Death with Dignity Act Requirements

The Death with Dignity Act (DWDA) allows terminally ill Oregon residents to obtain and use
prescriptions from their physicians for self-administered, lethal medications. Under the DWDA,
ending one's life in accordance with the law does not constitute suicide. The law specifically
prohibits euthanasia, where a physician or other person directly administers a medication to end
another's life.

To request a prescription for lethal medications, the DWDA requires that a patient must be:

e anadult (18 years of age or older),
e aresident of Oregon,
e capable (defined as able to make and communicate health care decisions), and

e diagnosed with a terminal illness that will lead to death within six months.

Patients meeting these requirements are eligible to request a prescription for lethal medication from a
licensed Oregon physician. To receive a prescription for lethal medication, the following steps must be
fulfilled:

e The patient must make two oral requests to his or her physician, separated by at least 15 days. A
change to the law effective January 1, 2020 allows patients whose life expectancy is less than 15 days
to skip the waiting period.

e The patient must provide a written request to his or her physician, signed in the presence of two
witnesses.

e The prescribing physician and a consulting physician must confirm the diagnosis and prognosis.
e The prescribing physician and a consulting physician must determine whether the patient is capable.

e [f either physician believes the patient's judgment is impaired by a psychiatric or psychological
disorder, the patient must be referred for a psychological examination.

e The prescribing physician must inform the patient of feasible alternatives to DWDA, including
comfort care, hospice care, and pain control.

e The prescribing physician must request, but may not require, the patient to notify his or her next-of-
kin of the prescription request.

To comply with the law, physicians must report to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) all prescriptions for
lethal medications. Reporting is not required if patients begin the request process but never receive a
prescription. In 1999, the Oregon legislature added a requirement that pharmacists must be informed of the
prescribed medication's intended use. Physicians and patients who adhere to the requirements of the
DWDA are protected from criminal prosecution, and the choice of DWDA cannot affect the status of a
patient's health or life insurance policies. Physicians, pharmacists, and health care systems are under no
obligation to participate in the DWDA.



DWDA REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Within 7 calendar days of Patient’s written request for medication/consent form

writing prescription: Attending physician compliance form

Consulting physician compliance form

Psychiatric/Psychological consultant compliance form (if applicable)

Within 10 calendar days of Pharmacy dispensing record form
the pharmacy dispensing the
lethal medications:

Within 10 calendar days of Attending physician’s follow-up form
the patient’s death and/or
ingestion of lethal
medications:

The Oregon Revised Statutes specify that action taken in accordance with the DWDA does not constitute
suicide, mercy killing or homicide under the law.

Links to statutes can be found at
https://public.health.oregon.gov/ProviderPartnerResources/EvaluationResearch/DeathwithDignityAct/Page

S/0rs.aspx.




