

Oregon Law on Consent for STI Testing and Treatment of Minors

Oregon law states that minors 15 years of age or older can consent to medical services without the consent of a parent or guardian (<u>ORS 109.640</u>). Minors of any age can consent to testing and/or treatment of a sexually transmitted infection (STI), including HIV, without consent of a parent or guardian if the STI is one which is required to be reported to a local or state health authority (<u>ORS 109.610</u>). In Oregon, minors are individuals under 18 years of age.



Age requirements for minors to consent without a parent/guardian

The table below shows the age at which minors can consent to testing and/or treatment for common STIs without consent of a parent/guardian.

Any age*	15 years of age or older
Chlamydia	Herpes simplex virus
Gonorrhea	Human papillomavirus (HPV)
Syphilis	
HIV	

* When these conditions are diagnosed, health care providers and laboratories must report cases to the local or state health authority (<u>ORS 433.004</u>, <u>OAR 333-018</u>).

Can health care providers inform a parent/guardian of a minor's STI test or treatment?

A hospital or medical provider may inform a parent/guardian of a minor's diagnosis or treatment without the consent of the minor and is not liable for advising the parent/guardian without the minor's consent (<u>ORS 109.640</u>).

Oregon law allows patients enrolled in a private health insurance policy the right to request that protected health information be sent directly to them instead of the policy holder (<u>HB 2758</u>). Minors insured through a parent/guardian may redirect insurance communications about health care services by completing the Oregon Request for Confidential Communication form and submitting it to their insurance company. Patients should confirm that their request has been fully processed to ensure that information about their visit is not sent to the policy holder. *This law does not apply to those covered by Oregon Health Plan.*

Confidentiality policies should be discussed with minors seeking STI testing and/or treatment.

Who is responsible for payment?

Parents/guardians who have not given consent for STI testing and/or treatment of a minor are not legally responsible for payment of these services (<u>ORS 109.610</u>).

Payment methods should be discussed with minors seeking STI testing and/or treatment as necessary.

Resources

Contact the STD Prevention Program at 971-673-0153 with any questions.

You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille or a format you prefer. Contact STD Prevention Program at 971-673-0153. We accept all relay calls or you can dial 711.

OHA 2939 (7/2019)