

#### Instructions for Applying for Renewal of Smoke Shop Type C Certification Requirements for Businesses that Applied Prior to June 30, 2011

The Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA) [ORS 433.835-433.875 and 433.990(5)] prohibits smoking in almost all public places and places of employment. Smoking is permitted in businesses that meet certain requirements.

The ICAA requires the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to establish and enforce a certification system for smoke shops. Smoke shops must be certified by OHA and abide by specific requirements to permit smoking indoors [ORS 433.835 - 433.850 and OAR 333-015-0056 to 0061]. It is a violation of the law to smoke or allow smoking in a non-certified smoke shop.

# To renew certification, a smoke shop C must submit this application, and the following information <u>SIXTY (60) DAYS PRIOR</u> to the expiration of its current certification (OAR 333-015-0059(4)):

A notarized, sworn statement attesting that the smoke shop currently:

- Is primarily engaged in the sale of tobacco products and smoking instruments, and derived at least 75 percent of its gross revenue from such sales;
- Prohibits persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises;
- Does not offer video lottery games as authorized under ORS 461.217, social gaming, or betting on the premises;
- Does not sell or offer alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption;
- Does not allow on-premises consumption of alcoholic beverages; and
- Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes.

In addition, as requested in the application, the applicant must submit:

- Documentation of the business's sales, broken down by category of product, including cigarette sales;
- Evidence, such as photographs, of signs required under OAR 333-015-0040;
- Documentation, such as a building map or photographs, demonstrating that the business presently is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property attached; and
- Any other documentation, as specified in the application form, necessary to demonstrate compliance with the ORS 433.835-433.875 and OAR 333-015-0025 to 0090).

To maintain smoke shop certification, a business must agree to allow OHA to make unannounced inspections of the business to determine compliance with the ICAA and rules [ORS 433.847(8)].

Smoke shops must post signs at each entrance and exit clearly stating that (OAR 333-015-0040(6)):



- Smoking is allowed on all or part of the premises;
- Anyone under the age of 21 is prohibited from entering the premises;
- It is unlawful to sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems to anyone under the age of 21;
- Cigarette smoking is prohibited on the premises, in a smoke shop where cigarette smoking is not allowed under these rules;
- Smoking, aerosolizing or vaporizing of inhalants that are not tobacco products is prohibited; and
- On-premises consumption of alcohol is prohibited.

OHA may deny an application for smoke shop certification or revoke a smoke shop certification and prohibit an applicant from reapplying for up to two years if the applicant (OAR 333-015-0059(8)):

- Provides information that is false or deliberately misleading; or
- Violates ORS 433.835-433.875 or OAR 333-015-0025 to 333-015-0085.

OHA may reject a renewal application that is (OAR 333-015-0059(9)):

- Not timely submitted. The application must be received by the Authority at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the current certification.
- Incomplete. An application may be considered incomplete if the application form is incomplete or any information or documents required under these rules is not submitted.

**The application packet contains the following parts.** Keep a copy of all application materials for your records.

- 1. Application for Renewal of Smoke Shop Certification
- 2. Notarized Affidavit signed by the owner or manager listed on the OHA Renewal of Smoke Shop Certification Application or another individual listed on the Authorization Form.
- **3. Revenue Documentation**
- 4. Signs
- 5. Current Stand-alone Business Documentation
- 6. Authorization Form (optional)

Smoke shop certification is limited to the original qualifying location only. If you would like to change the location of your smoke shop, you must notify OHA and seek a transfer of certification to the new location before permitting smoking on the premises (OAR 333-015-0061).



**E-mail the completed application packet to** <u>ICAA.certification@dhsoha.state.or.us</u>. All required documentation and all supporting documents must be submitted as <u>one</u> PDF document (attachment). All required documentation must be included for OHA to consider the business's application for smoke shop certification. A separate application packet must be submitted for each smoke shop location.



### 1. Application for Renewal of Smoke Shop Type C Certification

Complete the entire application and submit all requested materials in one packet. The application must be signed and include a current e-mail and mailing address. Keep a copy of all application materials for your records.

<u>Note:</u> As used in this application packet, "smoke shop" means the establishment seeking smoke shop recertification.

Smoke Shop Name		Smoke Shop Phone	
Smoke Shop Street Address	City	Zip Code	County
Mailing Address (if different from Smoke Shop Street Addr	City ress)	State	Zip Code
Business Name (if different from Smoke Shop Name)		Business Phone (if different)	
Business Owner		Business Owner Phone	
Primary Contact Person Name and Title		Primary Contact Person Phone	
Primary Contact Person E-mail address			
Applicant Name and Title			
Applicant Signature		Date	



# 2. Notarized Affidavit

I,		, am the	of
	(First Name Last Name)	(Tit	e)
		and have the knowledge ne	cessary and the authority to
	(Smoke Shop Name)		5

attest that the business:

- Is primarily engaged in the sale of tobacco products and smoking instruments, and derived at least 75 percent of its gross revenue from such sales;
- Prohibits persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises;
- Does not offer video lottery games as authorized under ORS 461.217, social gaming, or betting on the premises;
- Does not sell or offer alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption;
- Does not allow on-premises consumption of alcoholic beverages; and
- Allows the smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross revenues of the business result from the sale of cigarettes.
- Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential property attached to the premises.

# I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and that I am providing no false or misleading information.

Printed Name of Affiant	Date	
Signature of Affiant	Date	
State of)		
County of )		
This instrument was acknowledged before me on (date)		by
(name of person)		·
Signature of notarial officer:		
My commission expires:		(seal)
Page <b>2</b> of <b>7</b> Smoke Shop C Certification Renewal A	Updated 6/2021	



#### 3. Revenue Documentation

Use this form to document and demonstrate that at least 75 percent of the smoke shop's gross revenue resulted from the sale of tobacco products or smoking instruments (OAR 333-015-0059(4)). Report revenue from <u>AT LEAST THE PAST NINETY (90) DAYS.</u>

- <u>In column 1</u>, list all sales categories separately. Example: cigars, cigarettes, pipes are separate categories and should not be listed under one category of tobacco products.
- <u>In column 2</u>, report the gross revenue for each category of product sold.
- Enclose an aggregated sales report for the past calendar year identifying the amount of sales in each product category.

Smoke Shop Name		Smoke Shop Phone	
Mailing Address	City	State	Zip Code
Name of preparer Repor	rt of Gross Reven	ue	
Enter the time period covered: (mm/dd/yyyy)		to	
COLUMN 1 Category of Product Sold		<u>Co</u> Category	<u>DLUMN 2</u> Revenue Total
		\$	
		\$	
		\$	
		\$	
		\$	
		\$	
		\$	
		\$	
Т	otal gross revenue	* \$	

Total revenue from tobacco products and/or smoking instruments: \$\_\_\_\_\_



Percentage of total gross revenue resulting from tobacco product and/or smoking instrument

sales: \_\_\_\_%



## 4. Signs

Submit evidence, such as photographs, of:

- □ Signs clearly stating that smoking is allowed on all or part of the premises;
- □ Signs clearly stating that it is unlawful to sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems to anyone under the age of 21;
- □ Signs clearly stating that persons under 21 years of age are prohibited from entering the smoke shop premises;
- □ Signs clearly stating that cigarette smoking is prohibited on the premises (in smoke shops where cigarette smoking is not allowed under ORS 433.847);
- □ Signs clearly stating that smoking of inhalants that are not tobacco products is prohibited, and
- $\Box$  Signs clearly stating that on-premises consumption of alcohol is prohibited.

All signs used to describe whether smoking is prohibited or allowed in a place of employment or public place **shall be placed at a height and location easily seen by a person entering the establishment** and shall not be obscured in any way (OAR 333-015-0040(7)).

List the types of evidence submitted with the application (e.g., photographs, copies of signs):



#### 5. Current Stand-alone Business

Documentation, such as photographs, demonstrating that the smoke shop is presently a standalone business with no other businesses or residential property attached (OAR 333-015-0059(4)).

Photographs must show of all sides of the building, be **<u>dated and labeled</u>**, and must clearly demonstrate that the smoke shop is not attached to any other businesses or residential properties.

At a minimum, submit photographs of the following:

- $\Box$  Front side of the building.
- $\Box$  Back side of the building.
- $\Box$  Right side of the building.
- $\Box$  Left side of the building.
- $\Box$  Date and label all photos.



#### 6. Authorization Form (optional)

Use this form to list any individuals, other than the manager or the owner listed on page 1, who are authorized to communicate with OHA regarding this business's smoke shop certification. OHA will only accept information and requests on behalf of the smoke shop from the individuals listed here and on the application form. You may add more lines to this form if necessary.

Individual #1

Last name, first name	Title
Email address	Phone number
<u>Individual #2</u>	
Last name, first name	Title
Email address	Phone number

The persons listed above are authorized to communicate with OHA on behalf of

\_\_\_\_\_ and to take action regarding this business's smoke shop

(Smoke Shop Name)

certification. This list may be amended by the business owner at any time.

Printed Name of Owner

Signature of Owner

Date



# **Application Checklist**

Items 1-5 must be included in the application packet submitted to OHA. If any materials are missing or incomplete, you will receive a notice of incomplete application. It is the responsibility of the applicant to submit all required and complete materials on time.

- 1. Application for Renewal of Smoke Shop Certification
- 2. Notarized Affidavit
- 3. Revenue Documentation
- 4. Signs Documentation
- 5. Current Stand-alone Business Documentation
- 6. Authorization Form (*optional*)

**E-mail the completed application packet to** <u>ICAA.certification@dhsoha.state.or.us</u>. All required documentation and all supporting documents must be submitted as <u>one</u> PDF document (attachment). All required documentation must be included for OHA to consider the business's application for smoke shop certification. A separate application packet must be submitted for each smoke shop location.