Public Listening Sessions Oregon Psilocybin Services

July 13, 14 and 15, 2022



PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION Oregon Psilocybin Services

Oregon Psilocybin Services Section

Oregon Psilocybin Services is a new section housed within the Oregon Health Authority Public Health Division's Center for Health Protection.

The OPS team has been designed around three program areas:

- Policy and Engagement
- Licensing
- Compliance

Each program will center on health equity, including outreach to partners and communities and working to ensure access to services.



Ballot Measure 109: The Oregon Psilocybin Services Act

In November of 2020, Ballot Measure 109, the Oregon Psilocybin Services Act was passed by voters in Oregon. The ballot measure is now codified as ORS 475A.

M109:

Created a license and regulatory framework for production of psilocybin and facilitation of psilocybin services for adults 21 years of age and older and created the Oregon Psilocybin Advisory Board that makes recommendations to OHA.

M109 does not:

- Create a consumer market for psilocybin
- Allow for export or import of psilocybin
- Allow licensees to interact with unregulated markets

Health Authority

License Types

Manufacturer License

- Cultivates fungi and manufactures psilocybin products
- Cannot cultivate outdoors, must have defined boundaries
- Cannot exceed production quantities established in rule

Laboratory License

- All psilocybin products must be tested by a licensed lab prior to sale.
- Labs must be accredited by the Oregon Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program
- Testing results must be entered in the product tracking system



License Types (cont'd)

Facilitator License

- Conducts sessions where clients consume psilocybin.
- Must complete OHA approved training curriculum as a condition of licensure.
- Must pass exam approved or administered by OHA

Service Center License

- Sells psylocibin products to clients for use during administration session
- Hosts administration sessions where clients consume psilocybin
- Cannot be located within 1000 feet of a school



Psilocybin Services

Psilocybin will only be provided to persons 21 years or older in licensed service center settings under the supervision of trained and licensed facilitators.

Psilocybin Services include:

- Preparation Session
- Administration Session
- Integration Session (optional)

Product tracking system required to track manufacturing, sale and transfer of psilocybin products to:

- Prevent diversion
- Ensure accurate accounting
- Ensure accurate reporting of lab testing results



License and Application Fees, Taxes

License and Application Fees

- License and application fees will be set in rule later this year.
- Oregon Psilocybin Services will be a fee-based program and fees must cover the costs associated with the agency's work
- Fees can only be used to cover the costs of operations

Taxes

- Service Centers collect a 15% tax on the sale of psylocibin products payable to Oregon Department of Revenue
- Local taxes and fees are prohibited
- Psilocybin services are not taxed



OHA Key Dates

- May 20, 2022: Expedited rules on Training, Products and Testing adopted
- **June 6, 2022:** OHA began accepting applications for training programs
- June 22, 2022: OPAB made final recommendations for remaining rules
- July 13-15, 2022: Public listening sessions
- September 2022: Rules advisory committees for remaining rules
- **November 1-21, 2022:** Public comment period for remaining rules
- **December 30, 2022:** Effective date for remaining rules
- **January 2, 2023:** OHA begins accepting applications for licensure



Thank You!

Please visit our website:

https://www.oregon.gov/psilocybin

