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Division 50 
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

853-050-0000 
Continuing Education Requirements for Nursing Home Administrators  

(1) To maintain an authorization, nursing home administrators must complete a 
minimum of 10 hours of continuing education every authorization year.   

(2) Credit hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year reporting period 

cannot be carried forward or used to reinstate an inactive authorization. 

(3) Beginning July 1, 2021, at least 1 hour of annual continuing education must be in 
cultural competency coursework: 

(a) Approved by the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 413.450; or 

(b) That meets the skills requirements established by the Oregon Health Authority under 

ORS 413.450 by rule;  

(4) Section (3) does not apply to authorization holders who are: 

(a) Retired and not practicing the profession in any state; 

(b) Not practicing the profession in this state; or 

(c) Residing in this state, but not practicing in the profession in any state. 

(5) Except for the continuing education hours required under section (3), Continuing 

education for nursing home administrators must address subject matter related to at 
least one of these domains: 

(a) Resident and nursing care and quality of life, including person -centered care; 

(b) Human resources; 

(c) Finance; 

(d) Physical environment, including fire and life safety; 

(e) Compliance and governance including state and federal laws and standards; 

(f) Leadership and management as related to (a) through (e). 
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(6) Each licensee shall document compliance with the continuing education requirement 
through attestation on the license renewal application. Licensees are subject to 

provisions of OAR 853-050-0010 pertaining to periodic audit of continuing education.  

(7) CEU credit will be awarded based on the following criteria: 

(a) Completion and passing of academic courses taken from an accredited college or 
university at the same rate of credit established by that institution; 

(b) Completion of professional courses which meet academic course requirements in 

content, instruction and evaluation will be assigned CEU credit at the same rate as 
academic courses.  

(c) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

subsection, such as workshops, symposiums, seminars, laboratory exercises, or any 
applied experience with or without formal classroom work may receive credit at the rate 
of 1.0 CEU for each 10 hours of attendance.  

(8) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing education requirements must 
be maintained for a period of two years following renewal and must be available to the 
Office upon request. 

853-050-0005 

Continuing Education Requirements for Residential Care Administrators 

(1) To maintain an authorization, residential care facility administrators must complete a 
minimum of 20 hours of continuing education every authorization year.   

(2) Credit hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year reporting period 

cannot be carried forward or used to reinstate an inactive authorization. 

(3) Beginning July 1, 2021, at least 1 hour of annual continuing education must be in 
cultural competency coursework: 

(a) Approved by the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 413.450; or 

(b) That meets the skills requirements established by the Oregon Health Authority under 

ORS 413.450 by rule;  

(4) Section (3) does not apply to authorization holders who are: 

(a) Retired and not practicing the profession in any state; 

(b) Not practicing the profession in this state; or 

(c) Residing in this state, but not practicing in the profession in any state. 
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(5) Continuing education for residential care administrators must address subject matter 
related to the following domains: 

(a) Leadership skills; 

(b) Building requirements;  

(c) Fire and life safety; 

(d) Quality improvement processes; 

(e) Human resources management; 

(f) Health services;  

(g) Role of the nurse and Oregon Nurse Delegation Act;  

(h) Person-centered care principles; 

(i) Memory care standards;  

(j) Compliance and 
governance;                                                                                                   

(k) Adult abuse protection and investigations; 

(l) Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules. 

(h) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing education requirements must 
be maintained for a period of two years following renewal and must be available to the 
Office upon request. 

 

 


