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Whether the place you want to call home is urban or rural, the Residential Loan Program can help you
buy your first house. This brochure doesn’t include every program requirement, but it will give you an
idea of what Oregon Housing and Community Services has to offer.

We have two interest rate options you can choose between:

RateAdvantage Home Loan

e Hard-to-beat below-market rates
e Maximize purchasing power

e Lower monthly payments

e lLong-term interest savings

e No prepayment penalty

With a RateAdvantage Home Loan, you will
get a low fixed rate to maximize your home
purchasing power.
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CashAdvantage Home Loan =
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e Still a very good rate

e 3 percent cash assistance

e Lower your cash-to-close

e Cash assistance is like a gift (no repayment)
e No prepayment penalty

With a CashAdvantage Home Loan, you will get
a low, fixed-interest rate on your home loan
along with cash assistance equal to 3 percent of
the note amount. This option helps you come up
with the cash you may need to close the loan.

Regardless of which pricing option you choose, the eligibility and program requirements are the same.

For current rates, please visit our website at www.oregonbond.us.

To qualify, eligible borrowers must meet all applicable program and lender requirements.

To help you get started, call a lender from the list on our website at www.oregonbond.us.
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How does the program work?

Oregon Housing and Community Services

(OHCS) is the state’s housing finance agency. We
periodically issue mortgage revenue bonds to fund
lower-than-market interest rate mortgage loans
for Oregon homebuyers. Lower interest rates help
eligible low to moderate income homebuyers
maximize their purchasing power.

What's my first step?

Your first step toward homeownership is to contact
one of our lenders (the list is on our website at
www.oregonbond.us). Your lender will help you
pre-qualify—then you can begin looking for that
dream home!

When you have found your house and have signed
an earnest money agreement, your lender will
reserve loan funds for you.

Your lender will process your loan according to
underwriting procedures established by the US
Department of Housing and Urban Development,
or Rural Development, and OHCS.

After the mortgage is approved and closed, OHCS
purchases the mortgage to hold as a long-term
investment.

For more information, visit our website at
www.oregonbond.us, or
Call toll free 1-877-ST8-BOND (1-877-788-2663)
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Eligibility A
v

Requirements

A qualified homebuyer cannot have an annual
gross household income that exceeds program
limits effective June 25, 2014. Visit our website
at www.oregonbond.us for a complete list of
limits by region and household size.

To qualify, you must be a first-time homebuyer,
which means you have not owned and occupied
a primary residence at any time during the
three-year period prior to the date you sign your
mortgage and Note. (This requirement is waived
if the property being purchased is located in a
“Targeted Area” and you have transferred any
residential property previously owned prior to
closing the loan.)

Targeted Areas include all of Baker, Clatsop,
Coos, Crook, Harney, Jefferson, Josephine,
Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Union, Wallowa and
Wheeler counties; cities (within the city limits)
of Ashland, Milton-Freewater, Myrtle Creek,
Port Orford, Silverton, Turner and Vernonia;
and portions of Albany, Eugene, Medford and
Portland.

Your lender or OHCS can advise you on if the
property is in a Targeted Area. Only Oregon
residents are eligible. There is no minimum time
of residency prior to closing.

Types of Loans
Available

All loans under the Residential Loan Program
must be insured under the Federal Housing
Administration (FHA) or guaranteed by Rural
Development.

The maximum loan amount will be based on
the appraised value of the property or purchase
price, whichever is less. Loans that close with

a loan-to-value of 80 percent or less do not
require mortgage insurance.

The funds may not be used to refinance an
existing home loan.

The mortgage loan term for a site-built house is
15 to 30 years. It’s the same for a manufactured
home, as long as it is permanently located on
a lot owned by the borrower if the respective
mortgage insurer insures the home to 30 years.

The loan origination fee and discount will vary
with each loan, but in all cases the combined
loan origination fee and discount points cannot
exceed 1.75 percent of the amount of the note.

Property
Requirements
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Houses that qualify for the Residential Loan
Program can be new or previously owned, site-
built homes, manufactured homes (permanently
attached to acceptable foundations),
condominiums, or units in a Planned Unit
Development. They can be located anywhere

in Oregon. The maximum purchase price varies
by county and whether the propertyisin a
community designated as a Target Area.

Current purchase price limits are posted on
our website at www.oregonbond.us, or you

can call us toll free at 1-877-ST8-BOND, or
(1-877-788-2663).

For more information, contact us at:
Oregon Housing and Community Services

725 Summer St NE, Ste B
Salem, OR 97301-1266

(503) 986-2046
In Oregon, 1-877-788-2663
TTY: 503-986-2100

www.oregonbond.us
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