

Oregon Tobacco State Notice Sign Law

Did you know that the law requires you to post the state notice sign? A failure to post it (or a notice substantially similar) where it is clearly visible to employees and customers will result in a violation (Oregon Revised Statute 431A.175).

Here is what the sign looks like:

ORS 431A.175, ORS 431A.178

The sale of tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems to persons under 21 years of age is prohibited by law. Any person who sells, or allows to be sold, a tobacco product or inhalant delivery system to a person under 21 years of age is in violation of Oregon law.





Want to Quit Smoking? 1.800.QUIT.NOW (1.800.784.8669) www.quitnow.net/oregon

OHA 8506 (08/17)

You can download this sign in English here: https://bit.ly/3JKJTBP. You can also get the sign in multiple languages at www.healthoregon.org/tobaccoretailsales. At that webpage, click on the blue button Retailer Resources and Tools near the top right, then scroll down to the Retailer Forms and Signs section.

You may also post signs such as the ones below or similar. However, it's important to know these signs alone do **NOT** meet the state requirement.







Questions about **Oregon Health Authority (OHA)** compliance inspections and enforcement?

<u>Tobacco.inspections@odhsoha.oregon.gov</u> 971-673-2283 www.healthoregon.org/tobaccoretailsales

Questions about **Oregon Department of Revenue (DOR)** compliance inspections and enforcement?

TRL.help@dor.oregon.gov 503-945-8120 go.usa.gov/xe999

You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille or a format you prefer. Contact the Tobacco Retail License Program at 971-673-2283 or email Tobacco.inspections@odhsoha.oregon.gov. We accept all relay calls or you can dial 711.