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845-005-0417 
Qualifications for Direct Shipment and Retail Delivery of Malt Beverages, Wine, or 
Cider to a Resident of Oregon 
 

ORS 471.282 allows a person with a Direct Shipper Permit to sell and deliver malt beverages, 
wine or cider directly to a resident of Oregon who is at least 21 years of age. 471.186 allows 
an off-premises sales licensee to deliver malt beverages, wine and cider to a resident of Oregon 
who is at least 21 years of age. 

(1) A Direct Shipper Permit allows the delivery of only the type of alcohol allowed by the license 
that authorizes the person to hold a Direct Shipper Permit. Only the following persons may 
qualify for a Direct Shipper Permit: 

(a) A person holding a brewery-public house license issued under ORS 471.200, a brewery 
license issued under ORS 471.220, a winery license issued under ORS 471.223, or a grower 
sales privilege license issued under 471.227. These licenses are issued with a Direct Shipper 
Permit. 

(b) A person holding a temporary sales license issued under ORS 471.190 that is also a 
nonprofit trade association and that has a membership primarily composed of persons holding 
winery licenses issued under 471.223 and grower sales privilege licenses issued under 
471.227. 

(c) A person holding a license issued by another state within the United States that authorizes 
the manufacture of malt beverages, wine, or cider. The person in the other state may deliver 
malt beverages only if that state allows Oregon licensees to deliver malt beverages directly to 
a resident of that state. 
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(d) A person holding a license issued by another state within the United States that authorizes 
the sale of wine or cider produced only from grapes or other fruit grown under the control of the 
licensee. 

(e) A person holding a license issued by another state within the United States that authorizes 
the sale of malt beverages, wine, or cider at retail for consumption off the licensed premises. 
The person in the other state may deliver malt beverages only if that state allows Oregon 
licensees to deliver malt beverages directly to a resident of that state. 

(2) Application for a Direct Shipper Permit. A person described under subsections (1)(b)–(e) of 
this rule must make application to the Commission and receive a Direct Shipper Permit from 
the Commission before shipping any malt beverages, wine or cider directly to a resident of 
Oregon. Applicants must apply in writing using the forms provided by the Commission and 
submit the required fee. The Commission may require additional forms, documents, or 
information as part of the application. The Commission may refuse to process any application 
that is not complete or not accompanied by the documents or disclosures required by the form 
or the Commission. 

(3) The Commission may revoke or refuse to issue or renew a Direct Shipper Permit if the 
permit holder or applicant fails to qualify for the permit under this rule or a refusal basis applies 
under ORS Chapter 471 or any other rule of the Commission and good cause does not 
overcome the refusal basis. 

(4) A Direct Shipper Permit issued under subsections (1)(c)–(e) of this rule must be renewed 
annually. 

(a) If the person holds the permit based on a license issued by another state, the permit may 
be renewed by applying in writing using the forms provided by the Commission and submitting 
the required fee. The Commission may require additional forms, documents, or information as 
part of the application. 

(b) If the person holds the permit based on an annual license issued by this state, the permit 
may be renewed at the same time that the license is renewed. 

(5) Same-Day and Next-Day Delivery. 

(a) The privileges of both next-day and same-day delivery of malt beverages, wine, and cider 
to a resident of Oregon is are included with a Direct Shipper Permit and an off-premises sales 
license. 

(b) A person who holds, or is applying for, a Direct Shipper Permit or an off-premises sales 
license issued by the Commission who intends to provide the service of same-day delivery of 
malt beverages, wine, or cider to a resident of Oregon must make application to the 
Commission upon forms to be furnished by the Commission and receive approval from the 
Commission prior to beginning the same-day delivery service. The application for same-day 
delivery approval shall include a statement that the person  



(5) Delivery. Licensees and permit-holders delivering malt beverages, wine, and cider to 
a resident of Oregon and will must follow the same-day delivery requirements listed in OAR 
845-006-0392 and 845-006-0396. 

(6) The Commission may refuse to process any application required under this rule if the 
application is not complete and accompanied by the documents or disclosures required by the 
form. The Commission shall give applicants the opportunity to be heard if the Commission 
refuses to process an application. A hearing under this subsection is not subject to the 
requirements for contested case proceedings under ORS Chapter 183. 

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 471, 471.030, 471.040, 471.186, 471.730(1) & (5) 

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 471.155, 471.186, 471.282 & 471.305 
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