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Car seats, when used correctly, save 
children’s lives.
By Oregon law, all children under 8 years 
old or 4'9" must be properly secured in an 
approved child safety seat or booster seat.
To make sure your child is riding in the 
right seat the right way, always read the car 
seat instruction manual carefully. 

 
 
 

For more information	
For information on where to find reduced-
cost car seats, call your local health 
department, or the Child Safety Seat 
Resource Center, 1-877-793-2608.  
To find a car seat check-up event near 
you or for questions about car seats, call 
the Child Safety Seat Resource Center at 
503-643-5620 or 1-877-793-2608, or go 
to www.childsafetyseat.org.

Car seat safety

Infants must ride rear 
facing until 1 year 
old AND 20 pounds 
(Oregon law) or longer 
if the seat in use allows 
a higher upper weight 
limit (“best practice”).

WARNING: Never 
place an infant seat in 
front of an airbag.

Thread the seat’s 
harness straps  
AT OR BELOW the 
child’s shoulders.

The safest place for 
infants to ride is in 
the BACK SEAT.

Adjust the safety 
seat’s retainer clip 
to ARMPIT LEVEL.

Tighten the safety 
belt so the seat does 
not move more than 
ONE INCH forward 
or side to side.

Adjust the harness snugly 
so there is NO SLACK.


