Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Service Permit FAQs

About Service Permits

Q: What is a service permit?
A: A service permit is a permit issued by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission to employees who serve alcohol in restaurants, taverns, nightclubs, bars, lounges, private clubs, and similar businesses. A service permit costs $23.00 plus $5.65 portal provider fee and is good for 5 years. The fees are non-refundable.
 
Q: Why do I need one?
A: Oregon law requires you to have a service permit if you work at a business with a liquor license that allows customers to drink on the premises and you mix, serve, or sell alcohol in any manner. Managers who supervise employees who mix, serve, or sell alcohol must also have a service permit. Store clerks/ employees responsible for filling growlers at an off-premises licensed business are also required to have a valid service permit. Employees of a licensed business must not sell or serve alcohol without a valid service permit.
 
Q. Where do I get an application?
A: Service permit applications are processed exclusively through a portal on OLCC’s web page. Paper applications are no longer accepted.  Applicants can create an account through the Alcohol Service Permit Portal, through which you can submit an application for a service permit and take the Alcohol Server Education test. Payment will be made through the portal using debit or credit card.
 
Q: Can I come to an OLCC office to drop off my service permit application?
A: No. OLCC staff are always happy to help you with any questions or concerns you have.  However, all service permit applications must be completed through the Alcohol Service Permit Portal.  Paper applications are no longer accepted.  If you do not have access to a computer, smart phone or tablet, there are other places where public access to computers is available such as a public library, school, or community center. 
 
Most in-person Alcohol Server Education class providers offer support with applications and for students who do not have a computer or internet access.
 
Q: What if I’m a licensee who doesn’t need a service permit, but I need to take the class and pass the test?
A: You will still need to take either an in-person or online Alcohol Server Education Class and create an account through the Alcohol Service Permit Portal. Through the portal, you will be able to take the test.  You will not be required to submit an application or pay the fees unless you are selling or serving alcoholic beverages, or supervising those who do.
 
Q: When may I begin work?
A: You may begin working only after you have been issued your temporary permit through the portal.  It must be available at all times while you are working until you receive your five-year permit. You can also save, download, email, or take a screen print of your permit instead of printing on paper.
Back to Top

Account Security

Q: What are the requirements for username?
A: When creating a username, do not use spaces or special characters.  The underscore symbol (_), period (.), and hyphen (-) are okay to use. 
 
Q: What are the requirements for creating a password?
A: Passwords must be between 4 and 20 characters in length, and contain at least one of each of the following characters:
·        Lowercase (a-z)
·        Uppercase (A-Z)
·        Number (0-9)
 
Q: What happens if I forget my username/password?
A: You can unlock your account by clicking on either the “Forgot my Password” or “Forgot Username” and following the prompts.
 
Q: I forgot the answers to my security questions. Can they be reset?
A: If you know your account password, you can reset the answers to your security questions yourself by logging into your account profile.  When using your security questions to reset your password, you have multiple attempts to enter your correct security answers.  If you are unable to reset your password on your own, using the security question answers, please contact our office during business hours so that a staff member can send you a “reset password” email.
 
Q: I locked my account with too many failed logins. Can I get it unlocked?
A: If this is the first time you have locked your account, wait 10 minutes, and try again.  If you have locked your account multiple times, you may need to wait longer for the account to become unlocked. Even if your account is locked, you can reset your password at any time from the login screen using the “Forgot my Password” link and following prompts.
 
Q: Are usernames or passwords case sensitive?
A: Only passwords are case sensitive.
 
Q: Is my credit card information safe on your system?
A: All of the information provided to OLCC through the portal is secured behind the system provider’s (NIC USA) firewall.
 
Q: Is my identity safe?
A: All of the information provided to OLCC through the portal is secured behind the system provider’s (NIC USA) firewall.
Back to Top

Application

Q: How do I apply for a service permit?
A: Create an account through the Alcohol Service Permit Portal.  Fill out the application form, upload a valid copy of your state-issued ID, driver license, or passport, and pay the fee of $23 and the $5.65 portal provider fee.  The fees are non-refundable. You will be able to print/download a temporary permit until your application is reviewed and you receive your approval/denial notification via email.
 
Q: I already have a service permit, I just need to reapply.  Do I still need to use the Alcohol Service Permit Portal? 
A: Yes.  Every five years, you are required to reapply for an Alcohol Service Permit. Since we are no longer taking paper applications as of May 1, 2018, please create an account in the Alcohol Service Permit Portal  to apply or reapply.
 
Q: I don’t have a computer and/or internet access. Is there another way to apply?
A: All service permit applications must be completed through the portal.  Paper applications are no longer accepted.  If you do not have access to a computer, smart phone or tablet, there are other places where public access to computers is available such as a public library, school, or community center.  Most in-person Alcohol Server Education Class Providers offer support with applications and for students who do not have a computer or internet access.
 
Q: I don’t have a job yet, but I’m applying for jobs.  Can I submit my application before I’m hired?
A: Yes. There is no requirement for being employed to hold an Alcohol Service Permit.
 
Q: English is not my primary language.  Can I take the test in another language?
A: Yes.  Applicants can choose to view the test in Spanish, Complex Chinese, or Simple Chinese.  Currently, OLCC is working with partners to create a downloadable PDF of the User Guide in Spanish, Complex Chinese, and Simple Chinese to assist applicants in reading the application and creating an account. 
 
OLCC may grant an extension of time to complete the Alcohol Server Education Class in Spanish or Chinese if a class is not available within 45 days of the date you submitted your application.  If you think you may need an extension, please contact OLCC at 503-872-5133 or 800-452-6522 ext. 25133.
 
Q: What types of files are acceptable to upload my ID and/or proof of class?
A: To make uploading these documents easy, we are accepting a variety of file formats.  The types of files accepted are: JPEG, PNG, or PDF.  If your document is in another format, try saving a screenshot of the document, taking a picture of the document, or “Save As” a pdf document.
 
Q: Can I upload documents to the portal from my phone or tablet?
A: Yes.  If you have a photo or copy of the document on the mobile device you are using in one of the supported document types, you can select the folder where it is saved to upload the file through the upload screen in the portal.  If you have it saved on a different device, try emailing or texting the document to the device you are using and save it to the device. Another option is to save the document on a cloud-based server like google docs so you can access it from the device you are using.  If you are still having issues uploading your ID or proof of class receipt, please call our office at 503-872-5200 or email us your question at olcc.servicepermits@oregon.gov.
 
Q: Why am I getting an “Invalid” notice under Criminal Convictions or DUII History sections?
A: You may be using an invalid character inside the text box.  Look for special characters to be removed such as &, @, {, }, [, or ]. 
 
Q: Can I reapply for my Alcohol Service Permit before it expires?
A: Yes.  You can reapply up to six months prior to expiration.  Remember your Alcohol Service Permit is good for five years from the date of issuance.  In order to reapply for your service permit, you are also required to take an approved Alcohol Server Education class.
 
Q: My application was proposed to be denied.  What options are available to me?
A: You have 30 days to request a hearing after the issuance of a Notice of Proposed Service Permit Refusal.  A hearing will be conducted by the Office of Administrative Hearings where you will have an opportunity to explain why you believe your permit should not be denied.  The OLCC will also have an opportunity to explain why it is proposing to deny your permit.
 
Note: If the Commission has denied a previous application for failure to complete the Alcohol Server Education Course, you may not work on a temporary permit until you pass the course.  If the Commission has denied or cancelled a prior service permit or application for any other reason, you may not work on a temporary permit until your five-year Alcohol Service Permit is granted.
 
Back to Top

Creating a Portal Account

Q: When do I need to create an account for the Alcohol Service Permit Portal?
A: You can create an account at any time.  Keep in mind that you have 45 days after you submit your application to take an in-person or online Alcohol Server Education class and pass the test (through the portal) to get your five-year OLCC Alcohol Service Permit.
 
Q: Does it cost money to create an account?
A: No.  Creating an account is free.  However, the required fees are $28.65 to submit an application. The fees are non-refundable.  Alcohol Server Education class providers also charge fees for their in-person and online courses.
 
Q: What are the supported user platforms/browsers to use the web portal?
A: The most common web browsers supported for Windows are Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer; for Mac are Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.  For a complete list of supported browsers, see NIC USA’s web site.
 
Q: I created my account, but don’t have access to my email address.  Can I still proceed?
A: You will need to have access to your email address within 24 hours of creating your user account.  Once you create your user account in the Alcohol Service Permit Portal, you will need to activate the link that is sent to your email address within 24 hours.  If you are not able to activate the link within 24 hours, a new user account will need to be created and activated to proceed with the test and/or the application.   
 
Q: Do I need to get an endorsement (signature) on my application from my boss?
A: No. We no longer require an employer to endorse your application. 
 
Q: I just want to volunteer for special events and festivals.  Do I still need to an Alcohol Service Permit?
A: It depends. Some special events do not require the alcohol servers to hold a valid Alcohol Service Permit.  Check with your event coordinator to know for sure.  If you do not need an Alcohol Service Permit and you are serving as a volunteer, you will be required to attend a training provided by the organization as well as read and sign the pamphlet, “What Every Volunteer Alcohol Server Needs to Know.”
 
Q: I took the class online, is that my online account?
A: No, a separate account must be created through the Alcohol Service Permit Portal to submit the application and take the test.
 
Q: I don’t have a computer, can I still create an account?
A: If you do not have access to a computer, smart phone or tablet, there are other places where public access to computers is available such as a public library, school, or community center.  Most in-person Alcohol Server Education class providers offer support with applications and for students who do not have a computer or internet access.
 
Q: Can I still get an Alcohol Service Permit if I don’t know how to use a computer?
A: If you do not have a friend or family member who can help you, most in-person Alcohol Server Education class providers offer support with applications and for students who do not have a computer or internet access.
Back to Top

Eligibility Requirements

Q: How do I qualify for a service permit?
A. You must complete the service permit application form supplied by the OLCC. You must take and pass an Alcohol Server Education class. There's a separate fee for the class, usually $25 to $40, which goes directly to the provider of the class.
 
Q: What are the age requirements for an Alcohol Service Permit?
A: You must be at least 18 years old. (If you are between 18 and 20 years old, there are restrictions on what you can do. See: What if I am between 18 and 20 years old?
  • If you are 18, 19, or 20 years old, you can get a minor service permit. With a minor service permit, you may serve, pour, and draw alcoholic beverages only in areas of the business not prohibited to minors where alcohol service is secondary to food service. You may not mix drinks nor work as a bartender or cocktail server. 
  • You may enter and remain in areas prohibited to minors (such as a bar or lounge) only long enough to perform work-related duties such as:
    • Ordering and picking up drinks for service in areas not prohibited to minors (such as a dining room),
    • Clearing tables,
    • Stocking supplies, and
    • Delivering food.
  • On your 21st birthday, these restrictions will no longer apply.

Q: I have been convicted of a crime. What are the eligibility requirements for getting a service permit?

A: The OLCC will deny an Alcohol Service Permit Application for:
·        Felony drug or felony crimes of violence convictions
o   1 conviction if the incident occurred within 2 years of the date of your application
o   2 or more convictions if two of the incidents occurred within 4 years of the date of your application
·        DUII or furnishing alcohol to minors diversions or convictions
o   2 or more diversions or convictions if two of the incidents occurred within 4 years of the date of your application
·        A combination of diversions or convictions
o   4 or more DUII, furnishing, or felony drug or crime of violence convictions if all of the incidents occurred within 10 years and one incident or arrest was within 2 years of the date of your application.
In determining whether to grant or deny your permit application, the OLCC may consider written proof that you were diagnosed as alcohol or drug addicted when your crimes involving alcohol or drugs were committed.  See OLCC's Eligibility Form for more information.
Back to Top

Fees

Q: I used to pay $23 for my application. Why do I have to pay an additional fee?
A: The additional portal provider fee of $5.65 covers the cost of the web system.  This fee allows better management of your records by the OLCC and allows us to provide you with unlimited access to your account.
 
Q: Why are there three separate fees?
A: The three fees include: $13 Alcohol Education Administration Fee, $10 Service Permit Fee, and $5.65 Portal Provider Fee.  The fees are non-refundable. The Alcohol Education Administrative Fee and Service Permit Application Fee are established by law and support the Alcohol Server Education Program and the processing of your application.  The $5.65 portal provider fee covers the cost of the online system.
 
Q: I already paid money to my Alcohol Server Education Provider for the class.  Why am I being asked to pay more money?
A: Alcohol Server Education Providers charge a fee for their classes.  They are independent, private business owners and not state employees.  The fees for the classes and the application are separate.  The OLCC charges fees to process the application and administration of the program. 
 
Q: I don’t have a credit/debit card.  Can I pay with cash, or check?
A: No.  Through the web portal, the only methods of payment that will be accepted are credit or debit card (Visa or Mastercard).  The system will accept a prepaid Visa or Mastercard credit card that can be purchased at most grocery/convenience stores.
 
Q: Can someone else use their credit/debit card to pay my Alcohol Service Permit Fees for me?
A: Yes. When you enter the payment section to pay by credit/debit card, uncheck the box next to “Payment Address is the same as Customer Information*.”  This will open up more spaces below the credit card information where you can enter in alternate name and address for the person’s credit or debit card you are using.
 
Q: Why does my emailed receipt not include the total amount?
A: The individual fees are reflected on the receipt, although not tallied in total.  If you need this receipt for tax or reimbursement purposes, please make sure to include both the $5.65 portal fee and the $23 Alcohol Service Permit fees.
 
Q: Can an employer pay the application fees for their students?
A: Yes, an employer can pay Alcohol Service Permit application fees for their employees.  However, in the Portal, there is no way to provide a bulk payment for more than one employee at one time.  Options available are to reimburse employees for payments, provide employees with a pre-paid debit card, or to use the employer’s credit card at the time of purchase. 
Back to Top

Portal Account Information

Q: How do I update my phone number, email or mailing address?
A: Email address changes can be made to a user account before the five-year Alcohol Service Permit has been issued.  Phone number, mailing address or name changes can only be made to the account once a five-year Alcohol Service Permit has been issued.  Once your five-year permit has been issued, you can log into your account to access options for requesting changes to your account profile information. Requests to change account profile information can take a minimum of 10 business days for processing.  Please check your Portal dashboard within 10-14 business days to print a revised Alcohol Service Permit, if approved.  
 
Q: I changed my legal name, how do I change it on my Alcohol Service Permit?
A: By logging into your account in the Alcohol Service Permit Portal, you have options of changing your information and reprinting your valid Alcohol Service Permit, once a five-year Alcohol Service Permit has been issued. Name changes require the Service Permittee to also upload updated photo identification reflecting the name change. Requests to change account profile information can take a minimum of 10 business days for processing.  Please check your Portal dashboard within 10-14 business days to print a revised Alcohol Service Permit, if approved. 
 
Q: I don’t have an email address.  Can I still get an Alcohol Service Permit?
A: OLCC uses email as the main method of contact in communicating with you about your application or account.  An email address is required to create a user account. Many email providers offer free email accounts such as Google, Hotmail, and Yahoo.   
You will need to have access to your email address within 24 hours of creating your user account.  Once you create your user account in the Alcohol Service Permit Portal, you will need to activate the link that is sent to your email address within 24 hours.  If you are not able to activate the link within 24 hours, a new user account will need to be created and activated to proceed with the test and/or the application
 
Q: I don’t have a permanent physical address.  Can I still get an Alcohol Service Permit?
A: Yes.  Because the OLCC no longer mails you the five-year Alcohol Service Permit, you can use a temporary physical address and then update your information in the system later.
 
Q: I don’t have a social security number, can I still get an OLCC Alcohol Service Permit?
A: Yes.  If you do not have a social security number, you can still complete the application process to receive your temporary permit.  You may also contact our office at olcc.servicepermits@oregon.gov or 503-872-5200 and one of our staff members will assist you.  Applicants with a social security number are required to include it in the application.  Social security number matching is part of the application investigation. 
Back to Top

Server Education Class

Q: My service permit is about to expire.  Am I required to take the class again? 
A: Yes. If you have not already passed a class within the past 2 years, then you must complete an in-person or online Alcohol Server Education class and pass the examination within 45 days after your application is submitted.
 
Q: I took an Alcohol Server Education class, paid a fee, and took a test.  Do I still need go to OLCC’s Alcohol Service Permit Portal?
A: Yes.  While taking an approved in-person or online Alcohol Server Education class is a requirement to get your Alcohol Service Permit, you still need to create an account through the portal, submit your application, pay your fees, submit proof of class documentation, and pass the Alcohol Server Education test to get your temporary permit.  Once staff review of your application has taken place, you will be notified via email of your approval/denial.
 
Most in-person Alcohol Server Education class providers offer support with applications and for students who do not have a computer or internet access.
 
Q: How do I prove that I took the class?
A: Your Alcohol Server Education class provider will give you a receipt or certificate that you will use as your Proof of Class document. 
 
Failure to verify that you have successfully attended an approved alcohol education provider class may result in your application being flagged as incomplete or denied. 
 
Q: Do I have to take an Alcohol Server Education Class?
A: Yes. You are required to take an in-person or online Alcohol Server Education Class through an approved provider.  If you have not already passed a class within the past 2 years, then you must complete an Alcohol Server Education class and pass the examination within 45 days after your application is submitted. For more information, call 503-872-5133 in Portland or 1-800-452-6522, ext. 25133, elsewhere in Oregon.
 
If you do not take and pass a class within 45 days, you will have to submit another application and fees. However, if you have to submit a second application,
YOU WILL NOT BE ELIGIBLE FOR ANOTHER TEMPORARY PERMIT. You will have to take and pass an Alcohol Server Education class before you can serve and sell alcohol again. Do not submit your second application until you take the class.
 
Q: May I take an Alcohol Server Education Class before I submit an application?
A: Yes. If you take a class first, the class is good for 2 years. You may apply for a permit any time within those 2 years. However, if you submit an application first, the application is good for only 45 days.  You will also be required to upload proof of class and pass the Alcohol Server Education test through the portal within 45 days of submitting your application.
 
Remember, even if you take and pass a class first, you may not sell or serve alcohol without a valid service permit or a valid temporary permit.
 
 
Back to Top

Service Permits - Do I need one?

Q: What if I just clear tables or work in the kitchen?
A: If you set up and clear tables, work in the kitchen, check ID at the door, or work as a janitor, bouncer or security person, you do not need a service permit as long as you do not also mix, serve, or sell alcohol in any manner or supervise those who do.
 
Q: What if I’m a hostess?  Do I need a service permit?
A: If as a host or hostess you just greet and seat customers, you do not need a service permit. However, if you take an order for alcohol, collect money from customers who have been drinking, or ring up checks that include charges for alcohol, you are selling alcohol and need a service permit. If you roam the floor and sometimes help servers by delivering drinks to a table or refilling a customer's glass of wine or beer, you are serving alcohol and need a service permit. Remember, the law says you must have a service permit if you mix, serve, or sell alcohol in any manner.
 
Q: I just want to volunteer for special events and festivals.  Do I still need to an Alcohol Service Permit?
A: It depends. Some special events do not require the alcohol servers to hold a valid Alcohol Service Permit.  Check with your event coordinator to know for sure.  If you do not need an Alcohol Service Permit and you are serving as a volunteer, you will be required to attend a training provided by the organization as well as read and sign the pamphlet, “What Every Volunteer Alcohol Server Needs to Know.”
 
 
 
 
Back to Top

Temporary Permit

Q: I’ve submitted my application, passed my test, taken the class and paid my fees.   Why do I only get a temporary permit?  How will I get my five-year permit?
A: You will automatically be able to print a copy of your temporary permit after you have submitted your application and paid the fees.  However, OLCC staff still need to validate your eligibility to receive an Alcohol Service Permit before issuing your five-year permit.  You will be notified by email when your application is approved or denied.  Keep in mind that taking an in-person or online class and passing the Alcohol Server Education test are required to obtain your five-year OLCC Alcohol Service Permit.
 
Note: If the Commission has denied a previous application for failure to complete the Alcohol Server Education Course, you may not work on a temporary permit until you pass the course.  If the Commission has denied or cancelled a prior service permit or application for any other reason, you may not work on a temporary permit until your five-year Alcohol Service Permit is granted.
 
Q: How long is my temporary permit valid?
A: Your temporary permit is valid for 45 days after issue.  You will need to check the email account on file for notification of issuance or proposed denial of your application.  Keep in mind that taking an in-person or online class and passing the Alcohol Server Education test are required to obtain your five-year OLCC Alcohol Service Permit.
 
Q: Does my receipt for the class serve as my temporary permit?
A: No.  You will need to create an account and enter the web portal in order to submit an application, pay the fees and print a temporary permit from the portal.  Keep in mind that you have 45 days after you submit your application to take an in-person or online Alcohol Server Education class and pass the test (through the portal) to get your five-year OLCC Alcohol Service Permit.
Back to Top

Test

Q: I already passed a test through my Alcohol Server Education class, why am I being asked to take another test on your web site?
A: As of May 1, 2018, all applicants must submit an application and take the test through the portal. Applicants who have taken the test from an in-person or online Alcohol Server Education Class provider between May 1, 2016 and May 1, 2018, can either retake the test through the portal, or contact our office at 503-872-5133 in Portland or 1-800-452-6522, ext. 25133 to verify previously submitted test scores.   
 
Q: Can I take the test in person?
A: No. After taking an in-person or online class, students will be required to upload a receipt or proof of class document into the portal to verify successful class completion.  Once the receipt has been uploaded, students will be able to access and take the test. 
 
If you need special accommodations due to disability, please contact our office at call 503-872-5133 in Portland or 1-800-452-6522, ext. 25133.
 
Q: Can I take the test right after class?
A: Yes. If you have a mobile device such as a laptop, tablet, or smart phone, you can log into your account after the class and take your test immediately while the information is fresh.  A passing score of 70% or more is required to receive your five-year Alcohol Service Permit.  If you fail the test, you can retry as many times as you need to get a passing score within the 45-day window.
 
Most in-person Alcohol Server Education class providers offer support with applications and for students who do not have a computer or internet access.
Back to Top

Valid Copy of Permit

Q: How long will it take to get my five-year permit?
A: Staff review of Alcohol Service Permit applications can vary depending on the number of applications OLCC received. You will be notified by email when your application is approved or denied.  If your application is approved, the email will include a link to your five-year OLCC Alcohol Service Permit.
 
Q: Do I need to go back into the system to print my five-year OLCC Alcohol Service Permit?
A: Yes.  If your application is approved, you will be notified by email to go back into the Alcohol Service Permit Portal to print out your five-year Alcohol Service Permit.  As a reminder, you are required to have a copy on you when you are mixing, selling, or serving alcoholic beverages, or supervising those who do, or are responsible for filling growlers at an off-premises licensed business.
 
Q: I don’t have a printer.  Is my Alcohol Service Permit still valid?
A: You are required to have your valid Alcohol Service Permit on you any time you are mixing, selling, or serving alcoholic beverages, or supervising those who do.  If you are not able to print a copy to have with you, you can download a copy to your mobile device as proof of valid Alcohol Service Permit.
 
Q: Is a picture or download of my permit on my mobile device a valid copy of my Alcohol Service Permit?
A: Yes, as long as you can access the device where a digital copy of your permit is saved and can produce it.  If asked by an OLCC inspector, a picture or downloaded copy of your permit on your mobile device is an acceptable copy.
 
Q: How do I get a replacement or duplicate copy?
A: Service Permit holders who have submitted an application through the portal can log into their accounts to reprint a valid Alcohol Service Permit free of charge. Service Permit holders who have not submitted an application through the new portal, but need a copy, can contact our office at 503-872-5200 or olcc.servicepermits@oregon.gov for a free copy of their permit.
Back to Top