
OREGON’S 
INVESTMENT 
IN TOBACCO 
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PUTTING TOBACCO MASTER SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT (TMSA) DOLLARS TO WORK

TOBACCO IN THE RETAIL ENVIRONMENT

NEW TMSA 
FUNDING

Oregon’s Tobacco Prevention and 

Education Program (TPEP) works in 

partnership with local public health 

authorities, tribes and community-based 

organizations to engage communities 

in promoting smokefree environments 

and reducing the influence of tobacco 

marketing on the most vulnerable 

among us, particularly kids. 

The majority of TPEP funding comes 

from state taxes on tobacco products. 

However, in 2013, the Legislature for 

the first time directed a portion of funds 

from the Tobacco Master Settlement 

Agreement (TMSA) to support tobacco 

prevention efforts. This $4 million 

commitment funded:

•	 Community interventions to reduce 
tobacco use and encourage adults to quit

•	 Health education and communications

•	 Data collection and program evaluation

•	 Training for public health, health care 
and community partners

•	 Technical assistance to support 
community health

•	 The Oregon Tobacco Quit Line, available 
24/7 by phone and online

Multnomah and Lane counties were 

awarded grants to implement innovative 

retail policies to reduce the number of 

Oregon youth who become addicted to 

tobacco.

SWEET, CHEAP 
& EASY TO GET 
Addiction to tobacco starts in 

adolescence; in fact, nine of ten adults 

who smoke report that they started 

smoking before turning 18. Kids in 

Oregon are under constant pressure to 

start using tobacco. It is cheap, readily 

available and easy to get, and it’s heavily 

promoted and marketed in stores that 

kids go to. Tobacco products come in 

every size, shape, color, flavor and price– 

often displayed at young kids’ eye level 

(three feet or lower) and near candy. 

Youth who live or go to school in 

neighborhoods with the highest density 

of tobacco outlets or retail advertising 

have higher smoking rates compared 

to youth in neighborhoods with fewer 

tobacco outlets. While consumption of 

cigarettes has decreased among Oregon 

teens, use of flavored little cigars and 

e-cigarettes has remained steady or 

increased–in fact, use of non-cigarette 

tobacco products (18 percent) is twice 

that of cigarettes (9 percent).
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TRAINING AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE: With the help of Oregon Health 

Authority staff, all local public health authorities completed a tobacco retail assessment to 

determine tobacco product availability, price, promotion and placement.  

OHA staff trained local public health authorities on proven tobacco prevention retail 

strategies. These strategies work to reduce (or restrict) the number, location, density and 

types of tobacco retail outlets; increase the cost of tobacco products; implement prevention 

and cessation messaging; and other point-of-sale strategies including a ban on the sale of 

flavored tobacco.

HEALTH EDUCATION AND COMMUNICATIONS:  The Smokefree Oregon 

education campaign informs local communities about the retail practices of the tobacco industry 

and highlights retailers, students and policy makers across Oregon who have taken a stand 

against the tobacco industry.  

COMMUNITY INTERVENTION– 
MULTNOMAH COUNTY:   
Multnomah County Health Department, in 

partnership with the Oregon Health Equity 

Alliance (OHEA), focused on a policy 

strategy to curb youth access to and use 

of tobacco. Multnomah County and OHEA 

assessed 411 tobacco retail venues and 

presented the results to the Multnomah 

Board of County Commissioners. County 

health department leaders conducted 

a series of presentations to the Board, 

culminating in three policy options under 

consideration:

•	 Prohibit e-cigarette sales to, and           
use by, minors 

•	 Include use of e-cigarettes in the 
Multnomah County Smoke-free 
Workplace law

•	 License retailers who sell tobacco          
and e-cigarette products

COMMUNITY INTERVENTION – 
LANE COUNTY:  
In December 2014, the Lane County Board 

of Commissioners passed a tobacco 

ordinance that achieves the following:

•	 Bans the sale of e-cigarettes to minors

•	 Requires tobacco and e-cigarette 
retailers to be licensed in 
unincorporated areas of the county 

•	 Prohibits free samples of tobacco 
products

•	 Prohibits the redemption of 
tobacco industry coupons and other 
price discounting practices like                     
multi-pack discounts

•	 Prohibits tobacco retailers within 1,000 
feet of places that serve children, like 
schools, child care centers, libraries, 
playgrounds, youth centers, recreation 
facilities or parks

•	 Prohibits self-service displays and 
mobile vending

•	 Requires posting of health warnings and 
Quit Line information in each retailer


