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DIVISION 475

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
331-475-0005
Definitions
The following definitions apply to OAR 331-475-0010 to OAR 331-495-0005:

(1) “IBCLC” means an individual who is an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant
certified by the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners as of June 29, 2017, or
has met — at a minimum — the IBCLE standards in place on June 29, 2017.

(2) “IBLCE” means the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners.
(3) “Good standing” means no unresolved or outstanding disciplinary actions.
(4) “Office” means the Health Licensing Office.

331-475-0010

Fees

(1) An applicant or authorization holder is subject to the provisions of OAR 331-010-0010 and
OAR 331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penalties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Office pursuant to ORS 676.592 are as follows:
(a) Application: $150.

(b) License: $50 — valid for one year.

(c) Renewal: $50 — valid for one year.

(e) Replacement: $25.

(f) Delinquency fee: $40 for each year of inactive status up to three years.
(g) Affidavit of licensure, as defined in OAR 331-030-0040: $50.

(h) Administrative fee: $25.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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DIVISION 480
LICENSURE OF LACTATION CONSULTANTS
331-480-0005
Application requirements for initial lactation consultant license
An individual applying for initial licensure as a lactation consultant must:
(1) Meet the requirements of OAR Chapter 331 Division 30.

(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Office, which must contain the
information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required
application fees.

(3) Be at least 18 years old.

(4) Arrange for official documentation to be sent to the Office directly from the certifying
organization proving that the applicant is certified as an IBCLC; and

(5) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004, and

(6) Pay all licensing fees.

331-480-0010

Application requirements for initial licensure for lactation consultant through reciprocity

In addition to the requirements in OAR 331-480-0005, if an applicant is licensed or certified in
another state, they must:

(1) Be in good standing in every state in which they are licensed or certified, and

(2) Ensure that the Office receives an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040 from
every state in which they are authorized to practice as a lactation consultant.

331-480-0015
License Issuance and Renewal

The Office will enter all lactation consultant authorization holders and their status into its
licensure database, which is available to the public.

(1) Licensure and renewal: A license is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, Division
30 regarding the issuance and renewal of a license, provisions regarding authorization to
practice, identification, and requirements for issuance of a duplicate license.

(2) License renewal: To avoid delinquency penalties, a license must be renewed before the
license becomes inactive as described in section (3) of this rule. The licensee must:

(a) Submit a renewal application form;
For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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(b) Have obtained and attest to having obtained the continuing education pursuant to 331-485-
0005.

(c) Attest to holding current IBCLC certification.
(d) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004, and
(e) Pay the renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-475-0010.

(3) Renewal when a license is inactive: ORS 676.580 defines an “active authorization” as an
authorization that is current and not suspended and an “inactive authorization” as an
authorization that has not been current for three years or less. An inactive license does not
authorize its holder to practice lactation consultation or use the title or designation of “Lactation
Consultant.” To renew an inactive license, the authorization holder must:

(a) Submit a renewal application form;

(b) Attest to having obtained the continuing education pursuant to OAR 331-485-0005;
(c) Attest to holding current IBCLC certification.

(d) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; and

(e) Pay the delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 331-475-0010.

(4) Expired license: A license that has been inactive for more than three years is expired, and
the licensee must reapply for licensure and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-480-0005
or 331-480-0010.

331-480-0020
License Display and Posting Requirements

(1) Authorization holders must show proof of valid license upon request or post the license in
public view at the lactation consultant’s primary workplace; the authorization holder may carry
the license pocket card.

(2) An authorization holder may temporarily conceal the address printed on the license with a
covering that is removable.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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DIVISION 485
CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR LACTATION CONSULTANTS

331-485-0005
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) To maintain authorization, a lactation consultant must complete a minimum of 5 hours of
continuing education every authorization year. Of the required hours, at least one hour in
cultural competency and at least one hour in trauma-informed care must be obtained within one
year after initial licensure and once every five years thereafter.

(2) Credit hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year reporting period cannot be
carried forward or used to reinstate an inactive authorization.

(3) Continuing education for all authorization holders must address subject matter specific to the
following domains:

(a) Lactation consultation as defined in ORS 676.665;
(b) Cultural competency, approved by the Oregon Health Authority, under ORS 413.450, and
(c) Trauma-informed care.

(4) Continuing education hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, registration
or check-in periods, networking, introductions or welcome messages, orientation to the agenda,
overviews of the day, breaks, lunches or wrap up of the day.

(5) Self-study, research, authorship, or teaching does not count toward CE credit for renewal of
the authorization.

(6) At renewal each authorization holder must document compliance with the continuing
education requirements through attestation on the authorization renewal application.

(7) Continuing education requirements apply whether the applicant renewing authorization is
living or working within Oregon or outside of the state, so long as Oregon authorization is
maintained.

(8) Continuing education requirements remain in effect during the time authorization is inactive.
If an inactive authorization is renewed, authorization holder must attest to having fulfilled all
continuing education hours required during the inactive time period.

(9) Of the required 5 annual continuing education hours, after July 1, 2021, pursuant to 2019
House Bill 2011, at least one hour in cultural competency must be obtained:

(a) Within one year of initial licensure, and every two years thereafter, unless the authorization
holder is:

(A) Retired and not practicing the profession in any state;

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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(B) Not practicing the profession in this state; or
(C) Residing in this state but not practicing the profession in any state.

(b) If the authorization holder has an exemption from 2019 House Bill 2011 as outlined in
(2)(a)(A-C), they must complete one hour of cultural competency continuing education within
one year of initial licensure and then one hour every five years thereafter, pursuant to ORS
676.673.

(c) Continuing education to satisfy the requirements of 2019 House Bill 2011 can be acquired
through courses approved by:

(A) Oregon Health Authority under ORS 413.450; or
(B) IBLCE.

331-485-0010
Continuing Education: Required Documentation, Audit and Sanctions

(1) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in required continuing education is the
responsibility of the authorization holder.

(2) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing education requirements must be
maintained for six years following renewal and must be available to the Office upon request.

(3) The Office will audit a percentage of authorization holders to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements.

(4) Authorization holders selected for audit of continuing education will be notified in writing.
Those selected for audit will have 45 calendar days from the date of issuance of the notification
to submit to the Office satisfactory documentation and evidence of participation and completion
of required hours as describe in rule.

(5) Satisfactory evidence of participation and completion includes, but is not limited to:

(a) Proof of attendance (sign-in sheets, documentation from instructor).

(b) Certificate of completion showing number of CE hours.

(c) Name of sponsor, provider, organization, or instructor.

(d) Course agenda or syllabus.

(e) Course content description.

(f) Official transcript from an accredited college or university.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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(9) Sponsor, provider, organization, or instructor statement (affidavit attesting to attendance,
completion, certificate, diploma).

(6) An authorization holder who fails to meet the required CE hours, within the previous renewal
year, will receive a notice of intent (notice) to suspend their authorization to practice, a $500 civil
penalty will be assessed, and they must obtain the missing CE hours within three months from
the date of issuance of the notification. Completion of the missing CE hours will be in addition to
the annual requirement for that authorization renewal year.

(7) Satisfactory evidence of participation and completion of missing CE hours will need to be
submitted to the Office to remove the suspension of the authorization to practice. Example: an
authorization holder is required to take 12 hours of CE in the previous renewal year but only
completed eight hours. The office will issue notice and the authorization holder will have three
months from the date the notice becomes a final order to obtain the four additional hours and
submit satisfactory evidence of participation and completion to the Office. The four additional
hours will be in addition to the 12 hours required for the current authorization renewal year, for a
total of 16 hours.

(8) Fraud, misrepresentation, concealment of material facts, or deception in any written or oral
communication to the Office regarding continuing education requirements shall constitute
grounds for disciplinary action. This may include, but is not limited to, assessment of a civil
penalty and suspension or revocation of the authorization.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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DIVISION 490
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY
331-490-0005
Standards of practice and professional responsibility

(1) A licensed lactation consultant must:

(a) Comply with applicable confidentiality laws pertaining to information obtained in the course of
practice, supervision, teaching or research.

(b) Comply with all local, state and federal laws concerning the practice of lactation consultation.

(c) Abide by the following principles in the IBLCE’s Code of Professional Conduct (effective
September 2015): Principle 1, Principle 2.2-2.5, Principle 3-6, Principle 7.2-7.3 and Principle
8.2. A copy of the IBLCE’s Code of Professional Conduct is available from the Office.

(d) The following definitions apply to the IBLCE’s Code of Professional Conduct principles:
(A) “IBCLC” means International Board Certified Lactation Consultants;

(B) The following IBLCE’s Code of Professional Conduct definitions and interpretations:
1 and 3-6.

(2) A licensed lactation consultant must not:

(a) Discriminate in professional relationships with colleagues and clients because of race,
ethnicity, language, religion, marital status, gender, gender identity or expression, sexual
orientation, age, ability, socioeconomic status or political affiliation.

(b) Accept gratuities, gifts or favors that could interfere with decisions or judgment.
(c) Take financial advantage of a client or a client’s family.

(3) Failure to comply with these standards constitutes unprofessional conduct, and an
authorization holder engaging in such conduct may be subject to discipline under ORS 676.612.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
Page 8 of 9



Health Licensing Office, Lactation Consultants Program
Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 331, Division 475 — 495
Permanent Rules Effective: December 2, 2019
Unofficial Copy

DIVISION 495
DISCIPLINE AND ENFORCEMENT

331-495-0005
Investigative authority

The Office may initiate and conduct investigations relating to the practice of lactation
consultation, and may take appropriate disciplinary action in accordance with the provisions of
676.612 and 676.992.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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