http://oregon.gov/psilocybin



Oregon Psilocybin Services

How to become a licensed psilocybin manufacturer in Oregon

In November 2020, Oregonians passed Measure 109 which is now codified into Oregon law in <u>ORS 475A</u>. This statute establishes a licensing and regulatory framework for psilocybin services in Oregon. Before taking steps to become licensed, please go to: "<u>What is the Oregon Psilocybin Services Act</u>?" and "<u>What are Psilocybin Services</u>?" to learn more.

Under ORS 475A, a manufacturer license is required to cultivate *psilocybe cubensis* mushrooms and process psilocybin products to be transferred to licensed service centers for the purposes of psilocybin services. Psilocybin products may include whole dried mushrooms, ground homogenized fungi, extracts, and edible products. Applicants for a manufacturer license will need to apply for specific endorsement types, which include fungi cultivation, psilocybin extraction, and edible psilocybin production.

General Manufacturer License Requirements:



- 1) Must be 21 years of age or older.
- 2) 50 percent of partnership/ownership interests must be held by one or more individuals who have been residents of Oregon for two or more years. Note this requirement ends in 2025.
- 3) Must acquire a Land Use Compatibly Statement (LUCS) form, signed by local city or county, which demonstrates that the proposed use of the property is consistent with local land use and zoning codes.
- 4) If not the owner of the property, must acquire written permission from the property owner for proposed use.
- 5) Must pass a criminal background check.
- 6) Must pass a site inspection as part of the license application process.

Steps to Become a Licensed Manufacturer

- 1. You must review and understand statutory (<u>ORS 475A</u>) and administrative rule (<u>OAR, Chapter 333-333</u>) requirements related to a manufacturer license.
- 2. You will need to decide which endorsements to apply for.
- 3. Before submitting an application, you will need to work with your local city or county jurisdiction to complete an <u>OPS Land Use Compatibility Statement (LUCS)</u> form, which demonstrates that the proposed property is in compliance with local land use and zoning requirements. Your local jurisdiction will need to review and approve the LUCS. Once you make the request, your local jurisdiction is required to respond within 21 days.
- 4. As part of the license application process, you will need to submit a map or sketch of the proposed licensed premises with details described in administrative rules.
- 5. If you are not the owner of the proposed premises, you must submit an OPS
 Property Permission Form that has been signed by the property owner and demonstrates that the owner understands and consents to the proposed use of the property for manufacturing psilocybin products.
- 6. You will need to provide proof of being 21 years of age or older, proof of a high school diploma or equivalent, and proof of Oregon residency for the past two years (please note the residency requirement expires in 2025).
- 7. You will need to submit a social equity plan (refer to the OPS Social Equity Plan Resources for resources that can support applicants in meeting this requirement).
- 8. Once you have met all the requirements listed above and have gathered your application materials, you may begin your license application process with OPS. A link to the online application portal will be available on the OPS Manufacturer
 License webpage. You will be required to pay a \$500 application fee.
- 9. Once you have initiated a license application with OPS, you will be sent more information about how to complete the required background check. To prepare, please see this handout on the OPS Background Check Process.

- 10. The OPS team will review your application as quickly as possible. You will want to monitor your email inbox for messages about next steps. OPS staff will need to visit your proposed location and perform a site inspection to ensure your premises is compliant with statute and rule requirements.
- 11. If you are approved for licensure, you will be required to pay an annual licensure fee of \$10,000. Applicants who are veterans, receiving social security income, receiving food stamp benefits, or are enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan may qualify for a reduced annual licensure fee of \$5,000. More information can be found in administrative rules.

How do psilocybin products get to a service center?

- 1) Psilocybin products are cultivated, produced and/or processed by a <u>licensed manufacturer</u> and tracked in a product tracking system.
- 2) Psilocybin products are tested by a <u>licensed</u> <u>laboratory</u> that is accredited by the Oregon Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (ORELAP). Test results are entered into the product tracking system.
- 3) Psilocybin products are sold or transferred from a licensed manufacturer to a licensed service center and tracked in the product tracking system.











The Oregon Psilocybin Services Team is committed to providing education and technical assistance to our regulated community. If you have any questions about the licensing process, please contact: <u>Licensing.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov</u>

For other inquiries about Oregon Psilocybin Services, please contact: OHA.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov



You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille or a format you prefer. Contact: Oregon Psilocybin Services at 971-341-1713 or email OHA.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov. We accept all relay calls or you can dial 711.