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WHAT’S YOUR DEATH IQ?

DEATH IS NOT a pleasant topic for
 anyone, especially for those
 whose  professions are devoted

to saving and protecting lives. However,
death is the ultimate “fact of life.” By
law, every death in Oregon (30,208 of
them in 2001) must be registered with
the Center for Health Statistics (CHS).

Oregon’s death certificates are used
for at least two purposes: to provide a
legal record of the death and to collect
mortality data. Without death certificates
many of the highly stimulating CD
Summaries you love to read every other
week would not be possible.

To make this deadly topic (to some)
more entertaining (and to promote the
correct filling out of death certificates)
this week’s CD Summary tests your
“death IQ”.
1. Who can fill out and sign the medical

portion of the Oregon death certificate?
(a) funeral directors (b) family members
(c) physicians (d) nurse practitioners
(e) c and d.
2. How quickly after receipt must the

medical portion of the death certifi-
cate be completed, signed and re-
turned to the funeral service provider?

(a) 24 hours (b) 48 hours (c) 1 week
(d) 10 days (e) by the end of the month.
3. What percentage of death certificates

are returned to certifying physicians
for clarification or additional informa-
tion? (a) 5% (b) 10% (c) 15% (d) 20%
(e) 25%.

4. The underlying cause
of death is that dis-
ease condition that
ultimately led to the
death. Where should
it be listed on the
death certificate?
(See figure.)

(a) on the top line of
Part I in the cause of
death section (b) on the
lowest used line of Part I

(c) in Part II of the cause of death sec-
tion (d) nowhere (e) I have no clue.
5. Which of the following is the best

example of an underlying cause of
death?

(a) organic heart disease (b) kidney
failure (c) cardiac arrest (d) a, b, and c
(e) none of the above.
6. What was the leading cause of death

of Oregonians during 2001?
(a) suicide (b) cancer (c) unintentional
injuries (d) heart disease (e) filbert
aspiration.
7. Which family of animals kills more

Oregonians than any other?
(a) Culicidae (b) Vespidae (c) Canidae
(d) Equidae (e) Hominidae.
8. When can the signature of the certify-

ing physician differ from the name
typed or written as the certifying
physician?

(a) never (b) sometimes (c) always
(d) on Mondays (e) it doesn’t matter
since we can’t read the signature anyway.
9. How can the medical portion of the

death certificate be changed once the
death certificate has been registered
at the county vital records office?

(a) by submitting an entirely new certifi-
cate (b) calling up the state vital records
office and badgering the State Registrar
(c) submitting an affidavit to correct a
death certificate (d) asking the funeral
home to change the certificate (e) none
of the above.

10. Which of the sections of the death
certificate can be left blank?

(a) item 36: cause of death (b) item 37:
tobacco use (c) item 38: autopsy
(d) item 40: manner of death (e) none of
the above.
11. Which of the following killed the

most Oregonians in 2001?
(a) falls (b) traffic crashes (c) overdoses/
poisonings (d) drownings (e) electrocu-
tion via nipple rings.
12. The Medical Examiner must be

notified of all accidental deaths.  If
the ME takes jurisdiction, he or she
fills out the death certificate. If the
ME does not take jurisdiction, who
should complete the items on the
death certificate related to the injury
(41a-41f, below)?

(a) the ME (b) the certifying physician
(c) Items 41a–41f can be left blank (d)
the funeral home (e) the state vital
records office.
13. Where can I to get more information

on completing the cause of death
portion of the death certificate?

(a) Center for Health Statistics web site
(b) call (c) e-mail (d) National Center
for Health Statistics (e) all of the above.
ANSWERS

1. Answer: (e). By law only licensed
Oregon medical, osteopathic, chiroprac-
tic or naturopathic physicians, or certi-
fied Oregon nurse practitioners can
complete, sign, or change the medical
portion of the death certificate.



CD SUMMARYThe CD Summary (ISSN 0744-7035) is published biweekly, free of
charge, by the Oregon Dept. of Human Services, Office of Communicable
Disease and Epidemiology, 800 NE Oregon St., Portland, OR 97232
Periodicals postage paid at Portland, Oregon.
Postmaster—send address changes to:
CD Summary, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 730, Portland, OR 97232

PERIODICALS
POSTAGE

PAID
Portland, Oregon

If you need this material in
an alternate format, call us
at 503/731-4024.

October 22, 2002
Vol. 51, No. 22

IF YOU WOULD PREFER to have your CD Summary delivered by e-mail,
zap your request to cd.summary@state.or.us. Please include your
full name and address (not just your e-mail address), so that we can
effectively purge you from our print mailing list, thus helping to save
trees, taxpayer dollars, postal worker injuries, etc.

2. Answer: (b) 48 hours, by law.
3. Answer: (b). Every month, about

10 percent of all death certificates (250–
300) must be sent back to physicians to
get more information or clarification.
These queries are mailed to physicians,
and the response to a query is a legal
change to a legal document. Changes
can be made directly on the form and
must be signed and dated; changes
cannot be made without an original
signature. Do it right the first time, and
you won’t have to be bothered by a
pesky query from us.

4. Answer: (b). The underlying cause
of death should always be listed on the
lowest used line in Part 1; it is the dis-
ease condition, injury, or poisoning that
initiated the train of evens that led to
death. For example, a person who died
from diabetes mellitus might be listed in
the following manner: Part 1. (a) Con-
gestive heart failure; (b) Peripheral
vascular disease; (c) Diabetes mellitus.
(Think of underlying as “at the bot-
tom.”) More detail is better than less.
Realistically, it is sometimes difficult to
determine conditions that led to the
patient’s death. In such cases, a certifier
should select the causes that are suspect-
ed to have been involved, and use quali-
fiers such as “probable” or “presumed.”
When the underlying cause of death is
simply unknown, stating that the etiolo-
gy is unknown will avoid a query. (For
further information, see http://www.
ohd.hr.state.or.us/cdsum/2001/
ohd5007.pdf. Remember, only you can
prevent queries.)

5. Answer: (e) none of the above.
These are terminal or non-specific con-
ditions that do not clearly indicate the
type of underlying disease involved. We
know you know (in most cases) the
“underlying” conditions that precipitat-
ed the arrests, failures, and other mecha-
nisms of death. By reporting them on
the death certificate, you can avoid
receiving a query from our office.

6. Answer: (b) cancer. In 2001, can-
cer beat out heart disease by 5 deaths to
become the leading cause of death for
the first time. See http://www.ohd.hr.
state.or.us/chs/cntydata/cdb2001/
tbl19_01.pdf.

7. Answer: (e) humans. On average,
100+ Oregonians are murdered annually
compared to just 2–3 fatally injured by
horses, the second most common perpe-
trator.

8. Answer: (a) never. When signing
death certificates, please check to make
sure that your name, title, etc. is typed
or written as the certifying physician. If
it is not, please white out the informa-
tion that is on all copies and print in the
new information, or request that the
funeral home re-do the certificate.

9. Answer: (c). By law, the only per-
son who can change the medical portion
of the death certificate is the physician/
nurse practitioner who originally signed
the death certificate. The State Medical
Examiner can override a signer’s deci-
sion, but this rarely occurs. Once regis-
tered, any change to a certificate must be
made on an affidavit that is signed and
dated. The person signing the affidavit
must be the same person who signed the
certificate. Affidavits are legal docu-

ments and become part of the vital
records archives. A new certificate can-
not simply be submitted with changes.

10. Answer: (e) none of the above. For
detailed instructions on how to complete
these items, see http://www. ohd.hr.state.
or.us/chs/dcinstructions.pdf.

11. Answer: (c) overdoses/poison-
ings. In 2001, 513 persons died of over-
doses/poisonings compared to 488 from
motor vehicle traffic crashes. Yes, death
by electrocution via nipple rings actual-
ly did happen.

12. Answer: (b) In cases where the
manner of death is anything other than
natural, the certifying physician should
complete these items.

13. Answer: (e) all of the above. CHS
Web site http://www.ohd.hr.state.or.us/
chs/deathcert.htm. Call us at 503/731-
4453. Email Terrie.L.Bollinger@
state.or.us. Instructions for Completing
the Cause-of-Death Section of the Death
Certificate (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
data/misc/hb_cod.pdf). Possible Solu-
tions to Common Problems in Death
Certification (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
about/major/dvs/brief.htm).
SCORE

If you got 11–13 correct, you have
genius-level death IQ and have a future
as a Nosologist.  8–10, Above-average
death IQ. You have great potential for
an exciting career in public health.  5–7,
Average death IQ. You should probably
spend more time reading CD Summa-
ries.  0–4, Below-average death IQ. You
have died while reading this CD Sum-
mary. Boredom should be listed on your
death certificate as the underlying cause
of death.


