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Health Facility Licensing and Certification 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 465 
Portland, Oregon 97232 
971-673-0540 
971-673-0556 (Fax) 
 

To:    Oregon In-home care agencies 
 
From: Health Facility Licensing and Certification (HFLC) 
  In-home care agency (IHC) program 
 
RE:   In-home care agency client and client record requirements  
 
The purpose of this memo is to address what is required by agencies for clients 
and client records.  
 
The Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 333-536-0005(10) & (11), 333-536-0050, 
and 333-536-0085 require all clients receiving personal care, medication and/or 
nursing and nurse delegated services from an IHC, whether contracted through a 
third party or not, to include all required documentation.  
 

1. Required documentation for all clients receiving personal care, medication 
and/or nursing and nurse delegated services from an IHC includes, but is not 
limited to: 

 
OAR 333-536-0045: 

• Medication Self-Direct Evaluation Form (for Medication Reminders and 
Medication Assistance) 

 
OAR 333-536-0055: 

• Disclosure Statement 
  

OAR 333-536-0060 
• Client’s Rights 

 
 OAR 333-536-0065 

• Initial Assessment 
• Service Plans 
• Initial Visits 
• Monitoring Visits 

 
 OAR 333-536-0075 (if the client is receiving medication services) 

• Medication Services Documentation 
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• Medication Administration Documentation [signed physician orders, 
 medication administration records, and medication regimen evaluation 
 by a Registered Nurse (RN) every 90 days] 

 
 OAR 333-536-0080 (if the client is receiving nursing or nurse delegated  
 services) 

• Nursing Services Documentation [signed treatment orders and 
 delegation documentation] 

 
 OAR 333-536-0085 

• Documentation of all services provided 
 

2. Required documentation for all caregivers and RNs providing services from 
an IHC includes but is not limited to licensure and training requirements in 
accordance with OAR 333-536-0070, 333-536-0075, and 333-536-0080. 

3. All clients receiving personal care, medication and/or nursing and nurse 
delegated services from an IHC, including those contracted through a third 
party or government agency, must be included in the list of clients requested 
from the IHC surveyor for relicensure and/or complaint surveys. The client list 
must contain all clients who received any services during the past twelve 
months, including all clients served from branch office(s) and all clients, 
contracted or non-contracted, obtained through third parties or government 
agencies.  
 
Examples of third party contractors/government agencies include but are not 
limited to: Veteran’s Affairs, Department of Human Services, Long Term Care 
Nursing Program, Aging and People’s with Disabilities, Adult Protection 
Services, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Support Service 
Brokerages, Adult Foster Homes, Assisted Living Facilities or any other type 
of business, agency or facility that utilizes services from a licensed IHC 
(including agency nurses and/or caregivers). 
 

4. Regardless of when a contractor ends payment to an IHC for a client, the IHC 
is required to follow the termination of services requirements outlined in the 
client’s rights (OAR 333-536-0060). This includes: 
 

• The right to a written 30-day notice of termination of services by the 
agency that specifies the reason(s) for the termination with the following 
exceptions: 

 
o (A) The right to immediate oral or written notice of termination of 

services by the agency at the time the agency determines that the 
safety of its staff or the client cannot be ensured. If oral notice is 
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given, the agency must also subsequently provide the client a written 
confirmation of the oral notice of termination of services. 

 
o (B) The right to a written 48-hour notice of termination of services by 

the agency in the event of non-payment in accordance with the 
agency's disclosed payment requirements. 

 
• Anytime the agency terminates client services, they must provide the 

appropriate, required notification and written confirmation to the client, 
as well as the documentation of the reasons and circumstances that led 
to the termination of client services. 

 
• Discontinued payment from the contractor alone does not meet 

the requirements for an exception to the written 30-day notification 
of termination of services. 

 
If you have any questions please email the IHC survey team at 

mailbox.hclc@state.or.us. 


