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DIVISION 800
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
331-800-0010
Definitions
The following definitions apply to OAR 331-800-0010 to 331-850-0010.

(1) “Affidavit of Licensure” means an original document or other approved means of verifying an
authorization to practice (licensure or certification), status and history, including information
disclosing all unresolved or outstanding penalties or disciplinary actions. Refer to OAR 331-030-
0040.

(2) “ATSA” means the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers.
(3) “Board” means the Sexual Offense Treatment Board.

(4) “CASOT” means a certified associate sexual offense therapist.

(5) “CCSOT” means a certified clinical sexual offense therapist.

(6) “Certificate holder” means a certified clinical sexual offense therapist, a certified secondary
clinical sexual offense therapist, a certified associate sexual offense therapist, or a certified
sexual offense therapist intern.

(7) “Client” or “clients” means an individual or individuals described in ORS 675.368.

(8) “Continuing Education” (CE) means post-authorization education to maintain and advance
competency as it relates to the statutory definition of your profession.

(9) “CSCSOT” means a certified secondary clinical sexual offense therapist.
(10) “CSOTI” means a certified sexual offense therapist intern.

(11) “Direct clinical contact” means services provided with the primary purpose of assessment
and developing and implementing a treatment plan focused on sex-abuse-related behavior.

(12) “Direct supervision” has the definition set forth in ORS 675.365.

(13) “Direct treatment services” means individual, group or family therapy that focuses on the
sex-abuse-related behavior; the client must be present.

(14) “Office” means the Health Licensing Office.

(15) “Official transcript” means an original document certified by an accredited college or
university indicating hours and types of course work, examinations and scores that the student
has completed. The accredited college or university must submit the transcript by mail or courier
directly to the Office in a sealed envelope.
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(16) “Reciprocity” means, according to ORS 675.380, certification, registration or licensure in
another state, or similar official recognition by another state, based on standards of training,
education and experience that are similar to those required for certification in Oregon as a
CCSOT, a CSCSOQT, or a CASOT as specified in 675.380.

(17) “Sex abuse” or “sexual abuse” means any client behavior, including force, coercion, or
manipulation, resulting in a person, who did not or could not consent, observing or experiencing
sexual harassment, sexual exploitation, sexual behavior, or sexual activity.

(18) “Treatment plan” means a written statement of intended care and services as documented
in the evaluation that details how the client’s treatment needs will be met while protecting the
community during the treatment.

331-800-0020
Fees

(1) An applicant or certificate holder are subject to the provisions of OAR 331-010-0010 and
331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penalties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Oregon Health Licensing Office pursuant to 676.592 are as follows:
(a) Application: $75.

(b) Certification: $325 — valid for one year.

(c) Renewal: $325 — valid for one year.

(e) Replacement: $25.

(f) Duplicate: $25.

(g) Late fee(s): $50 for each year of inactive status up to three years.

(h) Affidavit of licensure: $50.

(i) Administrative fee: $25.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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DIVISION 810
CERTIFICATION
331-810-0010
Certified Clinical Sexual Offense Therapist

(1) Only a CCSOT certified under ORS 675.375 may use the title, words or abbreviations that
indicate the person is authorized to practice as a CCSOT.

(2) A certification is valid for one year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one
year from the date of issuance.

331-810-0020
Application Requirements for Certified Clinical Sexual Offense Therapist
An individual applying for certification as a CCSOT must:

(1) Submit a completed application form that must contain the information listed in OAR 331-
030-0000;

(2) Submit a completed professional disclosure statement as defined in ORS 675.365;

(3) Submit proof of having at least a master’s degree in a Board-approved behavioral science
field. For a list of Board-approved degrees, contact the Office;

(4) Submit proof of having an active Oregon mental health professional license or equivalent as
determined by the Office. A mental health professional license is a license to practice without
supervision as a psychiatrist, psychiatric nurse practitioner, psychologist, psychologist
associate, licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, or licensed marriage
and family therapist who provides sexual-abuse-specific treatment to adults, juveniles, or the
functionally disabled;

(5) Submit proof of having at least 2,000 hours of direct clinical contact with clients not more
than six years prior to the application date. The hours include:

(a) 1,000 hours of direct treatment services; and
(b) 500 hours of evaluations; and

(c) 500 hours of treatment-plan related activity, including report writing, clinical consultations,
case management, charting, peer review and consultations, meeting with attorneys, parole and
probation officers, caseworkers, families, victims and other members of the client’s social
network.

(6) Submit proof of having at least 60 hours of formal training applicable to sexual-abuse-
specific evaluation and treatment, obtained within six years prior to the application date;
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(7) Submit a fingerprint-based national criminal background check and be determined fit to hold
a certification, pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;

(8) Pay fees.
331-810-0022
Certified Secondary Clinical Sexual Offense Therapist

(1) Only a CSCSOT certified under ORS 675.375 may use the title, words or abbreviations that
indicate the person is authorized to practice as a CSCSOT.

(2) A CSCSOT certification is valid for one year and becomes inactive on the last day of the
month one year from the date of issuance.

(3) A CSCSOT must be under the direct supervision of a CCSOT.

(4) A CSCSOT must not provide sexual-abuse-specific treatment services to more than nine
clients in a calendar month, unless the certificate holder is accruing hours to qualify for the
CASQOT certification.

331-810-0023
Application Requirements Certified Secondary Clinical Sexual Offense Therapist
An individual applying for certification as a CSCSOT must:

(1) Submit a completed application form that must contain the information listed in OAR 331-
030-0000;

(2) Submit proof of having at least a master’'s degree in a Board-approved behavioral science
field. For a list of Board-approved degrees, contact the Office;

(3) Submit proof of having an active Oregon mental health professional license or equivalent. A
mental health professional license is a license to practice without supervision as a psychiatrist,
psychiatric nurse practitioner, psychologist, psychologist associate, licensed professional
counselor, licensed clinical social worker, or licensed marriage and family therapist who
provides sexual-abuse-specific treatment to adults, juveniles, or the functionally disabled;

(4) Submit proof of having at least 15 hours of formal training applicable to sexual-abuse-
specific evaluation and treatment, obtained within three years prior to the application date;

(5) Submit a fingerprint-based national criminal background check and be determined fit to hold
a certification, pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;

(6) Pay fees.
331-810-0025
Certified Associate Sexual Offense Therapist

(1) Only a CASOT certified under ORS 675.375 may use the title words or abbreviations that
indicate the person is authorized to practice as a CASOT.
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(2) A CASQOT certification is valid for one year and becomes inactive on the last day of the
month one year from the date of issuance.

(3) A CASOT must be under the direct supervision of a CCSOT.

331-810-0031

Application Requirements for Certified Associate Sexual Offense Therapist
An individual applying for certification as a CASOT must:

(1) Submit a completed application form that must contain the information listed in OAR 331-
030-0000;

(2) Submit proof of having at least a bachelor’s degree in the Board-approved behavioral
sciences. For a list of Board-approved degrees, contact the Office;

(3) Submit proof of having at least 1,000 hours of direct clinical contact with clients;

(4) Submit proof of having at least 30 hours of formal training applicable to sexual-abuse-
specific evaluation and treatment, obtained within three years prior to the application date;

(5) Be under the direct supervision of a CCSOT;

(6) Submit a fingerprint-based national criminal background check and be determined fit to hold
a certification, pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;

(7) Pay fees.
331-810-0034
Certified Sexual Offense Therapist Intern

(1) Only a CSOTI certified under ORS 675.375 may use the title, words or abbreviations that
indicate the person is authorized to practice as a CSOTI.

(2) A CSOTI certification is valid for one year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month
one year from the date of issuance.

(3) A CSOTI must be under the direct supervision of a CCSOT.
331-810-0039

Application Requirements for Certified Sexual Offense Therapist Intern
An individual applying for certification as a CSOTI must:

(1) Submit a completed application form that must contain the information listed in OAR 331-
030-0000;

(2) Submit proof of having at least a bachelor’s degree in the Board-approved behavioral
sciences field. For a list of Board-approved degrees, contact the Office;

(4) Be under the direct supervision of a CCSOT,;

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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(5) Submit a fingerprint-based national criminal background check and be determined fit to hold
a certification, pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;

(6) Pay fees.

331-810-0040

Reciprocity

An individual applying through reciprocity must:

(1) Submit a completed application form that must contain the information listed in OAR 331-
030-0000;

(2) Submit an affidavit of licensure, pursuant to 331-030-0040, demonstrating proof of holding a
current certification, registration or licensure in another state, or similar official recognition by
another state, as a CCSOT, CSCSOT, or CASOT, and has no current or pending disciplinary
action against the certification. The out-of-state requirements for the official recognition must be
at least equivalent to Oregon certification requirements pursuant to ORS 675.360-675.410.

(3) Submit a fingerprint-based national criminal background check and be determined fit to hold
a certification, pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004;

(4) Pay fees.
331-810-0055
Certified Clinical Sexual Offense Therapists Supervision Requirements

A CCSOT who is providing direct supervision, as defined in ORS 675.365, of a CSCSOT,
CASOT, or CSOTI must:

(1) Enter into a formal contract prescribed by the Board that specifies:

(a) The duties of the participating parties named in the contract;

(b) The scope and focus of the supervision; and

(c) Frequency and durations of meetings to review the supervisee's professional performance.

(2) Document dates and content of supervision meetings and make the information available to
the Office if requested;

(3) Sign assessments, evaluations, initial treatment plans, and discharge summaries, and
ensure client-related correspondence includes appropriate title and name of supervisor;

(4) Ensure that supervisees have training, education, background, preparation and supervision
to evaluate and treat clients;

(5) Notify the Office in writing within 10 business days of ending the supervision contract;

(6) Maintain supervision records for a minimum of 5 years after the last day of supervision. Upon
request, you must make the records available to the Office.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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331-810-0058

Certified Secondary Clinical Sexual Offense Therapist Supervision

A CSCSOT must:

(1) Enter into a formal contract prescribed by the Board with a CCSOT that specifies:
(a) The duties of a CSCSOT;

(b) The scope and focus of the supervision; and

(c) Frequency and durations of meetings between the supervisor and the CSCSOT to review the
CSCSOT'’s professional performance.

(2) Obtain at least two hours of direct supervision for every 10 hours of direct clinical contact;
(3) Notify the Office in writing within 10 business days of ending the supervision contract;

(4) Identify themselves as a CSCSOT on all materials relating to the provision of sexual-abuse-
specific treatment. The supervisor's name and designation “supervisor” must be included on
these materials;

(5) Maintain supervision records for a minimum of 5 years after the last day of supervision. Upon
request, you must make the records available to the Office.

331-810-0060

Certified Associate Sexual Offense Therapist Supervision

A CASOT must:

(1) Enter into a formal contract prescribed by the Board with a CCSOT that specifies:
(a) The duties of a CASOT;

(b) The scope and focus of the supervision; and

(c) Frequency and durations of meetings between the supervisor and the CASOT to review the
certified associate sexual offense therapist’s professional performance.

(2) Obtain at least:

(a) Two hours of direct supervision per month. At least one hour must be individual supervision
if the certificate holder has 45 or fewer hours in the month of direct clinical contact with clients;
or

(b) Three hours of direct supervision per month. At least 90 minutes must be individual
supervision if the certificate holder has more than 45 hours in the month of direct clinical contact
with clients.

(3) Notify the Office in writing within 10 business days of ending the supervision contract;

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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(4) Identify themselves as a CASOT on all materials relating to the provision of sexual-abuse-
specific treatment. The supervisor's name and designation “supervisor” must be included on
these materials;

(5) Maintain supervision records for a minimum of 5 years after the last day of supervision. Upon
request, you must make the records available to the Office.

331-810-0070

Certified Sexual Offense Therapist Intern Supervision

A CSOTI must:

(1) Enter into a formal contract prescribed by the Board with a CCSOT that specifies:
(a) The duties of a CSOTI;

(b) The scope and focus of the supervision; and

(c) Frequency and durations of meetings between the supervisor and the CSOTI to review the
certified sexual offense therapist intern’s professional performance.

(2) Notify the Office in writing within 10 business days of ending the supervision contract;

(3) Identify themselves as a CSOTI on all materials relating to the provision of sexual-abuse-
specific treatment. The supervisor's name and designation “supervisor” must be included on
these materials;

(4) Maintain supervision records for a minimum of 5 years after the last day of supervision. Upon
request, you must make the records available to the Office.

(5) Obtain at least:

(a) Two hours of direct supervision per month. At least one hour must be individual supervision
if the certificate holder has 45 or fewer hour in the month of direct clinical contact with clients; or

(b) Three hours of direct supervision per month. At least 90 minutes must be individual
supervision if the certificate holder has more than 45 hours in the month of direct clinical contact
with clients.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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DIVISION 820
RENEWAL
331-820-0020
Certification Renewal

(1) A certification is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, Division 30 regarding the
renewal of a certification.

(2) Certification renewal is valid for one year.

(3) To avoid delinquency penalties, certification renewal must be made prior to the certification
becoming inactive. The certification holder must:

(a) Submit a renewal application form;

(b) Attest to having obtained required annual continuing education, whether the certification is
current or inactive;

(c) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; and
(d) Pay the renewal fee.

(4) A certification may be inactive for up to three years. When renewing after entering inactive
status, the certification holder must:

(a) Submit a renewal application form;

(b) Attest to having obtained required annual continuing education, whether the certification is
current or inactive; and

(c) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; and
(d) Pay delinquency and certification renewal fees;

(5) A certification that has been inactive for more than three years is expired and the certification
holder must reapply and meet the current requirements.

331-820-0025
Certified Clinical Sexual Offense Therapists Without a Mental Health License

A CCSOT who did not hold an active Oregon mental health professional license, or equivalent
license as determined by the Office, upon initial certification, may continue to engage in the
practice of sexual-abuse-specific treatment as a CCSOT only if the person obtains an Oregon
mental health professional license or equivalent license as determined by the Office by Jan. 1,
2021.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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DIVISION 830
CONTINUING EDUCATION
331-830-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) To maintain authorization, CCSOT, CSCSOT and CASOT must complete a minimum of 15
hours of continuing education every authorization year.

(2) Credit hours obtained in excess of those required for the one-year reporting period cannot be
carried forward.

(3) Continuing education for CCSOT, CSCSOT and CASOT must address subject matter
related to the following domains: Assessment, evaluation and treatment of clients.

(4) Continuing education hours do not include travel time to or from the training site, registration
or check-in periods, networking, introductions or welcome messages, orientation to the agenda,
overviews of the day, mindfulness activities, breaks, lunches or wrap up of the day.

(5) Self-study, research, authorship, or teaching does not count toward CE credit for renewal of
the authorization.

(6) At renewal each authorization holder must document compliance with the continuing
education requirements through attestation on the authorization renewal application.

(7) Continuing education requirements apply whether the applicant renewing authorization is
living or working within Oregon or outside of the state, so long as Oregon authorization is
maintained.

(8) Continuing education requirements remain in effect during the time authorization is inactive.
If an inactive authorization is renewed, authorization holder must attest to having fulfilled all
continuing education hours required during the inactive time period.

331-830-0020
Continuing Education: Required Documentation, Audit and Sanctions

(1) Obtaining and maintaining proof of participation in required continuing education is the
responsibility of the authorization holder.

(2) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing education requirements must be
maintained for four years following renewal and must be available to the Office upon request.

(3) The Office will audit a percentage of authorization holders to verify compliance with
continuing education requirements.

(4) Authorization holders selected for audit of continuing education will be notified in writing.
Those selected for audit will have 45 calendar days from the date of issuance of the notification

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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to submit to the Office satisfactory documentation and evidence of participation and completion
of required hours as describe in rule.

(5) Satisfactory evidence of participation and completion includes, but is not limited to:

(a) Proof of attendance (sign-in sheets, documentation from instructor).

(c) Name of sponsor, provider, organization, or instructor.
(

)
)
(b) Certificate of completion showing number of CE hours.
)
d) Course agenda or syllabus.

)

(e) Course content description.

(f) Official transcript from an accredited college or university.

(g) Sponsor, provider, organization, or instructor statement (affidavit attesting to attendance,
completion, certificate, diploma).

(6) Misrepresentation of continuing education or failure to meet continuing education
requirements shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include but is not limited
to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of the authorization.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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DIVISION 840
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY
331-840-0010
Standards of Practice

(1) The standards set forth in OAR Chapter 331, Division 840 apply to all certificate holders as
specified in ORS 675.365(3).

(2) Failure to comply with these standards constitutes unprofessional conduct, and a certificate
holder engaging in such conduct may be subject to discipline under ORS 676.612.

(3) All certificate holders must abide by confidentiality requirements pursuant to ORS 675.390.
331-840-0020
Ethical Principles

The Sexual Offense Treatment Board adopts the 2014 Association for the Treatment of Sexual
Abusers (ATSA) Professional Code of Ethics and pages 1-15 of the Ethical Principles.
Documents are available at www.atsa.com and can be obtained from the Office upon request.

331-840-0040
Mandatory Reporting

(1) Certificate holders are required to report to the Office any conviction, determination or finding
of which they have personal knowledge that any certificate holder has committed an act that
constitutes unprofessional conduct.

(2) Reports under this section must be made in writing and include the name, address, and
telephone number of the person making the report, the name and address of the person about
whom the report is made and complete information about the circumstances that prompted the
report.

331-840-0060
Client Records

(1) Certificate holders must maintain documentation for each client relevant to health history,
clinical examinations and treatment, and financial data.

(2) Records must include:
(a) Client’s name, address, telephone number and dates of service;

(b) Health history related to sexual-abuse-specific evaluation or treatment plan(s), including
referral to other mental health-care provider or physician.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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(c) Description of services -- chart notes -- including any complications. Chart notes must
include the recorder’s initials, certification number and professional title if multiple practitioners
provide service to the client.

(3) Certificate holder’s name, license number, professional title or abbreviation, and signature or
initials somewhere on the documentation as a means of identifying the person who is providing
service to the client. This information may be affixed to the record(s) in the form of a
professional stamp or handwritten entry.

(4) Client records and documentation must be retained for at least 7 years after the certificate
holder stops working with the client.

331-840-0070
Practice Standards and Guidelines

The Board adopts the following as the practice standards and guidelines for all certificate
holders:

(1) Adult Male Sexual Abusers: The 2014 Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers
(ATSA), Practice Standards and Guidelines. A copy of the Practice Standards and Guidelines
may be purchased at: https://www.atsa.com/contact-us. The information is also available by
contacting ATSA: 4900 S.W. Griffith Drive, Suite 274, Beaverton, OR 97005, Phone: (503) 643-
1023, Fax: (503) 643-5084, email: atsa@atsa.com.

(2) Juvenile Sexual Abusers: Practice Standards and Guidelines, adopted October 2019. A copy
may be accessed at: https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HLO/Pages/Board-Sex-Offender-
Treatment-Information.aspx. The information is also available by contacting the Office at: 1430
Tandem Ave. NE Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301. Phone: (503) 378-8667, fax: (503) 585-9114,
email: hlo.info@state.or.us.

(3) Sexual Abusers with Intellectual and Other Developmental Disabilities: Practice Standards
and Guidelines, adopted January 2010. A copy of the Practice Standards and Guidelines may
be accessed at: https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HLO/Pages/Board-Sex-Offender-Treatment-
Information.aspx. The information is also available by contacting the Office at: 1430 Tandem
Ave. NE Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301-2192. Phone: (503) 378-8667, Fax: (503) 585-9114,
email: hlo.info@state.or.us.

(4) Failure to comply with OAR Chapter 331, Division 840 may result in disciplinary action under
ORS 676.612.

(5) Certificate holders must use treatment modalities that are based on empirical research with
regard to favorable treatment outcomes and are professionally accepted in the field of sexual-
abuse-specific treatment of adults, juveniles, and functionally disabled individuals with sexual
behavior problems.

(6) Certificate holders must seek a culturally specific or culturally responsive consultation when
indicated.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
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DIVISION 850
DISCIPLINE AND ENFORCEMENT
331-850-0010 Investigative Authority

The Office may initiate and conduct investigations relating to the practice of sexual-abuse-
specific treatment pursuant to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary action in
accordance with the provisions of 675.385, 676.612 and 676.992.
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