

HEALTH LICENSING OFFICE

Board of Electrologists and Body Art Practitioners

1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301-2192 Phone: 503-378-8667 | Fax: 503-370-9004 healthoregon.org/hlo | Email: hlo.info@state.or.us

## TATTOO - WAITING PERIOD REQUIREMENTS FOR RETAKING A FAILED WRITTEN EXAMINATION

The Health Licensing Office (HLO) and the Board of Electrologists and Body Art Practitioners established requirements, including waiting periods and additional training, for applicants who fail the written examination and must retake the examination after one or more failed attempts. The following **Tattoo** written examination retake requirements are pursuant to Oregon Administrative Rule 331-915-0040.

You will be contacted by the HLO to offer a study assistance review after your 2<sup>nd</sup>, 4<sup>th</sup>, and 6<sup>th</sup> failed attempts.

Examination Attempts:	Tattoo Requirements Waiting Periods and Additional Training:
After First & Second Failed Attempt	✓ Eligible to retake on the <b>eighth (8<sup>th</sup>) calendar day</b> *. Applicants are <i>REQUIRED</i> to wait seven whole calendar days before retaking examination.
After Third Failed Attempt	<ul> <li>Eligible to retake on the 31<sup>st</sup> calendar day*. Applicants are REQUIRED to wait 30 whole calendar days before retaking examination;</li> </ul>
	❷ Prior to the fourth attempt, applicant must submit an official transcript certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in Oregon Administrative Rule 331-915-0005 from a career school licensed under Oregon Revised Statute 345 on a form prescribed by the Health Licensing Office.
	Reapply and pay all additional fees.
After Fourth & Fifth Failed Attempt	☑ Eligible to retake on the <b>eighth (8<sup>th</sup>) calendar day</b> *. Applicants are <i>REQUIRED</i> to wait seven whole calendar days before retaking examination.
After Sixth Failed Attempt	Eligible to retake on the <b>31<sup>st</sup> calendar day</b> *. Applicants are <i>REQUIRED</i> to wait 30 whole calendar days before retaking examination;
	❷ Prior to the fourth attempt, applicant must submit an official transcript certifying completion of an additional 100 hours of instruction in theory, focused on the approved curriculum outlined in Oregon Administrative Rule 331-915-0005 from a career school licensed under Oregon Revised Statute 345 on a form prescribed by the Health Licensing Office.
	B Reapply and pay all additional fees.
After Seventh Failed Attempt	☑ The ability to retake or the requirements for retake (or both) will be determined by the Health Licensing Office on a case-by-case basis.

\*Calendar day = Must fall on a non-holiday, regular HLO office business day and during regular office hours open to the public. A list of State of Oregon holidays can be found at: <u>https://www.oregon.gov/das/pages/buildingclosure.aspx</u>.

The Health Licensing Office examination days and hours are:

Monday: 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Tuesday: <mark>9</mark> a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday – Friday: 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.