STATE OF OREGON
OREGON HEALTH AUTHORITY

IN THE MATTER OF

) . .
) DEFAULT FINAL ORDER REVOKING
) REGISTRATION
7 Leaf LL.C, MMD No. 71616 )
Mike Warren, PRD )
HISTORY OF THE CASE

The Oregon Health Authority (OHA), Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) issued a
Notice of Proposed Revocation dated February 8, 2017 (Notice) to 7 Leaf LLC, MMD No. 71616
(Registrant) notifying Registrant of OHA’s intent to revoke its dispensary reg1strat10n based on
Registrant’s numerous violations of applicable statutes and rules.

The Notice offered the Registrant the opportunity to request a hearing to dispute the proposed
revocation. The Notice stated that if Applicant did not request a hearing or withdrew the request
for hearing, OHA may issue a final order be default revoking Registrant’s dispensary registration.
To request a hearing, the Notice required the Registrant to request a hearing within 21 days. The
Notice designated OHA’s files, including any materials Registrant might submit, as the record
for purposes of an order by default if the Registrant waived the right to a hearlng

On February 28, 2017, Registrant requested a hearing to contest the revocatlon However, on
April 25,2017, Re glstrant withdrew the request for a hearing.

After con31der1ng the relevant portlons of OHA’s ﬁle in this matter OHA enters the followmg

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Registrant has been a registered dispensary since June '20 2014,

2. Between October 1,2015 and December 31 2016, registered medical
marijuana dispensaries were perrmtted to sell limited marijuana retail products to a person
21 years of age or older, without an OMMP card (herein after “non- cardholders”) 1

3. On and after January 1, 2017 regrstered medlcal manjuana dispensaries
were only permitted to sell or transfer med1cal marijuana to registry identification
cardholders and designated primary caregivers (collectively, “cardho_lders”) 2

4. On December 7,2016, OHA sent a bulletin to all dispensaries that |
December 31, 2016 would be the last day reglstered dlspensarles could sell manJuana to
non- cardholders . ;

! Oregon Laws 2015, ch. 784, Sections 2, 3; OAR 333-008-1500(2); and OAR 333-008-1245(1).
2 ORS 475B.450; OAR 333-008-1245. :




5. On December 20, 2016, OHA sent out a press release reminding registered
medical marijuana dispensaries that sales of marijuana to non-cardholders would no longer be
permitted after December 31, 2016.

6. On January 19, 2017, an OMMP investigator conducted a compliance check at
- Registrant’s premises. The compliance check revealed that Registrant sold marijuana items to
non-cardholders between January 1 and January 19, 2017.

7. On January 20, 2017, the OMMP invéstigator returned to Registrant’s premises
and observed Registrant’s continued sale of marijuana items to non-cardholders.

8. The OMMP investigator also observed the following at Registrant’s premises:

a. Registrant’s tracking and pokint of sale system could not capture all the information
required to be documented in OAR 333-008-1230 and 333-008-1245.

b. Registrant’s tracking and point of sale system could not generate inventory, transaction
and transfer reports. -

c. Registrant was unable to produce required documentation regarding the transfer of
marijuana items to the dispensary.

d. Regiétrant failed to verify individuals’ cardholder status before permitting
individuals in to the points of sale area.

e. Registrant transferred marijuana items to individuals without verifying their
cardholder status.

f. Registrant failed to document, prior to transfer, the recipient’s name and OMMP card
number. k

g. Registrant did not have an installed and fully operational electronic data management
system.

h. Registrant only had 20 days of video surveillance recording available.

i. Registrant could not make all required video surveillance recordings immediately
available to OHA upon OHA’s request.

9. Registrant compiled from hand written receipts a document summarizing the
transfers out of the dispensary that occurred during January 2017 and provided a copy to OMMP
on January 29, 2017. Those records document numerous transfers to non-cardholders occurred
between January 1, 2017 and January 26, 2017.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based upon OHA'’s findings of fact and application of existing legal standards, the OHA makes
the following conclusions of law:
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1. Registrant transferred marijuana items to non-cardholders after December 31, 2016,
in violation of Oregon Laws 2015, chapter 784, Section 2 and 3, ORS 475B.450,
OAR 333-008-1500(2), OAR 333-008-1245, and OAR 333-008-2180(1)(c).

Oregon law only allows a registered marijuana dispensary to transfer medical marijuana items to
registered cardholders not to non-cardholder adults over the age of 21 as allowed for OLCC-
licensed retailers.? The Oregon Leg1slature passed a time-limited authorization that allowed
registered dispensaries to sell certain marijuana items to non-cardholders between October 1,
2015 through December 31, 2016 if the individual was 21 years of age or older.*

Asof] anha:ry 1, 2017, medical marijuana dispensaries were no longer authorized to sell
marijuana items to non-cardholders and it is a violation for a registrant to transfer a marijuana
item to a non-cardholder.” OHA may inspect the premises of a registered dispensary to ensure
compliance with this restriction.®

Between January 1 and January 26, 2017, Registrant transferred marijuana items to numerous
non-cardholders. Registrant therefore violated Oregon Laws 2015, chapter 784, Section 2 and 3,
ORS 475B.450, OAR 333-008-1500(2), OAR 333-008-1245, and OAR 333-008-2180(1)(c).

2. Registrant’s tracking and point of sale system could not capture all the information
required to be documented in OAR 333-008-1230 and 333 008-1245, in violation of
OAR 333-008-1200(4)(c).

The dispensary must install and maintain an inventory tracking and point of sale system that
captures all of the required transfer information for marijuana items received by the dispensary,
including the number of seeds and immature plants, the name of the marijuana item, the date

-received, all harvest, process, or batch information, the amount paid, etc.’ The system must also
capture the same transfer information for any item transferred to a cardholder.® The dispensary
must comply with these requirements for continued registration with OHA.

The Registrant failed to install and maintain a tracking and point of sale system capable of
capturing the following information: weight in metric units of all usable marijuana received and
transferred, the number of seeds and immature plants received and transferred, the amount of
medical cannabinoid products, concentrates, or extract received and transferred, the name of the
marijuana items received and transferred, the date marijuana items are received and transferred,
and the amount paid for marijuana items received and transferred. Registrant therefore failed to
install and maintain a system capable of capturing all the information required to be documented
in OAR 333-008-1230 and 333-008-1245, and violated OAR 333-008-1200(4)(c). Registrant
failed to comply with requirements necessary for continued registration.

3. Régistrant s tracking and point of sale system could not generate inventory,
transaction and transfer reports, in violation of OAR 333-008-1200(4)(d).

3 ORS 475B.450(1)(a)(C).

* Oregon Laws 2015, Chapter 784; OAR 333-008-1500(2).

3> Oregon Laws 2015, Chapter 784, Section 3; OAR 333-008-2180(1)(c).
% ORS 475B.450(8).

7 OAR 333-008-1200(4)(c) (citing OAR 333-008-1230).

8 OAR 333-008-1200(4)(c) (citing OAR 333-008-1245).
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For continued registration, the dispensary must install and use a fully operational integrated
inventory trackmg system and point of sale system that can generate inventory, transaction, and
transfer reports.’

Registrant violated OAR 333-008-1200(4)(d) because its tracking and point of sale system could
not generate inventory, transaction and transfer reports. Registrant failed to comply with
requirements necessary for continued registration.

4. Registrant failed to maintain documentation about the transfer of marijuana items to
the dispensary, in violation of OAR 333-008-1230(4)(a)(4), (C), (D), (E), and (G).

At the time a marijuana items is transferred to a dispensary, the dispensary must document the
weight in metric units of all usable marijuana received, the number of seeds and immature plants
received, the amount of medical cannabinoid products, concentrates, or extract received, the
name of the item, the date received, and the amount paid.

Registrant failed to maintain documentation for marijuana items transferred to the dispensary that
recorded the weight in metric units of all usable marijuana received, the number of seeds and
immature plants received, the amount of medical cannabinoid products, concentrates, or extract
received, the name of the item, the date received, and the amount paid. Registrant therefore
violated OAR 333-008-12340(a) by failing to maintain the required documentation for marijuana
items received by the dispensary.

5. Registrant failed to verify individuals’ OMMP cardholder status before allowing
them to enter the point of sale area in violation of OAR 333-008-1245(1).

Dispensaries must verify that an individual is a cardholder before allowing the individual to enter
the point of sale area.!°

Registrant failed to verify individuals’ OMMPrca:rdholder status before allowing them to enter
the point of sale area in violation of OAR 333-008-1245(1).

6. Registrant transferred marijuana items to individuals without verification of their
OMMP cardholder status, in violation of OAR 333-008-1245(2)(a).

Prior to transferring a marijuana item, the dispensary must verify the individual is a cardholder
by comparing the individual’s government issued photo identification and OHA-issued card to

determine whether the identities match.!!

Registrant transferred marijuana items to individuals without verifying their OMMP status in
violation of OAR 333-008-1245(2)(a).

7. Registrant failed to document the recipient’s name and OMMP card number prior to |
the transfer of a marijuana item, in violation of OAR 333-008-1245(2)(c)(A).

After verifying a cardholder’s identify, the dispensary must also document the individual’s name,

? OAR 333-008-1200(4)(d)
10 OAR 333-008-1245(1).
11 OAR 333-008-1245(2)(a).
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cardholder identification number, and expiration date prior to transferring a marijuana item.!?

Registrant failed to document the recipient’s name and OMMP card number prior to the transfer
of a marijuana item in violation of OAR 333-008-1245(2)(c)(A).

8. Registrant failed to install and maintain a fully operational electronic data
management system, in violation of OAR 333-008-1247(1)(a).

For continued registration, the dispensary must install and maintain a fully operational electronic
data management system that is capable of maintaining copies of all documents required to be
obtained and retained in OAR 333-008-1230 and 333-008-1245.

Registrant failed to install and maintain an electronic data management system capable of storing
the required documentation. This violates OAR 333-008-1247(1)(a) and registrant failed to
comply with requirements necessary for continued registration.

9. Registrant maintained only 20 days of video surveillance recording, in violation of
OAR 333-008-2110(2)(a).

Dispensaries must install and maintain a minimum security system that includes video
surveillance, an alarm system, and safe.!® A registrant must keep all surveillance recordings for a
minimum of 45 days in a format that can be easily accessed for viewing and must provide such
recordings immediately to OHA upon request.*

Registrant maintained only 20 days of surveillance recordings, not the required minimum of 45
days, in violation of OAR 333-008-2110(2)(a).

10. Registrant was unable to make video surveillance recordings immediately available
to OHA, in violation of OAR 333-008-2110(2)(c).

A dispensary must provide video surveillance records and recordings immediately upon request
to OHA."

Registrant was unable to make available video surveillance recordings to OHA upon its request
in violation of OAR 333-008-2110(2)(c).

11. OHA may revoke Registrant’s registration and prohibit Registrant’s owners and
those with financial interests from applying for a dispensary registration within two
years of this final order.

OHA may revoke the registration of a medical marijuana dispensary if OHA determines that the
owner, employee, or person responsible for the dispensary (PRD) violated a provision of ORS
475B.400 to 475B.525 or any rule adopted there under.'®

12 14, Dispensaries must also keep a copy of the patient or caregiver medical marijuana card or receipt on file.
13 ORS 475B.450(10)(c). '

4 OAR 333-008-2110(2)(a) , (c).

15 OAR 333-008-2110(2)(c).

16 ORS 475B.450(9).
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A dispensary registrant includes the individual who owns the registered dispensary, or, if a
business entity owns the registered dispensary, each individual who has a financial interest in the
registered dispensary, as defined in OAR 333-008-0010(30) (financially-interested registrant).!”

As explained above, Registrant violated numerous statutes and rules. Pursuant to ORS
475B.450(9) and OAR 333-008-2190(2)(a), OHA may revoke Registrant’s dispensary
registration. OHA has determined to take formal enforcement action of revoking Registrant’s
registration'® based on the nature of the violations, including the lack of mitigating
circumstances, the ongoing nature of the sales to non-cardholders, and that Claimant violated one
of the central limitations imposed by Oregon’s marijuana regulatory structure.'®

Thus, OHA revokes Registrant’s medical marijuana facility registration and Registrant and
registrant’s owners and individuals with a financial interest in the dispensary are prohibited from
applying for a dispensary registration within two years from the date this final order is issued.

ORDER

Registrant 7 Leaf LL.C’s dispensary registration for MMD 71616 is REVOKED. 7 Leaf
LLC, Mike Warren and any other owner or individual with a financial interest in the
dispensary are PROHIBITED FROM APPLYING for a dispensary registration within two
years from the date of this Order.

S, ok
Dated this ZC day of ma\l/ ,2017

By: /}YW\M Q_/‘l/ks

' Andre’ Ourso MPH, JD
OMMP Section Manager
Oregon Health Authority

Appeal Rights: You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS
183.482. You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court of Appeals in
Salem, Oregon within 60 days from the date this order is served. If this order was personally
delivered to you, the date of service is the day you received the order. If this order was mailed to
you, the date of service is the day it was mailed, not the day you received it. If you do not file a
petition for judicial review within the 60-day time period, you will lose your right to appeal.

17 OAR 333-008-1010(2).
18 OAR 333-008-2190(3).
1% ORS 475B.005(1)(e) and ORS Chapter 475B, generally.
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o CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

On the:)’_oth day of May, 2017, I served the foregoing DEFAULT FINAL ORDER REVOKING
REGISTRATION TO THE FOLLOWING PARTIES:

BY FIRST CLASS & CERTIFIED MAIL:

7 Leaf, LLC

c/o Mike Warren, PRD
1026 Commercial St. NE
Salem, OR 97301

Mike Warren, Registered Agent
1190 Oxford StSE

Salem, OR 97301

BY ELECTRONIC MAITL:

Erin Williams, Assistant Attorney General

(=

OMMP Staff
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Public Health Division o : ‘ Or Cgon
Oregon Medical Marijuana Program t

Kate Brown, Governor : *\uthomt},

PO Box 14116

Portland, OR 97293

Voice: (855) 244-9580

Fax: (971) 673-0076

Email: medmj.dispensaries@state.or.us
Website: mmj.oregon.gov

 In the matter of Registration of: | Order of Emergency Registration
: ‘ Suspension and Natice of
MMD 71616 7 Leaflic ' Opportunity for a Hearing
To:  Primary PRD ) : _ REGISTERED AGENT
Mike Warren Mike Warren
6906 N. Greenwich Ave. Apt. #2 1190 Oxford St. SE
Portland, OR 97217 , Salem, OR 97301

By order of the Oregon Health Authority (OHA), Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP),
your registration as a medical marijuana dispensary is suspended today, January 27, 2017.
Effective immediately, you must stop operating as a dispensary under further order of OHA.

This order is made pursuant to ORS 183.430(2), which authorizes OHA fo enter a suspension
order when it finds that the continued operatlon of a dispensary presents a serious danger to
the public health or safety. This order is also made pursuant to ORS 431A.010(1)(c) which
authorizes OHA to issue administrative orders to enforce compliance with public health laws.

During an inspection on January 20, 2017, OHA observed the following violations:

¢ Sale or transfer of man]uana and maruuana products to persons not registered with
OMMP as a patient, caregiver or grower in violation of Sections 2 and 3, chapter 784,
Oregon Laws 2015, ORS 475B.450, OAR 333-008-1500(2), OAR 333-008-1245, and
OAR 333-008-2180(1)(c). :

The violation noted above presents a serious danger to public health and safety because
illegal distribution of usable marijuana and marijuana products may be-further diverted for
criminal purposes and may be accessible to minors.

NOTICE OF RIGHTS

You are entitled to a hearlng as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act (chapter 183,
Oregon Revised Statutes). If you want a hearing, you must file a written request for a hearing
with the program within 60 days from the date this notice was mailed. You have the right to
demand that the hearing be held as soon as practicable after OHA receives your written




-request. In order for a hearing request that is mailed to be timely, it must be postmarked within
60 days from the date this notice was mailed.  You may mail your request for hearing to the
address below. Be sure to include your MMD# in your request.

Oregon Health Authbrity
Oregon Medical Marijuana Program
P.O. Box 14116, Portland, OR 97293

You may fax your request for hearing to (971‘) 673-0076 or e-mail your request for hearing to
medmj.dispensaries@state.or.us.

if you fax vour-requést for hearing, it must be received by OHA by 5:00 p.m. PST, within
60 days from the date this notice was mailed. If you e-mail your request for hearing, it

must be sent to OHA by 5:00 p.m. PST, within 60 days from the date this notice was .
mailed.

If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time and place of the hearing. You may be
represented by legal counsel at the hearing. Legal aid organizations may be able to assist
those with limited financial resources. Per ORS 413.041, a party that is not a natural person
may be represented by an attorney or by any officer or authonzed agent or employee of the
party. Parties are ordinarily represented by counsel. The Oregon Health Authority will be
represented by an Assistant Attorney General. You will be provided information on the
procedures, right of representation and other rights of parties relating to the conduct of the
hearing before commencement of the hearing. Any hearing will be held by an administrative
law judge from the Office of Administrative Hearings, assigned as required by ORS 183.635.

If a request for hearing is not received within this 60-day period, your right to a hearing under
ORS chapter 183 shall be considered waived. If you do not request a hearing within 60 days,
or if you withdraw a request for hearing, or if you notify the Program or the administrative law
judge that you will not appear, or if you fail to appear at a scheduled hearing, the program may
issue a final order by default. If the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program issues a final order by
default, the program designates the relevant portions of its files on this matier, inciuding all
materials that you have submitied relating to this matter, as the record for purposes of proving
a prima facie case upon default.

Notice to Active Dutv Service members. Active duty service members have a right to stay
proceedings under the federal Service members Civil Relief Act and may contact the Oregon
State Bar at 1 (800) 452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department at 1 (800) 452-7500 for more
information. The internet address for the United States Armed Forces | egal Assistance
Locator website is http://legalassistance-aw.af. mil/content/locator.p

Dated: January 27, 2017 &“ é\ j %A/ ‘

/ ~ Christopher Wes:&{f ~

Compliance Unit Manager
Oregon Medical Marjjuana Program
Oregon Health Authority




Public Health Division
Oregon Medical Marijuana Program

Kate Brown, Governor

PO Box 14116

Portland, OR 97293

Voice: (855) 244-9580

Fax: (971) 673-0076

Email: medmj.dispensaries@state.or.us
Website: mmj.oregon.gov

Notice of Violation and Suspension

Facility: 7 Leafllc MMD No : 71616

1026 Commercial St. NE : .
Salem, OR 97301 Inspection date:  January 20, 2017

To:  Mike Warren
6906 N. Greenwich Ave. Apt. #2
Portland, OR 97217

Please find the enclosed Order of Emergency Registration Suspension and Notice of Opportunity for a
Hearing. ’ ’

You may not operate or intake any marijuana/marijuana products until approved by the Authority. The
Authority will be performing a re-inspection of your facility on Monday, January 30, 2017. Failure to
comply with the rules may result in revocation of the dispensary registration.

Dated: January 27, 2017 /) N
- / A
/ Chrilopher Westfall —  — /fr-—y,
ompliance Unit Manager

Oregon Medical Marijuana Program-”
Oregon Health Authority







