
Description
The sale of tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems (IDS) to persons under 21 years of age is 

prohibited by Oregon law. The OHA Public Health Division and law enforcement conduct random, 

unannounced inspections for retailers of tobacco products and IDS, such as e-cigarettes. This is done 

to ensure compliance with laws that prohibit the sale of tobacco products to underage persons. 

Oregon is one of only eight states that does not require a license to sell tobacco products, also known 

as “tobacco retail licensing”. Tobacco license systems can support retailer accountability by 

imposing effective penalties, including the suspension of tobacco licenses for retailers who violate 

the law. Licensing holds the store owner accountable for what happens in their business, rather than 

imposing a fine on the individual clerk who sells to an underage person.

Fines
Oregon retailers must check all 

persons who appear to be under 

the age of 27 for valid ID before 

selling them tobacco products.

During the inspection, if the store 

makes an illegal sale, the Oregon 

State Police issue a citation to the 

store clerk, manager or owner. 
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Youth marketing
Research shows that if people do not start 

smoking before they turn 19, they are less likely 

to ever start, making young people key targets of 

the tobacco industry. The tobacco industry 

surrounds young people with marketing and 

promotes products with flavors that appeal to 

youth. While youth use of cigarettes has 

decreased, use of other tobacco and nicotine 

products, such as e-cigarettes and small cigars, 

has increased. In Fall 2019, IDS use by youth and 

adult users resulted in an outbreak of e-cigarette 

or vaping use-associated lung injury (EVALI). In 

response, OHA launched a public education 

campaign for youth and parents in 2020. 

2018, 2019 and 2020* sales to underage 

persons varied by product type

Sales of cigarettes decreased from 2018. Sales 

of e-cigarettes declined dramatically in 2020, 

possibly due to attention around EVALI and 

COIVD-19 impacts. Sales violations of little 

cigars and cigarillos varied widely.
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Sales to underage persons over time

* 2020 inspections were paused in mid-March because of the COVID-19 pandemic. In this graph, 2020 represents 

completed inspections only, 68% of total planned inspections for the 2019-2020 Oregon State fiscal year.
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For more information on this 

report contact: us at:

971-673-0984 or

hpcdp.surveillance@state.or.us

Oregon Tobacco Enforcement Report

Proven tobacco control policies with regular enforcement result 

in fewer illegal sales.
Studies show that implementation of strong tobacco control policies along with active 

enforcement, effective retailer education and leadership support are essential to success in 

reducing youth tobacco use. Specifically, tobacco retail licensing creates a straightforward 

method for tracking businesses that sell tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems and 

holding businesses accountable to sales laws. 

Sales to underage persons are highest in 

tobacco and vape shops where flavored 

products that appeal to youth are sold.

The retail environment
Tobacco companies spend over $100 

million per year in Oregon, much of it in 

the retail environment, to market their 

products. Higher exposure to tobacco 

marketing in the retail space is 

associated with increased tobacco use.  

Tobacco products are cheap, readily 

available and easy to get, and are heavily 

promoted and marketed in stores where 

youth frequent. 
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