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Instructions for Transferring Smoke Shop Type B Certification with Ownership 

Smoke Shops Certified under ORS 433.847(2)(b) and OAR 333-015-0056(b) 

 

The Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA) [ORS 433.835-433.875 and 433.990(5)] prohibits 

smoking in almost all public places and places of employment. Smoking is permitted in 

businesses that meet certain requirements, including certified smoke shops. The ICAA requires 

the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to maintain a certification system for smoke shops. 

 

Smoke shops must be certified by OHA and abide by specific requirements to permit smoking 

indoors [ORS 433.835 - 433.850 and OAR 333-015-0068]. Certification is only valid for the 

specific location, owner, and business entity authorized by OHA. It is a violation of the law to 

smoke or allow smoking in a non-certified smoke shop.  

 

Certification may not be transferred from one business to another. Smoke shop certification may 

only be transferred along with ownership of the business entity itself. When a certified smoke 

shop changes ownership, the certificate holder and the new owner of the business must comply 

with the rules governing transfer of certification with ownership to transfer certification to the 

new owner. [ORS 433.847(5) and OAR 333-015-0061]  

 

Smoking is not permitted on the premises of a smoke shop operating under different ownership 

until the Authority issues an updated certification to the new owner. [OAR 333-015-0061(1)] 

 

The following documentation must be submitted to OHA to transfer smoke shop 

certification to the new owner of a business certified under ORS 433.847(2)(b). [OAR 333-

015-0061(2)]: 

• A completed application for transfer of ownership on a form provided by the 

Authority identifying the new proposed owner of the smoke shop; 

• Registration with the Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division where 

applicable; and 

• A notarized, sworn statement attesting that the business will continue to meet the 

certification renewal requirements described in OAR 333-015-0059 under the new 

ownership. 

Application Review and Notification Process 

If the application is incomplete, OHA will notify the applicant and request documentation to 

complete the application.  

 

Once the application is complete, OHA will then send a letter to the mailing address provided in 

the application granting or denying the change of certification location. 

 

OHA may deny transfer of ownership of a smoke shop C if the applicant does not submit 

required the documentation under 333-015-0061(2), the proposed owner has a history of
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 noncompliance with the ICAA or rules, or the applicant provides information that is false or 

deliberately misleading. [OAR 333-015-0061(4)] 

 

OHA may request additional information after transfer of certification to determine the smoke 

shop’s compliance with the ICAA. 

 

Additional Requirements and Notes 

Within 120 days of the Authority issuing an updated certification under section (3) of this 

rule, the new owner must submit to the Authority updated financial documentation required 

in OAR 333-015-0058 for the first 90 days of operation under the updated certification, 

including but not limited to a sales report demonstrating that at least 75 percent of the smoke 

shop’s gross revenue during the first 90 days of operation was derived from the sale of 

tobacco products or smoking instruments. [OAR 333-015-0061(4)]. 

 

A smoke shop’s complaint and violation history does not reset when a business changes 

location. OHA will treat new complaints received or violations observed at the new location 

as continuations of the business’s total complaint and violation record. 

 

Smoke shop certification is limited to the location indicated in the smoke shop’s certification 

file. If you plan to move (change location) the smoke shop after receiving certification, you 

must seek a transfer of certification to the new location before permitting smoking on the 

premises. [OAR 333-015-0061(5)]. 

 

E-mail the completed application packet to ICAA.certification@dhsoha.state.or.us. All 

required documentation and all supporting documents must be submitted as one PDF 

document (attachment). All required documentation must be included for OHA to consider the 

business’s application for smoke shop certification. A separate application packet must be 

submitted for each smoke shop location. 

 

mailto:ICAA.certification@dhsoha.state.or.us
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1. Application for Transfer of Smoke Shop Type B Certification with 

Ownership 

Complete the entire application and submit all requested materials to OHA in one packet. The 

application must be signed and include a current e-mail and mailing address.  

 

To change the location of the smoke shop, submit a separate Change of Location Application. 
 

 

              
Smoke Shop Name    Smoke Shop Former Name (if applicable) 

 

                            
Smoke Shop Street Address   City   State   Zip Code 

 

       
County where Smoke Shop is located 

 

               
Business Name (if different from Smoke Shop Name)    Business Phone (if different) 

 

              
New Business Owner       New Business Owner Phone 

 

                            
Mailing Address                                                          City   State          Zip Code 

(if different from Smoke Shop Street Address) 

 

              
New Business Owner Signature      Date 

 

 

              
New Primary Contact Person Name and Title     Primary Contact Person Phone 

 

        
New Primary Contact E-mail address      

 

 

              
Former Business Owner       Former Business Owner Phone 

 

              
Former Business Owner Signature      Date



 
 

Page 2 of 6 – Smoke Shop B Transfer of Certification with Ownership Application  Updated 6/2021 
 

(New Owner First and Last Name) (Title) 

(Smoke Shop Name) 

2. Notarized Affidavit from New Business Owner 

 

I,      , am the       of 

      and have the knowledge necessary to attest that the 

business, as operated under my ownership, will: 

• Be primarily engaged in the sale of tobacco products and smoking instruments and 

derive at least 75 percent of its gross revenue from such sales; 

• Prohibit persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises; 

• Not offer video lottery games, social gaming or betting on the premises;  

• Not sell or offer alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption;   

• Not allow on-premises consumption of alcohol; 

• Not allow cigarette smoking on the premises unless at least 75 percent of the smoke 

shop’s gross revenue is derived from the sale of cigarettes; and 

• Be a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property attached to 

the premises. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my 

knowledge, information and belief. 

 
 

            
Printed Name of Affiant     Date 

 

            
Signature of Affiant     Date 

 

State of ________________________ ) 

County of _______________________ ) 

This instrument was acknowledged before me on (date) ______________________ by  

(name of person) ___________________________________________. 

 

Signature of notarial officer: _______________________________ 

My commission expires: __________________________________                            (seal)
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(Current Certificate Holder First and Last Name) 

(Smoke Shop Name) 

(New Owner First and Last Name) (Date) 

(Smoke Shop Name) 

3. Notarized Statement from Current Certificate Holder 

I,      , am the individual currently listed as the owner of 

       in this business’s smoke shop certification file with  

the Oregon Health Authority. I transferred or will transfer ownership of this smoke shop to  

      on    . Upon transferring the business on  

that date, I hereby relinquish my claims to      ’s smoke shop  

certification, as well as any rights or privileges deriving therefrom, from that date forward.  

 

 

        
Printed Name of Current Certificate Holder       

 

 

            
Signature of Current Certificate Holder   Date 

 

 

State of ________________________ ) 

County of _______________________ ) 

This instrument was acknowledged before me on (date) ______________________ by  

(name of person) ___________________________________________. 

 

Signature of notarial officer: _______________________________ 

My commission expires: __________________________________                            (seal)
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4. Proof of Transfer of Ownership 

Submit the following documentation to demonstrate that ownership of the smoke shop has been 

transferred from the smoke shop’s current certificate holder to the new business owner listed on 

the transfer application form: 

 

 

1.  Proof that ownership has been transferred, such as a sales slip or contract. Describe the 

type of documentation enclosed:          

              ; and 

2. A copy of the smoke shop’s updated registration with the Oregon Secretary of State, 

Corporation Division, unless not required to register. 

Check one of the following: 

  Copy of updated business registration reflecting the new business owner is enclosed. 

  Business is not required to be registered with the Secretary of State (uncommon).
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(Smoke Shop Name) 

Last name, first name 

Email address 

Last name, first name 

Email address 

Title 

Phone number 

Title 

Phone number 

5. Authorization Form (optional) 

Use this form to list any individuals, other than the smoke shop manager or the new business 

owner listed on form 1 of this application packet, who are authorized to communicate with 

OHA regarding this business's smoke shop certification. OHA will only accept information 

and requests on behalf of the smoke shop from the individuals listed here and on the transfer 

application form. You may add more lines if necessary. 

 

Individual #1 

 

              

 

 

              

 

 

Individual #2 

 

              

 

 

              

 

 

 

 

  

The persons listed above are authorized to communicate with OHA on behalf of   

      and to take action regarding this business’s smoke shop  

certification. This list may be amended by the business owner at any time. 

 

      
Printed Name of Owner 

 

          
Signature of Owner    Date
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Application Checklist 

Items 1 – 4 must be completed and included in the application packet submitted to OHA. If any 

materials are missing or incomplete, you will receive a notice of incomplete application. 

 

    1. OHA Application for Transfer of Smoke Shop Certification with Ownership 

    2. Notarized Affidavit from New Owner 

    3. Notarized Statement from Current Certificate Holder 

    4. Proof of Transfer of Ownership  

 

    5. Authorization Form (optional)  

    Within 120 days of the date transfer of certification is granted, the new owner must 

submit a completed Smoke Shop B Post-Transfer Financials Form packet, including sales 

receipts, demonstrating that at least 75 percent of the smoke shop’s gross revenue during 

the first 90 days of operation under the new ownership was derived from the sale of 

tobacco products or smoking instruments intended for off-premises consumption or use.  

 

 

E-mail the completed application packet to ICAA.certification@dhsoha.state.or.us. All 

required documentation and all supporting documents must be submitted as one PDF 

document (attachment). All required documentation must be included for OHA to consider the 

business’s application for smoke shop certification. A separate application packet must be 

submitted for each smoke shop location. 
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