

1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301-2192 Phone: 503-378-8667 | Fax: 503-370-9004 www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/hlo | Email: hlo.info@dhsoha.state.or.us

## HEARING AID SPECIALIST TRAINING PROGRAM - CERTIFICATION OF TRAINING

This completed form must be submitted with application for Hearing Aid Specialist temporary license.

The Hearing Aid Specialist Training (HAST) program is the program established for prospective applicants to meet the Office's training and experience requirements under ORS 694.065(1)(a).

An individual in the HAST program must complete the program <u>in no less than 6 months and no more than 1</u> <u>year</u>. The training program includes **520 hours** of practical training under the direct supervision of a Registered Trainee Supervisor.

Training Start Date:		Training End Date:	
Practical Hours Required:	Core Competencies – Hearing Aid Fitting:		Practical Hours Completed:
60	<ol> <li>Audiometric testing</li> <li>Basic equipment check; adequate test environment</li> <li>Otoscope technique/client management</li> <li>Puretone audiometric; air conduction and bone conduction recording audiograms</li> <li>Masking: air conduction, bone conduction and speech masking</li> <li>Speech reception threshold and speech discrimination</li> <li>Most comfortable loudness level</li> <li>Uncomfortable loudness level</li> <li>Speech audiometry (live vs. recorded)</li> <li>Other audiometric tests (quick sin, Impendence)</li> </ol>		
60	<ul> <li>2) Counseling regarding hearing e</li> <li>Case history and Health Insurance (HIPPA)</li> <li>Review of test procedures</li> <li>Audiometric interpretation</li> <li>Options and recommendations (recommendations)</li> </ul>	xamination ce Privacy and Portability Act nedical and amplification) aring impaired (patient, family, care	
60	<ul> <li>3) Hearing aid selection</li> <li>Hearing aid components</li> <li>Physical characteristics of hearin</li> <li>Electro-acoustic characteristics o</li> <li>Technology options</li> <li>Advantages and disadvantage of</li> <li>Assisted devices</li> </ul>	g aids f hearing aids	
60	<ul> <li>4) Ear mold impressions</li> <li>Instructions to client</li> <li>Pre-Otoscopic inspection</li> <li>Dam placement</li> <li>Impression material preparation a</li> <li>Removal and post otoscopic insp</li> <li>Impression handling, order forms</li> </ul>	ection	

## Hearing Aid Specialist Training Program - Certification of Training (Continued)

180	<ul> <li>5) Hearing aid fitting &amp; follow-up care</li> <li>Acoustic couplers</li> <li>Problem solving</li> <li>Physical modification for hearing aids.</li> <li>Electro acoustic modification for hearing aids.</li> <li>Basic hearing aid repair</li> <li>Verification and/or validation measures</li> <li>Aural rehabilitation</li> <li>Long term follow up and counseling</li> <li>Records Management</li> </ul>	
40	<ul> <li>6) Elective hours</li> <li>Elective hours may be completed in any of the categories above (1 through 5 above).</li> </ul>	
60	Business Practices:         7) Ethics and regulations         • Federal Guidelines (FDA and FTC) for dispensing of         • Hearing Aids         • Oregon Administrative Rules and Oregon Revised         • Statutes         8) Sanitation and cleanliness         • Safety and infection control         • Single use cleaning implements (disposable items)         • C. Hand washing	
Total Required: 520 Hours	Total Hours Completed:	

## HEARING AID SPECIALIST TRAINING PROGRAM - CERTIFICATION OF TRAINING

Complete the Certification of Training Form and include the International Hearing Society's Distance Learning Program for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences Certification of Completion Form and submit both to the address on the top of this form.

I,, Print Supervisor's Full Name	, License Number:	, certify that			
Print Trainee's Full Name	, has received direct supervised training as outlir	ned in			
Oregon Administrative Rule from Training Start Date	to Training End Date	and			
understand that any misstatement of material fact on this certificate will be cause for disciplinary action by the					
Health Licensing Office. I also understand that the supervised trainee must have completed the program in no less					
than 6 months and no more than one (1) year.					
Supervisor's Signature	Date				
Trainee's Signature	Date				