares: 
      (i) Fifty percent of the 10 percent must be transferred in shares that reflect the 
total commercially available area of all grow canopies associated with marijuana 
producer licenses held pursuant to ORS 475B.070 on the last business day of the 
calendar quarter preceding the date of the transfer for all premises located in each 
county compared to the total commercially available area of all grow canopies 
associated with marijuana producer licenses held pursuant to ORS 475B.070 on the 
last business day of that calendar quarter for all premises located in this state; and 
      (ii) Fifty percent of the 10 percent must be transferred in shares that reflect the 
number of licenses held pursuant to ORS 475B.090, 475B.100 and 475B.105 on the 
last business day of the calendar quarter preceding the date of the transfer for 
premises located in each county compared to the number of licenses held pursuant to 
ORS 475B.090, 475B.100 and 475B.105 on the last business day of that calendar 
quarter for all premises in this state. 
      (c) Eighty percent of the moneys in the Oregon Marijuana Account must be used 
as follows: 
      (A) Forty percent of the moneys in the account must be used solely for purposes 
for which moneys in the State School Fund established under ORS 327.008 may be 
used; 
      (B) Twenty percent of the moneys in the account must be used solely for 
purposes for which moneys in the Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services 
Account established under ORS 430.380 may be used; 
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      (C) Fifteen percent of the moneys in the account must be used solely for purposes 
for which moneys in the State Police Account established under ORS 181A.020 may 
be used; and 
      (D) Five percent of the moneys in the account must be used solely for purposes 
related to alcohol and drug abuse prevention, early intervention and treatment 
services. 
      (4)(a) A city that has an ordinance prohibiting the establishment of a premises for 
which issuance of a license under ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 or 475B.105 is 
required is not eligible to receive transfers of moneys under subsection (3)(b)(A) of 
this section. 
      (b) A county that has an ordinance prohibiting the establishment of a premises for 
which issuance of a license under ORS 475B.070 is required is not eligible to receive 
transfers of moneys under subsection (3)(b)(B)(i) of this section. 
      (c) A county that has an ordinance prohibiting the establishment of a premises for 
which issuance of a license under ORS 475B.090, 475B.100 or 475B.105 is required is 
not eligible to receive transfers of moneys under subsection (3)(b)(B)(ii) of this 
section. 
      (5) In a form and manner prescribed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission, 
each city and county in this state shall certify with the commission whether the city or 
county has an ordinance prohibiting the establishment of a premises for which 
issuance of a license under ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 or 475B.105 is 
required. If a city fails to comply with this subsection, the city is not eligible to receive 
transfers of moneys under subsection (3)(b)(A) of this section. If a county fails to 
comply with this subsection, the county is not eligible to receive transfers of moneys 
under subsection (3)(b)(B) of this section. [2015 c.1 §44; 2015 c.699 §14; 2015 c.767 
§219; 2017 c.725 §32] 
  
      475B.760 Suspense account; payment of expenses; crediting balance to 
Oregon Marijuana Account. (1) All moneys received by the Department of 
Revenue under ORS 475B.700 to 475B.760 shall be deposited in the State Treasury 
and credited to a suspense account established under ORS 293.445. The department 
may pay expenses for the administration and enforcement of ORS 475B.700 to 
475B.760 out of moneys received from the tax imposed under ORS 475B.705. 
Amounts necessary to pay administrative and enforcement expenses are continuously 
appropriated to the department from the suspense account. 
      (2) After the payment of administrative and enforcement expenses and refunds or 
credits arising from erroneous overpayments, the department shall credit the balance 
of the moneys received by the department under this section to the Oregon Marijuana 
Account established under ORS 475B.759. [2015 c.699 §11; 2016 c.24 §70] 
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VI. Retail Environment 
Advertising 
Oregon law prohibits marijuana items from being advertised in a manner that is 
attractive to minors, promotes illegal activity or presents a significant risk to public 
health and safety. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 

475B.025 General powers and duties; rules. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission has the duties, functions and powers specified in ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545 and the powers necessary or proper to enable the commission to carry out 
the commission’s duties, functions and powers under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545. 
The jurisdiction, supervision, duties, functions and powers of the commission extend 
to any person that produces, processes, transports, delivers, sells or purchases a 
marijuana item in this state. The commission may sue and be sued. 

      (2) The duties, functions and powers of the commission specified in ORS 
475B.010 to 475B.545 include the following: 

      (a) To regulate the production, processing, transportation, delivery, sale and 
purchase of marijuana items in accordance with the provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545. 

      (b) To issue, renew, suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew licenses for the 
production, processing or sale of marijuana items, or other licenses related to the 
consumption of marijuana items, and to permit, in the commission’s discretion, the 
transfer of a license between persons. 

      (c) To adopt, amend or repeal rules as necessary to carry out the intent and 
provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545, including rules that the commission 
considers necessary to protect the public health and safety. 

      (d) To exercise all powers incidental, convenient or necessary to enable the 
commission to administer or carry out the provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 
or any other law of this state that charges the commission with a duty, function or 
power related to marijuana. Powers described in this paragraph include, but are not 
limited to: 
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      (A) Issuing subpoenas; 

      (B) Compelling the attendance of witnesses; 

      (C) Administering oaths; 

      (D) Certifying official acts; 

      (E) Taking depositions as provided by law; 

      (F) Compelling the production of books, payrolls, accounts, papers, records, 
documents and testimony; and 

      (G) Establishing fees in addition to the application, licensing and renewal fees 
described in ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 and 475B.105, provided that any fee 
established by the commission is reasonably calculated not to exceed the cost of the 
activity for which the fee is charged. 

      (e) To adopt rules regulating and prohibiting advertising marijuana items in a 
manner: 

      (A) That is appealing to minors; 

      (B) That promotes excessive use; 

      (C) That promotes illegal activity; or 

      (D) That otherwise presents a significant risk to public health and safety. 

      (f) To regulate the use of marijuana items for other purposes as deemed necessary 
or appropriate by the commission. 

      (3) Fees collected pursuant to subsection (2)(d)(G) of this section shall be 
deposited in the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund established under ORS 
475B.296. [2015 c.1 §7; 2015 c.614 §2; 2017 c.183 §47] 
 
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html  
 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html
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Labeling requirements  
Rules establish labeling standards that, at a minimum, contain health and safety 
warnings, activation time, potency, serving size (if applicable), item content (if 
applicable).  
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 

475B.605 Labeling requirements; rules. (1) As is necessary to protect the public 
health and safety, and in consultation with the Oregon Health Authority and the State 
Department of Agriculture, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission shall adopt rules 
establishing standards for the labeling of marijuana items, including but not limited to: 

      (a) Ensuring that usable marijuana, cannabinoid concentrates and extracts, 
cannabinoid edibles and other cannabinoid products have labeling that communicates: 

      (A) Health and safety warnings; 

      (B) If applicable, activation time; 

      (C) Potency; 

      (D) For cannabinoid products and cannabinoid concentrates and extracts, serving 
size and the number of servings included in a cannabinoid product or cannabinoid 
concentrate or extract package; and 

      (E) Content of the marijuana item; and 

      (b) Labeling that is in accordance with applicable state food labeling requirements 
for the same type of food product or potable liquid when the food product or potable 
liquid does not contain marijuana or cannabinoids. 

      (2) In adopting rules under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949, the authority shall require 
all usable marijuana, cannabinoid products and cannabinoid concentrates and extracts 
transferred by a medical marijuana dispensary registered under ORS 475B.858 to be 
labeled in accordance with subsection (1) of this section and rules adopted under 
subsection (1) of this section. 
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      (3) In adopting rules under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545, the commission shall 
require all usable marijuana, cannabinoid products and cannabinoid concentrates and 
extracts sold or transferred by a marijuana retailer that holds a license issued under 
ORS 475B.105 to be labeled in accordance with subsection (1) of this section and 
rules adopted under subsection (1) of this section. 

      (4) In adopting rules under subsection (1) of this section, the commission: 

      (a) May establish different labeling standards for different varieties of usable 
marijuana and for different types of cannabinoid products and cannabinoid 
concentrates and extracts; 

      (b) May establish different minimum labeling standards for persons registered 
under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949 and persons licensed under ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545; 

      (c) Shall consider the cost of a potential requirement and how that cost will affect 
the cost to the ultimate consumer of the marijuana item; and 

      (d) May not adopt rules that are more restrictive than is reasonably necessary to 
protect the public health and safety. [2015 c.614 §101; 2017 c.183 §33] 
 

      475B.610 Authority to require preapproval of labels. (1) As used in this 
section: 

      (a) “Licensee” has the meaning given that term in ORS 475B.015. 

      (b) “Registrant” means a person registered under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949. 

      (2) The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may by rule require a licensee, and 
the Oregon Health Authority may by rule require a registrant, to submit a label 
intended for use on a marijuana item for preapproval by the commission before the 
licensee or registrant may sell or transfer a marijuana item bearing the label. The 
commission shall determine whether a label submitted under this section complies 
with ORS 475B.605 and any rule adopted under ORS 475B.605. 

      (3) The commission may impose a fee for submitting a label for preapproval 
under this section that is reasonably calculated to not exceed the cost of administering 
this section. [2015 c.614 §102] 
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Packaging requirements  
Rules establish packaging standards that, at a minimum, ensure child-resistant safety 
packaging, not marketed in a manner that is untruthful or attractive to minors or 
creates a risk of harm to public health and safety.  
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 

      475B.615 Packaging requirements; rules. (1) As is necessary to protect the 
public health and safety, and in consultation with the Oregon Health Authority and 
the State Department of Agriculture, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission shall 
adopt rules establishing standards for the packaging of marijuana items, including but 
not limited to: 

      (a) Ensuring that usable marijuana, cannabinoid concentrates and extracts, 
cannabinoid edibles and other cannabinoid products are: 

      (A) Packaged in child-resistant safety packaging; and 

      (B) Not marketed in a manner that: 

      (i) Is untruthful or misleading; 

      (ii) Is attractive to minors; or 

      (iii) Otherwise creates a significant risk of harm to public health and safety; and 

      (b) Ensuring that cannabinoid edibles and other cannabinoid products are not 
packaged in a manner that is attractive to minors. 

      (2) In adopting rules under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949, the authority shall require 
all usable marijuana, cannabinoid products and cannabinoid concentrates and extracts 
transferred by a medical marijuana dispensary registered under ORS 475B.858 to be 
packaged in accordance with subsection (1) of this section and rules adopted under 
subsection (1) of this section. 

      (3) In adopting rules under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545, the commission shall 
require all usable marijuana, cannabinoid products and cannabinoid concentrates and 
extracts sold or transferred by a marijuana retailer that holds a license under ORS 
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475B.105 to be packaged in accordance with subsection (1) of this section and rules 
adopted under subsection (1) of this section. 

      (4) In adopting rules under subsection (1) of this section the commission: 

      (a) May establish different packaging standards for different varieties of usable 
marijuana and for different types of cannabinoid products and cannabinoid 
concentrates and extracts; 

      (b) May establish different minimum packaging standards for persons registered 
under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949 and persons licensed under ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545; 

      (c) May consider the effect on the environment of requiring certain packaging; 

      (d) Shall consider the cost of a potential requirement and how that cost will affect 
the cost to the ultimate consumer of the marijuana item; and 

      (e) May not adopt rules that are more restrictive than is reasonably necessary to 
protect the public health and safety. [2015 c.614 §103] 

  

      475B.620 Authority to require preapproval of packaging. (1) As used in this 
section: 

      (a) “Licensee” has the meaning given that term in ORS 475B.015. 

      (b) “Registrant” means a person registered under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949. 

      (2) The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may by rule require a licensee, and 
the Oregon Health Authority may by rule require a registrant, to submit packaging 
intended for a marijuana item for preapproval by the commission before the licensee 
or registrant may sell or transfer a marijuana item packaged in the packaging. The 
commission shall determine whether packaging submitted under this section complies 
with ORS 475B.615 and any rule adopted under ORS 475B.615. 

      (3) The commission may impose a fee for submitting packaging for preapproval 
under this section that is reasonably calculated to not exceed the cost of administering 
this section. [2015 c.614 §104] 
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Dosage requirements  
Rules establish dosage standards that set a maximum concentration of 
tetrahydrocannabinol in a single serving and the number of servings permitted in a 
product or concentrate or package.  
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Health Authority 
 
Citation 

      475B.625 Dosage requirements; rules. (1) The Oregon Health Authority shall 
adopt rules establishing: 

      (a) The maximum concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol that is permitted in a 
single serving of a cannabinoid product or cannabinoid concentrate or extract; and 

      (b) The number of servings that are permitted in a cannabinoid product or 
cannabinoid concentrate or extract package. 

      (2)(a) In adopting rules under subsection (1)(a) of this section, the authority shall 
prescribe the different levels of concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol that is 
permitted in a single serving of a cannabinoid product or cannabinoid concentrate or 
extract for: 

      (A) Consumers who hold a valid registry identification card issued under ORS 
475B.797; and 

      (B) Consumers who do not hold a valid registry identification card issued under 
ORS 475B.797. 

      (b) In prescribing the levels of concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol that is 
permitted in a single serving of a cannabinoid product or cannabinoid concentrate or 
extract for consumers who hold a valid registry identification card issued under ORS 
475B.797, the authority shall consider the appropriate level of concentration necessary 
to mitigate the symptoms or effects of a debilitating medical condition, as defined in 
ORS 475B.791. 

      (3) In adopting rules under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949, the authority shall require 
all usable marijuana, cannabinoid products and cannabinoid concentrates and extracts 
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transferred by a medical marijuana dispensary registered under ORS 475B.858 to meet 
the concentration standards and packaging standards adopted by rule pursuant to this 
section. 

      (4) In adopting rules under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545, the Oregon Liquor 
Control Commission shall require all usable marijuana, cannabinoid products and 
cannabinoid concentrates and extracts sold or transferred by a marijuana retailer that 
holds a license under ORS 475B.105 to meet the concentration standards and 
packaging standards adopted by rule pursuant to this section. [2015 c.614 §105; 2016 
c.83 §15] 
 
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html  
 
Compliance 
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may inspect the premises of a person that 
holds an OLCC-provided license to ensure compliance with license requirements. The 
Oregon Health Authority may inspect the premises of a medical marijuana dispensary 
or a person that processes marijuana for the purpose of transferring the product to a 
medical marijuana dispensary to ensure compliance with requirements.  
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission and Oregon Health Authority (as specified in 
each statute) 
 
Citation 

      475B.630 Applicability of ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655. ORS 475B.600 to 
475B.655 do not apply to: 

      (1) A person responsible for a marijuana grow site under ORS 475B.810 if the 
person is transferring usable marijuana or an immature marijuana plant, as defined in 
ORS 475B.015, to: 

      (a) A person who holds a registry identification card under ORS 475B.797 and 
who designated the person responsible for the marijuana grow site to grow marijuana 
for the person who holds a registry identification card; or 

      (b) A person who has been designated as the primary caregiver under ORS 
475B.804 of a person who holds a registry identification card under ORS 475B.797, 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475b.html
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and who designated the person responsible for the marijuana grow site to grow 
marijuana for the person who holds a registry identification card; or 

      (2) A person who has been designated as the primary caregiver under ORS 
475B.804 of a person who holds a registry identification card under ORS 475B.797 if 
the person is transferring a marijuana item to the person who holds a registry 
identification card. [2015 c.614 §106] 

       475B.635 Authority of Oregon Liquor Control Commission to inspect. To 
ensure compliance with ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655 and any rule adopted under ORS 
475B.600 to 475B.655, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission may inspect the 
premises of a person that holds a license under ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 
or 475B.105. [2015 c.614 §108] 

       475B.640 Authority of Oregon Health Authority to inspect. To ensure 
compliance with ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655 and any rule adopted under ORS 
475B.600 to 475B.655, the Oregon Health Authority may inspect the premises of: 

      (1) A medical marijuana dispensary registered under ORS 475B.858; and 

      (2) A person that processes marijuana to test cannabinoid products or 
cannabinoid concentrates or extracts for the purpose of transferring the cannabinoid 
products or cannabinoid concentrates or extracts to a medical marijuana dispensary 
registered under ORS 475B.858. [2015 c.614 §107] 

      475B.645 Authority of Oregon Liquor Control Commission to discipline 
licensees of commission. Subject to the applicable provisions of ORS chapter 183, 
if the applicant or licensee violates a provision of ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655 or a rule 
adopted under a provision of ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655, the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend or revoke, a license issued 
under ORS 475B.070, 475B.090, 475B.100 or 475B.105. [2015 c.614 §110] 

  

      475B.650 Authority of Oregon Health Authority to discipline registrants of 
authority. Subject to the applicable provisions of ORS chapter 183, if a person 
violates a provision of ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655 or a rule adopted under a 
provision of ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655, the Oregon Health Authority may: 

      (1) Refuse to register a person under ORS 475B.785 to 475B.949; 
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      (2) Suspend activities conducted by a registrant pursuant to ORS 475B.785 to 
475B.949; or 

      (3) Remove a registrant from a registry kept pursuant to ORS 475B.785 to 
475B.949. [2015 c.614 §109] 

       475B.655 Civil penalty for violating ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655. (1) In 
addition to any other liability or penalty provided by law, the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission may impose for each violation of a provision of ORS 475B.600 to 
475B.655, or a rule adopted under a provision of ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655, a civil 
penalty that does not exceed $500 for each day that the violation occurs. 

      (2) The commission shall impose civil penalties under this section in the manner 
provided by ORS 183.745. 

      (3) Moneys collected under this section shall be deposited in the Marijuana 
Control and Regulation Fund established under ORS 475B.296 and are continuously 
appropriated to the commission for the purpose of carrying out the duties, functions 
and powers of the authority under ORS 475B.600 to 475B.655. [2015 c.614 §111; 
2017 c.183 §34] 
 
Age Verification 
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may require that retailers ensure that they 
do not sell marijuana items to a person under 21 years of age. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
 
Citation 
475B.119 Requirement to verify person’s age; rules. The Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission may adopt rules establishing the circumstances under which the 
commission may require a marijuana retailer that holds a license issued under ORS 
475B.105 to use an age verification scanner or any other equipment used to verify a 
person’s age for the purpose of ensuring that the marijuana retailer does not sell 
marijuana items to a person under 21 years of age. Information obtained under this 
section may not be retained after verifying a person’s age and may not be used for any 
purpose other than verifying a person’s age. [Formerly 475B.125] 
 
       475B.416 Civil penalty for violating ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545. In addition 
to any other liability or penalty provided by law, the Oregon Liquor Control 
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Commission may impose for each violation of a provision of ORS 475B.010 to 
475B.545 or a rule adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 a civil penalty that does 
not exceed $5,000 for each violation. The commission shall impose civil penalties 
under this section in the manner provided by ORS 183.745. Moneys collected under 
this section shall be deposited in the Marijuana Control and Regulation Fund 
established under ORS 475B.296. [Formerly 475B.295] 
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