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Public Health Division 
Medical Marijuana Program 

 

 Kate Brown, Governor 
Website: healthoregon.org/ommp 

OMMP CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) FAQs 
 
Considering COVID-19 precautions, I don’t want to visit a clinic to get a doctor’s 
recommendation to apply or renew my medical marijuana card. Can OMMP waive the 
requirement of submitting an attending physician’s statement with an application?  
 
At this time, it is still required by law for new and renewing OMMP applicants to obtain a 
recommendation from an attending physician.  OMMP is unable to waive this requirement. We 
encourage patients to contact their physicians by phone to see if they have telemedicine as an 
option.  
 
What are the requirements around telemedicine that physicians and OMMP clinics must 
follow?  
 
The OMMP does not oversee physicians or clinics and cannot provide advice on how to do 
telemedicine.  Physicians and clinics should contact the Oregon Medical Board for information 
on practicing telemedicine.  Information on telemedicine can also be found on the Oregon 
Medical Board’s website:   
https://www.oregon.gov/omb/Topics-of-Interest/Pages/Telemedicine.aspx 
 
Additional guidance may be added to the Oregon Health Authority’s website here: 
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/DISEASESAZ/Pages/COVID-
19.aspx 
 
Will OMMP accept paperwork that reflects the clinic visit was performed via 
telemedicine?  
 
OMMP will accept documentation that reflects telemedicine with patients for medical marijuana 
so long as it meets all requirements from the Oregon Medical Board. In other words, if a 
physical exam is performed by way of telemedicine, the process in which that is done needs to 
be an acceptable practice with the Oregon Medical Board. 
 
Physicians must follow Oregon Medical Board requirements for telemedicine. OMMP does not 
set the standards for telemedicine.  
 
Can my doctor send the Attending Physician Statement or qualifying medical 
documentation directly to the OMMP? 
 
Yes.  The physician or clinic can email the Attending Physician Statement (APS) or qualifying 
medical documentation directly to the OMMP at ommp.info@dhsoha.state.or.us.  The patient 
will still be responsible for submitting the required patient application and remaining supporting 
documentation.  The patient should send in the remaining application materials soon after the 
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APS is sent by the physician.  OMMP will notify patients if any documentation is missing when 
their application is reviewed and will allow the patient to submit the missing information in a 
timeframe outlined in a letter sent to the patient.  
 
   
If I submit a complete application, can I still expect OMMP to timely send me a 30-day 
receipt?  
 
Yes. OMMP is committed to ensuring patients that submit a complete application receive a 30-
day receipt timely. OMMP is encouraging patients to apply online. Applying online will result in 
OMMP receiving your application faster and issuing your cards quicker than mailing in an 
application. When applying online, a 30-day receipt is available for the patient to print after a 
complete application has been submitted, and the required application fee has processed 
(generally within 24 to 48 hours of when the payment is submitted online).  
 
Information on how to apply online can be found on the OMMP patient webpage.  
 
Can I drop off my application and supporting documentation at the OMMP drop box 
located in Portland?  
 
At this time the Portland State Office Building is closed to the public. You are not able to come 
inside the building or drop off your OMMP application. OMMP is encouraging all patients to 
apply online to receive their cards quicker.  
 
How long can I expect to wait until OMMP issues my patient card?  
 
OMMP is committed to ensuring patients continue to receive their registry cards during this 
challenging time.  The OMMP is required to issue a registry card within 30 days once a 
complete application has been received. In recent months, OMMP has been issuing registry 
cards within a week or two from receiving a complete application. Applying online speeds up 
the process for reviewing and approving an application.  
 
I will be renewing my OMMP patient card, how can I ensure that I don’t have a lapse in 
my protection as a patient?  
 
Patients can renew their OMMP card up to 90-days before it expires. Patients are encouraged 
to renew as soon as possible. The expiration date can be found on your OMMP card. OMMP 
sends renewal notices to patients as a reminder when they are eligible to renew.  
 
The dispensary in my town is only allowed to sell to OMMP patients and caregivers. Are 
they able to deliver or provide curbside pickup? 
 
No. Delivery or curbside pick-up is not allowed by law at the three remaining dispensaries in 
Oregon that are registered by the OMMP. This is something that only OLCC licensed retail 
shops are able to provide.  
 

https://ommpsystem.oregon.gov/
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/CHRONICDISEASE/MEDICALMARIJUANAPROGRAM/Pages/patients.aspx#online
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It is encouraged that patients or caregivers contact an OLCC licensed retail shop to see if they 
have this option. OLCC licensed retail shops are the only ones that are allowed to deliver 
marijuana.  
 
In addition, OLCC recently passed temporary rules that allow for curbside delivery of 
marijuana. Please see OLCC’s website for more information.  
 
As a patient or caregiver, how can I limit my time exposure in a dispensary or retail 
shop?  
 
It is encouraged that you call your local dispensary or retail shop to place your order. From 
there, you can work with them on how to pick up your order in a manner that limits the number 
of people inside the dispensary or retail shop.  
 
OMMP has encouraged dispensaries to practice social distancing and increased sanitation.   
 
I have heard that the amount I can purchase as an OMMP cardholder has increased. Is 
this true?  
 
Yes. The amount an OMMP patient or caregiver can purchase from a licensed OLCC retail 
shop has increased through temporary rules that OLCC recently adopted.  
The temporary rule increases the amount of flower that OMMP cardholders and caregivers can 
purchase to 24 ounces per day and no more than 32 ounces per month. This change 
temporarily increases the daily purchase limit for OMMP cardholders to match their personal 
possession limit. This rule does not change the total monthly amount a cardholder or 
caregiver is currently permitted to purchase from an OLCC-licensed retailer. 
 
Please see the OLCC’s website for more information.  
 
 

https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/Pages/COVID19.aspx#Marijuana_Licensing_&_Compliance
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