

# Psilocybin Worker Permit Application Guide for Applications Submitted by Mail

PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION CENTER FOR HEALTH PROTECTION Oregon Psilocybin Services (OPS) http://oregon.gov/psilocybin

Version Approved 12/30/2022

# Table of Contents

Introduction	2
Worker Permit Requirements	3
Who must have a valid psilocybin worker permit?	3
Worker Permit Application Packet Checklist	3
Getting Started with a Mailed Application	4
Worker Permit Information	4
Previous Permit or License	5
Submitting the Application	5
Background Checks	5
Application Review	6
Incomplete and Insufficient Applications	6
Application Approval	7
Fee Information	7
Non-Refundable Worker Permit Fee: \$25	7
Notification of Changes	8
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)	9

#### Introduction

The purpose of this guide is to provide additional support to applicants submitting a psilocybin worker permit application **BY MAIL**. The most current version of this guide and the online application guide can be found on the web at <u>Oregon Psilocybin Services (OPS) – Worker Permit</u> webpage. Applicants must read, understand, and agree to adhere to the Oregon Psilocybin Services statutes and administrative rules, outlined in <u>Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) Chapter 475A</u>, <u>Oregon Administrative</u> Rules (OAR) Division 333, Chapter 333, as well as any other applicable statutes or laws.

The <u>Oregon Psilocybin Services – Training Program, Licensing, and</u> <u>Compliance system (TLC)</u> is an online platform where applicants can apply for psilocybin licenses, worker permits, and training program curriculum approval. Please visit <u>https://psilocybin.oregon.gov</u> to complete the application online. If you are unable to complete the application packet online, you may print, complete, and mail the application packet following the instructions provided at the end of this application. Printable application forms may be found <u>here</u>.

Everyone has a right to know about and use Oregon Health Authority (OHA) programs and services. OHA provides free help. If you need these written materials in other languages, braille, large print, or other formats, please contact:

OHA.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov (971) 673-0322

For all other questions and concerns regarding permits and licenses, please contact:

Licensing.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov (971) 673-0304

DISCLAIMER: Psilocybin remains a schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act. Applicants are responsible for making their own determinations regarding the legal risks associated with participating in this program. The information provided in the application materials, including applicant and instructor names, is subject to disclosure under Oregon's public records laws.

### **Worker Permit Requirements**

- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Must pass a criminal background check
- Must pay a worker permit fee

#### Who must have a valid psilocybin worker permit?

An individual who is a licensee or licensee representative must have a valid worker permit if the individual participates in:

- The provision of psilocybin services at a licensed premises
- The possession, manufacturing, securing, or selling of psilocybin products at a licensed premises
- The recording of the possession, manufacturing, securing, or selling of psilocybin products at a licensed premises
- The verification of any document described in ORS 475A.445

# **Worker Permit Application Packet Checklist**

The paper application packet contains a checklist to assist in planning and ensuring the application is complete. Please complete the checklist to ensure you have all the necessary items.

- Completed and signed worker permit application
- Copy of the front and back of a valid, unexpired government-issued photo identification. Accepted identification includes:
  - Passport;
  - Driver license, whether issued by the State of Oregon or by another state of the United States;
  - Identification card issued under ORS 807.400;
  - United States military identification card;
  - An identification card issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe with photo, name, and date of birth; or
  - Any other identification card issued by a state or territory that bears a picture of the person, the name of the person, the person's date of birth and a physical description of the person.

### **Getting Started with a Mailed Application**

The paper version of the worker permit application packet is 8 pages. Please be sure to complete each section of the application and ensure all information is entered correctly. Incorrect entry of contact information may result in delayed application processing.

### **Worker Permit Information**

Please provide the following information:

- Legal Name (required)
- Preferred Name (optional)
- Prior Names and Aliases (required)
  - This information is used for the purposes of the background check
- Date of Birth (required)

#### • Social Security Number (required if you have one)

- If you do not have a social security number, you may still be licensed or permitted by Oregon Psilocybin Services
- As part of your application for an initial or renewal license and permit, Federal and State laws require you to provide your Social Security Number (SSN), if you have one, to Oregon Psilocybin Services for child support enforcement purposes (42 USC § 666(a)(13) & ORS 25.785). If you are an applicant or permitted worker and you have an SSN but fail to provide your SSN, Oregon Psilocybin Services may refuse to process your application. Your SSN will be used only for child support enforcement purposes unless you confirm your agreement that OPS can use it for administrative purposes as well
- In the application, we ask for voluntary consent to use your social security number, if you have one, to confirm your identity during the criminal records check. We will not deny you any rights, benefits, or privileges otherwise provided by law if you do not consent to use of your SSN for these administrative purposes
  - Check the appropriate box next to the social security field indicating whether you consent or do not consent (required)
- Primary Phone Number (required)

- Alternate Phone Number (optional)
- Primary Email Address (required)
- Preferred Language (optional)
- Preferred Pronouns (optional)
- Physical Address (required)
- Mailing Address (required)
- Residential History Outside of Oregon in the Past 5 Years (required if applicable)
  - This information is used for the purposes of the background check

### **Previous Permit or License**

If you have ever applied for or received any other permit or license from Oregon Psilocybin Services, please provide this information within the application.

# Submitting the Application

Please mail the completed application and copy of proof of identification to: Oregon Health Authority Public Health Division RE: OPS Licensing Program PO Box 14450 Portland, OR 97293-0450

# **Background Checks**

Individuals applying for a worker permit are required to pass a criminal background check. Within the application, you will be asked to provide information required to initiate the background check process. The following information in the application will be used to initiate the background check:

- Legal name
- Prior names and aliases
- Date of birth
- Social security number

- We ask for voluntary consent to use your social security number, if you have one, to confirm your identity during the criminal records check. We will not deny you any rights, benefits, or privileges otherwise provided by law if you do not consent to use of your SSN for these administrative purposes
- Physical address
- Mailing address (if different)
- Phone number
- Email
- Residential history outside of Oregon in the past five years

# Do not submit fingerprints until Oregon Psilocybin Services requests that you do so.

Important Note: An individual person identified as a license applicant is not required to undergo a criminal background check and fitness determination if that person has completed a criminal background check and fitness determination in connection with another license application within 30 days of their current license application.

Once we initiate a criminal background check, you will receive an electronic letter by email that explains how to schedule an appointment with a <u>FieldPrint</u> vendor. FieldPrint vendors are private contractors and are not associated with a government agency. Visit <u>this link</u> to find the nearest FieldPrint vendor to you.

For more detailed information on background checks, please review the <u>OPS - Overview of the Background Check Process</u> document.

# **Application Review**

It may take OPS several weeks to review applications and it will be received in the order received. Thank you for your patience.

#### Incomplete and Insufficient Applications

An application is considered **incomplete** if the application is missing required information (e.g., applicant did not submit fingerprints). If the application is incomplete, we will notify you by email to give you an opportunity to make your application complete. You have 90 days from the

initial date you are notified to complete your application. If you fail to do so, the application will be closed.

An application is considered **insufficient** if the complete application does not meet requirements outlined in statute or rule. If the application is insufficient, we will notify you by email to give you an opportunity to meet requirements. You will have 90 days from the initial date you are notified to meet requirements, or your application will be denied.

#### Application Approval

Once the application has been approved, we will notify you by email of the approved worker permit status. You will be emailed a proof of worker permit which will include your name, permit ID number, address, permit effective date, permit expiration date, and a QR code which can be scanned to verify permit status. Please note, the public facing permit verification look-up and QR code will only confirm a permit ID number, effective date, and expiration date.

As outlined in <u>OAR 333-333-4120</u>, individuals must be able to provide proof of worker permit when performing preparation, administration or integration sessions. A permitted worker may not operate until the effective date of the permit. A worker permit has a term of five years.

### **Fee Information**

#### Non-Refundable Worker Permit Fee: \$25

After the worker permit application has been approved, pending worker permit fee payment and clearance, you will be notified by email to pay the worker permit fee. At that time, we will provide a permit fee remittance form with payment instructions. Please submit the remittance form with your permit fee payment.

OPS accepts the following payment methods for mailed applications:

- Money Order
- Cashier's Check
- Personal/Business Check
  - Personal and business checks will be held for 21 days to ensure payment clearance
- Cash (Please Do Not Mail Cash)

#### Do not send the permit fee payment until you are contacted by OPS and OPS informs you that your application has been approved. OPS will provide you with payment instructions.

A worker permit will not be issued until the worker permit fee is paid and cleared. If issued a worker permit, an individual may not perform the duties described in ORS 475A.445 until the effective date of approval.

If an applicant fails to pay the permit fee within 180 calendar days of being notified of the worker permit being approved, pending permit fee payment and clearance, the application is considered incomplete and will be closed.

### **Notification of Changes**

Please review all rules for Notification of Changes as described in <u>OAR</u> <u>333-333-4200</u>. An applicant or permitted worker must notify OPS in writing within 10 business days of the changes described in rule. Please notify the OPS Licensing Team of these changes by emailing the licensing team at <u>licensing.psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov</u>.

Most common changes which need to be reported by worker permit applicants include:

- A change in contact information
- Any conviction for any misdemeanor or felony committed by an individual listed as an applicant or permitted worker
  - When notifying the OPS licensing team of changes to conviction history, please only include the following information
    - Legal name
    - Worker permit ID number
    - A statement notifying OPS of a change to criminal history conviction
      - Please **DO NOT** provide any conviction details in the notification to OPS
  - A criminal background check is required if we learn that an individual has been convicted of a crime after their permit has been issued.

### **Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)**

#### Is the worker permit fee refundable?

No. The worker permit fee is nonrefundable.

#### How long will it take OPS to review applications?

OPS will review applications in the order they are received. It may take OPS several weeks to review applications. Thank you for your patience.

#### How do I know the status of my application?

Due to limitations in predicting application volume, it may take OPS several weeks to review applications.

If you have questions about the status of your application, please contact: <u>Licensing.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov</u> (971) 673-0304

# OPS sent me a notice that the application is incomplete or insufficient. What do I do now?

If the application is incomplete, you have 90 days from the initial date you are notified to complete your application. If you fail to do so, the application will be closed. If the application is insufficient, you will have 90 days from the initial date you are notified to meet requirements, or your application will be denied. You may also request withdraw of the application at any time by notifying OPS.

# What happens if my application is closed? What happens if it is denied?

If the application is closed, you may reapply. If OPS denies an application, OPS will provide notice of the denial in writing and you have a right to a hearing under <u>ORS chapter 183</u>.

#### Can I withdraw my application?

You may request withdraw your application by contacting OPS. <u>Licensing.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov</u> (971) 673-0304

#### How long is the worker permit valid?

The worker permit term is five years from the effective date. OPS is currently developing the application renewal process for worker permits.

# How do I know what the TLC ID number assigned to my worker permit?

Please contact OPS for assistance: <u>Licensing.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov</u> (971) 673-0304

# Who do I contact about general questions regarding permits and licenses?

Please contact OPS for assistance: <u>Licensing.Psilocybin@oha.oregon.gov</u> (971) 673-0304