Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage


Tobacco and Vaping Product (also known as e-cigarette) Retailers 

Language Access Services Policy

Everyone has a right to know about and use Oregon Health Authority (OHA) programs and services. OHA provides free help. Some examples of the free help OHA can provide are:

  • Sign language and spoken language interpreters;
  • Written materials in other languages;
  • Braille;
  • Large print;
  • Audio and other formats.

How to Apply or Renew

To apply for a tobacco retail license, visit the Department of Revenue and click on the link under "When and how do I apply for the license from the Department of Revenue?"

The Department of Revenue reviews applications and issues tobacco retail licenses. They also collect the annual $953 license fee. 

Anyone who sells tobacco or vaping products – including stores, cigar and hookah lounges, and bars – is considered a tobacco retailer and is required to purchase a license to continue selling tobacco or vaping products.

Each year, retailers need to renew their tobacco retail license and pay the annual fee. 

Local Programs

Counties or cities with their own, local tobacco retail license program are keeping their local fee structures and continue to operate their program separately from the state.  Information about and links to local programs is available from the Oregon Department of Revenue. The license does not apply to retailers operating on tribal lands. 

Click here for Archived Tobacco Retail License Bulletin editions

Education and Training

As a retailer, you are responsible for making sure your employees follow federal, state and local tobacco and vaping product regulations. OHA TRL is available to provide additional support if you have questions or would like assistance understanding the tobacco sales regulations. To reach out for support, email us at or call us at 971-673-2283.  We offer online training, phone consultation, and in-person education as part of your routine inspections.

If you receive a penalty for a violation an inspector has found at your store, you must read the retailer training manual in the following section within 90 days of your store's first penalty.

Education Materials

Below are links to downloadable educational materials to help you stay in compliance with all tobacco regulations.

  • Tobacco Retail Licensing Virtual Training for Retailers

Tobacco Retail Licensing Virtual Training for Retailers  

  • Tobacco Retail Licensing Training Manual For Retailers

Types of Inspections

The following matrix provides a high-level overview of Oregon's tobacco retail inspections and helps explain why and how inspections are taking place in the community.

Destruction and Disposal of Tobacco and Nicotine Products

Nicotine and some vaping product components are considered hazardous waste and must follow state and federal rules for disposal. Free technical assistance from the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is available here.

The following Nicotine Waste Disposal Guide provides information on proper management and disposal of Nicotine and E-Cigarette Waste for Oregon Retailers.

Retailer Forms and Signs

Retailers are required to post signs prohibiting sales of tobacco and vaping products to persons under the age of 21. Download and print signs below.

Tobacco Sales Prohibited to Persons Under 21
Tobacco Sales Prohibited to Persons Under 21 - English

Tabacco Sales Projibited to persons under 21 - Simplified Chinese
简体中文 / Simplified Chinese

Tobacco Sales Prohibited to Persons under 21 - Russian
Pусский / Russian
PDF icon
Español / Spanish

Tobacco Sales Prohibited to Persons Under 21 - Korean
한국어 / Korean

Tobacco Sales Prohibited to Persons Under 21 - Vietnamese
Tiếng Việt / Vietnamese

How to Read an Oregon ID
How to Read an Oregon ID - English

How to Read an Oregon ID - Simplified Chinese
简体中文 / Simplified Chinese

How to Read an Oregon ID - Russian
Pусский / Russian

How to Readn an Oregon ID - Arabic
عربي / Arabic
How to Read an Oregon ID - Spanish
Español / Spanish

How to Read and Oregon ID Korean
한국어 / Korean

How to Read and Oregon ID - Vietnamese
Tiếng Việt / Vietnamese

Contact Us:

Phone: 971- 673-2283
Email: Tobacco.Inspections@