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Message:

During the week of March 29, DMAP will post the attached announcement to tell
pharmacies that, effective immediately, they have up to 12 months (365 days) to
reverse a point-of-sale claim vs. the previous 30-day allowance.

Also, because some providers’ billing practices are producing errors for DHS and
some are inappropriately collecting copayments from clients, the announcement
includes reminders about:

» Collection of client copayments
» Coordination of benefits

» Third party resources

» “Payment-in-full”

The announcement includes links to detailed information about the above and reminds
them that help is available by calling Provider Services or the Pharmacy Call Center.

If you have any questions about this information, contact:

Contact(s): | Ralph Magrish, DMAP Pharmacy Policy Analyst

Phone: | 503-945-6291

E-mail: Ralgh.Magrish@state.or.us



mailto:ralph.magrish@state.or.us

0
) DH S Pharmacies
Point-of-sale reversals no longer limited to 30 days

Oregon Department
of Human Services

Point-of-sale (POS) claim reversals

Effective immediately, pharmacies have up to 12 months or 365 days (vs. 30 days) from the date
of service to submit, resubmit or reverse (cancel) a POS claim.

Coordination of benefits (COB), Third Party Liability (TPL) and Other Coverage
Codes (OCC)

The Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) would like to help with common billing
and copayment (copay) errors for OHP clients and their TPL insurances. Based on the majority of
errors we see, here are a few reminders: (Also see Oregon Administrative Rule 410-120-1280 at:
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guide/genrules/main.html).

B Be sure to bill in the correct order:

v/ Find out if the client has TPL through the POS system and by asking the client. If the
client has TPL, you must bill the TPL before billing DMAP. Federal law requires that state
Medicaid agencies take all reasonable measures to ensure that in most instances DMAP will
be the payer of last resort.

vOIf you bill DMAP as secondary payer, always include accurate TPL primary payment
information on the DMAP claim.

B TPL or DMAP fee-for-service copays and what "payment-in-full” is:

Be careful that you don't collect more reimbursement than is allowed.

v If any part of a claim is paid by a TPL, you must not charge the client a copay.

v’ After you bill the TPL, DMAP will pay the remainder but only up to the DMAP allowed
amount. That is considered "payment-in-full." You must not charge the client for the
remainder. For more information about payment-in-full, see OAR 410-120-1340: http://www.
dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guide/genrules/main.html

v If the primary claim is denied or a "zero pay" and you bill DMAP as secondary, do not use
Other Coverage Codes 5, 6, and 8.

v For more information about billing DMAP and TPL through POS - See Oregon

Administrative Rule 410-120-1280: http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guide/genrules/
main.html

Note: Intentional misuse of TPL coding is fraudulent and DMAP will recoup all
resulting overpayments.
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B DMAP client copayments: If you need information about DMAP fee-for-service copayments:
v See OAR 410-120-1230 Client Copayment, Table

120-1230-1 at: http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/ Frequently asked questions for
healthplan/guides/genrules/ 120rb011 Opdf copayment information:

v Access individual client copay information http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/healthplan/
through your POS system, the Automated Voice data_pubs/faqs/fagprovcopay.shtml

Response system or the Provider Web Portal.

v/ Pharmaceutical Services Supplemental
Information guide: http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guides/pharmacy/rxsupp0110.pdf

B Other helpful reminders:

The DMAP web page at: http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guides/pharmacy/billing.html
includes links to:
Point-of-sale payer sheet (National Council for Prescription Drug Programs) for technical
billing of TPL or OCC

Pharmaceutical Services Supplemental guide at: http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/
guides/pharmacy/rxsupp0110.pdf for more information about:
v Copayments

v/ TPL table of denials and appropriate use of OCC to override denials
Medicare Modernization for information about Medicare Part D

Managed care BIN numbers - See Oregon Medicaid Pharmacy Quick Reference sheet:
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guides/pharmacy/quick-refs0110.pdf

Questions?
If you still have questions about OHP policy, billing practices or claims, contact:

B The Oregon Pharmacy Call Center at 888-202-2126 - available 24 hours a day, seven days per
week.

B Provider Services at 800-336-6016 or dmap.providerservices@state.or.us. - Monday through Friday,
7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

*—)] eSubscribe to receive free e-mail updates
for provider announcements!

@ Go to http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/healthplan/
notices_providers/main.shtml and click the
eSubscribe green eSubscribe envelope.

Encourage families to sign up for Healthy Kids!
Children with no health coverage may qualify today.

’ [wwla K e‘! Learn more and find out how you can spread the word.

ror A keaLTHY orecon — WWW.oregonhealthykids.gov 1-877-314-5678
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