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COSMETOLOGY PRACTITIONER APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 

HLO Information 
 
Health Licensing Office 
1430 Tandem Ave, NE, Suite 180 
Salem, OR 97301 
(503) 378-8667 
 
Business Hours: 
Monday : 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
Tuesday: 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
Wednesday through Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
 
*The HLO is closed on all state-recognized holidays. 
 

Acronyms Referenced 
 
“AOL” – Affidavit of Licensure 
“HLO” – Health Licensing Office 
“FOP” – Field of Practice (i.e. barbering, hair design, nail 
technology and esthetics) 
“OAR” – Oregon Administrative Rule 
“OEI” – Oregon Education Institution 
“OLRE” – Oregon Laws and Rules Examination 
 

Application Requirements 
 
Applicants must: 
 Meet all application requirements specified by OAR; 

 Meet all education and/or licensing requirements for 
      specified qualification pathway; 

 Pay all applicable fees (i.e. application, examination 
      and licensing fees); and 

 Appear in person to the HLO to: 

• Submit completed application; 
• Submit two forms of original identification issued 

by a government agency, both of which must 
include applicant’s current legal name. Front 
and back of legible (clear) photocopies if 
submitted by mail. At least one form of 
identification provided to the HLO must be 
photographic. Acceptable identification options 
can be found under Chapter 331, Division 30 of 
Oregon Administrative Rule; and 

• Take all required state prepared written 
examinations. 

 

Qualification Pathways 
 
In order to obtain one or more Cosmetology certifications, 
you must come in through one of three different pathway 
types. Please review the pathways below to determine 
certification requirements for each pathway. 
 
PATHWAY 1: GRADUATE FROM AN OREGON 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION 
 
Oregon Educational Institution (OEI): 
 
Completion of education/training in one or more fields of 
practice (FOP) at an approved OEI by the Oregon 
Department of Education. 
 
Education/Training Requirements: 
 

• Barbering ------------------------746 hours 
• Esthetics ------------------------444 hours 
• Hair Design ---------------------1,110 hours 
• Nail Technology ---------------241 hours 

 
                            - AND – 
 

• Oregon Laws and Rules -----20 hours 
• Career Development ---------20 hours 

 
***Applicants coming from a proficiency-based OEI may 
be required to submit additional information. 
 
Practical Examination: 
 
Pass a practical examination, administered by an OEI in 
one or more FOP’s. 
 
Official Transcript: 
 
The OEI must deliver an official transcript directly to the 
HLO certifying training, education and practical 
examination requirements for each FOP. 
 
Written Examinations: 
 
Applicants may apply to take the state prepared written 
examinations when the HLO receives the official 
transcript. 
 
 SEE WRITTEN EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
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Qualification Pathways Cont. 
 
PATHWAY 2: RECIPROCITY 
 
The HLO recognizes, at its discretion, other states’ 
education and licensing requirements; however, being 
licensed in another state does not guarantee that an 
applicant qualifies for certification in Oregon. 
 
Affidavit of Licensure (AOL): 
 
An AOL is used to confirm that the applicant’s 
authorization to practice in another state is current and in 
good standing. Applicants initiate the AOL request 
through: 
 
(a) Their out-of-state regulatory authority and direct the 

regulatory authority to deliver the documentation 
directly to the HLO; or 

(b) The HLO by submission of an AOL request form 
located on the HLO’s website at: 
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/hlo 

 
Applicants should update their mailing address with the 
regulatory authority when initiating the AOL request. 
 
The HLO will mail application information to applicants 
when their AOL is received. 
 
Written Examinations: 
 
Applicants may apply to take the state prepared written 
examinations when the HLO receives the AOL. 
 
 SEE WRITTEN EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
 
 
PATHWAY 3: REVIEW BY THE HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING COMMISSION (HECC) 
 
Applicants can submit their education and training to the 
HECC to request a review and determination of 
qualification for licensure. 
 
Practical Examination: 
 
Pass a practical examination, administered by an OEI in 
one or more FOP’s. 
 
Written Examinations: 
 
Applicants may apply to take the state prepared written 
examinations when the HLO receives approval 
documentation from HECC and receives a passing score 
for a board-approved practical examination. 
 
 SEE WRITTEN EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
 
 

Written Examination Information 
 
The state prepared written examination consists of the 
OLRE and one or more FOP examinations. 
 
Examination Questions: 

• Oregon Laws and Rules -----90 questions 
• Barbering ------------------------100 questions 
• Hair Design ---------------------100 questions 
• Esthetics ------------------------100 questions 
• Nail Technology ---------------100 questions 

 
Examination questions are sourced from the Oregon 
Administrative Rules and industry textbooks (i.e. Milady 
and Pivot Point). 
 
Candidate Information Bulletins are available on the HLO 
website and provide detailed information about subject 
domains and the number of questions asked per domain. 
 
Time Allowed: 
 
90 minutes is provided to take each field of practice 
examination (i.e. Barbering, Hair Design, Esthetics and 
Nail Technology) and 90 minutes for the Oregon Laws and 
Rules examination. 
 
*Individuals for whom English is a second language have 
the option to have additional time provided to take the 
examination(s). See English as a second language below. 
 
Examination Schedule: 
 
There is no appointment necessary for testing, however; 
you must appear at the HLO by specific cutoff times listed 
below when sitting for multiple FOP’s. Examinations are 
offered on a walk-in basis and subject to space 
availability. 
 
Applicants will not be able to sit for an examination if they 
do not have the appropriate amount of time to complete 
their examinations and should arrive as early as possible 
to complete all anticipated exams. It may be necessary to 
come back to the HLO on an additional day(s) in order to 
complete all the examinations you wish to sit for. 
 
The following schedule provides the latest time of arrival 
an applicant must appear at the HLO to take one or more 
FOP’s and the OLRE: 
   9:00 a.m. – to take 4 FOP and the OLRE 
 10:30 a.m. – to take 3 FOP and the OLRE 
 12:00 p.m. – to take 2 FOP and the OLRE 
   1:30 p.m. – to take 1 FOP and the OLRE 
 
Please note 
*The Health Licensing Office does not open until 9 a.m. on 
Tuesdays. 
 
*Due to space limitations, family and/or friends may not 
wait in the reception area and should plan to drop off and 
pick up applicants. 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/hlo
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Written Examination Information Cont. 
 
Examinations Offered in Other Languages: 
 
All FOP’s and the OLRE are currently offered in Spanish 
and Vietnamese. 90 minutes is provided to take each field 
of practice examination (i.e. Barbering, Hair Design, 
Esthetics and Nail Technology) and 90 minutes for the 
Oregon Laws and Rules examination. 
 
Additional Time Offered for English as a Second 
Language (ESL): 
 
Individuals for whom English is a second language are 
provided two and a half (2.5) hours to take each field of 
practice and the Oregon Laws and Rules examination. 
Additional time will only be given to individuals taking an 
examination which is not being administered in the 
individual’s primary language. 
 
Time of Arrival to HLO for ESL Examinations: 
 
The following schedule provides the latest time of arrival 
an ESL applicant must appear at the HLO to take one or 
more FOP’s and the OLRE: 
 
   8:00 a.m. – to take 2 FOP and the OLRE 
 11:00 a.m. – to take 1 FOP and the OLRE 
 
To accommodate individuals taking three fields of practice 
and the Oregon Laws and Rules, with additional time, the 
Office will administer those examinations beginning at 8 
a.m. other than Tuesdays. It may be necessary to come 
back to the HLO on an additional day(s) in order to 
complete all the necessary examinations you wish to sit 
for. 
 
*Please note* 
The Health Licensing Office does not open until 9 a.m. on 
Tuesdays. 
 
What to Expect During Examinations: 
 
• Exams are administered on a computer touch-screen 

console. 

• Questions are multiple-choice and may be skipped 
one time. 

• Opportunity is provided to answer skipped questions 
at the end of the examination. 

• Results are received at the conclusion of the 
examination. 

• Once you have passed your examinations, you may 
pay for and receive your certification(s). 

 
 
 
 
 

 

Written Examination Information Cont. 
 
Conduct While Taking Examinations: 
 
Applicants are required to review and adhere to rules 
outlined in the examination conduct form, which must be 
signed by the applicant prior to taking an examination(s). 
The following rules of conduct are strictly enforced: 
 
• All personal items must be placed in a locker or space 

designated by the HLO staff. 

• Electronic and communication devices are prohibited 
in the examination testing room. 

• Talking, other than with the HLO staff, is strictly 
prohibited while taking an examination. 

 
Passing the Examination(s): 
 
A score of 75 percent or higher is required to receive a 
passing score on each examination. 
 

Acceptable Identification 
 
When applying, two forms of original identification issued 
by a government agency must be submitted. At least one 
form of identification must be photographic. 
 
Applicant’s name must appear the same on both forms of 
identification and they must match the name on the official 
school transcript or affidavit of licensure. If not, the 
applicant must provide legal documentation sufficient to 
confirm the name change. 
 
Acceptable identification includes but is not limited to: 
• Driver’s license 
• Social Security card 
• United States passport 
• Birth certificate (original or certified copy) 
 
Refer to http://www.oregon.gov/oha/hlo or OAR 331-30-
0000 for a complete list of acceptable identification. 
 

Special Accommodations 
 
Special accommodations are available upon request 
under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Such 
requests must be made 30 days prior to the examination 
date and time. Contact the HLO if you have questions 
regarding special accommodations. 
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Notice to Applicants 
 
Material Misrepresentation: 
 
Material misrepresentation or material errors of fact on an 
application for, or renewal of, a certification are grounds 
for disqualification of examination, refusal to issue or 
revocation of the certification. 
 
Fitness for issuance: 
 
An applicant who has been the subject of any disciplinary 
action, including the imposition of a civil or criminal 
penalty, is not considered qualified for an Oregon 
certification to practice until the HLO determines the 
scope, applicability and finality of the disciplinary action as 
it relates to the applicant’s fitness to be issued a 
certification to practice or use a professional title under a 
program listed in ORS 676.565. 
 
Fingerprint / Criminal Background Check: 
 
The HLO may require an applicant to complete a 
fingerprint check through the Oregon State Police. The 
HLO may also conduct a criminal background check of 
convictions to determine whether the applicant has been 
convicted of a crime that may affect the applicant’s fitness 
to practice. 
 
Parole or Probation: 
 
Applicants currently on parole or probation must provide a 
letter of release from their parole or probation officer 
authorizing the applicant to obtain a certification to 
practice in addition to any other specific licensure needed 
(i.e. independent contractor and/or freelance). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
***Please note: Bring the attached application with 
you at the time of testing. Do not fax, email or mail 
the application in to the HLO. 

Fees 
 
Application (non-refundable): 
• Original certificate 

Per field of practice (FOP) $  20 
• Reciprocity (FOP) $100 
 
Examination: 
• Barbering $  35 
• Hair Design $  35 
• Esthetics $  35 
• Nail Technology $  35 
• Oregon Laws and Rules $  35 
• Retakes (FOP) $  35 
 
Certification (valid for two years): 
• Original certificate (FOP) $  25 
• Reciprocity (FOP) $  45 
 
Refer to http://www.oregon.gov/oha/hlo for a complete list 
of fees. 
 

Payment Options 
 
The HLO accepts cash, check, money order, Visa, 
Discover and MasterCard. Payment must be made for the 
exact amount required.  
 
If using a third-party credit card, the cardholder must be 
present when payment is made. 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/hlo


Return All Pages Of This Application And Keep A Copy For Your Records 
 

 

 

COSMETOLOGY PRACTITIONER APPLICATION 

1. Applicant Information 
Check fields of practice you are qualifying for: 
     BARBERING                          HAIR DESIGN                          ESTHETICS                          NAIL TECHNOLOGY 

Application by: 
 Pathway 1: Oregon Educational Institution 
 Pathway 2: Reciprocity – State:                     License Number(s):       
 Pathway 3: Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) review of education, training and experience. 

APPLICANT NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE INTIAL 

               

RESIDENTIAL PHYSICAL ADDRESS (REQUIRED) 
      
CITY 
      

STATE 
   

ZIP 
      

MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS) 

      
CITY 

      
STATE 

   
ZIP 

      
PHONE:  HOME  CELL 

      
BUSINESS PHONE 

      
EMAIL 

       
GENDER 

 Female    Male 
BIRTHDATE 

      
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (REQUIRED) 

      
 Have you ever been known under any other name?   

 No   Yes – If yes, list full name(s):       

 Do you hold or have you previously held licensure, certification or registration with the Health Licensing Office or any 
other state?   No   Yes - If yes, please list information below. 

State:   Lic./Cert./Reg.#       Expiration:      
State:   Lic./Cert./Reg.#       Expiration:      
State:   Lic./Cert./Reg.#       Expiration:      

(Do not write in this section – Official use only) 
Initials __________ OTC       Verified ID        Type: ____________________ 

Qualifying Exam:   Laws/Rules              Barber              Hair             Esthetics             Nail              Re-Exam 

Method of Payment:  Visa   MasterCard  

 Discover  Cash  Check  MO  PO 

AMOUNT: _______________________________   

INITIALS: ________________________________  
 APPROVAL CODE/CK#   

Method of Payment:  Visa   MasterCard  

 Discover  Cash  Check  MO  PO 

AMOUNT: ________________________________   

INITIALS: ________________________________  
 APPROVAL CODE/CK#   

Method of Payment:  Visa   MasterCard  

 Discover  Cash  Check  MO  PO 

AMOUNT: ________________________________   

INITIALS: ________________________________  
 APPROVAL CODE/CK#   
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2. Individual Records Questions: Please accurately answer all of the questions below. The Office may review
your information through the Law Enforcement Data System, other governmental agencies, and private vendors to
confirm the accuracy of the information. Any misrepresentation or failure to disclose information may result in
disciplinary action.

Are you now, or have you ever been, the subject of any active or inactive disciplinary action or voluntary resignation of a 
professional license, certificate, registration or permit imposed by a licensing or regulatory authority in this or any other 
state? Disciplinary action includes, but is not limited to, probation, suspension, civil penalty, or any other sanction limiting, 
in any way, a license, certificate, registration or permit.   Yes    No   If yes, please explain (attach additional pages 
if necessary):    

Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?    Yes    No  
If yes, please list all convictions, including the charges as stated in the court documents and year 
convicted (attach additional pages if necessary). Year Convicted 

As of today, are you on probation or parole?    Yes    No   If yes, you must provide a letter of release from your 
probation or parole officer authorizing you to obtain an authorization to practice. If you are on bench probation, or 
probation with the court, you must provide documentation of your conditions of the probation.  

As part of your application for initial or renewed occupational or professional license, certification, or registration issued by 
the Health Licensing Office, you are required to provide your Social Security number (SSN) to the Office. This is mandatory. 
The authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785, ORS 305.385, 42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 666(a)(13), and 41 CFR 
61.7. Failure to provide your SSN will be a basis to refuse to issue or renew the license, certification, or registration you seek. 
This record of your SSN is used for child support enforcement and tax administration purposes (including identification). The 
HLO will use your SSN for these purposes only, unless you authorize other uses of the number. Your SSN will remain on file 
with the Office.  
I have examined this application and certify that it is true, correct, and complete. I understand that knowingly making a false 
statement on this application will be cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of my license, certification or registration. I 
have enclosed the required fees and documentation. 

Applicant Signature: Date: 
ORS 181A.195, 181A.200, 670.280, 676.608, and 676.612 authorize the Health Licensing Office to conduct criminal 
background checks and the office requests that you voluntarily provide your Social Security number for this purpose. I 
understand my application may be subject to a criminal background check.  
Before issuing a default final order, the Health Licensing Office must determine the military status of a Respondent, under 50 
USC App § 521(b) (Supp. 2005). Your Social Security Number may be used in order to verify your military status (or lack 
thereof).  
If any disciplinary action is taken against your license, certification, or registration, your Social Security Number may be 
reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) under Title IV of Public Law 99-660, the Health Care Quality 
Improvement Act of 1986 (Title IV); Section 1921 of the Social Security Act (Section 1921); Section 1128E of the Social 
Security Act (Section 1128E); and their implementing regulations found at 45 CFR Part 60. 
I hereby voluntarily consent to disclose my Social Security number to the HLO for criminal background checks, verification of 
military status, and reports to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). Failure to provide your Social Security number for 
these purposes will not be used as a basis to deny your application, or to deny you any right, benefit or privilege provided by 
law. If you consent to the use of your Social Security number by the HLO for these purposes, it may be used only for these 
purposes. 

Applicant Signature: Date: 
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3. Race / Ethnicity – Voluntary Question

The State of Oregon has an Affirmative Action policy. If you choose to provide your race/ethnicity information below, it will 
help us evaluate the effectiveness of our affirmative action programs. This information will also be used in the aggregate (i.e. 
as a whole, not individually) for research and statistical purposes. It will not be tied specifically or directly to your licensing 
eligibility or qualifications. 

Ethnic Background (check only one) 

American Indian or Alaska Native (I) (Non-Hispanic or Latino): A person having origins in any of the original peoples 
of North and South American (including central America), and who maintain a tribal affiliation or community attachment. 

Asian (A) (Non-Hispanic or Latino): A person having origins in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast 
Asia, or the Indian Subcontinent, including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the 
Philippine Islands, Thailand and Vietnam. 

Black or African American (B) (Non-Hispanic or Latino): A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of 
Africa. 

Hispanic or Latino (H): A person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish 
Culture or origin regardless of race. 

Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander (P) (Non-Hispanic or Latino): A person having origins in any of the peoples 
of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other Pacific Islands.  

White (W) (Non-Hispanic or Latino): All persons having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, North Africa, or 
the Middle East. 

Two or more races (T) (Non-Hispanic or Latino): Persons who identify with two or more racial categories named 
above. 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PRACTITIONER 
Applicant must: 

Meet the requirements of Oregon Administrative Rule, Chapter 331, Division 30; 

Submit this completed application accompanied by payment of required fees; 

Submit two forms of original identification issued by a government agency, both of which must include 
applicant’s current legal name. Front and back of legible (clear) photocopies if submitted by mail. At least 
one form of identification provided to the HLO must be photographic. Acceptable identification options 
can be found under Chapter 331, Division 30 of Oregon Administrative Rule; and 
Meet all education, examination and training requirements in effect at the time of application through one of 
the following pathways listed on the next page. 

NOTE: The applicant is responsible for payment of fees assessed by the organization when obtaining required official 
documentation. 
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PATHWAY ONE:  GRADUATION FROM AN EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION 
Applicant must: 

Submit official transcript from an educational institution showing proof of hours for a field of practice as 
required by the Department of Education pursuant to ORS 345.400 and OAR 581-045-0200; or  

Submit a passing score of a board-approved practical examination within two years before the date of 
completion and passage of all applicable written examinations; 

Complete and pass a board approved written examination within two years before the date of application 
including the Oregon laws and rules examination. An applicant with a current certification who is seeking to 
add a field of practice must pass the Oregon laws and rules examination if the applicant has not passed this 
examination within two years of applying to add a field of practice; and 

Upon passage of all required examinations and before receipt of certificate, the applicant must pay all 
required fees. Qualification through pathway one: Application fee = $20 (per field of practice); 
Examination fee = $35 (per field of practice); and Oregon Laws and Rules exam = $35. 

(OR) 

PATHWAY TWO: RECIPROCITY 
Applicant must: 

Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040 from another state, which is active with no 
current or pending disciplinary action and is substantially equivalent to Oregon certification requirements 
pursuant to ORS 690.047;  

Complete and pass a board approved written examination within two years before the date of application 
including the Oregon laws and rules examination. An applicant with a current certification who is seeking to 
add a field of practice must pass the Oregon laws and rules examination if the applicant has not passed this 
examination within two years of applying to add a field of practice; and 

Upon passage of all required examinations and before receipt of certificate, the applicant must pay all 
required fees. Qualification through pathway two: Application fee = $100 (per field of practice); 
Examination fee = $35 (per field of practice); and Oregon Laws and Rules exam = $35. 

(OR) 

PATHWAY THREE: Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) Review of education, 
training and experience. 
Applicant must: 

Submit documentation from the HECC confirming the applicant is qualified to take the Board-approved 
qualifying examination; 

Submit a passing score of a Board-approved practical examination. Practical examination scores are valid 
for two years from the date the practical examination was completed and passed. 

Complete and pass a Board-approved written examination within two years before the date of application 
including the Oregon laws and rules examination. 

Upon passage of all required examinations and before receipt of certificate, the applicant must pay all 
required fees. Qualification through pathway three: Application fee = $100 (per field of practice); 
Examination fee = $35 (per field of practice); and Oregon Laws and Rules exam = $35. 

NOTE: An applicant is not required to provide proof of official transcripts in a field of practice if the applicant was previously 
certified in Oregon. 

NOTE: An applicant coming from a proficiency based educational institution under ORS 345.400 may be required to submit 
additional information to the HLO. 

NOTE: The applicant is responsible for payment of fees assessed by the organization when obtaining required official 
documentation. 
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