
W
he

n 
ba

by
 c

om
es

 h
om

e

62

When parents are not legally married at 
the time of birth, additional legal steps 
must be taken to list the father on the 
birth certificate to establish paternity. 

Reasons to add the father’s name 
to the birth certificate:
•	 Your child may need to trace special 

health problems or identify relatives 
with compatible blood or tissue types if 
a serious medical condition develops.

•	 Your child may become eligible for 
benefits from both parents — Social 
Security, health and life insurance 
benefits, inheritance rights, veteran’s 
and other benefits. Usually paternity 
must be established before a child can 
receive these benefits from a father.

•	 Financial support from both parents is 
required by law. Children supported by 
only one parent may not have enough 
money for their needs.

How can the mother add the 
father’s name to the birth certificate 
while the mother is in the hospital? 
As long as the mother was not married at 
any time during her pregnancy (300 days 
prior to birth), both parents can sign a 
“Voluntary Acknowledgment of  
Paternity” (Form 45-31).  
Hospital staff can provide both the  
form and information about legal rights 
and responsibilities.

What if the father cannot sign  
the form while the mother is at  
the hospital?
Both parents will need to complete a 
“Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity 
Affidavit” (Form 45-21), and sign it before 
a notary public. Send the signed form to 

the State of Oregon Vital Records office. 
There is a fee to add the father’s name  
to the birth certificate. 

What if the mother was married 
during the pregnancy (300 days 
prior to the birth)?
If the mother was married to a man who  
is not the father of her child at any time 
300 days prior to the birth of the child, 
then there is a different legal process 
to add the father’s name to the birth 
certificate. The mother must provide a 
certified court order (such as a divorce 
decree or an order of non-paternity) stating 
that the man who was her husband during 
the pregnancy is not the father of the 
child. A local Division of Child Support 
office or family law attorney may be able 
to assist you and explain what to do.

For more information
Center for Health Statistics  
http://public.health.oregon.
gov/BirthDeathCertificates/
ChangeVitalRecords/Pages/ 
paternityfaqs.aspx 
Oregon Division of Child Support 
www.dcs.state.or.us 
www.oregonchildsupport.gov/offices
Forms available from Oregon Vital 
Records, 971-673-1155

Birth certificate: Adding father’s name

http://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/ChangeVitalRecords/Pages/paternityfaqs.aspx
http://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/ChangeVitalRecords/Pages/paternityfaqs.aspx
http://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/ChangeVitalRecords/Pages/paternityfaqs.aspx
http://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/ChangeVitalRecords/Pages/paternityfaqs.aspx
http://www.dcs.state.or.us/services/paternity.htm
http://www.oregonchildsupport.gov/offices/index.shtml

